8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

sayasebuk
post Oct 17 2006, 09:20 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Oct 16 2006, 04:24 PM)
need some advise, i was given a star tortoise which its front fin was badly bitten by rats...SIGH.. Dont ask me how it happen. It could hardly crawl, I have been using iodin to kill the infection and its progressing slowly. Would like to know its there any other way to revive the little fellow ?
best choice is always to consult a vet
QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 16 2006, 10:56 PM)
gotto go shops and look for those aqua plants tat got some snails sticking on it d... hehe... breed 'em!!! hahaaa!!

no need to buy la. just ask shop owner to pick some snails for free. they dont even sell it. if buy plant you need to check and make sure got snail or snail eggs. if dont get, then rugi je beli (eventhough they just cost RM1.50/RM2.00)
QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 17 2006, 07:10 AM)
ya... get a malayan box... it's a nice turtle... really... and it's hardy too...

wink.gif
yes very hardy. irene aquarium all sumbat2 in one aquarium (i dont condone such practice though)
sayasebuk
post Oct 17 2006, 03:46 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 17 2006, 03:26 PM)
last time i read in forum in tmn megah dr. yeoh or wat d... can't recall... gotto search back old archive tho...

ya... i've been to irene but i din see got malayan box... but i've seen others aquarium shop tat snug alot of malayan box in 1 tank... kesian oso to see those malayan box turtles... they don get de treatment like wat RES is getting... poor turtles... they are a turtle alot nicer than RES i wud say... just tat it grows kinda huge tho... to me, they are nice... but i've never bumped into any hatchling... anyone?

buy plants coz' i wanna haf those plants too mar... hehe... so buy those plants i want and stick some snails on to it lar... hehe...

wink.gif
it's at the back of the shop. hujung sekali. dekat the feeder fish and shrimps. looks as if they dont bother of selling malayan box
i think both RES and malayan box receive similar ill treatment. RES sumbat2 when kecik, malayan box sumbat2 mase besar. It's just that since RES smaller, so don't look like kejam if sumbat2
sayasebuk
post Oct 19 2006, 09:07 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(zoidx_chung @ Oct 18 2006, 08:20 PM)
what is thi sp.???
err what is the white streak on it's carapace? i hope it's just your camera's flash reflection sweat.gif

BTW, i noticed for quite some time that my malayan box likes to kick his hind legs in the air. Why ar?? anyone experienced before? blink.gif
sayasebuk
post Oct 20 2006, 04:41 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 19 2006, 10:37 PM)
Mine also sometimes, not sure why tho.  unsure.gif
Baby Mata-Mata costs around rm1.2k for hatchlings. Much more expensive compared to Radiated Tortoise.  sweat.gif
i was worried that maybe he got err mites or something (can turtles get mites?)

i went to natural aquatic today. say a hatchling turtle for rm85. looks interesting. looks spiky. but ask shop owner but he donno the name shocking.gif

sayasebuk
post Oct 30 2006, 09:06 AM

677 posts

very long long long hari raya leave thumbup.gif . lots and lots of posts to read rclxub.gif

(dont have internet at home. modem warranty taking so damn long mad.gif )
sayasebuk
post Oct 30 2006, 09:29 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 21 2006, 04:39 AM)
kamekame

Go to www.adpost.com to see the advertisments.

Btw here's the link - http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/3141/
woo cool turt. almost as cool as the ally. cant distinguish its face. donno where eyes,nose, mouth

QUOTE(uzaimy @ Oct 23 2006, 07:22 AM)
Here's some picture of uzairi's collection....
*he's kindly busy right now hanging the curtain for RAYA!!!hahaahso, i help him lor.... icon_rolleyes.gif

whats with the "uzaimy confirmed" ? you book from uzairi is it?

