Big 4 Recruitment Drive

Sesshoumaru
post Dec 25 2006, 08:21 PM

1,190 posts

What say you regarding freshies but do have auditing experience as well?
Sesshoumaru
post Sep 11 2008, 05:18 PM

1,190 posts

I myself just went through the interview and assessment for PWC Malaysia (in Australia), gosh it was a rather eye-opener. I'll be knowing my status in a couple of weeks, as the partner went back and the recruitment staff needed to consult one. Most of my friends got theirs as they went for an earlier session where the partner was around to decide.

I went so unprepared. Handed in my resume at 2, and needed to go straight for an interview right after that wearing only casual (with blazer).
Sesshoumaru
post Sep 16 2008, 05:11 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(uinah @ Sep 14 2008, 07:23 PM)
which day did you do your interview and assessment? was this for advisory or auditing? i did mine aswell in melbourne a few days ago.
Wednesday, last week. Audit. Can't see myself going for advisory, as most of the positions bar a certain few does not qualified for CA experience... so I decided to just forget it and go for the typical route.

I thought about EY & KPMG, but they would only conduct a phone interview apparently and offer you on the spot (assuming you are still in Melb), or something like that according to my friends. After that first interview, I have this craving for more due to experience greed.
Sesshoumaru
post Sep 20 2008, 10:49 AM

1,190 posts

My interview (PWC) had no technical stuff, but the assessment I had included an essay, calculations, and language. All 3 had time constraints.... well for me and my batch mates anyway.

The interview itself, I think usually you'd get the HR, but there's a chance the partner or audit managers (mine) goes for the interview. From experience, the HR would like to know you more etc., senior audit managers ask you some case studies and how'd you react etc. (from an internal staff review list of questions, can't remember) which I believe is the hardest if you are a freshie, or the partner which can really go completely off-topic (hey you play basketball? wow me too, what team you like yeah yeah) or whatever the other end of the spectrum is I don't know.

As you are going in as experienced, I'm not sure if the assessment/interview would change or differ significantly. I'm under the impression that PWC is slightly more stringent, implied through its brand premier but I don't have factual evidence for this.

And regarding coming in as an AA, yes I do think you're too old for that. Perhaps negotiate....? Like becoming a senior after 6 months etc.? Have you undertaken accounting papers?

This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: Sep 20 2008, 10:52 AM
Sesshoumaru
post Jan 24 2009, 06:55 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(eghy @ Jan 23 2009, 05:16 PM)
Hi I'm an Accounting & Finance student who is in my final year and going to start my last semester in feb. I plan to work as an AA when I grad around May/June. Sorry I'm kinda new to LYN and just wanna ask some advices from the seniors or anyone who is kind enough to give me their 2 cents  smile.gif 
1st question: If i grad, does it make a difference (salary wise) if i work in one of the Big 4s as an Accounting & Finance grad instead of an ACCA grad? 2nd question: If i plan to work there 2-3 years just as a stepping stone for my career, do u think it's necessary to pursue my ACCA so that when i join other companies, it's easier for me to get into a managerial position or something?

Sorry if u think these are stupid questions cos I'm kind of a noobie here hehe. Thanks!  blush.gif
ACCA grad as in you merely passed your papers but not gone through the practical experience with mentor requirement to be a fully fledged chartered accountant? No difference then.

And yes, an accounting qualifications helps plenty. Take a good look at some top figures in companies (namely CEOs and CFOs). Quite a number has ICAEW or ICAA etc. Employers like it that you are a chartered accountant, probably means some professionalism in their eyes.

For managerial in large companies you probably want to pursue an MBA as well when the time comes.
Sesshoumaru
post Mar 8 2009, 08:04 PM

1,190 posts

You should know they all wanna get into it just for the 3 years mentored experience and resume. At times like this, even just the big 4 seems like a good deal.

Why didn't I consider the banks MT with 3k a month instead of my measly 2.4 at PWC? Exposure my dear. I'll suffer for that and my qualifications!!!
Sesshoumaru
post May 28 2009, 05:30 AM

1,190 posts

Just read PwC assurance's mail. Looks like the rest of this year's 1st Experience will be purely in KL.

Pity no PD for you new joiners.
Sesshoumaru
post Jun 8 2009, 11:46 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Jun 8 2009, 09:34 PM)
Nola. Promoting you only what....dedicated PwC staff wei...
walao sesshy....action now la hahaha....don't forget you still havent had your dinner yet as well....later cancel i laugh

rclxm9.gif
Jangan gila la, I just spoke to Ming Chin today, will be held in July.

Yala after exam, sot sot already one you.
Sesshoumaru
post Jun 10 2009, 09:01 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Jun 10 2009, 10:32 AM)
How's OT treated in EY, KPMG & PwC?
OT is known as Compensation time in PwC. Not all engagements will permit you to claim OT, and those which do, may require you to justify why did you claim for OT. Generally only the larger clients would have enough budget for you to claim OT, and even then you usually claim way less than the actual hours you OT.
Sesshoumaru
post Jun 27 2009, 01:44 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Jun 27 2009, 12:33 AM)
but I'm just an average student....not some world prize winner woh...
how to find job la liddat...?

doh.gif
Walau superstar associate being so humble.
Sesshoumaru
post Jul 5 2009, 10:55 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(joann-k @ Jun 29 2009, 01:01 PM)
just wondering...
is banking & finance major a must to associate with accounting major to work in accounting industry?
or only accounting major will be sufficient?
Just an accounting major will do.
Sesshoumaru
post Nov 8 2009, 09:39 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(kaikeikan @ Nov 8 2009, 05:02 PM)
-snip-
AFAIK, coming from a medium firm to PwC they would sort of 'cut' your experience in half for promotions/grade purposes. They welcome experience hires anyway, judging from emails and chats with HR. Maybe you could try coming in as an AA1 after 2 years in a mid-tier firm.

