241 Pages « < 156 157 158 159 160 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!

Albert B
post Jan 8 2018, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(darjana @ Jan 7 2018, 09:10 PM)

visually inspected the radiator cap rubber. no sign of crack or tear

update: if i set the aircond temperature to full regardless of air speed, the temperature is stable at 3. sometime comes to 4, but immediately within 10sec, it dropped to 3.  confused.gif
The coolant looks OK, that means there are no
air pockets that reduce cooling efficiency.

You might want to run the engine and observe
whether the water pump belt is not slipping ...

Another observation item : does the drop from
4 bar to 3 bar correspond to the fan operation
or just random?

This post has been edited by Albert B: Jan 8 2018, 10:16 AM
wajihud
post Jan 8 2018, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(wajihud @ Dec 23 2017, 11:32 PM)
Hi, sabahan here

interested to see forum discussion about proton saga iswara here and decided to join since i have a 1991 (1992 registered) saga sedan/saloon

newbie driver (just finished probation license at the end of june this year) so i still novice in automotive stuff

hope dapat tunjuk ajar from gurus in here...tunjuk ajarku sifu  icon_question.gif  rclxms.gif

EDIT: sorry for edit cuz i got a (might be) serious problem

few days ago, while i got my car's fuel tank full with gas, the overfilled gas gushed out from below the car (near the steel fuel line) little by little. one of the pelayan isi minyak noticed as he help authorize pay from a motorist...

can anyone tell what cause it to happen and the solution of the mentioned problem?

i double checked the fuel tank and it doesn't bocor, tank still full
no one reply to my problem...maybe cuz i'm not member? blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
darjana
post Jan 8 2018, 08:10 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 8 2018, 10:16 AM)
The coolant looks OK, that means there are no
air pockets that reduce cooling efficiency.

You might want to run the engine and observe
whether the water pump belt is not slipping ...

Another observation item : does the drop from
4 bar to 3 bar correspond to the fan operation
or just random?
hi albert. the problem solved. simply a malfunction connector. done for free by my usual mechanic. he ask me test for 3days again. hill drive, slow drive, traffic stop and idling.

Kbbteoh
post Jan 8 2018, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(darjana @ Jan 7 2018, 09:10 PM)
[attachmentid=9490038][attachmentid=9490040][attachmentid=9490041]

visually inspected the radiator cap rubber. no sign of crack or tear

update: if i set the aircond temperature to full regardless of air speed, the temperature is stable at 3. sometime comes to 4, but immediately within 10sec, it dropped to 3.  confused.gif
if all the possible of temperature already check and fix. u can try adding one extra one ground cable from the meter to the car body, this maybe can solve your problem.
Kbbteoh
post Jan 8 2018, 11:27 PM

Albert, do u have the iswara front shock absorber mounting photo ? the rubber mounting and the bearing is that separate or both intact ? Israwa LMST mounting different from old iswara right ? since it have front link.

And do you u know, any tips to check my old shock is gas shock or oil shock ?

This post has been edited by Kbbteoh: Jan 8 2018, 11:27 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Jan 8 2018, 11:40 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(wajihud @ Jan 8 2018, 12:22 PM)
no one reply to my problem...maybe cuz i'm not member?  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
it's an open forum, no membership here. (at least not that i know of)

as far as i know, no issue as it may be just overfill return hose or something.
unless you're sure that there is a leak, otherwise no need to bother.

if got leak, patch/replace leaking part(s).
Albert B
post Jan 9 2018, 06:33 AM

QUOTE(darjana @ Jan 8 2018, 08:10 PM)
hi albert. the problem solved. simply a malfunction connector. done for free by my usual mechanic. he ask me test for 3days again. hill drive, slow drive, traffic stop and idling.
Glad to hear the problem solved. Which connector was it,
connected to which equipment?
Albert B
post Jan 9 2018, 06:37 AM

QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Jan 8 2018, 11:27 PM)
Albert, do u have the iswara front shock absorber mounting photo ? the rubber mounting and the bearing is that separate or both intact ? Israwa LMST mounting different from old iswara right ? since it have front link.

