[V26] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

ck.chunkeat
post Dec 30 2014, 08:44 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Anyone here using kailh switch?

Is it okay to get it?

I'm looking for mech keyboard, cheapest and simplest one will do. No led are needed, can do if its tkl. Doesn't matter if it's kailh or cherry switches since people say there isn't much difference.

But must last a few years, I don't want to spend money on a board which will break down after 1-2 years.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 8 2015, 03:06 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

which is better between ducky zero, cm storm and rosewill rk-9000 quality wise?

Thanks. smile.gif

ck.chunkeat
post Jan 8 2015, 06:48 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 8 2015, 06:30 PM)
Seems like almost same exclude Rosewill. Rosewill has issue with weak USB connector.
You choose these 3 because of tight budget, right?  sad.gif

something like that, wanted to get a cheap entry level keyboard to try out 1st. smile.gif

so its between ducky or cm storm right? since rosewill has some issue.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 8 2015, 07:16 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 8 2015, 07:09 PM)
Ducky Zero is nice. Got forummer bought and use until now, no problem.
If you try to get LED mechanical keyboard, be reminded that the LED will die earlier than the switch.
So, if you don't need LED, get a non-LED keyboard.
For non-LED, I will recommend Filco Majestouch 2. nod.gif

For entry level LED, then either CM Storm Quick Fire Rapid-i or Ducky Shine Zero.  nod.gif
nah, i dont like blink blink stuff, thats why prefer not to have led.
so cm storm or ducky zero should be fine?
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 15 2015, 11:59 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

I noticed that many sellers don't have stock for ducky zero. They don't even know when will the next batch of stock arrive. Are there any specific reasons as to why they aren't bringing in stocks?

Anyway, I think the next batch might be a little more expensive considering how much RM has depreciate. There goes my plan of getting a keyboard before further price hike from GST.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 15 2015, 12:15 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 15 2015, 12:05 PM)
If those sellers don't have stock, you need to find other sellers than those.
Everyone is waiting for stocks.
If you really like Ducky Zero, you can source from oversea.
its okay, not to say I really like it , but i was just thinking of getting one before the price hike. tongue.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 15 2015, 02:32 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(getalong6165 @ Jan 15 2015, 02:21 PM)
got ah, just depends on what model your looking for. just gotten a new ducky zero 2087 for quite a good price at garage sale  laugh.gif
What model did you get? I was looking for a red switch.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 17 2015, 11:51 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

since ducky zero out of stock everywhere, should i go for rosewill rk9000?
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 18 2015, 03:11 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(cloud8992 @ Jan 18 2015, 01:54 AM)
depends if cherry MX switches still ok but bare in mind that rosewill keyboard famous for lose USB issue.
there is kailh switches version now
I think the sellers at garage sales are selling cherry switches still, didn't see any kailh rk9000. But ya, worried about the USB issue. sad.gif

Also, it seems that there's a new rk9000v2,but didn't see any seller selling yet.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 19 2015, 10:50 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 19 2015, 10:15 PM)
Filco Majestouch 2
May I know why you keep suggesting this keyboard? smile.gif
Seems like you highly recommend this.

Anyway, I contacted cyntrix and they say they can preorder the ducky zero for me.

Saw one shop in pyramid selling ducky zero for 379 while the price in garage sales is only 299. When I asked whether can they give me a better price, they say 370. sweat.gif
Straight say ok tq and left the shop.

Will place my deposit for a non-tkl one since the difference is only rm20 between a tkl and non-tkl verison.

Lastly, need some confirmation. i can't go wrong with a ducky keyboard right?
I plan to find a solid and simple keyboard ( no led and initially planned to get a tkl one, but will go for full size instead. ), would also appreciate it if it didn't make too much noise ( hence i chose the mx red switches ) .
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 19 2015, 11:06 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 19 2015, 11:01 PM)
While it is the quieter amongst mechanical keyboards, you'll be in for some noise upgrade as reds are quite noisy as well.

Yes, i understand that mkb will have some noise no matter what. I can cope with the sound ( not really considered as noise. tongue.gif ) from red switches but i definitely can't cope with blue or green. sweat.gif

Anyway, what's your opinion on ducky zero as my first plunge into mkb territory? smile.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 19 2015, 11:44 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 19 2015, 11:39 PM)
For me pretty simple advise for people wanting to get a new mechanical keyboard.

Filco Majestouch 2 if you don't need led lights.

Ducky if you need led lights.

