QUOTE(elementum @ Apr 20 2017, 06:12 PM)
no need ! it just located at bottom if the air filter housing. just spray on it only. no need disassembly anythingsLYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!
LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!
Apr 20 2017, 11:29 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
Apr 21 2017, 07:00 AM
880 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Hi guys,
I'm a proud owner of lmst 07'. My car doesn't have power steering and it pains me to see my parents struggle when steering. Is it advisable to convert to power steering? If it's possible, how much normally it would cost? Thanks. |
Apr 21 2017, 09:47 PM
41 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Apr 20 2017, 11:29 PM) no need ! it just located at bottom if the air filter housing. just spray on it only. no need disassembly anythings Spray the carb opening? Yeah I removed the air filter before. Another thing is, can we spray those tiny gold nozzle? Can those spray access the autochoke from carb opening or do I need to remove the autochoke?QUOTE(sacremento @ Apr 21 2017, 07:00 AM) Hi guys, Not cheap but well worth it. Mine converted since I got the car and that is like 02.I'm a proud owner of lmst 07'. My car doesn't have power steering and it pains me to see my parents struggle when steering. Is it advisable to convert to power steering? If it's possible, how much normally it would cost? Thanks. QUOTE(Albert B @ Apr 20 2017, 08:40 PM) You have experienced a leaking fuel line, could you share Mine is around the fuel filter area. Replaced the filter and tighten all the hose around that area, smell is gone.some details: - which fuel line, the location ? - how you solve the problem? I detect some petrol smell after a trip; so far the mechanic does not think it is an issue when I asked him. I think this should be checked because it could be a fire risk. I have inspected and felt the tank/pipes around the area where the smell is strongest but could not find anything. I also heard from a friend his car (a Waja) had this problem and he said he had it fixed in a specialist shop. This post has been edited by elementum: Apr 21 2017, 09:48 PM |
Apr 21 2017, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(Albert B @ Apr 20 2017, 08:40 PM) You have experienced a leaking fuel line, could you share i change all the fuel line at the front engine only. as u said mechanics say is normal but i felt its a risk fire as well. so i change it all except the fuel line from fuel tank to fuel filter. i didnt check exactly which line. some details: - which fuel line, the location ? - how you solve the problem? I detect some petrol smell after a trip; so far the mechanic does not think it is an issue when I asked him. I think this should be checked because it could be a fire risk. I have inspected and felt the tank/pipes around the area where the smell is strongest but could not find anything. I also heard from a friend his car (a Waja) had this problem and he said he had it fixed in a specialist shop. yes the problem is solve. no smell of petrol from front engine. |
Apr 21 2017, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(elementum @ Apr 21 2017, 09:47 PM) Spray the carb opening? Yeah I removed the air filter before. Another thing is, can we spray those tiny gold nozzle? Can those spray access the autochoke from carb opening or do I need to remove the autochoke? please do not spray on the tiny gold nozzle, do not spray anythings inside the air filter. Not cheap but well worth it. Mine converted since I got the car and that is like 02. Mine is around the fuel filter area. Replaced the filter and tighten all the hose around that area, smell is gone. just spray beside the carb only the spray cannot access to autochoke, since autochock is different housing from carb. very sorry, i do not have the pic to show u. now i outstation. |
Apr 22 2017, 03:11 AM
880 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(elementum @ Apr 21 2017, 09:47 PM) Spray the carb opening? Yeah I removed the air filter before. Another thing is, can we spray those tiny gold nozzle? Can those spray access the autochoke from carb opening or do I need to remove the autochoke? How much did u pay for the conversion? Any recommendations for a workshop..unless you are staying outside of klang valley😅Not cheap but well worth it. Mine converted since I got the car and that is like 02. Mine is around the fuel filter area. Replaced the filter and tighten all the hose around that area, smell is gone. Edit : ah sorry..misread. your car was already converted. This post has been edited by sacremento: Apr 22 2017, 03:13 AM |
Apr 22 2017, 10:32 AM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(elementum @ Apr 21 2017, 09:47 PM) ... Mine is around the fuel filter area. Replaced the filter and tighten all the hose around that area, smell is gone. QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Apr 21 2017, 10:17 PM) i change all the fuel line at the front engine only. as u said mechanics say is normal but i felt its a risk fire as well. so i change it all except the fuel line from fuel tank to fuel filter. i didnt check exactly which line. Thanks for the comments.yes the problem is solve. no smell of petrol from front engine. In my case the petrol smell was at the left rear tyre. I checked the filler cap, there was no smell there. Same for the engine compartment. In my friend's Waja, he said it was the metal pipe that has a crack. |
Apr 24 2017, 10:37 AM
34 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
If mounting is bad, is it good to let the steering vibrate or rattle during idle?
