131 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

DOTA 2 V20, Congrats v20!!!

harusame1989
post Jan 21 2015, 11:19 AM

183 posts

There was a post I read in reddit about a person who ranting about the Ranked AP Mode in Unranked Game, saying vavle should not just make it for one week instead and implement it forever.

Personally I thought it was the best change so far, I never enjoy the game so much for that 1 week and you almost get the pug as close to the ranked match feel instead of half of your game is one-sided or heroes countering game. It is a good way to learn or testing hero build in the best way possible without worry losing mmr.

My Main Reason loving that mode:
1. Can test hero with possible build without worry enemy with all 3 to 4 hero countering you. (e.g I tend to pick TA first sometime, but then enemy last min all Veno, Pudge, batrider. I was like wtf? again?! and I am the only carry.)
2. The game is way more balanced. Its hard to counter last minute, which is very nice.
3. No more last min random shit or last min pause to choose counter hero.

But still, majority still prefer the old mode. Ranting about not fun anymore, basically i just think they want to bully ppl with counter hero meta, instead of enjoy the thrill of balance match.

Want to know your thought about the new mode. Would you wish vavle to implement it back for better gameplay?
djhenry91
post Jan 21 2015, 11:57 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

u mean the team rank ap mode?
for me i like tht wan...its fair everyone and no last min to counter pick
Agito666
post Jan 21 2015, 12:04 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 21 2015, 11:57 AM)
i think he meant last time in MM, the AP mode was like ranked style pick one by one (was changed into that last week)
but yesterday was changed back again, people keep counter pick at last second sweat.gif doh.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 21 2015, 12:11 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jan 21 2015, 11:57 AM)
from what I understand, there was a 1 week period before last week ( during my exam week, so i didnt know about the change) that valve implemented the ranked ap style ( choose 1 by 1 ) in normal pub match making.

I personally think that should stay. Why complain about wasting 5 min to pick properly and possibly have a enjoyable game? do you rather risk wasting 30-1 hour of your time due to a one sided draft or a potato line up?

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Jan 21 2015, 12:12 PM
funnyTONE
post Jan 21 2015, 12:13 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(harusame1989 @ Jan 21 2015, 11:19 AM)
There was a post I read in reddit about a person who ranting about the Ranked AP Mode in Unranked Game, saying vavle should not just make it for one week instead and implement it forever.

Personally I thought it was the best change so far, I never enjoy the game so much for that 1 week and you almost get the pug as close to the ranked match feel instead of half of your game is one-sided or heroes countering game. It is a good way to learn or testing hero build in the best way possible without worry losing mmr.

My Main Reason loving that mode:
1. Can test hero with possible build without worry enemy with all 3 to 4 hero countering you. (e.g I tend to pick TA first sometime, but then enemy last min all Veno, Pudge, batrider. I was like wtf? again?! and I am the only carry.)
2. The game is way more balanced. Its hard to counter last minute, which is very nice.
3. No more last min random shit or last min pause to choose counter hero.

But still, majority still prefer the old mode. Ranting about not fun anymore, basically i just think they want to bully ppl with counter hero meta, instead of enjoy the thrill of balance match.

Want to know your thought about the new mode. Would you wish vavle to implement it back for better gameplay?

The first time this happened, I thought I messed up my setting somewhere. Suddenly picking heroes were a whole lot different. As a low level player, both mode makes not much difference to me, but I do agree the AP mode kinda nifty in a sense you need to choose your heroes well and quick, but it takes forever to complete. The old one can sometimes mess up the draft especially playing with stunners and no carry.

Blues89
post Jan 21 2015, 12:31 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

but in another pov, for ppl who wan fast game and instead of wasting time waiting for oppo to pick. its bad.
since pub is more for casual,why make it to ranked style? it would waste like at least 3 min just at picking stage
harusame1989
post Jan 21 2015, 01:06 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jan 21 2015, 12:13 PM)
The first time this happened, I thought I messed up my setting somewhere. Suddenly picking heroes were a whole lot different. As a low level player, both mode makes not much difference to me, but I do agree the AP mode kinda nifty in a sense you need to choose your heroes well and quick, but it takes forever to complete. The old one can sometimes mess up the draft especially playing with stunners and no carry.
They did patch halfway, last time is 60sec for each side to pick, but then they patch it to 30sec which is a lot better, but don forget, most of the people who pick 1st will be fast, if each person take less than 10sec to pick ,u just waste 1 min. After that, no pause, no need strategy talk, no need scare ppl last min all pick then all wan mid. I am not sure how the low level player feel, probably they lack the idea of counter hero, above 3k rank u will see all just wan counter and bully u, then trash talk u noob lol.

