146 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.

feynman
post Nov 30 2015, 11:43 PM

4,781 posts

How about Shangdi, 上帝. ?

What do you know about 上帝?
SUSredisthcan
post Dec 1 2015, 12:38 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Nov 30 2015, 11:43 PM)
How about Shangdi, 上帝. ?

What do you know about 上帝?
I'm assuming you are referring to whomever created the universe.

The original progenitor.

As per Chinese folk religion, he has long since departed for places unknown, leaving the management of his creation to the various gods and goddesses who are his subordinates.

He is more or less irrelevant now.
Haylo
post Dec 1 2015, 07:56 PM

59 posts

Where does Sakyamuni(Buddha) comes into play in Sintua? What is Buddha's position? Are there any Sakyamuni mediums?

Since 天篷元帥 is one of the 9 emperor, where does piggy come from if he is not 天篷元帥?

When you had a chat with Tua Li Ya Pek, did you ask him what Sun Wukong did in hell? Did he mess up hell during his wild days?
feynman
post Dec 1 2015, 08:16 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Dec 1 2015, 12:38 AM)
I'm assuming you are referring to whomever created the universe.

The original progenitor.

As per Chinese folk religion, he has long since departed for places unknown, leaving the management of his creation to the various gods and goddesses who are his subordinates.

He is more or less irrelevant now.
What more can you say about this entity?

As recent as the Qing Dynasty, Shangdi was worshipped by the emperor at the Temple of Heaven.....and the Qing Dynasty lasted for about 300 years with the Mandate of Heaven so.....the departure shouldn't be to far back. no?

Can a kedai sembahyang cina make a 神位 for shangdi?

This post has been edited by feynman: Dec 1 2015, 08:18 PM
SUSredisthcan
post Dec 1 2015, 08:56 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Dec 1 2015, 08:16 PM)
What more can you say about this entity?

As recent as the Qing Dynasty, Shangdi was worshipped by the emperor at the Temple of Heaven.....and the Qing Dynasty lasted for about 300 years with the Mandate of Heaven so.....the departure shouldn't be to far back. no?

Can a kedai sembahyang cina make a 神位 for shangdi?
Nothing much else, to be honest. Like I said, he is largely irrelevant now that he is long gone, and therefore doesn't interest me all that much. All evidence is that he is/was a very hands-off creator who wasn't too particular about making his identity well-known.

You cannot use that event as a gauge of when the departure occurred, lol. People knocking on the guy's door doesn't necessarily mean he has been at home anytime recently.

Most prayer material shops produce altars to the Heavenly Hosts in general (see below); these Heavenly Hosts could conceivably encompass Shang Di, so such altars really should suffice.

SUSredisthcan
post Dec 1 2015, 09:21 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Haylo @ Dec 1 2015, 07:56 PM)
Where does Sakyamuni(Buddha) comes into play in Sintua? What is Buddha's position? Are there any Sakyamuni mediums?

Since 天篷元帥 is one of the 9 emperor, where does piggy come from if he is not 天篷元帥?

When you had a chat with Tua Li Ya Pek, did you ask him what Sun Wukong did in hell? Did he mess up hell during his wild days?
Sakyamuni is the supreme leader of the Buddhist pantheon. Chinese folk religion accords him the same degree of respect as it does the Jade Emperor. The highest ranking Buddhist entity whom mediums channel is Guan Yin, so no - there are no Sakyamuni mediums.

As per the earliest version of his legend, Piggy was the anonymous chauffeur/charioteer of Lady Dou Mu, the mother of the Nine Emperors. She fired him for being drunk on duty and making an ass of himself, following which he was expelled from Heaven and born into the mortal world as a pig-half-man. This legend has its origins in the fact that Dou Mu's familiar animal is the boar, and she is often depicted as either riding a boar or riding in a chariot drawn by several boars.

The Monkey King's exploits in the realm of the dead are very well documented and really do not require any further elucidation. I try not to re-open old wounds when I have chats with deities; the hatchet has been long buried and that is that.

simonhtz
post Dec 1 2015, 10:41 PM

312 posts

Hi guys,

I hope this is the correct channel for me to ask my question here.

I just invited guan yin to my new place and initiated a new home ritual. My wife and I are only staying through the weekends. Cabinets, Internet and TV are not in yet, so there's isn't much of a incentive staying at our new place. We do, however drop by every alternate day to burn incense for guan yin.

This has been going on for a while. Fast forward next year, I'm relocating to Singapore for work. I foresee I won't come back so often here. My wife will stay back, but I foresee she will be joining me over in Singapore. So, what we do with guan yin.

Coming back and burn incense every weekend, would that suffice to keep guan yin happy? Any frequency that I can be absent from my home without invoking ill-feelings with guan yin?

Additinal info, I'm atheist. I'm doing this so that my wife and her family will be at ease.
SUSredisthcan
post Dec 1 2015, 10:50 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Dec 1 2015, 10:41 PM)
Hi guys,

I just invited guan yin to my new place and initiated a new home ritual. My wife and I are only staying through the weekends. Cabinets, Internet and TV are not in yet, so there's isn't much of a incentive staying at our new place. We do, however drop by every alternate day to burn incense for guan yin.

This has been going on for a while. Fast forward next year, I'm relocating to Singapore for work. I foresee I won't come back so often here. My wife will stay back, but I foresee she will be joining me over in Singapore. So, what we do with guan yin.

Coming back and burn incense every weekend, would that suffice to keep guan yin happy? Any frequency that I can be absent from my home without invoking ill-feelings with guan yin?

Additinal info, I'm atheist. I'm doing this so that my wife and her family will be at ease.
Hello Simon, this is, indeed, the correct place to ask your question. smile.gif

Guan Yin is the Goddess of Mercy - a compassionate and understanding deity.