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 23 2006, 10:48 PM)
guys... i bot a nutrafin basix turtle pellets... as i read de ingredients... it's different than de other brand of turtle pellets... wonder wat other brand's ingredient do have ha?

maybe it's a good info for others... plz do write down de turtle pellet's ingredients of de brands tat u haf... appreciate inputs...

nutrafin basix floating turtle pellets:
fish meal, soy flour, wheat flour, oat flour, shrimp meal, yeast, kelp meal, fish liver meal.

crude protein min - 34.0%
crude fat min - 4.0%
crude fiber max - 2.5%
moisture max - 10.0%

Aquadene turtle pellets:
fish meal, yeast, wheat germ meal, soya meal, wheat flour, varieties of vitamins and minerals. Add on natural spirulina , krill.

crude protein min - 35.0%
crude fat min - 8%
crude fiber max - 5%
crude ash max - 10%
moisture max - 10%

how bout sanyu? i've throw my sanyu bottle... can't get de ingredients d... anyone care to input?

need to look for other brands tat are on shelfs of our local market... sanyu, reptomin, aquadene, nutrafin, wat else is around ha?

wink.gif
i have JBL. later back home i check ingredients.

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 25 2006, 09:11 AM)
i oso wanna go walk around today tho as all my malay frens are not around at home where they will be going to relatives home wor... so, no raya visit for me... but i'll be visiting aquarium shop... hahaaa!!

sfsf... here's natural aquatic site... "Natural Aquatic"

i oso never been there too... update us wat u bumped into ya... hehe...

wink.gif
finally natural aquatic website is up and running again. last time always down one. guess they paid their hosting bill already biggrin.gif
sayasebuk
post Oct 30 2006, 09:47 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Oct 27 2006, 12:00 PM)
Hope everyone had a good holiday! I bought Tortue home to five days of glorious sunshine...but it doesn't look like his minor soft shell problem is improving at all. I've been feeding him Nutrafin Basix and the UVB lamp is turned on 10 hours a day.

Right now, it's spread to another shute and the other shutes look sunken. sad.gif HOW LA????
it can take up to a year for them their shell to heal

QUOTE(Drascox @ Oct 27 2006, 06:00 PM)
if white you say, then most probably is fungus infection, couldn't be sure without photo though,

if really fungus infection on shell, keep your turt dry most of the time, yes.. DRY, leave only an hour or so for feeding and for your turt to drink... the other 23 hour, dry....
apply bethadine on the white spot...
i read that it is very stressful to drydock them for long hours since they are aquatic by natrure. have you tested drydocking them for 23 hours?

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 27 2006, 07:18 PM)
me not feeding my turts only on pellets... which infact pellets is not de main food... i feed them varieties of food tat i can find and buy... they ate mainly worms (earth, blood and even meal), veges (any kind! hahaa!), shrimps and sometimes of course pellets lor... never fed them fishes b4 coz' i own musk turtles... no fishie tat small for them tho... hahaaa!!

guys... anyone of u in here are using any cannister power filter running on their tank? i plan to get one this week... do hope can get more info b4 i'm buying one... now still undecided to get whether a china brand or a branded ones which cost double the price of a china brand one... i really don wanna regret later on... and oso don hope things get spoilt easily or bad filtration... wants a money worth spending...

any comment on cannister filter? and i'm looking for one tat is small (for tanks of 1 1/2 feet) and oso comes wif rainbar... in mind now tot of petting de turtles and oso some small fishie inside... hehe... like neon tetra... nice!  thumbup.gif

do appreciate some feedback b4 i head on to buy one...

wink.gif
i use a canister filter but for my planted aquarium not turtles. very cheap one (china made) rm135 but no warranty. been using it since early this year. still working fine. shop owner at 88 said never had any customer complain even after one year.

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Oct 27 2006, 08:12 PM)
Drascox: I guess as much! Went surfing on some turtle forums and realized that Tortue has fungus infection on his shutes. Luckily caught it soon. I did a salt soak for him for about 15 mins today together with some fungus guard medication (for fish punya) as temporary precaution.

I have him on drydock now (with my table lamp providing him some heat and light for tonight la) and will most probably do the same until he gets better. Although he doesn't look too happy being dry. Is it okay if I drydock him for the entire day except for feeding and drinking? I though RES are semi-aquatic turtles. (See pic below.)

OH, how do I drydock him while I sun him? Leave a couple cm of water or check him every hour or so to see that he doesn't overheat?

