QUOTE(antaras @ Jan 30 2015, 12:10 PM)
Good, pretty much explains everything. Thanks.  biggrin.gif
I hope we both learn from this fiasco rclxms.gif
InvestThing
post Jan 30 2015, 12:20 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Jan 30 2015, 12:02 PM)
19'' the resolution is either 720P or 900P? , shouldn't be a problem. I tested  Bioshock Infinite(ran very smoothly ) and DA:I (with all settings on ultra and 4MSAA, the game chew quite a lot of vram and it reaches almost 3GB mark, but it still ran fine). My resolution is 1080P btw.

Your card is the same model as me, you should try overclock it a bit  icon_rolleyes.gif
Im noob in all these overclocking. Never done it before.
JohnLai
post Jan 30 2015, 12:23 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:03 PM)
Probably they hope nobody knows except those in the forum or reading tech news.
Its hardware issue. They already said not going to fix it because it is design as such. To nVidia, it is not a bug. And yes, it cannot be corrected by software, driver or BIOS.

The outcome of this is that your card is effectively 3.5GB.
Indeed. 'It is not a bug, it is a feature', said nvidia.

I recalled during Geforce 8800 gtx era, when nvidia forced AIB/OEM and its driver to set GPU fan spins faster so that when the gpu failed, it will be out of warranty period, users were complaining about the loud fan and this was exactly what Nvidia said to press/forum, "'It is not a bug, it is a feature".
SUSgogo2
post Jan 30 2015, 12:27 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 30 2015, 12:23 PM)
Indeed. 'It is not a bug, it is a feature', said nvidia.

I recalled during Geforce 8800 gtx era, when nvidia forced AIB/OEM and its driver to set GPU fan spins faster so that when the gpu failed, it will be out of warranty period, users were complaining about the loud fan and this was exactly what Nvidia said to press/forum, "'It is not a bug, it is a feature".
nVidia has been a shady company since then I guess... lol

and ofcourse bumpgate and others..

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 30 2015, 12:30 PM
JohnLai
post Jan 30 2015, 12:38 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:27 PM)
nVidia has been a shady company since then I guess... lol

and ofcourse bumpgate and others..
AMD also shady company as well....

Promise this and that, never deliver....mostly.
1) Promised 4K H264 DXVA acceleration on existing gpu product, last last said only for GCN 1.2 GPU.
2) Where is the power saving mentioned?
3) Mantle API, said will be release before 2015, until now still not publicly available.
4) Legendary 2D mode flickering, black screen, excessive gpu thermal throttling.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 30 2015, 12:45 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 30 2015, 12:38 PM)
AMD also shady company as well....

Promise this and that, never deliver....mostly.
1) Promised 4K H264 DXVA acceleration on existing gpu product, last last said only for GCN 1.2 GPU.
2) Where is the power saving mentioned?
3) Mantle API, said will be release before 2015, until now still not publicly available.
4) Legendary 2D mode flickering, black screen, excessive gpu thermal throttling.
Not as shady as nVidia.

1) well, at least it is broken promise. Your AMD card is still the same spec when you bought it.
2) I'm not sure.
3) Well, your AMD still same spec
4) probably bug or something.

GTX970 issue involved spec changes. Imagine the TV you bought is written 4K AMOLED. But its actually Pentile AMOLED. laugh.gif
JohnLai
post Jan 30 2015, 12:53 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:45 PM)
Not as shady as nVidia.

1) well, at least it is broken promise. Your AMD card is still the same spec when you bought it.
2) I'm not sure.
3) Well, your AMD still same spec
4) probably bug or something.

GTX970 issue involved spec changes. Imagine the TV you bought is written 4K AMOLED. But its actually Pentile AMOLED.  laugh.gif
1) No comment on this cry.gif
2) sweat.gif
3) I bought R7 260X specifically for mantle API improvement. Turn out the so called 40% improvement for Battlefield 4 is not really true. Still hoping....
4) Actually, it is hardware issue. In fact, most AMD AIB issued VBIOS to disable the power saving ability for its GPU VRAM. GPU core itself unaffected. Which is back to (2)

Then I bought GTX970 only to discover about the 3.5GB issue few weeks later. doh.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jan 30 2015, 12:56 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 30 2015, 12:53 PM)
1) No comment on this  cry.gif
2)  sweat.gif
3) I bought R7 260X specifically for mantle API improvement. Turn out the so called 40% improvement for Battlefield 4 is not really true. Still hoping....
4) Actually, it is hardware issue. In fact, most AMD AIB issued VBIOS to disable the power saving ability for its GPU VRAM. GPU core itself unaffected. Which is back to (2)

Then I bought GTX970 only to discover about the 3.5GB issue few weeks later.  doh.gif
wah, you really sui... laugh.gif

But ok la. Some people say they still very very happy.
JohnLai
post Jan 30 2015, 01:10 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:56 PM)
wah, you really sui...  laugh.gif

But ok la. Some people say they still very very happy.
I think the only purchase that worth my money is Gainward ATI HD 4850 Golden Sample 1GB.

