122 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

sayasebuk
post Jan 13 2007, 06:51 PM

677 posts

went to aquaria today. woo very happy. didnt expect them to have turtles as well. even the saw the big chitra. damn big liao. (they also have some other exotics, snake, tarantula,etc)
went for free because of a charity thingy for some orphans. but couldn't really enjoy and read the informations because the children were very excited and moved fast. will definitely go again by my own so that i can enjoy better hehe.
btw, price quite high. rm28 adults, rm22 for children.

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Jan 13 2007, 06:51 PM
TSuzairi
post Jan 13 2007, 11:54 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Rm28 already ar ? Last time it was rm48. hmm.gif
kamekame8888
post Jan 17 2007, 11:29 PM

143 posts

Hey whats happening? Why so quiet in TTT? rclxub.gif

Anyway hope everyone is fine. Saw a lot of Snake Neck turtle in LFS lately...must be their season now...anyone get hold of them? Look cute laa with its long neck...wink.gif Wonder if its hard to take care? Otherwise can be my pet considering the price is not high...

Any new turtles or tortoises that you all saw in petshop recently? Please share your info! Terima kasih!

Kamekame.
SAMPERTH
post Jan 18 2007, 04:35 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Jan 18 2007, 12:29 AM)
Hey whats happening? Why so quiet in TTT?  rclxub.gif

Anyway hope everyone is fine. Saw a lot of Snake Neck turtle in LFS lately...must be their season now...anyone get hold of them? Look cute laa with its long neck...wink.gif Wonder if its hard to take care? Otherwise can be my pet considering the price is not high...

Any new turtles or tortoises that you all saw in petshop recently? Please share your info! Terima kasih!
Kamekame.
kamekame8888
Is that Radiata on your avator yours looks like an adult and very nice

Snake neck turtle are not hard to keep just that the bulk of them like live prey ie fish ,prawn, worms and when fed live food they grow fast
Can also be train to take fish pellets but some just wont accept
Most of them dont bask only a small percentage of them and breeding female bask
sayasebuk
post Jan 18 2007, 09:09 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jan 18 2007, 04:35 AM)
kamekame8888
Is that Radiata on your avator yours looks like an adult and very nice

Snake neck turtle are not hard to keep just that the bulk of them like live prey ie fish ,prawn, worms and when fed live food they grow fast
Can also be train to take fish pellets but some just wont accept
Most of them dont bask only a small percentage of them and breeding female bask
Do they take vegies?
Im afraid of their long necks. Easier for them to bite, even if handled from behind
camillenoir
post Jan 18 2007, 10:03 AM

373 posts

it's a carnivore sayasebuk dude. prefers live prey. you'd be damn lucky if they'd take veges rclxms.gif nice pet actually and growth rate is quite similar to RES.

i got some hatchling RES killed by rugosas (......my stupid mistake) but they are not that aggressive to me. about that neck, well.. it's not that easy for them to bite if handled from behind.

p/s: hi sam, uzairi. nice to see you here...

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 18 2007, 10:06 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 18 2007, 11:01 AM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

where's ekiddie dude? i want another side neck lah. haha. now my res growing bigger (ada ke growing smaller?). sad to say, i let go my 4 smaller res 2 weeks ago, and keeping other bigger 4 in my keepings. now they enjoy more space, and happier as i treat them with mealworm. upgraded my tank with 2 levels filter. ah just another common box filter but i put them stacked. i removed all gravel, and put also in the filter a pack of activated carbon. i hope it will keep my tank crystal clear for a longer time.

i went for my workshop last week for 5 days. when i went home, 2 res disappeared from tank. and the filter stop working. wtf my tank was soo dirty. my ears turn black! i was told there are some mod work in my room when i wasn't there. shit lar. they used my power extension and plucked out the water filter plug. aiyah. i searched for my res and found 1 in drain, and another 1 in my sisters from. pity them. they were in mess. lot of hairs and dust. wash and scrub them with water and tooth brush, and put back into the cleaned tank. adjust the tank layout, and bam it's better now. hehe.

maybe i'll upload my updated tank pictah after this. biggrin.gif

oh and aquaria now got turtles. green sea turtles and painted turtles are featured at the front row. woah and bought excitedly a turtle tie pin worth RM10. but for me it's priceless. and im wearing it now. yeeha

jaredx
post Jan 18 2007, 11:07 AM

95 posts

any1 know where can get dandelion? market got supply this kind of grass? hehe
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 18 2007, 11:21 AM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

boss anywhere here got dandelion lah. super common la that plant. just look around your house surroundings. sure got meh.
jaredx
post Jan 18 2007, 11:44 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 18 2007, 11:21 AM)
boss anywhere here got dandelion lah. super common la that plant. just look around your house surroundings. sure got meh.

haha... sorry..i just google it.... o dandelion look like that.. im so stupid... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jaredx: Jan 18 2007, 11:52 AM
prelude23
post Jan 18 2007, 01:36 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

anyone know where can i get these juveniles star tortoise at petshops in kl? or any forumer selling it here?
camillenoir
post Jan 18 2007, 02:04 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 18 2007, 11:01 AM)
[size=1]where's ekiddie dude? i want another side neck lah. haha. now my res growing bigger (ada ke growing smaller?). sad to say, i let go my 4 smaller res 2 weeks ago, and keeping other bigger 4 in my keepings. now they enjoy more space, and happier as i treat them with mealworm. upgraded my tank with 2 levels filter. ah just another common box filter but i put them stacked. i removed all gravel, and put also in the filter a pack of activated carbon. i hope it will keep my tank crystal clear for a longer time.
dude.. where you let go your res??