And do you u know, any tips to check my old shock is gas shock or oil shock ?
I enclose the pages from Haynes (UK export version)
as I do not have photos for my own car.

I am not sure if LMST is different from Iswara; they both look
the same to me. May have to ask the sifus here, also for
the gas/oil shock.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
darjana
post Jan 9 2018, 04:05 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 9 2018, 06:33 AM)
Glad to hear the problem solved. Which connector was it,
connected to which equipment?
let me get u photo of it. it was near the radiator fan side.
Albert B
post Jan 12 2018, 02:11 PM

QUOTE(darjana @ Jan 9 2018, 04:05 PM)
let me get u photo of it. it was near the radiator fan side.
From your description, it should be the socket for either the
thermo-switch, or the motor supply, see attached.

Your mechanic was able to find the fault easily, from so many
possible causes.

darjana
post Jan 12 2018, 06:04 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jan 12 2018, 02:11 PM)
From your description, it should be the socket for either the
thermo-switch, or the motor supply, see attached.

Your mechanic was able to find the fault easily, from so many
possible causes.
absolutely this is the problem. and he just rewire it. done within 10min. and fixed the problem. now hardly my car reach 4bar temp unless i stuck in jam. but that was for 10sec then tick sound will come and i can feel the new motor fan spinning at full speed

he jokingly told me he was able to detect on 1st look after 1day test coz i have replaced most component inside my car related to temperature and aircond.

This post has been edited by darjana: Jan 12 2018, 06:05 PM
alexkos
post Jan 13 2018, 01:48 PM

2,275 posts

surprise bill...

so sad...

that day sent my car to change brake oil (ask them to flush and fill new ones), and gear oil....then ask them to check all...

then give a call back, said my lower control arm patah d.....they charged me RM165 ea....both RM330....then i saw lazada...also priced around like that..

huhu, why car so many expenses? haha....

any reason why lower control arm patah? is it that i din change my front absorber for long time?

also just sent my car got carbon wrap, RM300 sama bumbung and bonet, black color...but when drive home, found got bubble here and there =(

when i drive, i heard slight sound on front left corner (something like belt sound, but only got sound once every 5 seconds or so, normally can hear after i drove around 15 mins).

more expenses upcoming? =D i'm thinking of changing absorber depan belakang. I bought this 8-year second hand car, and drove the 4th year d, now the car going to 13th year, not sure about my former driver, but i sendiri belum touch any suspension maintenance/upgrade yet.

suggestion?

This post has been edited by alexkos: Jan 13 2018, 01:51 PM
Albert B
post Jan 13 2018, 05:54 PM

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jan 13 2018, 01:48 PM)

then give a call back, said my lower control arm patah d.....they charged me RM165 ea....both RM330....then i saw lazada...also priced around like that..

any reason why lower control arm patah? is it that i din change my front absorber for long time?
Did you ask the mechanic to show you where is the broken
part of the lower arm? This is strange because if the lower
control arm is broken, whether at the attachment to the
wheel hub or the bush shaft, the wheel will swing out
and you will not be able to drive the car.

Usually it is the rubber bush that is worn out which will show
up as steering drift and the tyres being worn excessively on
the inside.

My experience with the mechanic about Iswara lower arm is
that we have to change the whole thing, not just the bush which
is cheaper, as was done for my previous car.

darjana
post Jan 16 2018, 10:37 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jan 13 2018, 01:48 PM)
surprise bill...

so sad...

that day sent my car to change brake oil (ask them to flush and fill new ones), and gear oil....then ask them to check all...

also just sent my car got carbon wrap, RM300 sama bumbung and bonet, black color...but when drive home, found got bubble here and there =(

when i drive, i heard slight sound on front left corner (something like belt sound, but only got sound once every 5 seconds or so, normally can hear after i drove around 15 mins).

more expenses upcoming? =D i'm thinking of changing absorber depan belakang. I bought this 8-year second hand car, and drove the 4th year d, now the car going to 13th year, not sure about my former driver, but i sendiri belum touch any suspension maintenance/upgrade yet.

suggestion?
yes mine also 13yrs. all item are getting replaced on stages. recently changed lower arm = rm240 ori proton.

alexkos
post Jan 16 2018, 02:31 PM

2,275 posts

haha, ya lo...i dunno what is broken, didn't pay attention that time. But i know is triangle stuff so i google suspension part and the name is 'lower arm' as you pointed it out correctly.