Any long-term problems? If I set the idle RPM higher the rattle will disappear. Can I just leave it rattling (don't care about the noise for now)? |
Apr 24 2017, 02:58 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(booksmass @ Apr 24 2017, 01:35 PM) Dear Sifus, 1) "Dieseling"? Iswara LMSS Aeroback. 1) Why does the engine emit 'kong kong kong' sound and vibrates excessively when switch off the engine? 2) Recently, reversed from the car park, shifted into first gear & noticed that the car had difficulty moving from standstill akin to rear wheels being locked by drum brakes. Hence the hesitation but seconds later into driving- the car ran smoothly. 3) At times the handbrake will go down itself. Need to adjust the handbrake knob button then it will be fine. Could any Sifus diagnose & recommend solutions to the above mentioned problems? Highly appreciate it. Thanks. https://www.google.com/search?q=%22Dieselin...chrome&ie=UTF-8 Some members here reduce it by letting the radiator fan run to lower engine temperatures before switching off the engine. Some says that a long outstation trip on a highway may combust away the carbon deposits that is one of the causes. Or decarbonise the combustion chamber through overhauling or by using certain decarbonising cleaner. Note that other things like overheating lean mixture, timing etc can be the cause. 2) That problem needs some testing to narrow down the cause : - is it drag from rear brakes etc, or from engine, or transmission. Sometimes the parking brake lining sticks to the drum especially if parked for long periods or after driving through flooded roads. Does it happen all the time? Does it occur only when engine is cold? 3) This one is strange, I have never encountered the handbrake handle releasing by itself, or needing frequent adjustments. Does the spring at the button feel very weak? Maybe the thread for the knob adjustment has worn away allowing it to 'jump' thread? This post has been edited by Albert B: Apr 24 2017, 03:07 PM |
Apr 24 2017, 08:42 PM
270 posts Joined: May 2011 |
My gas pedal got stuck. Izzit caused by cable or others?
Apr 25 2017, 03:19 PM
206 posts Joined: May 2015 |
Changing my saga flx tyre (all 4)
is ecopia recommended for my saga flx? since i have it in persona, is fine. wanna try it on saga This post has been edited by lansi_raju: Apr 25 2017, 03:19 PM |
Apr 26 2017, 10:55 AM
1,576 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(booksmass @ Apr 24 2017, 05:35 AM) Dear Sifus, Switch over to 97 petrol for a couple of weeks and see how you do.Iswara LMSS Aeroback. 1) Why does the engine emit 'kong kong kong' sound and vibrates excessively when switch off the engine? 2) Recently, reversed from the car park, shifted into first gear & noticed that the car had difficulty moving from standstill akin to rear wheels being locked by drum brakes. Hence the hesitation but seconds later into driving- the car ran smoothly. 3) At times the handbrake will go down itself. Need to adjust the handbrake knob button then it will be fine. Could any Sifus diagnose & recommend solutions to the above mentioned problems? Highly appreciate it. Thanks. 95 octane has been described as even worse then the old 92. There was some discussion here or in other forums about this. The petrol companies are cheating us. I believe the octane rating is more like 90. They are using additives to try to mask for this. Or you could buy those "Octane Boosters" additives from parts shops and add in half a bottle every tankful. However, many of these use MMT, a manganese-based formula, which will color your spark plugs orange and clog up your carburettors and catalytic converters over time, I was told. Your rear drums' cylinders may be jamming. There will also tend to be lots of powder from the pads in there. Can also be due to water/rain as Albert said, if you have driven over water on in heavy rainfall. Quite normal. Take to the mechanic and ask him to open them up to take a look. Make sure you don't use Bosch, made in China. They won't last more than a year or so. I bought Bosch, gave the mechanic to replace. One lasted a year and half, the other, 6 months. Ask him to take a look at your handbrake cables and the detent knob on the handle. Sometimes the knob or button can be replaced, like in my old Toyota. In the Saga/Iswara's case, I was told that the whole handle has to be replaced. |