SAMPERTH
post Jan 18 2007, 05:56 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 18 2007, 12:21 PM)
Are you sure it is the same Dandelion - Taraxacum officinale
Dont just assume yellow flower producing plant with similar leaves are dandelion
Can you snap some pictures and post here to show us all

Here in Australia they are really everywhere from spring to early winter (Oct to June )
SAMPERTH
post Jan 18 2007, 06:22 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 18 2007, 11:03 AM)
it's a carnivore sayasebuk dude. prefers live prey. you'd be damn lucky if they'd take veges  rclxms.gif  nice pet actually and growth rate is quite similar to RES.

i got some hatchling RES killed by rugosas (......my stupid mistake) but they are not that aggressive to me. about that neck, well.. it's not that easy for them to bite if handled from behind.

camillenoir

Enlighten me on the rugosas thing what is it a kind of plant (Rose) or ????
How they kill RES or ingested ???

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jan 18 2007, 06:28 PM
prelude23
post Jan 19 2007, 01:36 AM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Jan 18 2007, 01:36 PM)

anyone know where can i get these juveniles star tortoise at petshops in kl? or any forumer selling it here?
can anyone tell me mar plz? appreciate ur help..
SAMPERTH
post Jan 19 2007, 03:33 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Jan 19 2007, 02:36 AM)
can anyone tell me mar plz? appreciate ur help..
Every of my trip to KL I will see them in Aquarium shop or pet shop, things may have changed you will never know
Have you try Toby pet in Pet Safari (Ikano )

Are there non in Miri ??? Over in Sabah almost all Aquarium shop will bring a few in to sell (when I was there ) I will ask my cousin see if those shop still stock them
TSuzairi
post Jan 19 2007, 05:18 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 18 2007, 10:03 AM)
Hi, nice to meet u too. wave.gif

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 18 2007, 11:01 AM)
where's ekiddie dude? i want another side neck lah. haha. now my res growing bigger (ada ke growing smaller?). sad to say, i let go my 4 smaller res 2 weeks ago, and keeping other bigger 4 in my keepings. now they enjoy more space, and happier as i treat them with mealworm. upgraded my tank with 2 levels filter. ah just another common box filter but i put them stacked. i removed all gravel, and put also in the filter a pack of activated carbon. i hope it will keep my tank crystal clear for a longer time.

i went for my workshop last week for 5 days. when i went home, 2 res disappeared from tank. and the filter stop working. wtf my tank was soo dirty. my ears turn black! i was told there are some mod work in my room when i wasn't there. shit lar. they used my power extension and plucked out the water filter plug. aiyah. i searched for my res and found 1 in drain, and another 1 in my sisters from. pity them. they were in mess. lot of hairs and dust. wash and scrub them with water and tooth brush, and put back into the cleaned tank. adjust the tank layout, and bam it's better now. hehe.

maybe i'll upload my updated tank pictah after this.  biggrin.gif

oh and aquaria now got turtles. green sea turtles and painted turtles are featured at the front row. woah and bought excitedly a turtle tie pin worth RM10. but for me it's priceless. and im wearing it now. yeeha

Where u let them go ? Still wearing the pin tie ? Hahah, i know how u feel. thumbup.gif

Toby Pets at Pets Safari have them. Go and take a look there.
camillenoir
post Jan 19 2007, 09:26 AM

373 posts

Almost every LFS got...

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jan 18 2007, 06:22 PM)
camillenoir

Enlighten me on the rugosas thing what is it a kind of plant (Rose) or ????
How they kill RES or ingested ???
Macrochelodina rugosa = Chelodina rugosa and Chelodina siebenrocki combined. Something like they found out that sibenrocki is an invalid species (not enough morphological differences with rugosa) and classify them as Macrochelodina rugosa. They of course snap-attacked small RES till dead.

SAMPERTH
post Jan 19 2007, 12:07 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 19 2007, 10:26 AM)
Almost every LFS got...
Macrochelodina rugosa = Chelodina rugosa and Chelodina siebenrocki combined. Something like they found out that sibenrocki is an invalid species (not enough morphological differences with rugosa) and classify them as Macrochelodina rugosa. They of course snap-attacked small RES till dead.
Thanks for telling me now I know Is the size difference great ??
camillenoir
post Jan 19 2007, 01:39 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jan 19 2007, 12:07 PM)
Thanks for telling me now I know Is the size difference great ??
the 3 adopted RES were about 2" scl. i put them in an aquarium with two 6" snakenecks to let them share some UV light. the rest is history.

trying to think of it... i wonder why i didn't put them with the slightly bigger res instead of rugosas doh.gif (maybe my subconcious mind just wanna play with the idea of feeder res)

122 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:21 AM