Big 4 Recruitment Drive
Jan 15 2009, 10:14 PM
1 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
hi every1! have a question here.in big 4,normally how late do auditors need to work? does it make a different if audit associate was working in consumer product, property or banking line audit?what will happen to those without transport?
Jan 15 2009, 10:42 PM
44 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(Jason180 @ Jan 15 2009, 03:46 PM) Here are some of the interview questions that I encountered yesterday during my interview with Deloitte in Damansara uptown. This was the post of Audit Assistant. haha russell bedford is my ex firm...good luck Why are you interested to work here? How much do you know about the related field? Are you willing to travel? Are you willing to work late? How do you know about the company? Do you have any friends working in other big 4 accounting firm? Have you heard about Deloitte from any where else? Where do you see yourself in 2 years time? Where do you see yourself in 5 years time? Where do you see yourself after 5 years? To be honest this was my first interview and I was really really nervous that I blurted things out before really thinking much about it. But it was a good experience. The assessment tests are as follows: 1. English Essay Test in say 15 to 20 minutes (I got "Yourself". Had problems writing since I haven't written essays in like years?) 2. 100 MCQ English Test in say 15 to 20 minutes (This one tests your English. Unless your English is perfect or extremely good, you might have some hard times for a few questions) 3. 30 to 50 IQ Test (Can't remember exactly how many. Couldn't finish everything so I had to start shooting the answers) There were 5 people including myself who were there and everyone had a tough time with the IQ test. I think my chances of getting through are pretty slim. But it's over already. I am now preparing for my interview tomorrow with Russel Bedford Malaysia. Good luck for those who wish to apply for Deloitte. By the way can someone give me some guidance how to answer "Why did you choose audit?" and "Why did you choose this firm?" Kind of struggling a little on these 2 questions. Thanks in advance. I know it's a little off topic but I really need a quick response. |
Jan 15 2009, 11:00 PM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
to all auditors who's facing the peak period, good luck. for me.. peak's here... but the superpeak isn't here yet. TT________________TT
my first peak.. dunno can last or not. lol |
Jan 16 2009, 01:54 PM
11 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE Oh is it? I said yes wor.. but then when they ask me if I got any offer, i said still pending, will know in approx 2 weeks. Shit, now i scared if they dunwan me just because I applied to others. But then again, I think they would have expected fresh grads to apply to other big 4s. I mean, who puts all their eggs into one basket? I don't know really.. Cause my brother-in-law(he's working in Deloitte) helped me to submit my resume to the audit partner. So ytd he asked me what did I say to the audit partner when I was asked if I have applied any other big 4 firm. I said no and he told me that he bumped into the audit partner and he also told him that I didn't apply for other big 4 firm. What went through my mind when I was asked if I applied any other big 4 firm was "If I say yes and say that I got rejected, the interviewer will probably think that I am of low quality standard or something". So I just said no. But anyways let's just wait for the results. No point worrying about it since you've already gone through the interview. |
Jan 22 2009, 10:01 AM
4,027 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
pwc is currently under investigation in India for its role in the satyam scandal, can pwc go the way of Arthur Anderson?
Jan 22 2009, 10:07 AM
4,277 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 地獄だ |
Ah I have friends working both in Deloitte and KPMG!!!
And yes, another friend in E&Y... one thing's for sure, they all work very late at night - regardless of whichever firm they join. The friend in Deloitte is in Audit, and he goes out with a senior to audit other firms~ he said most of the time he'll be working till 10-11pm and sumtimes reached home midnight. Friends in KPMG and E&Y, I didn't ask specifically their work etc ^^; |
Jan 22 2009, 02:41 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
hi, everyone..i'm the new member here. have a question here..i had sent in my resume to one of the big 4 one month ago but get no response from the company. so should i re-send my resume to the company?
