-.- Remind me not to purchase GPU early next time.
NVIDIA GeForce Community V14
Jan 25 2015, 01:39 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
3,669 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
-.- Remind me not to purchase GPU early next time.
Jan 25 2015, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 25 2015, 06:31 PM) Well, end of the day, the 970 is still faster than the 780 and R9 290. This is a fact that won't changed, even if a game takes up more than 3.5GB of VRAM. The latest AMD Omega driver did close the gap a little bit and if there are mroe games making use of Mantle in the near future, we could potentially see the 290 to come quite close to the 970 and probably even equalling it in a VRAM intensive game. 3GB = definitely a problem.Best case scenario is not to buy anything right now. Prices has increased (I just got another MSI 970 for SLI for RM1430 so that's still a decent deal considering the MSI 970 released at RM1.5k a few months ago). Note: The 970 will indeed start to drop frames like crazy if VRAM allocation goes above 3.5GB. You don't even have to try a game, just open up Kombuster and run the 4GB VRAM stress test then compare it with the 3GB, the frames are nearly double on the latter. On another side note, I think this is why Nvidia didn't push for 3GB of VRAM on the 960. That puny 128bit bus would have bottlenecked like crazy. But GTX960 can address 4GB without issue as long as it use four 1GB GDDR5 chips. The timing is very suspicious as Samsung recently announced production of 1GB GDDR5 chip few weeks ago. |
Jan 25 2015, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 25 2015, 10:18 PM) No. The 960 will have issues using 4GB of VRAM even if it's using only 4 modules. Problem isn't how many VRAM chips are on the board, is how the allocation is done. Nope, as long as it is 4 modules, there will be no allocation issue.That's honestly a stupid build. Spend more than 10k but no custom WC setup and use cheapo CLC? Using a laser sensor mouse? M50x as a headphone just because..? Have a look on GTX 960 high level diagram. All SMM units have proper access to memory controller. A true 128bit width. |
Jan 26 2015, 07:53 PM
Jan 26 2015, 10:02 PM
Ai yo yo, you two ar......
Don't forgot SMM unit connection may be disabled by laser cut. |
Jan 27 2015, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(antaras @ Jan 27 2015, 12:10 PM) On another note, anyone with issues with DP giving out "no signal" to the monitor? I need to reset the damn thing every time in order to view anything at all. HDMI is not b****ing though. Anyway, only happen on startup. Here a bad news with solution for you.https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/77...376386/#4376386 |
Jan 27 2015, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(antaras @ Jan 27 2015, 01:53 PM) Holy macaroni... that's one whole big pile of text to read... Eh? What do you mean? okay... basically I'm screwed with the damn DP now. Will try and uninstall GeForce Experience and see if it helps or not. Anyway, thanks for the link. The actual solution = update your GPU VBIOS.....But this will depend whether your particular AIB(Asus, Gigabyte, MSI) release new VBIOS to address this particular issue..... |
Jan 27 2015, 09:04 PM
To make it worst.....they actually 'mistated' the ROP counts........
Jan 28 2015, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2015, 01:15 AM) This. +100000000000 If they actually came clean in the first place, the 970 would still have sell over a million units in 2 months. I mean, despite the fact the 970 has a gimped 0.5GB of VRAM, it is still undeniably the best $350/RM1.1-1.5k in a very, very, long time. I think most people without bottomless pockets can agree with me if I say the 980 is great, but it isn't $220/RM500-RM700 better than the 970. Hard to deny that fact. It did result in stutter though. Example, when I rename some of the recent game to (example) game123.exe and try to load the VRAM to breach the 3.5GB limit, it actually stuttering with lotta spike in frametime. When I rename back to the original game.exe, the stutter is gone and the vram usage stays consistently within 3.5gb limit. I wonder why no one bother the rename their games executable to test the driver optimization impact like I did? |
Jan 28 2015, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(shikimori @ Jan 28 2015, 08:04 AM) stuttering issue really put me off and shit even happen at nvidia optimize game like dying light. I pity the game developers as well.If this ram fiasco causing it I really want a refund getting 120 fps ++ but stuttering intermittently zzz Most of them think GTX970 really 4gb card and so they set the game engine to allocate exactly 4GB. Then suddenly nvidia driver starts interfering and force the VRAM usage to stay under 3.5GB. I guess game developers also have headache over this issue. |
Jan 30 2015, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:03 PM) Probably they hope nobody knows except those in the forum or reading tech news. Indeed. 'It is not a bug, it is a feature', said nvidia.Its hardware issue. They already said not going to fix it because it is design as such. To nVidia, it is not a bug. And yes, it cannot be corrected by software, driver or BIOS. The outcome of this is that your card is effectively 3.5GB. I recalled during Geforce 8800 gtx era, when nvidia forced AIB/OEM and its driver to set GPU fan spins faster so that when the gpu failed, it will be out of warranty period, users were complaining about the loud fan and this was exactly what Nvidia said to press/forum, "'It is not a bug, it is a feature". |
