125 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

SUSPink Spider
post Jan 16 2015, 11:00 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 16 2015, 10:54 PM)
it is Bolehland deliver beta, not alpha lar!

I don't know, maybe my beloved Ms Lee on leave or something coz her fund is koyak liao... tak boleh pakai for the time being.

Xuzen
Aiya, whatever lar, I'm not good with all these Greek words! tongue.gif

Ppl say...Ms Lee is taking over the throne of an empire built by Mr Chen...
Now that Mr Chen is gone, Ms Lee's regime dunno how to handle catastrophes tongue.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 16 2015, 11:10 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2015, 10:56 PM)
My reasoning (could be just me) -

If one day I were to migrate, the nearest and most probable destination would be Kiasuland
Don't take my words for it, u think yourself tongue.gif
hmm.gif think think....
woi!! this really deserves "A Second Look".
in kiasuland many things CANNOT do leh. Money not enough
in here,.... brows.gif brows.gif

anyway will keep that fund and US focused EQ in KIV list....waiting for guts and opportunity to come....now cash is 25% in portfolio

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 16 2015, 11:14 PM

SUSPink Spider
post Jan 16 2015, 11:14 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 16 2015, 11:10 PM)
hmm.gif think think....
woi!! this really deserves "A Second Look".
in kiasuland many things CANNOT do leh. Money not enough
in here,.... brows.gif  brows.gif

anyway will keep that fund and US focused EQ in KIV list....waiting for guts and opportunity to come....now cash is 25% in portfolio
Oi! Recently u guys really very naughty ar! tongue.gif

I even worse...my UT + stocks portfolio...cash at 37% doh.gif
But, with CMF at 3.75% yield, little to complain blush.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 16 2015, 11:16 PM
kucingfight
post Jan 16 2015, 11:20 PM

5,784 posts

any recommendations tomorrow?

how about REITS?

i'm heavy on bonds (AMB income trust) as usual..
SUSyklooi
post Jan 16 2015, 11:22 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2015, 11:00 PM)

Now that Mr Chen is gone, Ms Lee's regime dunno how to handle catastrophes tongue.gif
hmm.gif 1 month return 9%...wor.
still NOT Happy meh? doh.gif
I Never Try Ms Lee before....now after having tried her.....I think I will continue the RIDE... brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 16 2015, 11:25 PM

xuzen

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2015, 11:00 PM)

Let me educate you:

Alpha: absolute return. To layman that is the ROI.

Beta: measure of risk usually use one standard deviation although some smart-Alec at Morgan Stanley Investment bank used only downside risk and hence called it semi-deviation.

Delta: the related coefficient of the derivative product against the mother or underlying asset it is derived from

Gamma: The rate of change of the derivative product price against the underlying asset price movement.

Xuzen

SUSPink Spider

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 16 2015, 11:20 PM)
any recommendations tomorrow?

how about REITS?

i'm heavy on bonds (AMB income trust) as usual..
STILL??? sweat.gif

How many rallies u have missed doh.gif

Why not take the 0.5% SC promo and recent market volatility to build a proper portfolio?
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 16 2015, 11:26 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 16 2015, 11:22 PM)
Let me educate you:

Alpha: absolute return. To layman that is the ROI.

Beta: measure of risk usually use one standard deviation although some smart-Alec at Morgan Stanley Investment bank used only downside risk and hence called it semi-deviation.

Delta: the related coefficient of the derivative product against the mother or underlying asset it is derived from

Gamma: The rate of change of the derivative product price against the underlying asset price movement.