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Jan 21 2015, 12:31 PM)
but in another pov, for ppl who wan fast game and instead of wasting time waiting for oppo to pick. its bad.
since pub is more for casual,why make it to ranked style? it would waste like at least 3 min just at picking stage
Y not waste that 3min, ask yourself this, how many time does you have to pause to wait ppl pick for old style, more or less i would say 1min wait ppl pick 1st, then 1 min pause to wait counter pick, then afk there like 10 to 20 sec thinking what to buy and when u move out, its left 5 to 10 sec be4 game start, where sometime i see no ppl contest rune, or not enuf time reach there. Unless you say that 1min of your life is very important i nothing to say la. tongue.gif

Btw, Joking aside, would you rather waste 30 - 40min of ur time, knowing that all their hero draft is better than you and hardly any chance to win (e.g all enemy is early pusher, and your team is all late game carry), or would you rather have 40min of balance game most of the time? Also don forget, around 10 match i usually get 2 or 3 game is 15min game 20-3 score, when the higher score team can win, but they just wan to drag for higher kda or get a divine for fun, then another 20min drag game. (honestly i sometime do that tongue.gif, but rarely cos i just want to end their suffer faster).

Edit:
Forget to mention, If you continuously get counter picked and losing consecutively, That is where when u wan to ragequit dota so bad but you still come back to play cos you love dota. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by harusame1989: Jan 21 2015, 01:14 PM
Blues89
post Jan 21 2015, 01:09 PM

4,892 posts

sorry to say,but pub for me is like casual game where u can simply play around.and seriously if ur good at it,even if ur picks are bad,u can turn the game around. been there ,done that. no late gamer,but own the game.another scenario,5 carry,still win the game. so?
and if those ppl pause for counter pick ill resume. if dc i let it
harusame1989
post Jan 21 2015, 01:22 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Jan 21 2015, 01:09 PM)
sorry to say,but pub for me is like casual game where u can simply play around.and seriously if ur good at it,even if ur picks are bad,u can turn the game around. been there ,done that. no late gamer,but own the game.another scenario,5 carry,still win the game. so?
and if those ppl pause for counter pick ill resume. if dc i let it
In case you dont know about me, http://www.dotabuff.com/players/86737282/matches
I am a very casual player, u hardly seen me playing ranked cos my fren rank is not same as mine, even if i wan solo, only sunday allow me once or twice to solo mmr.

But true you have the point there, anything can happen in dota, but the chances are low.

The thing is, even if you wan to resume you cant sometime, when the one who afk or waiting is your teammate. You will have a psychological of pausing it in case your ally losing too much gold and have a bad start. Everybody play dota wishing to win the game, no one wan to play when the drafting ady told you that you are losing, and praying enemy is noob or miss skill all the time.

Btw, I am not forcing my idea on you, just wan to share what i thought, i might be wrong and have to admit and continue playing the way it is now. biggrin.gif
v1n0d
post Jan 21 2015, 01:30 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jan 21 2015, 12:11 PM)
from what I understand, there was a 1 week period before last week ( during my exam week, so i didnt know about the change) that valve implemented the ranked ap style ( choose 1 by 1 ) in normal pub match making.

I personally think that should stay. Why complain about wasting 5 min to pick properly and possibly have a enjoyable game? do you rather risk wasting 30-1 hour of your time due to a one sided draft or a potato line up?
The ranked AP style of sequential hero picks does not guarantee there won't be potato lineups. There are many players who just play what they want without regard for team composition. It's currently at the stage where if you care about your lineup, you have to be the last to pick.

The original idea behind introducing the idea of ranked matchmaking was to provide an environment where serious players could play without having to endure the "just a game" mentality, and track their improvement using the rating system. Valve has failed on both accounts as there are still many trolls in ranked, and the improvement tracked is artificial due to account boosting and smurfing.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 21 2015, 01:46 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jan 21 2015, 01:30 PM)
The ranked AP style of sequential hero picks does not guarantee there won't be potato lineups. There are many players who just play what they want without regard for team composition. It's currently at the stage where if you care about your lineup, you have to be the last to pick.

