126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

[V26] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

justordinary
post Jan 30 2015, 10:45 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jan 30 2015, 03:23 PM)
The caps are normal abs caps right?

But what's the main difference between DS3 and Ducky Zero shine? The difference was initially rm100, Ducky zero shine 369 vs Ducky Shine 3 469. But now there's a rm100 discount.
Most of the consumer available keyboard comes with OEM normal abs keycaps.

Differences are,

Shine 3 has removable cable, Zero doesn't
Shine 3 has more lighting modes and effects than Zero
Shine 3 is made in Taiwan and Zero is made in China.
Shine 3 offers more functions like dip switches and etc settings. Open up both keyboard link side by side and compare the functions if you're interested to know more.

Build quality wise i don't think there's noticeable difference between this two. Typically Ducky Shine is the more mainstream board for ducky and zero is the entry level keyboard. There's a Rm100 discount on Shine 3 because Shine 4 is here.
-kytz-
post Jan 30 2015, 11:09 PM

12,573 posts

DAHECK!!!!!! One of my keycaps backlight died. WTF!!

My keyboard is hardly 1 month only doh.gif
quovadis123
post Jan 30 2015, 11:23 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 30 2015, 11:09 PM)

CM Storm QFR-i rclxm9.gif
I see. Noted.
Patent
post Jan 30 2015, 11:27 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 30 2015, 11:09 PM)

That sounds unfortunate.. but that is expected for LED boards I guess sweat.gif
captvizcenzo
post Jan 30 2015, 11:53 PM

1,484 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 30 2015, 10:40 PM)
Anyone know where to buy usb > mini usb cable and whats the price like?
justnits?
jonathan_k
post Jan 31 2015, 12:38 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 30 2015, 11:23 PM)
CM Storm QFR-i  rclxm9.gif
I see. Noted.
mine one led broken within one week. Key F2, very very unfortunate sad.gif

ck.chunkeat
post Jan 31 2015, 12:43 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 30 2015, 10:45 PM)
Most of the consumer available keyboard comes with OEM normal abs keycaps.

Differences are,

Shine 3 has removable cable, Zero doesn't
Shine 3 has more lighting modes and effects than Zero
Shine 3 is made in Taiwan and Zero is made in China.
Shine 3 offers more functions like dip switches and etc settings. Open up both keyboard link side by side and compare the functions if you're interested to know more.

Build quality wise i don't think there's noticeable difference between this two. Typically Ducky Shine is the more mainstream board for ducky and zero is the entry level keyboard. There's a Rm100 discount on Shine 3 because Shine 4 is here.
thanks, I really didn't want to spend that extra bucks on leds since the leds might burn out if im unlucky. sad.gif
justordinary
post Jan 31 2015, 01:44 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Jan 30 2015, 11:53 PM)
justnits?
Aksed him liao he say he not free to do it yet cry.gif . So i wanna grab a standard one and use it first.

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jan 31 2015, 12:43 AM)
thanks, I really didn't want to spend that extra bucks on leds since the leds might burn out if im unlucky. sad.gif
Consider the things i stated above and see if you want them if not then go for ducky zero. Also consider filco majestouch 2!
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 31 2015, 02:42 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 31 2015, 01:44 AM)
Aksed him liao he say he not free to do it yet  cry.gif . So i wanna grab a standard one and use it first.
Consider the things i stated above and see if you want them if not then go for ducky zero. Also consider filco majestouch 2!
Thanks,actually what makes filco majestouch that good? I know its made in Taiwan and they use costar stabilizer. Anything else worth mentioning? Or do they simply have better quality compared to the others?

Seems like there's stock for ducky zero in heavy arms, might go and get it within these few days. smile.gif
justordinary
post Jan 31 2015, 03:16 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jan 31 2015, 02:42 AM)
Thanks,actually what makes filco majestouch that good? I know its made in Taiwan and they use costar stabilizer. Anything else worth mentioning? Or do they simply have better quality compared to the others?

Seems like there's stock for ducky zero in heavy arms, might go and get it within these few days. smile.gif
Better build quality i guess. Personally I've not seen a bad review on filco and never seen anyone regretting their filco purchase.
am3rr
post Jan 31 2015, 07:09 AM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 31 2015, 03:16 AM)
Better build quality i guess. Personally I've not seen a bad review on filco and never seen anyone regretting their filco purchase.
pexon. lol got sales. i saw yesterday around 12.5 pound including shipping. end of jan sales
quovadis123
post Jan 31 2015, 03:07 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

Diamond Tech's Truly Ergonomics keyboard adopted Kailh switches and abandoned MX Cherry.

Kailh Next Generation (Brown) - Soft Tactile
Kailh Next Generation (Blue) - Clicky Tactile

Source: http://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/news/20150130_686125.html
krislee
post Jan 31 2015, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 31 2015, 03:07 PM)
Diamond Tech's Truly Ergonomics keyboard adopted Kailh switches and abandoned MX Cherry.
Check out their explanation of why they're using Kailh below: (source)
We are pleased to mention The Next Generation of the Truly Ergonomic Keyboard is manufactured with the Next Generation of Kailh Mechanical Keyswitches as they are significantly better than the Cherry MX switches being replaced.