Both are recommend over and over and over and over and over again you can't go wrong with either.
but i don't need led, so i just go with the most basic entry level keyboard from ducky, the ducky zero. tongue.gif

okay, thanks for the advise. smile.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 22 2015, 04:20 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 22 2015, 04:10 PM)
New keyboard arrived...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Nice,how much you buy? is it 369?
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 30 2015, 01:24 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Hey guys, anyone know what's the difference between ducky zero shine and ducky shine 3?

Heavy Arm selling ducky shine 3 at the price of 369, rm100 off. Quite tempting.

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Jan 30 2015, 01:37 PM
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 30 2015, 03:23 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Jan 30 2015, 01:51 PM)
DS3 is pretty good bling bling board.

MX Cherry switches, a lot of lighting modes. Only drawback is the caps aren't that good.
The caps are normal abs caps right?

But what's the main difference between DS3 and Ducky Zero shine? The difference was initially rm100, Ducky zero shine 369 vs Ducky Shine 3 469. But now there's a rm100 discount.
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 31 2015, 12:43 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 30 2015, 10:45 PM)
Most of the consumer available keyboard comes with OEM normal abs keycaps.

Differences are,

Shine 3 has removable cable, Zero doesn't
Shine 3 has more lighting modes and effects than Zero
Shine 3 is made in Taiwan and Zero is made in China.
Shine 3 offers more functions like dip switches and etc settings. Open up both keyboard link side by side and compare the functions if you're interested to know more.

Build quality wise i don't think there's noticeable difference between this two. Typically Ducky Shine is the more mainstream board for ducky and zero is the entry level keyboard. There's a Rm100 discount on Shine 3 because Shine 4 is here.
thanks, I really didn't want to spend that extra bucks on leds since the leds might burn out if im unlucky. sad.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Jan 31 2015, 02:42 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Jan 31 2015, 01:44 AM)
Aksed him liao he say he not free to do it yet  cry.gif . So i wanna grab a standard one and use it first.
Consider the things i stated above and see if you want them if not then go for ducky zero. Also consider filco majestouch 2!
Thanks,actually what makes filco majestouch that good? I know its made in Taiwan and they use costar stabilizer. Anything else worth mentioning? Or do they simply have better quality compared to the others?

Seems like there's stock for ducky zero in heavy arms, might go and get it within these few days. smile.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 27 2015, 09:48 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 27 2015, 04:00 PM)
Got few reasons behind:
- the recommendation is for those first time exposed to MKB (Custom, and Topre will be excluded)
- Standard layout (RF, HHKB not considered standard in Cherry world)
- for Cherry MX switches (coz high customisation and keycaps replacement)
- lower cost (RM2xx - RM4xx)
Well, of course can prepare another recommendation list for non-Cherry like Alps, Topre etc.  nod.gif
maybe you could separate the list into 2? One for normal users/people who are testing waters like me and another for someone feeling more adventurous/deeper pocket/ want to dwell deeper into MKB?
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 4 2015, 01:41 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

I tried putting myself in their shoe and think from their point of view:

If I were they, I will feel like i want something with a brand name, something which is cool for a gamer and something which is bling bling.

Therefore those mainstream gamer brand comes to mind when choosing a MKB, ie. razer, steelseries,CMStorm etc. or maybe even corsair since corsair got some gaming gear and other stuff, not just mkb.

They never heard of Ducky/filco/wasd/any of the topre keyboards, this is because these people are new to MKB, they do not know the famous MKB brand.

Therefore apart of their heart still think of razer and don't get why it isn't highly by sifus here while it is still highly sought after in the outside world.

Maybe they don't even care about keycaps, thats why the non-standard layout didn't matter to them.

Maybe they don't really care about clone MX cherry switches cause if razer as a company of this size chooses to use it, then it might have been good to use.

My suggestion is, the next time someone asked whether is it okay to get a razer keyboard, we ask them this question:
Why do you want to buy a razer keyboard?

Then depending on their answer, we recommend them the keyboards suitable to what they want.

If they say they like the razer brand and want a whole collection of razer apparels, then let them get razer but just remind them of the non standard layout, clone switch and quality issue from razer company.

If they say they like blink blink, then recommend them things like Ducky and tell them ducky is the razer of MKB world and is one of the popular entry level MKB.

If they say they don't care, then recommend them the FILCO which is highly regarded here in lyn MKB sub-forum.

Or if lazy to tell, just link them my post or dadude's post above me which sounds so harsh and not forgiving. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Mar 4 2015, 01:43 AM
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 5 2015, 12:31 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(ZR46 @ Mar 4 2015, 03:31 PM)
Hmm.. I don know but I saw in Cycom brochure, they have sell it ones, all types switches : Rm199 maybe!! :\
Do they still have stock? 200 quite cheap for cherry mx kb.

0.0473sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:45 AM