The original idea behind introducing the idea of ranked matchmaking was to provide an environment where serious players could play without having to endure the "just a game" mentality, and track their improvement using the rating system. Valve has failed on both accounts as there are still many trolls in ranked, and the improvement tracked is artificial due to account boosting and smurfing.
I agree with what you say. ranked ap style won't guarantee us not to have potato line ups. And i also agree with what you say about the whole idea of ranked and its flaws and also to last pick if you care about team composition.

However, its almost 95% guaranteed in sea that you can just simply first pick support and the others will happily pick their core hero. While if you first pick a core hero, it doesn't guarantee the others will pick a support.

Anyway, if valve can implement a perfect match making system, I'm sure dota2's user base will improve alot. however, that also depends on the player's/community's mentality. They need to know that kill's aren't everything. They should know how to play supportive role. Besides, the flaming/ trash talking/ throwing needs to go if we plan to have a better dota environment.
Ryutaro
post Jan 21 2015, 02:12 PM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
545 posts

both mode got lover and haters and valve rollback the ap mode edi, unless majority vote for the ranked ap style i dont see valve revert the mode again...ranked ap style can still be fast though if everyone pick fast and not wait others to pick
Blues89
post Jan 21 2015, 02:44 PM

4,892 posts

QUOTE(harusame1989 @ Jan 21 2015, 01:22 PM)
In case you dont know about me, http://www.dotabuff.com/players/86737282/matches
I am a very casual player, u hardly seen me playing ranked cos my fren rank is not same as mine, even if i wan solo, only sunday allow me once or twice to solo mmr.

But true you have the point there, anything can happen in dota, but the chances are low.

The thing is, even if you wan to resume you cant sometime, when the one who afk or waiting is your teammate. You will have a psychological of pausing it in case your ally losing too much gold and have a bad start. Everybody play dota wishing to win the game, no one wan to play when the drafting ady told you that you are losing, and praying enemy is noob or miss skill all the time.

Btw, I am not forcing my idea on you, just wan to share what i thought, i might be wrong and have to admit and continue playing the way it is now.  biggrin.gif
im the opposite of u,i dun play pubs unless party member dunwan ranked.
i prefer ranked cos more chances of comeback games.
if casual..many trollers which i hate,and many ppl that give up early.
there is one game where ppl mega my team,yet my team didnt even get 1 rax or 3rd tier tower.but end game,we win war and str8 throne them. when ppl mega ,most of the ppl just type gg and give up,but my team keep up at it and win the game.
the feeling of comeback is damn nice.
if in casual game,i doubt the mentality of the players will keep serious till end of game.
thats my exp and pov.i wont force it on u as u said ur a casual player maybe u think that kind of players ok for u,go for it .

dps404
post Jan 21 2015, 02:46 PM

596 posts

just train to counter those counter pickers lah.

is that so hard?
harusame1989
post Jan 21 2015, 02:57 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(dps404 @ Jan 21 2015, 02:46 PM)
just train to counter those counter pickers lah.

is that so hard?
Well its definitely not easy, its either you are too pro or enemy too noob lol
dps404
post Jan 21 2015, 03:02 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(harusame1989 @ Jan 21 2015, 02:57 PM)
Well its definitely not easy, its either you are too pro or enemy too noob lol
just treat it as a challenge.
it's called training for a reason.
harusame1989
post Jan 21 2015, 03:02 PM

183 posts

Np man, i know that feel, there is a few time i almost scream out when i win in that situation. Used to rush rank a lot, but lately cos i cant ignore my fren, and they always afraid of ranked, that y i had gone a bit too casual, and sometime will bring them to rank play once or twice.
Blues89
post Jan 21 2015, 03:04 PM

4,892 posts

i drag all my friends to ranked lol...
better gameplay and more challenging. cos ppl are more devoted to games for the win
harusame1989
post Jan 21 2015, 03:08 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(dps404 @ Jan 21 2015, 03:02 PM)
just treat it as a challenge.
it's called training for a reason.
Yep, but currently randomly testing all hero to know more around for some better combo and fun stuff. Once serious mode just pick some hero im very good at it and wipe enemy.

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Jan 21 2015, 03:04 PM)
i drag all my friends to ranked lol...
better gameplay and more challenging. cos ppl are more devoted to games for the win
Mayb I should start doing that. tongue.gif

But problem about rank is, You cant 4 member party joining. sad.gif

This post has been edited by harusame1989: Jan 21 2015, 03:11 PM
Blues89
post Jan 21 2015, 03:13 PM

4,892 posts

get another member biggrin.gif
simply invite fren only..

131 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top