She has a big heart, and is most definitely NOT the sort of person who will grumble or grouse about something so petty as people not burning incense for her at a specific time.

While dropping in once a week to offer her incense is certainly acceptable, let me tell you that it is definitely possible to move her to Singapore with you.

Go consult whomever helped you invite her home regarding the necessary rites to do this.

You have kept a very admirable commitment to her thus far, especially considering that you are an atheist - more so than many self-proclaimed devotees, as a matter of fact.

Much respect to you. notworthy.gif
dragynraken
post Dec 2 2015, 12:47 PM

28 posts

Hi guys,

As an atheist you so good to think about her and respect. I'm sure you can bring her along wherever you go. Abandon her in the house will lead the "kai guang" power fades. Anyway there is no consequence if you abandon her. Bodhisattva rank they already conquer their anger and hate, they can become buddha anytime they want. She will just smile & wait for you if you need her again.

This post has been edited by dragynraken: Dec 2 2015, 12:54 PM
simonhtz
post Dec 2 2015, 01:27 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Dec 2 2015, 12:47 PM)
As an atheist you so good to think about her and respect. I'm sure you can bring her along wherever you go. Abandon her in the house will lead the "kai guang" power fades. Anyway there is no consequence if you abandon her. Bodhisattva rank they already conquer their anger and hate, they can become buddha anytime they want. She will just smile & wait for you if you need her again.[U]
Good, I like this. Thanks guys.
sales.convenience
post Dec 2 2015, 07:01 PM

35 posts

Hi guys,

Hi Simon , respects to you for your tolerance for your wife's faith. May your marriage be blissful , may guan yin bless you, too.
Haylo
post Dec 2 2015, 09:41 PM

59 posts

Nachtsider,

I just saw another thread talk about third eye. They saw ghost roaming around. Those are the one that hell police are trying to catch?

Also, do you have a starter pack for ghost hunter vigilantism/bounty hunter?

For example, third eye(to see ghost), the cobra whip, the wooden sword, bagua, talisman and amulet?

I know I sound really sohai asking all this question but I am serious, these are the questions I have been asking myself since I was child.
trusol
post Dec 2 2015, 10:32 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Haylo @ Dec 2 2015, 09:41 PM)
Nachtsider,

I just saw another thread talk about third eye. They saw ghost roaming around. Those are the one that hell police are trying to catch?

For example, third eye(to see ghost), the cobra whip, the wooden sword, bagua, talisman and amulet?

I know I sound really sohai asking all this question but I am serious, these are the questions I have been asking myself since I was child.
Chinese Folk Religion has a very heavy Buddhist influence. Concepts like rebirth, hungry ghosts and hells came from Buddhism. But unfortunately, Chinese Folk Religion has got the wrong idea about hungry ghosts (called petas in Buddhism).

In Buddhist cosmology, hungry ghosts are placed just slightly lower than humans and higher than animals. Hells are placed even lower than animals. And in Buddhism, there is no such thing as hell beings getting out from hells unless their evil karmic forces are exhausted, which led them to be reborn in higher realms, such as as animals, ghosts, humans and even as devas. In other words, in Buddhism, hell beings <> ghosts.

One thing interesting about ghosts in Buddhism is that they may inhabit hells, the human realm and right up to the heavens but they are mostly found in abandoned places and deserts. In a Buddhist commentary, King Yama of hell is considered as a vimanapeta (being with a mixed state) which sometimes can enjoy celestial comforts and sometimes getting punished for his bad karma.

Chinese depiction of hells also have a heavy influence of the Chinese imperial administration.

SUSredisthcan
post Dec 2 2015, 10:39 PM

403 posts

Nachtsider,

Some of the spirits visible to those with the second sight are those who have yet to be collected by the Hell deities, yes.

As for 'ghost hunter vigilantism' - c'mon, man, don't be daft.

Leave stuff like this to the professionals, and NEVER try to activate your second sight.
dragynraken
post Dec 2 2015, 10:45 PM

28 posts

Nachtsider,

Not all roaming spirit can be catch. Spirit have a lot levels and they may reside in different plane or different dimension. Some wandering spirit can be even more powerful than ghost police. So having sacred weapon doesn't mean you can win any fight.

SUSredisthcan
post Dec 2 2015, 10:47 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Dec 2 2015, 10:45 PM)
Not all roaming spirit can be catch. Spirit have a lot levels and they may reside in different plane or different dimension. Some wandering spirit can be even more powerful than ghost police. So having sacred weapon doesn't mean you can win any fight.
Such beings tend NOT to be the souls of dead people.
dragynraken
post Dec 2 2015, 11:02 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Dec 2 2015, 10:47 PM)
Such beings tend NOT to be the souls of dead people.
Do they catch non human dead soul?
SUSredisthcan
post Dec 2 2015, 11:06 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Dec 2 2015, 11:02 PM)
Do they catch non human dead soul?
They come to collect anyone or anything that has died a natural or scheduled death.

Those who die unnatural or premature deaths may not necessarily come to their attention and may thus go uncollected, at least initially.
dragynraken
post Dec 2 2015, 11:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Dec 2 2015, 11:06 PM)
They come to collect anyone or anything that has died a natural or scheduled death.

Those who die unnatural or premature deaths may not necessarily come to their attention and may thus go uncollected, at least initially.
Which mean accident, being killed or suicide they dint come?
SUSredisthcan
post Dec 2 2015, 11:37 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(dragynraken @ Dec 2 2015, 11:11 PM)
Which mean accident, being killed or suicide they dint come?
Not always.

Hence the fact that the ghosts of such victims sometimes continue to linger.

146 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.2450sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:22 PM