Btw, where can I get bethadine?

good thing you detected early. else will become like mine. (90% of shell already infected). dunno how long will heal

QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 27 2006, 10:52 PM)

5 Days is not enough, it takes time. UVB lamp should be open 24/7 for better results.
Woah, they're showcasing their turtle collection eh.  rclxm9.gif
Cannister filter is quite expensive, how much u get yours and which brand ?
Lucky for u to trace the fungus, about the bethadine u can try to get them from the pharmacies or from the vets.
uv on 24/7? then turtle get no sleep la?

sayasebuk
post Oct 30 2006, 09:56 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Oct 29 2006, 03:03 PM)
Okies dokies. Tortue has been drydocked for the past two days with iodine solution painted on the infected area. So far, so good. One of the shutes looks better, like the fungus receding but maybe it's just me.

Am thinking of keeping this up for the next few days/weeks - blah. That means I'll have to empty out his 1.5 ft tank, filter, plants and basking, etc, put it aside (under my workstation), adjust his heating lamp and UVB lamp and bring the iodine solution to work. O_O

Plus I noticed something about him. When he pees or poops during drydock, he'll start going nuts trying to climb out of his portable tank. If he's quiet and everything, it means he's happy or at least comfy.
where you buy iodine?
IMO tortue is peeing and poing because he is under a lot of stress. thats why he looks like he is trying to climb out. animals (even humans) will pee/poo whenever they are under a lot of stress. that's why when you buy new fish from lfs, the plastic bag will always be full of poo.

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Oct 29 2006, 05:53 PM)
hehe... u went there too ar?? aiya... shud meet up lar... wat's ur contact?

neway, i went to 88 petsmart... eheim 2213 no stock and they don feel like asking do i want to wait as they order... and eheim 2232 cost RM364...

oso dropby natural aquatic for de first time... well, i'm sure tortoise lover will luv tat place... they got alot of tortoises... big, med to small in size... turtles, they haf painted and razorback only... not forgetting green turtles too... and price are not hiked up... for razorbacks, it's RM85... ok ar tis price... pet's safari is selling loggerhead at RM130!

i bot de earthworms too... RM2.50 per pack... inside got alot O... hehe... around 50 of 'em as claimed... taktau lar coz' i really din go count it mar...

o yah... i did asked on a cannister filter china brand wan... taiyo as it's de newest box around... priced at RM90 only full package wif filter media and all de complete hoses... tat was de smallest... alil' much bigger unit will cost another RM20 more...

now i'm waiting for de price from pet's safari and oso pet's family on de eheim 2213 and oso eheim 2232...

meiteoh... i saw in 88marine that there's a medication which can cure fungus of turtles... cost RM14.90 if i'm not mistaken... maybe u can check tat out... or r u oledi using tat on tortue? hope tortue recovers soon...

wink.gif
anyone used pf the shelf fungus medication before? worth buying or not aa?

sayasebuk
post Oct 30 2006, 02:22 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Oct 30 2006, 10:06 AM)
Actually he only pees/poops twice a day - once in the morning and once overnight - and because it stinks, he tries to get away...but you know la, drydock. After I clean the tank, he settles down and stays still. (My fish only poops while he's eating.) Sometimes he settles down when I take him to sun...like kid la, I tell you.

Iodine from pharmacy lor. RM4.90 a bottle.
woo run away because of the stink of his poo. very funny considering turtles sometimes eat their own poo sweat.gif

QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 30 2006, 01:48 PM)
That was my brother's picture. He wrote "uzaimy confirmed" because wanna prove to his friends that the picture is genuine.
They will sleep, don't worry. The uv lamp/fluorescent lamp is not that bright.
herm, i think i would try drydocking and on uv lamp 24 hours. maybe things will turn out better for my turts
sayasebuk
post Nov 2 2006, 09:30 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 1 2006, 10:26 PM)
Yeah, its completely normal. But remember not to let him to be so dry ok ?
Inside the blue tank is either Painted Terrapin(Calagur) or River Terrapin(Batagur). The one that were housed together with burmese mountain tortoise im not sure coz last time i saw was a Giant Asian Pond turtle.
No problems dude, i encouraged people that's with the same hobby as me. I'll try to help them whenever i can.
i wonder how long is the maximum duration for a daily 23 drydock? is one week already too stressful for the turtle?
sayasebuk
post Nov 2 2006, 11:12 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 2 2006, 10:48 AM)
Nice price, but now dunno where to get the money then.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
For shell rot problems, i usually use sea cucumber oil (Minyak Gamat) to treat them. Firstly i drydock them for 1 day and the next day i use dettol to clean the infected place, let it dry and then put a little sea cucumber oil. It works for me.  smile.gif
oo so dettol and minyak gamat also can aa. no need for me to go buy some iodine/bethadine later.