What industry are you looking for to enter anyway?
Sesshoumaru
post Dec 21 2009, 08:32 PM

1,190 posts

Try not to spam with useless emoticons.

January 4th, dooms day guys. Better enjoy while you can =). Getting a bit tired of audit as well, time to move on. Any stories to share guys? Regarding life after 3 year stint in audit. Or 4, whoever can stand longer to not pay off the bond.
Sesshoumaru
post Mar 18 2010, 05:37 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(xiaopigzi @ Mar 18 2010, 12:16 AM)
hi, i'm currently taking an accounting degree and will graduate in June...
may i know when should i apply to the job???
You can apply right now. Just let them know of your non-available days for interviews like exams.
After you graduate + waiting to be called for interview + results + time gap towards the next intake = self-explanatory.
Unless you don't mind the waiting. I know I don't... now.

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 18 2010, 05:15 PM)
Don't use the word hang! tongue.gif It's damn toh sui okay.. hahahaha. like hang myself only lol.
Why can post during working hour one?
Sesshoumaru
post Mar 31 2010, 03:24 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(animangacraze @ Mar 29 2010, 12:51 AM)
Vice versa with the part in bold, if I myself requested to learn more or want to do more things, what's the odd of being denied or allowed to do?

And does the personality of seniors matter?

PS : Super thanks for answering all my question!  notworthy.gif
Put yourself in a senior's shoe. What are their concerns? Your development, or getting the job done? Is it more efficient for him/her to do it herself? Granted I myself would take a balanced approach and spend some 15 minutes to coach, but not all seniors would share that view when they realise you're just gonna be here for 2 months or so and the work you can do is capped as you're just a VT.

Everyone wants to learn and 'do' more things. But are you capable of it? And of course, was a trust established? I don't sugar coat my post nor apply ambiguous points which tells you really nothing. As a VT you're not going to learn that much as you think you would. Put it this way - people who've had 6 months VT training were what, on par with everyone else who did not. Very evident during the training sessions. Not because they suck but simply because they have not been given the opportunity to do anything further than a simple 2 buck company AWP. Or some casting (which is an essential skill don't get me wrong - partners themselves do it). Or photocopying.

However with some hope that you get a senior with an eye for people, and yourself being good in your deliverables... (case in point: yes I did take recommend such a VT do assist in performing valuations), you may well leave your internship being much, much wiser. Too bad we can't force you guys to stay past 5.30, otherwise we'd probably make you get sick of accounting firms too - just like how 99% of us feel. Don't count on it though.

Sesshoumaru
post Jun 2 2010, 04:46 PM

1,190 posts

In case anyone is wondering what the hell is that word.

http://www.examiner.com/x-3040-Life-in-the...ason-and-fagony

I'd estimated 6 months of employment before this fagony turn into a real one, but it looks like there are still TRUE™ audit staff out there. Partners favourite kinda people.
Sesshoumaru
post Jun 12 2010, 01:28 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(Plat89 @ Jun 12 2010, 12:28 AM)
Hi guys. Starting work at PwC kl this month as an audit associate.
Was wondering if anyone can help me on how and where do the employees park their cars? The parking rate around the Sentral buildings is quite high - went interview for a few hours already RM20  blink.gif . Any other place to park or is season pass available?
Most of us park at Lot F, which is the other end of the Sentral area (if 1 Sentral is northwest, Lot F is southeast). There will be shuttles to ferry you. Get your parking ticket stamped for a flat RM6 per day fee (the shuttle driver, receptionist, 10th floor, all can do it).

Some will park at other areas in Brickfields, e.g the temple, the car park near the pasar raya, etc. These are relatively more dodgy then Lot F, so recommend this only when you are comfortable with the area already.
Sesshoumaru
post Jul 13 2010, 10:44 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(piggylov3r @ Jul 13 2010, 09:35 PM)
ya i already got replied from the HR. haha the answer is no too.
anyway was just trying my luck to ask la. not that i am tamak or what. haha.
So what's wrong with being greedy? You see yourself as a higher value due to your first class, and you wanted a higher pay for it. Whether you really deserve it or is it from a reputable uni is another matter.

Just an advice for you, don't have to give politically correct answers here. People who don't lack brains would see through you anyway =).
Sesshoumaru
post Aug 3 2010, 10:21 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(eriko12 @ Aug 3 2010, 05:48 PM)
When does PWC usually gives confirmation on the result of your interview, on whether you have been hired or not?

I applied in the assurance line, and they tell me after the interview to wait 2 weeks for the results!! Are they trying to tell me that I am not suitable for the job in a subtle way?
Nope, they are trying to tell you that you need to wait 2 weeks for the results. How ironic such a simple, direct method can be misunderstood. Miscommunication is here to stay.
Sesshoumaru
post Aug 11 2010, 11:03 PM

1,190 posts

How about sending in your resume first? They may not even call you for an interview.

0.0234sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:21 PM