Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

TSH2D
post Mar 10 2015, 03:23 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Mar 7 2015, 12:24 PM)
Hey guys, I'm new to folding bike and I have some questions to ask all the sifu here.
I'm looking for a rather affordable folding bike and here are some of the characteristics I'm looking for:

Wheel size:
26 or 24 inch (tried smallish one before and do not prefer it)

bro, u prefer 26 inch, better go for hummer lor.. the price oso very nice ngam ur budget...

or u can check out the Java 26',

go to bike shop n look for these 2, see which one u like...

i think java more expensive....

there is a dahon matrix in bike shop in serdang..

used wan, dono sold or not... tht wan is a 'rare' bike in msia..

This post has been edited by H2D: Mar 10 2015, 03:46 PM
TSH2D
post Mar 10 2015, 03:27 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(saviola47 @ Mar 9 2015, 01:53 PM)
Ya..just bought a used one. Wheeler rts 2.
these wheeler mini velos.. do look good the design... biggrin.gif

white colour i a bit takut , cos bad experience with dahon white frame... kenot stay white..... doh.gif

the rts3 if can put 2.0 tyre then can cycle at wetland... biggrin.gif
TSH2D
post Mar 10 2015, 03:44 PM

598 posts

tern oso can patah like this... dun play play..... biggrin.gif

TSH2D
post Mar 10 2015, 04:09 PM

598 posts

jawa carbon folding bike..... biggrin.gif

waeguk
post Mar 10 2015, 09:43 PM

633 posts

Ensogo selling hummer bike for rm449, so what's the catch? Fake?

TSH2D
post Mar 10 2015, 09:50 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Mar 10 2015, 09:43 PM)
Ensogo selling hummer bike for rm449, so what's the catch? Fake?

there is no fake hummer bro..... biggrin.gif

dont buy bicycle where u can't check first hand...

can have QC issues....

go to a bike shop, select the bike yourself..

remember... even a Tern can patah..... biggrin.gif
RhythmYun
post Mar 10 2015, 11:03 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 10 2015, 03:23 PM)
bro, u prefer 26 inch, better go for hummer lor.. the price oso very nice ngam ur budget...

or u can check out the Java 26',

go to bike shop n look for these 2, see which one u like...

i think java more expensive....

there is a dahon matrix in bike shop in serdang..

used wan, dono sold or not... tht wan is a 'rare' bike in msia..

Thanks for the reply.

I see mudah, lelong everyplace selling at different price. What's the market average price now for this Mainland Hummer?
TSH2D
post Mar 11 2015, 12:13 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Mar 10 2015, 11:03 PM)
Thanks for the reply.

I see mudah, lelong everyplace selling at different price. What's the market average price now for this Mainland Hummer?
price can vary cos, some get bike with very lousy components, some get from factory chin chai buat etc..

most important is get from a reputable shop, like kimbell jaya etc , u can see at bbs there or facebook.

this type the lock very tough to open....

This post has been edited by H2D: Mar 11 2015, 12:19 AM
TSH2D
post Mar 11 2015, 08:12 AM

598 posts

only in japan.... biggrin.gif

TSH2D
post Mar 11 2015, 08:13 AM

598 posts

cont....

saviola47
post Mar 11 2015, 12:06 PM

124 posts

guys...
what is the average speed when u riding a foldie/minivelo? n how accurate is the cycling meter actually?
terryble
post Mar 11 2015, 03:24 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(saviola47 @ Mar 11 2015, 12:06 PM)
guys...
what is the average speed when u riding a foldie/minivelo? n how accurate is the cycling meter actually?
i used googles "my tracks" app to keep track of where i go, how fast i go, total distance and total energy burnt...very nice app and recommended for all cyclist~~!!

anyway my max speed with 20 inch Tern D8 is 34KM/h....that is my fastest ever speed possibly during downward slope...generally 30~32 KM/h is the fastest i can go on flat road~~

Where i tried my friend's 27 inch mountain bike, i have recorded a 42KM/h before~~but that is awfully scary in my opinion....