Really surprise bill. Btw, after changing lower arm, my front left still got sound after driving for some 15 mins....hmm....time to upgrade? i sayang my iswara...follow me 4 years since 2013...

my bro said that my gearbox looks like basah, looks like more bomb incoming?
darjana
post Jan 17 2018, 03:12 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jan 16 2018, 02:31 PM)
haha, ya lo...i dunno what is broken, didn't pay attention that time. But i know is triangle stuff so i google suspension part and the name is 'lower arm' as you pointed it out correctly.

Really surprise bill. Btw, after changing lower arm, my front left still got sound after driving for some 15 mins....hmm....time to upgrade? i sayang my iswara...follow me 4 years since 2013...

my bro said that my gearbox looks like basah, looks like more bomb incoming?
depends on ur usage. for example. like mine, i stay in penang. u cant even go 90kph on normal days. every nook and corner there is traffic light or slow cars. and my primary usage is for business purpose and personal.

my lmst was bought on 2005. till last month, it worked fine. then the time has arrived for parts replacement. i made an excel to convince myself not to buy any new car. with the calculation, i found out that from nov 2016 till to date, i forked out rm2.5k for parts replacement / addons excluding normal oil service. and now the car only left with not so good steering on highway speed. rest is pristine becoz i dont wait till the parts fully gone. at a slightest problem, i bring it to my personal mechanic and sort it out.

This post has been edited by darjana: Jan 17 2018, 03:22 AM
alifhezrey93
post Jan 18 2018, 10:53 AM

347 posts

this spec for gearbox oil SAE90EP AP1 GL-4 4L can use for iswara lmst 2004?
fortuner11
post Jan 19 2018, 02:10 PM

34 posts

After having some of my radiator hoses changed, I find that the radiator always run down on water, every week or so need to fill in about 500ml or more of water.. Around half a coke plastic bottle.

But the reservoir tank remain totally full.

Anything funny going on?

Is it not that the reservoir tank suppose to replenish the radiator ?
Albert B
post Jan 19 2018, 06:08 PM

QUOTE(fortuner11 @ Jan 19 2018, 02:10 PM)
After having some of my radiator hoses changed, I find that the radiator always run down on water, every week or so need to fill in about 500ml or more of water.. Around half a coke plastic bottle.

But the reservoir tank remain totally full.

Anything funny going on?

Is it not that the reservoir tank suppose to replenish the radiator ?
If you reduce the level in the reservoir (so that it is
not full), does the level later become higher and higher?

If not, from my experience there are two problems:

1) There is a leak somewhere that cause such a heavy loss
of coolant. Normally there is no need to top up any coolant
for many months, even half a year.

2) There is an air leak during the coolant return from
the reservoir during cooling down of the engine, at the
cap or the little hose connecting to the reservoir.

You may need to observe the parts during the engine warm
up to see if there is any abnormality. Maybe it is just problem (2)
where the water expand to the reservoir and overflow away but
does not return.

Or maybe problems (1) & (2) is a water & air leak at the same place.

This post has been edited by Albert B: Jan 19 2018, 06:37 PM
Mac Wai
post Jan 20 2018, 08:28 PM

89 posts

WTA: The recommended brick and motar shop to buy Rubber and trims for Proton Iswara Sedan Yr 2000. Mind are starting to fall apart. Rust sets in. Fragile plastic breaking. Old school digital clock display blackout. And whatnot? rclxub.gif

Good car bodyshop that can tighten my car from flexing chassis noise? doh.gif

Thanks the senior here!

241 Pages « < 156 157 158 159 160 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:03 PM