Xuzen
hmm.gif

Investopedia:

Alpha:
A measure of performance on a risk-adjusted basis. Alpha takes the volatility (price risk) of a mutual fund and compares its risk-adjusted performance to a benchmark index. The excess return of the fund relative to the return of the benchmark index is a fund's alpha.
In simple term - Outperformance

Beta:
Beta is calculated using regression analysis, and you can think of beta as the tendency of a security's returns to respond to swings in the market. A beta of 1 indicates that the security's price will move with the market. A beta of less than 1 means that the security will be less volatile than the market. A beta of greater than 1 indicates that the security's price will be more volatile than the market. For example, if a stock's beta is 1.2, it's theoretically 20% more volatile than the market.
In simple term - Correlation to market

Tarak betul? unsure.gif
techie.opinion
post Jan 16 2015, 11:32 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 16 2015, 10:55 PM)
bought into KGF in early Dec...dropped to -6% I think....now is abt +1%.
Yup... most MY fund recovering now.
yck1987
post Jan 16 2015, 11:46 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 16 2015, 10:34 PM)
rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif Tomorrow 0.5% SC.....
hmm.gif  shakehead.gif  what to buy?  rclxub.gif
Resources / energy fund? Anyone. ? hmm.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 16 2015, 11:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jan 16 2015, 11:46 PM)
Resources / energy fund? Anyone. ?  hmm.gif
sector specific?? too risky for an old man sweat.gif ...later heart attack shakehead.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 16 2015, 11:59 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jan 16 2015, 11:46 PM)
Resources / energy fund? Anyone. ?  hmm.gif
AmCommodities? Buy in RM1K and wait 3 years rolleyes.gif
yck1987
post Jan 17 2015, 12:12 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2015, 11:59 PM)
AmCommodities? Buy in RM1K and wait 3 years rolleyes.gif
Ya , I'm considering this. But won't go for big LS purchase. , later cry.gif
yck1987
post Jan 17 2015, 12:16 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2015, 10:56 PM)
My reasoning (could be just me) -

If one day I were to migrate, the nearest and most probable destination would be Kiasuland - close distance, similar culture. And, over time, Kiasuland has proven itself to be the most competitive among SEA nations. So, u probably won't go too far wrong with SGD as Ringgit/inflation hedge.

Don't take my words for it, u think yourself tongue.gif
The recent forex gain helps me to have additional $$ just like increase in salary indirectly rclxm9.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 17 2015, 07:13 AM

52,874 posts

Topping up anything today?
kswee
post Jan 17 2015, 07:25 AM

577 posts

RHB energy fund .
SUSDavid83
post Jan 17 2015, 08:00 AM

52,874 posts

2014 Top And Bottom Fixed Income Funds: Malaysian Bond Funds Hurt On Exposure To Equities

ONCLUSION

Despite our suggestion to underweight fixed income for the past few years, we maintain that fixed income remains an integral and relevant part in investors’ portfolio. While uncertainty surrounds the actual timing of Fed rate hikes in 2015, we expect muted inflation to contribute to a more gradual rate hike cycle, which could contribute to more stability in bond yields in 2015.

Locally, we believe the negative impact of the rising yields might be milder on local bonds especially corporate debts, because of the higher credit spread over Malaysia government bonds. Typically, Malaysia bond funds have substantial allocation in local corporate debts.

Apart from investing in local general bond funds, investors with higher risk appetite can consider some local bond funds with equity exposure or foreign bond exposure to enhance the potential return of the portfolio. Likewise, investors can also opt for fixed income funds that invest in Asian and EM debt as they are likely to fare fairly well under our expectations of an improving global economy.

URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=5427
jutamind
post Jan 17 2015, 09:04 AM

2,429 posts

All these discussions about MY funds reminds me of the discussions about bond fund, especially on amdynamic fund 3-6 months back.

Those who stay the course would have been rewarded as amdynamic performance has since rebounded. I believe it will be similar case for MY funds well.
edwardSL
post Jan 17 2015, 09:46 AM

45 posts

Now cannot buy Aberdeen fund? LOL I thought wanna buy 1 =.=
jedibakat
post Jan 17 2015, 09:52 AM

Stopped topping up on FSM since 6 months ago because been using eUnitrust instead due to their frequent 0% promo SC. Today...... maybe go take brochure and see see and place order for CIMB funds which are not available on eUnitrust. MV parking is a nightmare tho and many CIMB (& most other) funds are far from their recent dip T.T

FSM platform still best in terms of user friendliness.

In separate strategy:
IFCA 400% returns over last 6 months. HUAT AH!

125 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:41 AM