Planted Aquarium V14

EternalC
post May 24 2016, 04:30 PM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(davido @ May 24 2016, 04:25 PM)
Looks like its a plant fertilizer. Might want to check the nurseries.
Btw, back to the SAE. So much conflicting info. Some say a true SAE eats algae all the way and is not aggressive.
Check out this video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nnJYdLSoso#action=share

I had an old SAE that was just like in this video - very hardworking. It jumped out of my tank.
Now my current SAE does not behave like this at all. Although it might look like a SAE, but chances are it is not.
I think many may have a SAE thinking its a SAE, but it is not.
just get an otto lol
EternalC
post May 25 2016, 12:57 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ May 25 2016, 12:55 PM)
how to remove green hairy algae?
mine tank full of it...

cut?
yamato /amano shrimp
EternalC
post May 25 2016, 01:03 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ May 25 2016, 01:00 PM)
water tempurature above 27 wor..

around 27-29..
raining day 27..

with fan already...
can no problem

amano shrimp very tough one
EternalC
post May 25 2016, 01:09 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ May 25 2016, 01:05 PM)
yamato cant?
or both oso can?
amano shrimp = yamato shrimp laugh.gif
EternalC
post Jun 6 2016, 11:23 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jun 6 2016, 08:11 AM)
You mean the Assassin snail will eat other snails? Will the Assassins breed in freshwater aquariums or lay eggs in the tank?
afaik, assasin snails do eat other snails but those bigger size snails i'm not sure.

its hard to breed assassin snails so you no need to worry about them breeding
EternalC
post Jun 6 2016, 12:51 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jun 6 2016, 12:49 PM)
my assassins dont eat my nerite snails
i guess its too big for him

EternalC
post Jun 6 2016, 12:54 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jun 6 2016, 12:52 PM)
yeap think so too smile.gif
i once reset my tank just because of ramshorn snails

the populate like sex maniac
EternalC
post Jun 6 2016, 01:02 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jun 6 2016, 12:57 PM)
lol mine was the same just that they didnt survive through adulthood, nt sure why though and i dont have any assassins in it.. just shrimps
really? mine all grow untill as big as your pinky finger nail size. all like to bukake ramai ramai one spot here and there
EternalC
post Jun 6 2016, 04:47 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jun 6 2016, 04:39 PM)
hahaha, i heard about them eating shrimps. but i think its the case where the shrimp wont move and surrendered its soul to the assasin snail?

i mean, snail is slow, and to let him eat u slowly... either the shrimp are too comfty or yolo type. or maybe he likes the soft and juicy flesh of the snail? brows.gif icon_idea.gif
EternalC
post Jun 8 2016, 11:43 AM

845 posts

and say good bai to your shrimps laugh.gif
EternalC
post Jun 8 2016, 12:15 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jun 8 2016, 12:12 PM)
very nice, anyone got their "own" showcase album link eg, blog/fb or etc?
hi. pls visit my portfolio

i'm amano. nice to meet u

http://amanotakashi.net/portfolio/nature_aquarium/index.html
EternalC
post Jun 8 2016, 01:50 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jun 8 2016, 01:34 PM)
very nice, btw.. i don't sees any water pump on these aquariums.. which means these fishy don't need any air pump?
its cleverly hidden. thats why u can still see water ripples on top
EternalC
post Jul 27 2016, 08:51 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jul 23 2016, 11:06 PM)
Hi all,

I am currently running a fish tank having size of 45cm x 30cm x 30 cm with approximately 15 guppies in it. Only fishes, without soil or plants and rocks.

As part of a set up kit, the fish tank came with a HOB filter of which I'm currently using. However, the mechanical filtration is less than desired as there are a lot sediments at the bottom of the tank. I suspect it's either crap from the fish or from excess food and I believe the latter is lesser of a factor as I only feed the fishes once a day. The water is not as clear as the pictures shared in this thread.

Hence, I usually perform water change (approx 20 to 30%) twice to three times a week to reduce the amount of sediments at the bottom of the tank.

