QUOTE(ohcipala @ Aug 23 2015, 03:39 PM)
Macai follow boss cari makan mah. Have to do his job here...we have to understand his positionringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD
ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD
Aug 23 2015, 03:44 PM
4,258 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Aug 23 2015, 04:24 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,457 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(netmask8 @ Aug 23 2015, 12:12 PM) It is free open market.. Why need to intervene the currency uptrend / downtrend ? Weaker currency makes competitive exports, good tourism business and increase ppls saving in bank, as other than basic necessities needs spending in life, ppls will hold purchasing import items that not important(luxury, or demand based needs) ? QUOTE(netmask8 @ Aug 23 2015, 12:20 PM) Yeah, very informative with many currencies dropped against strengthening greenback.. Many countries are in currency war to depreciate their currencies, to boost competitive EXPORTS and tourism. Thanks for the great information, that linked it to strengthening greenback with 1st interest rate hike by USA FED soon. QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 23 2015, 02:59 PM) Friend, you reference to USD and reference to MYR will be similar lah. Ie. you convert RM to USD, then USD to that particular currency. The result is similar (although not exact to the dot) It seem malaysia is winning the currency war. The gomen is great warrior, Malaysia boleh!Anyway, here it is. Although I feel stupid to table it out MYR/USD -31.8% MYR/HKD -31.8% MYR/RMB -26.9% MYR/GBP -25.1% MYR/TWD -21.0% MYR/THB -18.1% MYR/SGD -17.1% MYR/JPY -12.3% MYR/KRW -12.5% MYR/Eur -12.6% MYR/IDR -10.7% MYR/CAD -10.3% MYR/NZD -4.5% MYR/AUD -3.6% MYR/RUB +45.1% (bloomberg no MYR/RUB quote. I use USD as reference point) |
Aug 23 2015, 04:30 PM
791 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
In this moment while RM is drop badly, should we make support action such as buying gold as saving?
RM1000 still RM1000 next year but that amount still not equal to current amount to buy anything. Buy RM1000 gold and sell it later to gain money can get it much higher to survive later. This is just my opinion and really welcome any comment about it. |
Aug 23 2015, 04:50 PM
48,519 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 23 2015, 02:59 PM) Friend, you reference to USD and reference to MYR will be similar lah. Ie. you convert RM to USD, then USD to that particular currency. The result is similar (although not exact to the dot) don't feel stupid.. u did some great job for newbie Anyway, here it is. Although I feel stupid to table it out MYR/USD -31.8% MYR/HKD -31.8% MYR/RMB -26.9% MYR/GBP -25.1% MYR/TWD -21.0% MYR/THB -18.1% MYR/SGD -17.1% MYR/JPY -12.3% MYR/KRW -12.5% MYR/Eur -12.6% MYR/IDR -10.7% MYR/CAD -10.3% MYR/NZD -4.5% MYR/AUD -3.6% MYR/RUB +45.1% (bloomberg no MYR/RUB quote. I use USD as reference point) |
Aug 23 2015, 04:52 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
There is nothing to "proud" of winning the currency war (depreciate the most), as it may only makes public poorer only and may suffer due to inflation.