My first gaming GPU is Geforce 8800gts or x, cant remember, it died after 8 months due to bumpgate cry.gif

Then I bought the HD4850. (This one still alive and running)

Next, directx11 games are too many, decided to get R7 260X when it was out in the market for its Mantle API claim and FreeSync.
There goes the many issue I encountered until the main issue 2d flickering fixed with VBIOS 3 months ago..... (keeping it in box now)

By the time R7 260X fixed by VBIOS update by disabling VRAM power management.....I bought ASUS GTX970 Styrix lor

Then one of the cap was faulty, send for RMA.....I just got it back this week....

.....3.5gb issue confirmed shocking.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jan 30 2015, 01:12 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 30 2015, 01:10 PM)
I think the only purchase that worth my money is Gainward ATI HD 4850 Golden Sample 1GB.

My first gaming GPU is Geforce 8800gts or x, cant remember, it died after 8 months due to bumpgate  cry.gif

Then I bought the HD4850. (This one still alive and running)

Next, directx11 games are too many, decided to get R7 260X when it was out in the market for its Mantle API claim and FreeSync.
There goes the many issue I encountered until the main issue 2d flickering fixed with VBIOS 3 months ago..... (keeping it in box now)

By the time R7 260X fixed by VBIOS update by disabling VRAM power management.....I bought ASUS GTX970 Styrix lor

Then one of the cap was faulty, send for RMA.....I just got it back this week....

.....3.5gb issue confirmed  shocking.gif
eh, if 8 months died, you can't RMA 8800gts meh?

my gpu seldom die on me. But my sapphire HD5850 HMDI dead after 1 year. sweat.gif
JohnLai
post Jan 30 2015, 01:17 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 01:12 PM)
eh, if 8 months died, you can't RMA 8800gts meh?

my gpu seldom die on me. But my sapphire HD5850 HMDI dead after 1 year.  sweat.gif
That time, I was young leh.......I simply believed the shop owner who told me warranty only for 6 months.

Fast forward few years, I learn about factory warranty and shop based warranty.
That mother****** cheater shop owner! mad.gif
Incidentally, I also learn more of computing stuff. nod.gif

Edit: grammer mistake, damn autocorrect

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jan 30 2015, 01:18 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 30 2015, 01:20 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 30 2015, 01:17 PM)
That time, I was young leh.......I simply believed the shop owner who told me warranty only for 6 months.

Fast forward few years, I learn about factory warranty and shop based warranty.
That mother****** cheater shop owner! mad.gif
Incidentally, I also learn more of computing stuff. nod.gif

Edit: grammer mistake, damn autocorrect
oh that sucks... yeah, last time most tech shop are full of cheaters and liars.. coz we dunno mah
terradrive
post Jan 30 2015, 01:26 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 10:04 AM)
If that conclusion make you feel any better, then good. Some people just don't like being cheated. Also this is effectively 3.5GB card.
It is useless to talk with people that don't have good comprehension of what we're aactually talking about. They don't know the difference between frames per second and frametime.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 30 2015, 01:30 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 30 2015, 01:26 PM)
It is useless to talk with people that don't have good comprehension of what we're aactually talking about. They don't know the difference between frames per second and frametime.
I think probably he doesn't feel any spike when he play game (maybe due to non-demanding game setting). Furthermore in the PCPer review, the frametimes is worse with GTX970 but not as bad as expected due to 3.5GB VRAM. It seems PCPer is protecting nVidia lololol...

terradrive
post Jan 30 2015, 02:03 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 01:30 PM)
I think probably he doesn't feel any spike when he play game (maybe due to non-demanding game setting). Furthermore in the PCPer review, the frametimes is worse with GTX970 but not as bad as expected due to 3.5GB VRAM. It seems PCPer is protecting nVidia lololol...
pcper only tests two games, they should tried modded skyrim, heard it got very very bad stutters.
rurushu
post Jan 30 2015, 02:49 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 30 2015, 02:03 PM)
pcper only tests two games, they should tried modded skyrim, heard it got very very bad stutters.
then nVidia comes with the excuse saying that it is NOT "the way it's meant to be played" laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSskylinelover
post Jan 30 2015, 03:42 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 30 2015, 02:49 PM)
then nVidia comes with the excuse saying that it is NOT "the way it's meant to be played"  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Sotsotzaii
post Jan 30 2015, 04:07 PM

2,531 posts

Hi guys, I have 2 graphic card in my rig now, how do I enable SLI function? And how do I make sure that both graphic card is in use ?

128 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:40 AM