Jan 30 2015, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:27 PM) AMD also shady company as well....Promise this and that, never deliver....mostly. 1) Promised 4K H264 DXVA acceleration on existing gpu product, last last said only for GCN 1.2 GPU. 2) Where is the power saving mentioned? 3) Mantle API, said will be release before 2015, until now still not publicly available. 4) Legendary 2D mode flickering, black screen, excessive gpu thermal throttling. |
Jan 30 2015, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:45 PM) Not as shady as nVidia. 1) No comment on this 1) well, at least it is broken promise. Your AMD card is still the same spec when you bought it. 2) I'm not sure. 3) Well, your AMD still same spec 4) probably bug or something. GTX970 issue involved spec changes. Imagine the TV you bought is written 4K AMOLED. But its actually Pentile AMOLED. 2) 3) I bought R7 260X specifically for mantle API improvement. Turn out the so called 40% improvement for Battlefield 4 is not really true. Still hoping.... 4) Actually, it is hardware issue. In fact, most AMD AIB issued VBIOS to disable the power saving ability for its GPU VRAM. GPU core itself unaffected. Which is back to (2) Then I bought GTX970 only to discover about the 3.5GB issue few weeks later. |
Jan 30 2015, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 12:56 PM) I think the only purchase that worth my money is Gainward ATI HD 4850 Golden Sample 1GB.My first gaming GPU is Geforce 8800gts or x, cant remember, it died after 8 months due to bumpgate Then I bought the HD4850. (This one still alive and running) Next, directx11 games are too many, decided to get R7 260X when it was out in the market for its Mantle API claim and FreeSync. There goes the many issue I encountered until the main issue 2d flickering fixed with VBIOS 3 months ago..... (keeping it in box now) By the time R7 260X fixed by VBIOS update by disabling VRAM power management.....I bought ASUS GTX970 Styrix lor Then one of the cap was faulty, send for RMA.....I just got it back this week.... .....3.5gb issue confirmed |
Jan 30 2015, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 30 2015, 01:12 PM) eh, if 8 months died, you can't RMA 8800gts meh? That time, I was young leh.......I simply believed the shop owner who told me warranty only for 6 months.my gpu seldom die on me. But my sapphire HD5850 HMDI dead after 1 year. Fast forward few years, I learn about factory warranty and shop based warranty. That mother****** cheater shop owner! Incidentally, I also learn more of computing stuff. Edit: grammer mistake, damn autocorrect This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jan 30 2015, 01:18 PM |
Feb 21 2015, 08:13 PM
Mar 2 2015, 11:42 AM
=.= sigh, the latest drivers still doesn't fix Ragnarok Online graphical glitch for Maxwell series......
Mar 7 2015, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 7 2015, 03:56 PM) anyone using Display Port to their monitors? seems like my U2515H doesnt show BIOS everytime i reboot PC Strange? I thought this displayport issue only confined to GTX 900 series?but my 2nd monitor with DVI have no issues https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/77...-posted-11-25-/ |
Mar 8 2015, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(demonicslayer @ Mar 8 2015, 10:34 AM) Lately, the GTX970 values for a few brand has increased a bit. From these few brands below, which one would you pick? why? Just need an input on the subject since I am not so IT savvy. Actually, the price doesn't 'increase'. It appears to be so........because our Ringgit Malaysia value is weakening..... Gainward GTX970 Phantom 4GB - RM1249 (2 years warranty) Leadtek GTX 970 Hurricane 4GB - RM1299 (3 years warranty) Palit GTX970 Jetstream 4GB - RM1299 (3 years warranty) In fact, the price for gtx 970 is dropping steadily worldwide..... Anyway, get the Palit version. It is semi-fanless, but the maximum temperature before the fan starts to spin is quite high, around 70'C. Not to mention it only uses 2 slots. Plus it is the highest factory overclocked among those 3. The Gainward version use up to 3 SLOTS (2.5 slots be exact). My friend complained about it. Haha.....so much for the easily removable fan design. EDIT: For comparison, Asus GTX970 fan will spin once temperature reaches 67'C. Important note. You have to know the segmented memory nature of GTX 970, go read the article at anandtech on GTX 970 memory partitioning issue. Technically, gtx970 is a 3.5gb card because it can't access the remaining 0.5gb at same time when gpu is using 3.5gb. XOR situation. Go read the article it. (use google) This post has been edited by JohnLai: Mar 8 2015, 11:26 AM |
Mar 8 2015, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 8 2015, 03:47 PM) any ideas how directx12 multi gpu using different brands e.g. nvidia and amd is going to play out ? Probably it will never happen.Now i think opengl, mantle or both are also saying they can do just as much. does that mean for those of us not wanting to spend much on gsync monitor, but still want to use a nvidia card, will end up using nvidia + ati in some sort of multigpu setup. But sounds as if, then the ATI card will have to be the primary if wanting use the freesync i suspect Seems like things are going to get pretty complicated Both companies will try their best to bork each other. Example, nvidia already disabling gpu based physx if AMD gpu is detected, even with nvidia gpu is the primay display. Next, AMD itself has bad record of maintaining driver in which the DX12 require even more low level optimization by developers. |
| Change to: | 0.0455sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:49 AM |