post Feb 26 2015, 05:15 PM

1,056 posts

Dear all gurus/ sifu,

noob question here,

i have a macbook pro mid 2012
LED TV
PS3

if i wanted to hook up a amp which can take the digital input/outputs which marantz can do that?

PM7005?

or PM 6005?? just curious how to hook all these up
Topet
post Feb 26 2015, 09:51 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Feb 26 2015, 05:15 PM)
Dear all gurus/ sifu,

noob question here,
LED TV
PS3

if i wanted to hook up a amp which can take the digital input/outputs which marantz can do that?

PM7005?

You need Marantz Audio Video Receiver like SR6006
ktek
post Feb 26 2015, 11:48 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

Dear all gurus/ sifu,
noob question here,
LED TV
PS3
PM7005?
pm7005 is more suitable. take note that these are stereo receiver (only 2 spkr) instead of surround receiver (5.1 and 7.1 spkr)

tv use spdif or rca
ps3 use spdif
laptop use usb

This post has been edited by ktek: Feb 26 2015, 11:49 PM
TSchanhin
post Feb 27 2015, 12:16 AM

1,615 posts

Dear all gurus/ sifu,

noob question here,
LED TV
PS3

PM7005?

Marantz generally has 2 series;
(1) AVR series for surround sound (many speakers), mainly for movies. Example: SR5008 / SR5009. It will work with laptop via HDMI.
(2) Stereo amp, which mainly for stereo sources such as music. Example: PM7005. It will work via USB. PM6005 will not work as no USB. Unless you willing to get external DAC for PM6005.

So the choice is actually up to you, depends on if you have many speakers to setup surround, or only simple stereo system such as pairing them with KEF LS50.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Feb 27 2015, 12:17 AM
hz428
post Mar 4 2015, 08:16 PM

1,056 posts

I am more towards stereo 2.0 setup so my guess is I will need to go with pm7005. Thanks all the guru to clear my doubts
fx20
post Mar 5 2015, 05:26 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 4 2015, 08:16 PM)
I am more towards stereo 2.0 setup so my guess is I will need to go with pm7005. Thanks all the guru to clear my doubts
I notice there are subtle price differences between SR5008 and PM7005, I would definite go for the feature packed SR5008. The pure direct is not bad as well. Plus you have biamp option.
ktek
post Mar 5 2015, 07:24 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

Sr5008 has more feature and of course not forgetting audyssey room setup.
amp section is sufficient as long u dont install low ohm spkr.

QUOTE(fx20 @ Mar 5 2015, 05:26 PM)
I notice there are subtle price differences between SR5008 and PM7005, I would definite go for the feature packed SR5008. The pure direct is not bad as well. Plus you have biamp option.
passive biamp without splitting crossover for hf and lf
johannong
post Mar 7 2015, 03:44 PM

319 posts

All, not sure if this is appropriate to express my gratitude and happiness. Just like to share that I have successfully changed out my CD63SE laser pick up lens myself. Purchased the lens long ago just to prepare for the rainy day. Well de-day has come. The player failed to detect any disc. Before, after inserted the lens cleaner disc, all be good. But now..Too afraid to screw up the player but I just could not find any technician to help to do the change out! So, left me no choice die die must try. Record down taking pictures of every steps and wow... de-soldered and soldered back the 6 tiny colored wires... Put back everything and what the heck if it did not play the new player would be happy moment. In the end, it plays like a new player. Happy!
ktek
post Mar 7 2015, 08:37 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ Mar 7 2015, 03:44 PM)
All, not sure if this is appropriate to express my gratitude and happiness. Just like to share that I have successfully changed out my CD63SE laser pick up lens myself. Purchased the lens long ago just to prepare for the rainy day. Well de-day has come. The player failed to detect any disc. Before, after inserted the lens cleaner disc, all be good. But now..Too afraid to screw up the player but I just could not find any technician to help to do the change out! So, left me no choice die die must try. Record down taking pictures of every steps and wow... de-soldered and soldered back the 6 tiny colored wires... Put back everything and what the heck if it did not play the new player would be happy moment. In the end, it plays like a new player. Happy!
congrats u have sucessfully repaired it thumbup.gif
johannong
post Mar 7 2015, 10:57 PM

319 posts

THank you ktek! The sensation was thrill and shiok sendiri (since I was alone that afternoon). Packing back everything while plugging in the electricity, whether that guy feels like turning ON, or total black out was a question. So ok it is ON, then insert the CD, ok it read! And finally it sings!!!
TSchanhin
post Mar 10 2015, 10:20 PM

1,615 posts

Anyone tried the new PM7005?

Any idea already reached Malaysia? drool.gif
hz428
post Mar 11 2015, 06:58 PM

1,056 posts

gents, i tried call Desa Home and they didnt carry any PM7005, Anywhere to find it?

or worst case i will just buy the PM6005 with External DAC ( no idea which is good)
post Mar 11 2015, 07:01 PM

1,003 posts

I nak CD-63 siapa ada?
sonerin
post Mar 11 2015, 08:14 PM

8,739 posts

Try wo kee hong
hz428
post Mar 12 2015, 12:44 PM

1,056 posts

called wo kee hong just now, they didnt carry the PM7005 but they have PM8005 with sky rocketing price.
fx20
post Mar 12 2015, 05:35 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 12 2015, 12:44 PM)
called wo kee hong just now, they didnt carry the PM7005 but they have PM8005 with sky rocketing price.
What is the sky rocket price? brows.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 12 2015, 09:52 PM

11,554 posts

Integrated amp you can always buy from overseas that have same voltage to us.
Setback is no warranty but why worry? Such amp should not have complicated circuit board.
TSchanhin
post Mar 13 2015, 11:52 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 11 2015, 06:58 PM)
gents, i tried call Desa Home and they didnt carry any PM7005, Anywhere to find it?

or worst case i will just buy the PM6005 with External DAC ( no idea which is good)
PM7005 has more juice for floor stander thumbup.gif

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 12 2015, 12:44 PM)
That's what I hate about local priced PM8005. Since PM6005 price is okay, I assume the PM8005 price issue is due to greedy distributor.

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 12 2015, 09:52 PM)
Integrated amp you can always buy from overseas that have same voltage to us.is no warranty but why worry? Such amp should not have complicated circuit board.
Agree... Simple stereo can last for 10 years or more... biggrin.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 14 2015, 01:32 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Mar 13 2015, 11:52 PM)
PM7005 has more juice for floor stander  thumbup.gif
That's what I hate about local priced PM8005. Since PM6005 price is okay, I assume the PM8005 price issue is due to greedy distributor.

Agree... Simple stereo can last for 10 years or more...  biggrin.gif
And failed can get spare parts easily thumbup.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 15 2015, 10:45 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 14 2015, 01:32 AM)
And failed can get spare parts easily thumbup.gif

Btw, anyone tried MM7025 poweramp with 140watt power? What's the price? Good?

I have to admit PM6005 is slight underpower for floorstander like Q700. And the MM7025 with 140 watt will allow it to pair with virtually any speakers, even up to RM50k (in term of power tongue.gif )

66 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0988sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:01 AM