Apr 26 2017, 11:04 AM
540 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(booksmass @ Apr 24 2017, 01:35 PM) Dear Sifus, my 2007 lmst got the same problem no.1 . i call it as engine want die but cannot die Iswara LMSS Aeroback. 1) Why does the engine emit 'kong kong kong' sound and vibrates excessively when switch off the engine? 2) Recently, reversed from the car park, shifted into first gear & noticed that the car had difficulty moving from standstill akin to rear wheels being locked by drum brakes. Hence the hesitation but seconds later into driving- the car ran smoothly. 3) At times the handbrake will go down itself. Need to adjust the handbrake knob button then it will be fine. Could any Sifus diagnose & recommend solutions to the above mentioned problems? Highly appreciate it. Thanks. |
Apr 27 2017, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 26 2017, 10:55 AM) Switch over to 97 petrol for a couple of weeks and see how you do. dieseling is quite normal problem, due to petrol issue. 95 octane has been described as even worse then the old 92. There was some discussion here or in other forums about this. The petrol companies are cheating us. I believe the octane rating is more like 90. They are using additives to try to mask for this. Or you could buy those "Octane Boosters" additives from parts shops and add in half a bottle every tankful. However, many of these use MMT, a manganese-based formula, which will color your spark plugs orange and clog up your carburettors and catalytic converters over time, I was told. Your rear drums' cylinders may be jamming. There will also tend to be lots of powder from the pads in there. Can also be due to water/rain as Albert said, if you have driven over water on in heavy rainfall. Quite normal. Take to the mechanic and ask him to open them up to take a look. Make sure you don't use Bosch, made in China. They won't last more than a year or so. I bought Bosch, gave the mechanic to replace. One lasted a year and half, the other, 6 months. Ask him to take a look at your handbrake cables and the detent knob on the handle. Sometimes the knob or button can be replaced, like in my old Toyota. In the Saga/Iswara's case, I was told that the whole handle has to be replaced. another method can try if u found dieseling. try do not switch off the engine directly after a ride. after stop, switch off air con and all electrical accessories, wait the engine drop to lowest rpm about 10-15 second ( should be lower than 1k RPM, normal is around 850 RPM ) than should be ok. if your engine still runing higher than 1k RPM than dieseling happen will be higher chance. if not due to petrol issue than dieseling may due to too rich mixture. |
Apr 28 2017, 04:52 PM
255 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang |
guys, my FC improved abit after changed the worn out clutch plate. from 265km to 300km full tank.
What else can be done or this is it the max ? Please advise. 80% city 20% highway |
Apr 28 2017, 08:38 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(darjana @ Apr 28 2017, 04:52 PM) guys, my FC improved abit after changed the worn out clutch plate. from 265km to 300km full tank. How much Ur mileage now ? What else can be done or this is it the max ? Please advise. 80% city 20% highway 1st time change clutch plate ? Will u feel stiffer or softer when u press on the clutch pedal ? What brand u using ? PS I have never change my clutch plate before since my family got it 1st hand 2007 until now. |
Apr 28 2017, 11:06 PM
184 posts Joined: Apr 2012 From: KL, MY |
Yesterday I accidentally drove past a pothole and it was a deep one. I think the suspension was fine but there was some kind of fluid leakage at this part of the engine bay from this part
![]() The rubber thing seems to be torn apart and the fluid inside leak because my dad has an LMST as well and the rubber part on his car does not move whereas mine moves. Any idea what is that part and how much is it gonna cost to replace it? |
Apr 29 2017, 03:40 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Apr 29 2017, 12:19 PM
184 posts Joined: Apr 2012 From: KL, MY |
Apr 29 2017, 02:50 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
| Change to: | 0.0212sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:13 AM |