Small Form Factor (SFF) V4, Mini but Mighty

Current Events guy
post Aug 21 2020, 10:56 AM

966 posts

New 19.55L case from Silverstone - SG14

https://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=932&area=en

Has different configurations that support SSDs, 3.5 drives, 240mm rad and even ODD!

Thoughtful design down to the details
1. GPU holder
2. M.2 cutout
3. CPU cooler cutout
4. ATX PSU support

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 21 2020, 11:10 AM
jeopardise
post Aug 21 2020, 09:01 PM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

Ahhh its a god send! I need a case with ODD for harddisk swap. I am still looking if anyone selling corsais obsidian 250D.

I am still keeping ATX psu
yungkit14
post Aug 21 2020, 09:04 PM

843 posts

bump
Current Events guy
post Aug 22 2020, 07:15 AM

966 posts

https://wccftech.com/nvidia-geforce-rtx-309...-1400-us-price/

NVIDIA's GeForce RTX 3090 graphics card has finally been pictured in all its glory and it's looking to be one insane graphics card. Leaked out by twitter user @GarnetSunset, the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 is going to be the flagship offering in the Ampere gaming graphics card lineup and features a massive cooling design.

The leak shows NVIDIA's GeForce RTX 3090 sitting right next to the GeForce RTX 2080. Just looking at the card, the GeForce RTX 3090 looks insanely huge and supports a triple slot form factor. This leak not only confirms the earlier leaked heatsinks and cooling shroud but also confirms several reports that had stated that NVIDIA is going all out with its Founders Edition design on the higher end Ampere GPU based graphics cards such as the GeForce RTX 3090.

Just looking at the card itself, the GeForce RTX 3090 seems to be the first reference graphics card to come in such a massive shape and size. It's a triple-slot behemoth with dual axial-tech fans placed on the front and back in a push-and-pull configuration. The front of the card seems to feature the exposed heatsink blocks with several fins placed on top of the PCB. There's the aluminum bar that helps reinforce the shroud and even features a small NVIDIA logo etched on to the metal frame.

The backside of the card features a backplate with a matte black color and the same aluminum bar that reinforces the shroud. Since the card features GDDR6X memory on the backside too as seen on a custom PCB, it makes sense to include a fan on the back to keep the thermals under check at both sides.

The name of the card has been blurred out and from the looks of it, the card is still in an early test phase given the 'Config 1' marking on the PCIe slot.  The Founders Edition design is also expected to feature over 20 power chokes which put it is a more premium design than the flagship non-reference RTX 20 series cards.

For comparison sakes, the leaked NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Founders Edition from a few months back featured a standard 2-slot design so the 3-slot design seems to be exclusive to the GeForce RTX 3090:

Well looks like the 2 slot 3080 cards will be the go to for SFF ITX cases, at least until partner cards come in. Hopefully the PCB isnt as big as the cooler so that those wanting to do a custom loop wont have much problem fitting the 3090 in their cases.
silvaco22
post Aug 23 2020, 10:19 AM

196 posts

Has anyone here tried the new cooler master NR200 case? Looks really good for sub 20L
Blinklime
post Aug 29 2020, 04:18 PM

140 posts

Hey guys, my planning to move my pc to an itx sff. Should have done it before MCO. Just wanna ask those who travel with their systems, especially onboard airplanes. It is possible to travel with a system in a bag pack? Cabin bag seem to heavy for most flights, AirAsia has 8kg policy. Cargo luggage might get toss around.

I've researched some cases, basically made a checklist.
Plan to swap for a itx board, low profile cooler, and maybe SFX PSU. Currently using a rgb 160x150 PSU. Hehe. N it's a ryzen 5 gen2 system.

My check list
- small for bag pack. Like those 30l producer bags.
- fitment for my evga 1080 card.
- decent temps, I don't plan to oc.
- 2x 2.5 drives
- sub rm500 hopefully.

What I found
- sg13, small, can fit a 160mm ATX apparently, cramp
- node 202, soldout everywhere. Small and slim

Would like to know more about your experiences with these cases. Plz don't say laptop.

Edit// I notice there are some cases with handle bars on top for such transport purposes. nope pls.

This post has been edited by Blinklime: Aug 29 2020, 04:20 PM
jeopardise
post Aug 30 2020, 02:54 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(Blinklime @ Aug 29 2020, 04:18 PM)

- sg13, small, can fit a 160mm ATX apparently, cramp
- node 202, soldout everywhere. Small and slim

Would like to know more about your experiences with these cases. Plz don't say laptop.
I have personally owned a SG13.
- Good airflow and can fit ATX PSU no problem.
- Must keep the CPU cooler lowprofile because ATX PSU sits on top

and still keeping a Node 202 black and sprayed white.
- Really struggle with good airflow. Intake fan for GPU did not help much to reduce temp. Used dual fan Zotac 1070 mini - temp reached 88C.
- Better airflow with blower type GPU - I am using an oem Dell GTX1070. 83C on load.
- No reset button
- Issue to find SFX modular getting limited and expensive. Used PSU are selling like fried bananas.
Blinklime
post Aug 30 2020, 05:06 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Aug 30 2020, 03:54 PM)
I have personally owned a SG13.
- Good airflow and can fit ATX PSU no problem.
- Must keep the CPU cooler lowprofile because ATX PSU sits on top

and still keeping a Node 202 black and sprayed white.
- Really struggle with good airflow. Intake fan for GPU did not help much to reduce temp. Used dual fan Zotac 1070 mini - temp reached 88C.
- Better airflow with blower type GPU - I am using an oem Dell GTX1070. 83C on load.
- No reset button
- Issue to find SFX modular getting limited and expensive. Used PSU are selling like fried bananas.
Thanks for replying. Not willing to let go my baby 1080. looks like sg13 is the way.