hehe, sure cannot find in internet this method even if you google for it. mana ade minyak gamat at negara mat salleh laugh.gif
sayasebuk
post Nov 3 2006, 09:35 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 2 2006, 10:09 PM)
Dettol and betahadine/iodine have almost the same antiseptic functions so u can use either one. As for the sea cucumber(gamat) i experimented it myself and i get positive results. The wounds and the rotten shell stopped and curing, so i think its a good solution too since we can get plentiful supply of them here in malaysia. But remember not to put excessive sea cucumber at one place, they are still oil and might danger the turtles itself.
Ive already put my boxie on the soil, giving them the natural feel. The ones still in the tank are snappers and asian leaf. I might get one but not so soon coz now no cash.  sweat.gif
minyak gamat = miracle cure
after 1 day of drydock, i applied dettol, wait to dry and then put some gamat yesteryday. this morning i was shocked to find the infected areas 80% healed (at least visually). this morning i applied again. cant wait to see the results this evening.

however, im still worried about the infected areas at the plastron since they have no access to the uvb rays

sayasebuk
post Nov 3 2006, 12:35 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Nov 3 2006, 11:22 AM)
Gamat? What's gamat???? Where to get ar?
erkss seriuss a u dont know gamat? shocking.gif . it is very2 popular here in malaysia. i think we are the only producers/exporters of gamats. i guess maybe because you guys already have your long line of chinese medicines smile.gif

even pasar malam can get. kedai runcit. small2 shops selling malay medicine. just ask around you'll sure find.

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 3 2006, 12:05 PM)
Hehe, nice aite ? That's why im sharing it with u guys.  thumbup.gif
Minyak gamat is sea cucumber's oil. You can get it from any pharmacies i supposed.
the gamat achieved in 1 day what the medicine from the vet could not achieve even after 1 month really2 shocked drool.gif

sayasebuk
post Nov 3 2006, 02:09 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(Drascox @ Nov 3 2006, 01:10 PM)
Wow, great guide and tips!! must put in 1st post, prbably an illness and treatment section, this would probably give our forum members a great help!!  notworthy.gif
Glad to hear your turtle getting better.  rclxms.gif
how come no access to uv lights? how about daily sun bathing?
what i meant was, the carapace can heal because can benefit from the uvb rays from above, but how can the plastron benefit since its on the bottom, facing down..
err paham kee rclxub.gif
sayasebuk
post Nov 4 2006, 12:59 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(Drascox @ Nov 3 2006, 06:34 PM)
fear not,

Purpose of basking:-
- The main purpose of basking a TTT or reptiles is to provide them with Vitamin D, since the skin and carapace of TTT filter out normal light spectrum, only UVA and UVB able to penetrate it while concerning density of UV ray (gamma ray can penetrate too, but also cause cancer)

Purpose of providing Vitamin D:
- Vitamin D act like a catalyst, helping TTT absorb calcium way more efficiently, where calcium is the main mineral for bone and shell building as well ass keep it in good condition.

In your case, even though UV ray might not directly face to the plastron of TTT, the Vitamin D still able to be supplied throughout the whole body...
yala logic jugak smile.gif

the malayan black mud turtle does look a bit like the malayan box turtle. especially the carapace
sayasebuk
post Nov 6 2006, 10:03 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Nov 5 2006, 07:40 AM)
dudes... may i know wat plant is this ha?

not poisonous wan, izzit as fish can be mixed together... i just worry if it's poisonous and my turtles chews on it...

wink.gif
i cant remember the name. but i dont thinks its poisonous.

updates on my 2 RES. They'ved recovered completely, and they're now no longer in drydock mode. Feel so happy, after the gamat treatment they healed in less then 1 week (after so so many months ). now im giving the same gamat treatment to my malayan box. eventhough he's not showing any signs of shell rot, his shell looked reallt dry and full of very minor cuts and scratches when i found him. after one session of gamat therapy, his shells already looks very healthy, shiny and new rclxm9.gif
sayasebuk
post Nov 6 2006, 11:12 AM