Average speed 17~20km/h

This post has been edited by terryble: Mar 11 2015, 03:27 PM
etigge
post Mar 11 2015, 06:05 PM

295 posts

guys...
Usually it is good to train till you can cruise averagely at 18 km/h to 20km/h on a 20 inch foldie. That's the usual speed when we ride long distance (above 50 km) but if the route we are riding is less than that (like 30 km) , me and wife usually ride at 23 km/h to 28 km/h. This is off course on flat terrain with not much headwind lah! even at this cruising speed my gear ratio is at 52T in front and 14 rear. So the cadence is as proportianate to it. Any ratio higher than that, it will tire me out easily.

Off course, it will be faster with a mini velo as the tires are usually narrower and with 451 wheelset. We have hit 56 km/h zooming down from Genting Peras and the max we did on a 20 inch foldie is 48 km/h. Me and wife's 20 inch foldies has the handlebar shorten by one inch on each side so the handling is not so twitchy! icon_rolleyes.gif

P/S . I use a Garmin GPS while my wife uses the Cateye cyclo meter and the readings runs with a slight difference but not much. So, the readings are quite accurate provided you set it up correctly.

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 11 2015, 11:56 PM
boxerawd
post Mar 11 2015, 06:06 PM

13 posts

guys...
This gentleman quoted without wind on flat terrain 50km/h is possible with his Tern Verge X20.

desastar
post Mar 11 2015, 07:05 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(boxerawd @ Mar 11 2015, 06:06 PM)
This gentleman quoted without wind on flat terrain 50km/h is possible with his Tern Verge X20.
I'd like to see that! I personally think not, unless it is downhill.... maybe..... Anyone want to try? rclxms.gif
azamunekurone
post Mar 11 2015, 08:44 PM

140 posts

since my ultegra groupset has been transfer to my emc roadbike, so this is my current setup on my dahon speed p8

currently running with shimano 105 biopace 52/42 classic crank matching with dura ace square taper bb mix with tiagra 12-30 casette and 105 10speed chrome RD laugh.gif
TSH2D
post Mar 11 2015, 09:41 PM

598 posts

u can achieve 50kmh using 55x11, 451 wheel, at cadence around 110rpm..
on flat... assume zero headwind la....

since most foldie and minivelo have problem installing cadence sensor...

many duno their cadence max out at wht value.... biggrin.gif....
RhythmYun
post Mar 11 2015, 09:55 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 11 2015, 12:13 AM)
price can vary cos, some get bike with very lousy components, some get from factory chin chai buat etc..

most important is get from a reputable shop, like kimbell jaya etc , u can see at bbs there or facebook.

this type the lock very tough to open....

If I'm not wrong, this type not as good as the one click release one right?
Generally you want to find the another type am I right?

Some shop in Kota kemuning offer me RM1.5K for the one click version (24 speed).
I've checked the rear joint area and other parts, it is clearly the mainland version.

How's the pricing if 1.5k, sounds a bit too expensive for me.

This post has been edited by RhythmYun: Mar 11 2015, 10:00 PM
TSH2D
post Mar 11 2015, 10:04 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Mar 11 2015, 09:55 PM)
If I'm not wrong, this type not as good as the one click release one right?
Generally you want to find the another type am I right?

Some shop in Kota kemuning offer me RM1.5K for the one click version (24 speed).
I've checked the rear joint area and other parts, it is clearly the mainland version.

How's the pricing if 1.5k, sounds a bit too expensive for me.
shop selling at round 800rm oni la... for 21 speed..
u go kimbell jaya see, same or not with kota kemuning...

http://bicyclebuysell.com/#!page=1&pri...mmer&tab=search

RhythmYun
post Mar 11 2015, 10:17 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 11 2015, 10:04 PM)
shop selling at round 800rm oni la... for 21 speed..
u go kimbell jaya see, same or not with kota kemuning...

http://bicyclebuysell.com/#!page=1&pri...mmer&tab=search
Ic, I knew it was fishy.
Ok, now I have a better idea. I will visit the Kimbell Jaya shop when I am free.

Thanks~

146 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:28 PM