any1 have experience with those china taiwan GEEEK cases? looks dandy, but not many youtuber review.

rihuhs
post Aug 31 2020, 07:33 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(Blinklime @ Aug 30 2020, 05:06 PM)
Thanks for replying. Not willing to let go my baby 1080. looks like sg13 is the way.

any1 have experience with those china taiwan GEEEK cases? looks dandy, but not many youtuber review.
I never used any of GEEEK case before, but given the construction I won't suggest for it to be carried around.

the case frame is aluminium, but the whole panel is made if acrylic

jeopardise
post Aug 31 2020, 08:51 AM

1,767 posts

I had a Geeek A31 v2 for a month.

The aluminium chassis and acrylic panel not suitable are not meant to be on the move. Acrylic panel is easy to be scratched even with your fingernail.

I would look for full metal/aluminium chassis.

I am happy with the load temp as the cold air is sucked from the side and blowed upwards.

Main issue with this case is the noise of the Flex PSU.

I am keeping my oversized fsp aurum pt1200 psu and long RX vega 56
Blinklime
post Aug 31 2020, 09:14 AM

140 posts

tq sifus. buying the sg13.

i7xQTi
post Sep 1 2020, 06:31 PM

327 posts

are taxation for import purchased above rm500 inevitable? any steps i can take to circumvent this?
Songchien
post Sep 5 2020, 12:29 AM

351 posts

Has anyone tried flying with case like sgpc k55? Can you bring it with you onboard?
NubPro
post Sep 16 2020, 04:46 PM

397 posts

I'm letting go of my K99 V2 case, mini-itx case.
If you're interested lemme know!

Here's my shopee link:
https://shopee.com.my/product/42791220/5552711499/
zeek_indachalk
post Sep 18 2020, 10:15 PM

47 posts

Nice builds guys. Anyone using the Inwin A1 plus? Anyone swapped out the original PSU?

It is a nice case but it is actaully quite big and the psu fan is slightly audible.
Anyone having same problems?

This post has been edited by zeek_indachalk: Sep 18 2020, 10:21 PM
swks26
post Sep 19 2020, 09:43 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Hello all. I'm thinking to build my first SFF.
Can anyone comment on this assembly? Or what would you swap out?

Case NZXT H210 Tempered Glass Mini-ITX Case - Matte White
CPU AMD Ryzen 5 3600
GPU Asrock Radeon RX 5600 XT Challenger D 6G OC GDDR6
RAM G.Skill Aegis 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR4 3200MHz Memory
HDD WD Blue SN550 500GB 2400MB/s NVMe M.2 (2280) SSD
Mobo Gigabyte A520I-AC AM4 Mini-ITX Motherboard
PSU SilverStone SFX SX550 550W 80+ Gold Power Supply

This post has been edited by swks26: Sep 19 2020, 09:47 AM
Volt
post Sep 19 2020, 09:54 PM

Battery Low
671 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Sep 19 2020, 09:43 AM)
Hello all. I'm thinking to build my first SFF.
Can anyone comment on this assembly? Or what would you swap out?

Case NZXT H210 Tempered Glass Mini-ITX Case - Matte White
CPU AMD Ryzen 5 3600
GPU Asrock Radeon RX 5600 XT Challenger D 6G OC GDDR6 
RAM G.Skill Aegis 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR4 3200MHz Memory
HDD WD Blue SN550 500GB 2400MB/s NVMe M.2 (2280) SSD
Mobo Gigabyte A520I-AC AM4 Mini-ITX Motherboard
PSU SilverStone SFX SX550 550W 80+ Gold Power Supply
How bout swapping the Asrock rx 5600 xt to any cheap rtx 2060 super, I think the price/ performance is about the same but nvidia driver is alot better and easy to update.
swks26
post Sep 20 2020, 09:56 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

QUOTE(Volt @ Sep 19 2020, 09:54 PM)
How bout swapping the Asrock rx 5600 xt to any cheap rtx 2060 super, I think the price/ performance is about the same but nvidia driver is alot better and easy to update.
Thanks. I'll be looking to remove AsRock, was going for cheap but it doesn't have that good reviews.
Volt
post Sep 20 2020, 11:49 AM

Battery Low
671 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Sep 20 2020, 09:56 AM)
Thanks. I'll be looking to remove AsRock, was going for cheap but it doesn't have that good reviews.
yes, some of the review in the internet stated that the Asrock rx 5000 series card is a decent card on stock but not good for oc. I was once interested with the rx 5700 xt version during PKPP but most of the reviewer suggest getting other brand because of the lackluster oc capabilities. if you really do want to use amd rx card, i suggest you look at sapphire. They do really good card at reasonable price.
bismaximus
post Sep 20 2020, 12:26 PM

120 posts

Wanna share an unconventional SFF mATX build in a Cooler Master Elite 110 ITX case mod?.
I reckon the smaller (usually 2 RAM slot microATX) boards should fit.
My previous case was the Jonsbo C2, got the 110 for free.

Just drill out the rivets on the case to remove the HDD plate to put in a mATX board.
You might have an issue with some boards with the PCIE x16 slot on the bottom, as dual slot cards wont line up with the case PCI slot.

The plate removed and GPU not lining up.

44 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0459sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:55 PM