677 posts

I need recommendations for the bedding for the land area of my malayan box. Previously i used normal garden soil for him to dig (to simulate natural habitat). However whenever he goes into the water, he will bring some of the dirt into the water, resulting in a very dirt water. Any ideas on a replacement for the bedding? icon_question.gif

sayasebuk
post Nov 6 2006, 05:55 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Nov 6 2006, 05:26 PM)
after lotsa read with no post..

hi all. im a noob with 8 RESes. keeping them for about 3+ months since july this year. want a real comfirmation here about RES keeping setup. hoh. why RESes in fish shop, almost everywhere i saw 'em, kept in a very cetek water? not 1 gallon per inch as guided all over google-indexed sites? ha? then the tokey said,
still, i not kompom which one to folow. but anyho, currently they stay in 2' akuarium. water-filled to 2/3 of the height. want to upgrade to massive 120 gallon akuarium. but onli after i have my NDSL this new year. warf!

Best practice is of course what you read from the internet. that will guarantee you a very very happy turtle and less prone to diesase. tokey kedai recommendation confirm cannot ikut. nonsense la aquatic turtle cannot live with water rclxub.gif
but if no budget one,for the time being you can put them in the biggest container/aquarium you can find (sementara belum besar lagi)

but 8 RES at one shot for a noob is really not recommended. you will have 8x the challenges of a "normal" noob. good luck

this my setup for my 2 RES

sayasebuk
post Nov 7 2006, 01:09 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Nov 6 2006, 07:41 PM)
Wow....8 RES?? You got lotsa passion buddy!  Anyway, from what i understand, RES needs a lot of water and as long as you provide them a basking area, a drift wood with an end out of water, they will be fine. For babies like yours, should be easy to setup. Not speaking of experience, just from i've read so far smile.gif Gambar? Gambar? smile.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

sayasebuk, why don you get another boxie to teman your boxie now smile.gif  thumbup.gif
Kamekame.
p/s what is 'noob'?  blink.gif
another boxie? not right now i think. scared dont have enough space for both of them. i want mine to feel very happy with lots of water to swim and land to roam. but maybe later when i establish an outdoor compound

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Nov 6 2006, 09:08 PM)
'noob' is newbie... hehe...

neway, i saw got golf ball inside de tank! hahaaa!! sayasebuk... how big is ur malayan box now? when de shell gets shiny... it's a very nice turts... kamekame... when are u getting ur malayan box? hehe...

so de plant are ok for turtle ya... and sayasebuk... i oso saw got money plant in ur tank... which in some other forum... i saw they said this kind of plants are not recommended as they are toxicated... did u see any of this plants in any aquarium tank? no, rite...

i wud say RES like to bask more than under de water but more water gip them the freedom to swim tho they bask more than swim... i've reared 4 adult RES and had let it off to a big pond d... hehe...

sayasebuk... since u said everytime u malayan box climbed on de basking area and when they go back down into the water... they got dirt sticking on their body... no choice de soil follows... unless u put small small gravels lor...

hey, show us pics of ur malayan box ler... hehe...

wink.gif
haha read that turtles like to play in the water so i put la guli la golf ball la, tapi they never usik one
i did read about the money plant thingy, but i dont think the plant is money plant. anyway, the plants are not there anymore..menyemak aje
my boxie is more than 4 inches. for pictures you can click on the link in my signnature below. but no new pictures. latest taken was 3 mths back i think
small gravels are no no because might be sharp n pointy plus scared they swallow and get indigestion. instead i put some pebbles to reduce the amount of soil
QUOTE(meiteoh @ Nov 7 2006, 11:12 AM)
Wei, can't seem to find them gamat oil at the pharmacy. Mana lagi ar??? Herbal store?
herbal shop confirm can find, because gamat is tradisional medicine. go to malay store selling all those jamu, makjun, tradisional remedies, etc

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Nov 7 2006, 01:10 PM
sayasebuk
post Nov 8 2006, 11:02 PM

677 posts

today first time go to xian leng shah alam. waa very hepi, feel like a kid at a candy store. so so big like aquaria. got lots of arowana, even big big size.
however, they're strictly into fishes only, no other.
However, i did see some pignose turtles in a huge aquarium shared with other fishes (cannot remember the name).
Also saw a huge alligator snapping turtle (carapace more than 30 cm) sharing a huge aquarium with some zebra cichlids and peacock bass chichlid. he really blended in with the rocks. couldnt see the face though since the side of the aquarium was blocked.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:00 PM