Jan 23 2009, 03:16 PM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Hi I'm an Accounting & Finance student who is in my final year and going to start my last semester in feb. I plan to work as an AA when I grad around May/June. Sorry I'm kinda new to LYN and just wanna ask some advices from the seniors or anyone who is kind enough to give me their 2 cents
1st question: If i grad, does it make a difference (salary wise) if i work in one of the Big 4s as an Accounting & Finance grad instead of an ACCA grad? 2nd question: If i plan to work there 2-3 years just as a stepping stone for my career, do u think it's necessary to pursue my ACCA so that when i join other companies, it's easier for me to get into a managerial position or something? Sorry if u think these are stupid questions cos I'm kind of a noobie here hehe. Thanks! |
Jan 23 2009, 03:44 PM
4,277 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 地獄だ |
QUOTE(YC-N @ Jan 22 2009, 02:41 PM) hi, everyone..i'm the new member here. have a question here..i had sent in my resume to one of the big 4 one month ago but get no response from the company. so should i re-send my resume to the company? One month ago? Call them up. Speak to the HR and mention to him/her that you have sent your resume on this and this date, and sent/ submitted to xxx email/ website. Ask whether there's any feedback... or whether an interview will be arranged any time soon etc etc. |
Jan 23 2009, 07:46 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 23 2009, 03:44 PM) One month ago? Call them up. Speak to the HR and mention to him/her that you have sent your resume on this and this date, and sent/ submitted to xxx email/ website. Ask whether there's any feedback... or whether an interview will be arranged any time soon etc etc. thx for ur advice!!!!its help!!happy chinese new year and hav a good one! |
Jan 24 2009, 06:55 AM
1,190 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(eghy @ Jan 23 2009, 05:16 PM) Hi I'm an Accounting & Finance student who is in my final year and going to start my last semester in feb. I plan to work as an AA when I grad around May/June. Sorry I'm kinda new to LYN and just wanna ask some advices from the seniors or anyone who is kind enough to give me their 2 cents ACCA grad as in you merely passed your papers but not gone through the practical experience with mentor requirement to be a fully fledged chartered accountant? No difference then.1st question: If i grad, does it make a difference (salary wise) if i work in one of the Big 4s as an Accounting & Finance grad instead of an ACCA grad? 2nd question: If i plan to work there 2-3 years just as a stepping stone for my career, do u think it's necessary to pursue my ACCA so that when i join other companies, it's easier for me to get into a managerial position or something? Sorry if u think these are stupid questions cos I'm kind of a noobie here hehe. Thanks! And yes, an accounting qualifications helps plenty. Take a good look at some top figures in companies (namely CEOs and CFOs). Quite a number has ICAEW or ICAA etc. Employers like it that you are a chartered accountant, probably means some professionalism in their eyes. For managerial in large companies you probably want to pursue an MBA as well when the time comes. |
Jan 30 2009, 08:45 AM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
hello there...
i heard that some rumour that KPMG is having Pay Cut. Can any1 confirm this? i guess, having pay cut is much better than retrenchment. |
Jan 30 2009, 04:52 PM
923 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(YC-N @ Jan 22 2009, 02:41 PM) hi, everyone..i'm the new member here. have a question here..i had sent in my resume to one of the big 4 one month ago but get no response from the company. so should i re-send my resume to the company? I also sent in around 3 weeks ago. They just called me for interview on Monday. Hope i can pass the interview lar |
Jan 30 2009, 08:30 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Jan 30 2009, 09:14 PM
1,333 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret |
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 30 2009, 08:45 AM) hello there... i duno.. but those newly promoted senior recently seem to be getting lower compared to the newly promoted seniors a year ago.. maybe they start cutting pay for those newly promoted/joiners.. i heard that some rumour that KPMG is having Pay Cut. Can any1 confirm this? i guess, having pay cut is much better than retrenchment. but thank god they r not retrenching.. but even if they were, i guess they'll start of with advisory line of service? some news to share http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/queen...2818589602.html This post has been edited by hikari: Jan 30 2009, 09:16 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 02:11 PM
Just gone through deloitte interview today.
The usuall essay, grammar and iq test. A bit weird as the interviewer is really casual He talks more than i talk and i don't really been given a chance to talk also. He just ask me to tell more about myself then i answer the usual stuff etc etc. Then he just take over and keep talking about how auditing is like bla bla and ending up asking me whether i have any other questions Dunno whether is good sign or bad sign There is 3 ppl taking interview, me with another 2 ACCA grad And i can see Deloitte is still recruiting because just saw 6 new ppl got their offer letter in the office just now This post has been edited by HouHouSek: Feb 2 2009, 02:12 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 02:41 PM
1,419 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
i tried applied big 4 but tak jadi...end up in a small audit firm...well i guess is good experience if can work there...
This post has been edited by mybiebie: Feb 2 2009, 02:43 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 06:02 PM
Anyone has any idea how long they take to call you if they are offering you the job?
This post has been edited by HouHouSek: Feb 2 2009, 06:03 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 06:24 PM
580 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kay_Hell |
QUOTE(robertngo @ Jan 22 2009, 10:01 AM) pwc is currently under investigation in India for its role in the satyam scandal, can pwc go the way of Arthur Anderson? no way...pw india is separate entity...further the case is in india, not in US where the brand name comes from. So i guess, not much impact to other member firms in the world.QUOTE(eghy @ Jan 23 2009, 03:16 PM) Hi I'm an Accounting & Finance student who is in my final year and going to start my last semester in feb. I plan to work as an AA when I grad around May/June. Sorry I'm kinda new to LYN and just wanna ask some advices from the seniors or anyone who is kind enough to give me their 2 cents if big 4, u will be asked to get a professional qualification...salary of acca grads and degree grads, there will be some minimal difference AFAIK. ACCA is pro degree, better to have it rather than nothing... 1st question: If i grad, does it make a difference (salary wise) if i work in one of the Big 4s as an Accounting & Finance grad instead of an ACCA grad? 2nd question: If i plan to work there 2-3 years just as a stepping stone for my career, do u think it's necessary to pursue my ACCA so that when i join other companies, it's easier for me to get into a managerial position or something? Sorry if u think these are stupid questions cos I'm kind of a noobie here hehe. Thanks! |
Feb 4 2009, 09:05 PM
13 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
I want to ask you guys something. I just joined KPMG and I would like to ask whether there will be any salary increment after 3 months which is after the confirmation period. Can anyone answer this?
| Change to: | 0.0269sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:12 PM |