We have had vast difficulties with Cherry in regard to lead-time (up to 12 months) and low quality (double letters) with their products, more than we were expecting.

The Next Generation of Kailh Mechanical Keyswitches lasts much longer (60 million keystrokes), is built with better quality, reduces the actuation point (1.9mm), feels sturdier – less wobble, and are more comfortable using. Fantastic!

Furthermore, as there are some erroneous assumptions going around, we want to clarify that the Next Generation of Kailh Mechanical Keyswitches we are using are far from "clones".

- Clones would be identical products made by someone else. We do not want that.

- We want a much better product that what Cherry currently manufactures while being fully compatible.

- The switches we are using are denominated MX-Compatible as they provide the same functionality, requires no special modifications on our design specifications to make them work, and they work the same or better than the original design. While not a Cherry-branded MX switch, it is pin and dimension compatible with keycaps, PCBs, and plates designed for Cherry-brand MX switches as mentioned at GeekHack.org

- We are not alone, other major corporations are also running away from Cherry and using high‑quality switches manufactured by Kailh.

- A switch is just a switch, as long as it provides its intended functionality, for the period of time is intended to work – providing high‑quality and high‑reliability. Under this context, the brand name becomes unimportant.

As well, we want to mention that the switch cost difference in the volume we purchase is insignificant compared to the overall product cost.

This whole paragraph is marketing at finest. Is Kailh really
- better than Cherry?
- costs as much as Cherry?

I don't have solid evidence, but it seems like everyone is saying otherwise.
hmwgbworld
post Jan 31 2015, 05:45 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(krislee @ Jan 31 2015, 05:11 PM)
Check out their explanation of why they're using Kailh below: (source)
This whole paragraph is marketing at finest. Is Kailh really
- better than Cherry?
- costs as much as Cherry?

I don't have solid evidence, but it seems like everyone is saying otherwise.
Kailh is still a clone no matter what those corporations "played with law" as they just look identical or same, unless it surpass the original in every perspectives then we can't deny it anymore.
Same goes to gateron etc.
zennasyndroxx
post Jan 31 2015, 06:01 PM

Work Hard, Spend Harder.
585 posts

kemek
kaiserreich
post Jan 31 2015, 07:24 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

The incompetent cherry corp is allowing aternative switch manufacturers to rise. Cherry is expensive and have super long lead time. It gives plenty of space or these chinese manufacturers to rise.

With more design iterations and customer feedback, cherry corp will the selection of the masterrace keyboard users only soon. I would think that in 5 years, these china clones gonna be as good as cherry mx.
justordinary
post Jan 31 2015, 07:54 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 31 2015, 07:24 PM)
The incompetent cherry corp is allowing aternative switch manufacturers to rise. Cherry is expensive and have super long lead time. It gives plenty of space or these chinese manufacturers to rise.

With more design iterations and customer feedback, cherry corp will the selection of the masterrace keyboard users only soon. I would think that in 5 years, these china clones gonna be as good as cherry mx.
Thats what i think too. Being the monopoly in the industry for too long makes them incompetent now that new competition has rises.
kaiserreich
post Jan 31 2015, 09:23 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 31 2015, 07:54 PM)
Thats what i think too. Being the monopoly in the industry for too long makes them incompetent now that new competition has rises.
They are far from a monopoly. You had alps, ibm etc competing with cherry. It seems that cherry is the one still holding it out with mechanical key switches, together with topre. The rest mostly abandoned the business.

And few years back, the mechanial keys was somehow revived and cherry received a bunch of business. I would take a guess and think that this is not cherry's doing, in reviving the mechanical keyboard business on the consumer end anyway. They stuck with their old way of doing things and here we are now with a bunch of chinese clones.

DarkSilver
post Jan 31 2015, 09:41 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

I am going to buy a Filco Majestouch Ninja TKL Camo Edition, it's good?
And, I have been thinking to change the keycaps to something special... any PBT sets recommend?

My Ducky Shine 4 works great, but I just noticed the keycaps of Ducky Shine 4 are actually scratched at the FRONT side(means the part facing the monitor). You guys have this issue?

Guess, I'll be using 2 MKBs although it might not be necessary.
quovadis123
post Jan 31 2015, 09:46 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 31 2015, 09:23 PM)
They are far from a monopoly. You had alps, ibm etc competing with cherry. It seems that cherry is the one still holding it out with mechanical key switches, together with topre.  The rest mostly abandoned the business.

And few years back, the mechanial keys was somehow revived and cherry received a bunch of business. I would take a guess and think that this is not cherry's doing, in reviving the mechanical keyboard business on the consumer end anyway. They stuck with their old way of doing things and here we are now with a bunch of chinese clones.
Last month reported that Cherry has shortage and limited in several types of switches.
I think it is wise for those companies which relying on the cherry switches and change their suppliers.
Long lead time of production of Cherry corp., and they don't produce many.

Now, mechanical keyboards selling like a hot cake regardless the brand of the switch. Everyone keyboard company want a piece of the market share.
Razer, Logitech, Keycool etc etc... All using their new designed switches or those collaboration with Kailh or Greetech switches.
We are in the mkb boom era. sad.gif

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:08 PM