I'm looking for advice on how to improve the water quality. Will changing to a better filter solve the above problem? If so, what filter is suitable my tank's size? Greatly appreciate all your help in this matter.

Many thanks!
get substrates like ADA. plant some plants. then it will recycle

QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 27 2016, 08:28 PM)
Just realised i have this clam like thing in my tank. I've killed about 3 of em just now. Anyone know what is it?
some sort of snail. i got them in my shrimp tank too. it wont really be a troublemaker. just sweep them up and wipe away when you change water weekly
EternalC
post Aug 10 2016, 08:27 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(PacoAguilar @ Aug 9 2016, 04:56 PM)
still got with you bro? i'm interested.. FOC one is it? biggrin.gif
think twice bro

they breed like mad
EternalC
post Aug 17 2016, 09:41 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Aug 17 2016, 04:47 PM)
Fed up, fed up, fed up. With a heavy heart, I decided to convert my tank to a shrimp only tank. Recently added 12 CRS, all kena eaten by the Green Neons. So I'm going to remove almost all the fishes and keep only shrimp friendly fishes. I'm gonna concentrate on shrimps now.

Giving away Greens Neon Tetras and one SAE.

Any takers, please PM. Self collect at PJ.

Will be happy to also swap/trade with Rasboras, or even shrimps. I have about 80 Green Neons to rid of.
haha, no fish is friendly with shrimp. even the smallest fish also will go and bite them. your shrimp will feel happy too and will be going around more rather than hiding
EternalC
post Nov 23 2016, 04:59 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Nov 23 2016, 04:50 PM)
Thanks or reply, since I will getting 10gallons tank, I think it will be a cheap setup, no hardcore, just enough to please my eyes and family.

I hope it will not be so expensive ones...

ahahaha
the expensive part will be the subtracts and the light. others should be ok, unless you wanna play co2
EternalC
post Dec 1 2016, 03:20 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Dec 1 2016, 03:08 PM)
bump incase someone missed it..haha..
dirt as in those tanah?

EternalC
post Dec 2 2016, 08:19 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Dec 1 2016, 06:12 PM)
yep..tanah as in nursery bought type..
really?.i need to search again..didn't stumble on it last time i search..might be wrong keyword or something..

actually planning on doing 3ft or 4ft project..but i cannot afford those pricey soil to fill enough of the tank..might need to do some slope or more rocks or wood or something else..so i need to channel the fund accordingly and as cheap as possible..right now still in budget planning stage so cost is my concern..

thx for the info though.. thumbup.gif
i'll tell you one thing, its gonna be messy lol

for me, the price for the aquasoil is worth the trouble you will be avoiding. trust me, after a year, you will be bored to keep doing the maintenance
EternalC
post Dec 2 2016, 11:48 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Dec 2 2016, 11:40 AM)
naaa..i think power type is a big no for me even in small scale scape..at this time it still "not worth" for me..

yep, the price difference is what im after..im pretty sure i can tolerate about how messy it would be since what im after is the cost saving and not the cleaner way..but not sure about my wife.. sweat.gif

but i did saw video on youtube, he use layer of (if im not mistaken) sand>potting soil>gravel>aquasoil>powder on top..atleast i save him some money on the potting soil rather than using full aquasoil..

did search in MAC, but the forum is like full of spam now..and is there any search button for me to use?.it seem i can't find any..
yeah, i agree about how messy it would be..some say need to water the soil outside>put in tank>cover with gravel..some just put soil in tank>cover with gravel>put water (this one is messier since the soil is full of air bubble in between)
quick question, how much aquasoil do i need to cover average (average slope and thinkess) scape of 3ft and 4ft?.
if u have lots of rocks, big ones, i think 1 pack (9 litre) would be enough for a decent scape
or maybe a lil bit more lol

This post has been edited by EternalC: Dec 2 2016, 11:49 AM
EternalC
post Feb 9 2017, 01:20 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(mudz @ Feb 9 2017, 01:14 PM)
Greetings,

Would like to seek for some advice on how to rescape the plants into better order. Started this tank months ago and it looks very messy now.
i actually think its quite nice

fishes love this

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1153sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:33 AM