AS1M, ASB, ASW,ASM,ASG,ASD

jack2
post Aug 5 2009, 11:47 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:03 PM)
His ASM 1 year get 50k dividend leh you say rich bo? Those high-yield counters he also have quite a lot and other units trust as well
Are you sure? If 50k dividend, that means he invested about RM833,333in ASM?
MilesAndMore
post Aug 5 2009, 11:52 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 5 2009, 11:38 PM)
That's why they have limitation of max amount on individual. As if no limit, those millionaire or billionaire will pour their fund into it instead putting FD in banks, which by then PNB will not able to pay out the yield already. That's why they need to control the amount of go in. As if it is too much, they won't able to pay the yield already.
Erm ... Millionaires and Billionaires will invest somewhere else. Most of them won't be interested in PNB funds, as far as i know. In fact, a huge chuck of their money is park in either Hong Kong or Singapore as they see their money is safer there. Besides, it's easier to move your money around in Hong Kong/Singapore compared to Malaysia.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 5 2009, 11:53 PM
gstrapinuse
post Aug 6 2009, 08:59 AM

696 posts

Yesterday my friend went to RHB and queue to invest RM10k in AS1M.The cashier told her there will be RM100.00 charge for banker's cheque unless she go directly to ASNB office.All the agent will charge 1% for admin/handling fee.
espree
post Aug 6 2009, 09:02 AM

1,214 posts

5.30am queue for AS 1Malaysia units shocking.gif

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1537&sec=nation
gstrapinuse
post Aug 6 2009, 09:07 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Aug 6 2009, 09:02 AM)
Got ppl so crazy early in morning 5.30am?Not like the fund gonna finish so fast. rclxub.gif
espree
post Aug 6 2009, 09:14 AM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(gstrapinuse @ Aug 6 2009, 09:07 AM)
Got ppl so crazy early in morning 5.30am?Not like the fund gonna finish so fast. rclxub.gif
kiasu tongue.gif
cheahcw2003
post Aug 6 2009, 09:18 AM

5,379 posts

yeah, some ppl just over-reacted. No need to queue up so early. I believe if u walk in any time today or tomorrow still got.
I just passed by MBB and CIMB in damansara, no queue at all. I guess those very interested already invested, for those hesitating can decide later, no hurry, dont think indian and bumiputra quota can finished b4 the promotional period ends, still have 2nd chance when the fund reopened for all races after 3rd sept.
lowyatben
post Aug 6 2009, 09:37 AM

75 posts

So is it better to open with cash or bank draft? Any difference?
jphlau
post Aug 6 2009, 09:47 AM

1,202 posts

Did anyone who invested consider what will happen if the government lost in the next general election? I believe that a lot of money will be transferred out into private accounts before the change of government is completed.
Michael8080
post Aug 6 2009, 09:54 AM

guys some quick questions on buying the as1m. if let say i can only buy 1k now then later on i'll like to purchase more. can i still make the top up purchase within the promo period or i'll need to wait until the promo end?
jolene812
post Aug 6 2009, 09:54 AM

13 posts

Yahh, i sense KIASUness here also.. if u wan, js go n buy lah. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jolene812: Aug 6 2009, 09:54 AM
cheahcw2003
post Aug 6 2009, 09:57 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Michael8080 @ Aug 6 2009, 09:54 AM)
guys some quick questions on buying the as1m. if let say i can only buy 1k now then later on i'll like to purchase more. can i still make the top up purchase within the promo period or i'll need to wait until the promo end?
micheal, from 5th aug to 3rd sept (promotional period) u can buy up to RM50K, if u buy RM1k now, u can top up rm49k anytime subject to the availability. u can do multi transactions during this period, subject to availability and max limit.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Aug 6 2009, 09:58 AM
the snowball
post Aug 6 2009, 10:01 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 5 2009, 11:38 PM)

The ability of giving stream of return which is higher than FD rate can come from MGS, previous decade of profit of equities etc.
Eg. they have made a lot of profit from previously year of investing, let say 50%, so now it is spreaded out to 5-6% pa which is not a burden for them. The fund is not aiming or like to be a UT (for fixed price at RM1 one), the aim is to let ordinary people to have alternative way to invest or just like what saving bond purposes.

Malaysia gov secruties/bonds are carring yield around 3.5%-4.0%, so if they solely invested in those area, they still achieve some rate which is better than FD rate, which is also a selling point already. As long as those ASx continue to pay some rate much better than FD, it won't have massive redeemption.

Yup, if equities continue to be poor over the next 10 years ro 20 years or something happen like 1997, which they can't generate any income, then yes, it is not sustainable to see them paying like previously.
Actually for the invested equities part, if those company still giving ok dividend, they PNB can pay the ASx holder already each year, if there is no redeemtion. Redeemption rate is very low in ASx fund, so it is not a problem for PNB to have a fixed price at Rm1.00 even though equities plunging.

If there is massive redeemption in poor equities market, then, yes just like what you had mentioned in the earlier post could be happening, but it is unlikely although not impossible, mainly due to the fact, equities price (for fundamental sounds company) always tend to go up over the long term.
Thx cherroy for the info..I now have a better understanding on how it is run.

Here is another blogpost that are explaining the PNB strategy quite well. Explaining why they can fixed the price at RM1. http://malaysiafinance.blogspot.com/2009/0...tegy-ahead.html
lowyatben
post Aug 6 2009, 10:02 AM

75 posts

So will there be a difference if I purchase using bank draft or cash? Somebody said earlier he was asked to pay charges when he wanted to pay via bank draft. Besides, I dun wanna carry bagful of cash around...
Michael8080
post Aug 6 2009, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 6 2009, 09:57 AM)
micheal, from 5th aug to 3rd sept (promotional period) u can buy up to RM50K, if u buy RM1k now, u can top up rm49k anytime subject to the availability. u can do multi transactions during this period, subject to availability and max limit.
ah. icic. great! thanks for the quick reply rclxms.gif i guess i'll go try my luck later to buy some. cheers
cheahcw2003
post Aug 6 2009, 10:22 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(lowyatben @ Aug 6 2009, 10:02 AM)
So will there be a difference if I purchase using bank draft or cash? Somebody said earlier he was asked to pay charges when he wanted to pay via bank draft. Besides, I dun wanna carry bagful of cash around...
last time i use bank draft to buy in RHB Bank they dont collect service fee, other agents like CIMB/MBB/Pos Malaysia do not accept bank draft, only cash or transfer balance from the accounts that u maintain in the same bank. I dont think they shd impose any service charge during the offer period. If they do, get the receipt and can complain to PNB.
soul2soul
post Aug 6 2009, 10:40 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I think I know how AS1M is going to make money. Najib is surrounded by top economist advisers, and they do know some tricks to make money. All of these have been planned months ahead.

AS1M

Maxis relisting

Ring any bell?
gstrapinuse
post Aug 6 2009, 10:42 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(lowyatben @ Aug 6 2009, 10:02 AM)
They told my friend this fund got 1% service charge.I also not sure.Better call up PNB and ask.Do share with us the info u get from them.Thanks.
blasto
post Aug 6 2009, 10:44 AM

1,139 posts

guys...

the AS1M units still avail ?
what's the return period % like ?

thanks in advance. icon_rolleyes.gif

lowyatben
post Aug 6 2009, 11:16 AM

75 posts

I just opened at the post office. Cash. No service charge.

Added on August 6, 2009, 11:16 amGot me own yellow book now. smile.gif

This post has been edited by lowyatben: Aug 6 2009, 11:16 AM

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0243sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:18 PM