Winning currency war by depreciating currency is like slashing your selling price so that you can win more business, but at the expense of inflation, wealth value shrinking and lower purchasing power. Current per capital income is around 33K, at exchange rate USD3.3, it means USD 10K, which can buy 33.3 Iphone (assumed iphone price is USD300) Now at 4.16 rate, per capital income becomes USD7.9k, and now only can buy 26.3 Iphone. From here we can see purchasing power has become lower already. With the same wages, the lesser goods can be bought. The ultimate goal of economy growth is for everyone to be better off in term of improving purchasing power, not suffer. No one can forever rely on devalued currency to get more business, as in the end of the day, it will hurt your purchasing power only. Just like you opens a shop and in order to get more business compared to competitor, you keep on slashing price, until one day, it will hurt your bottom line (no more profit), and business will suffer. There must be a balance in between, too low no good, too high also no good. |
Aug 23 2015, 05:09 PM
21,457 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 23 2015, 04:52 PM) There is nothing to "proud" of winning the currency war (depreciate the most), as it may only makes public poorer only and may suffer due to inflation. Kankong and palm oil is priced in RM, people are grateful to great warrior can have fried kankong everyday.Winning currency war by depreciating currency is like slashing your selling price so that you can win more business, but at the expense of inflation, wealth value shrinking and lower purchasing power. Current per capital income is around 33K, at exchange rate USD3.3, it means USD 10K, which can buy 33.3 Iphone (assumed iphone price is USD300) Now at 4.16 rate, per capital income becomes USD7.9k, and now only can buy 26.3 Iphone. From here we can see purchasing power has become lower already. With the same wages, the lesser goods can be bought. The ultimate goal of economy growth is for everyone to be better off in term of improving purchasing power, not suffer. No one can forever rely on devalued currency to get more business, as in the end of the day, it will hurt your purchasing power only. Just like you opens a shop and in order to get more business compared to competitor, you keep on slashing price, until one day, it will hurt your bottom line (no more profit), and business will suffer. There must be a balance in between, too low no good, too high also no good. This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 23 2015, 05:35 PM |
Aug 23 2015, 06:35 PM
24,456 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(psyconutss @ Aug 23 2015, 12:37 PM) QUOTE(chengcheng @ Aug 23 2015, 02:54 PM) poa = price on application.there is a snapshot of a money exchanger board showing the rm as "poa". will not bother to post here. but possibly it was somewhere in south africa where the rand lost 21% against usd in 1 yr vs 31.8% for rm. so, maybe can say south africa lost to msia in global currency war, surrender with "poa"?! This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 23 2015, 06:57 PM |
Aug 23 2015, 08:11 PM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Can anyone smell the aroma of USD/MYR @ 4.20 next week?
Aug 23 2015, 08:47 PM
24,385 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Seriously POA? That bad?
Aug 23 2015, 08:50 PM
48,519 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 23 2015, 06:35 PM) poa = price on application. share the pict plz there is a snapshot of a money exchanger board showing the rm as "poa". will not bother to post here. but possibly it was somewhere in south africa where the rand lost 21% against usd in 1 yr vs 31.8% for rm. so, maybe can say south africa lost to msia in global currency war, surrender with "poa"?! |
Aug 23 2015, 08:51 PM
438 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: 3.192621,101.691742 |
Aug 23 2015, 09:02 PM
24,385 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Aug 23 2015, 09:15 PM
1,589 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Newbie question : why would a sign saying "POA" or price on application be a concern ?
Aug 23 2015, 09:22 PM
Aug 23 2015, 09:23 PM
24,456 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Aug 23 2015, 09:41 PM
10,124 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 23 2015, 08:11 PM) I'm waiting for 4.25 to get on the extra long side of the trade. Big purchase coming - I will try to help the Johor economy. Mari Mari.. almost there. QUOTE(one2ka4 @ Aug 23 2015, 08:51 PM) The only thing that I'm topping up is my next meals and shopping trips to JB.. loving this low rate of the Ringgit! This post has been edited by danmooncake: Aug 23 2015, 09:47 PM |
Aug 23 2015, 09:43 PM
Aug 23 2015, 10:22 PM
Validating
1,525 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 23 2015, 09:41 PM) I'm waiting for 4.25 to get on the extra long side of the trade. Smart move. Convert all USD and make big property purchase in JB? Perhaps,Should wait till FED raise 1st interest rate hike in 9 years soon. Big purchase coming - I will try to help the Johor economy. Mari Mari.. almost there. The only thing that I'm topping up is my next meals and shopping trips to JB.. loving this low rate of the Ringgit! |
Aug 23 2015, 10:28 PM
Validating
1,525 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 23 2015, 03:34 PM) You are a famous macai in LYN mah...everybody knew it Always cannot elaborate, hence links to macai, mangali, and so on names calling. You are very "SMART" with yr good maths grade in SPM. I have shown you cold hard numbers. All you can reply is just rhetorics ? When you can't even understand the simple numbers. What else can I described you ? Kid, Your teacher must be very "proud" of you since you wrote nice wordings here.. Keep yr good effort and later, always cannot elaborate, play finger pointing blame game or nice photoshop EDIT . This post has been edited by netmask8: Aug 23 2015, 10:31 PM |
Aug 23 2015, 10:33 PM
438 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: 3.192621,101.691742 |
| Change to: | 0.0206sec