126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

AVFAN
post Dec 19 2014, 10:48 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 18 2014, 11:35 AM)
Did you also notice that XLE move in tandem with SPY and disconnected itself from Crude oil?
Crude price didn't move up much today.
yes, u r right on this. i watched closely last night.
as crude stalled n even declined, hal, rig, xom, slb turned red.
xle did turn red briefly but can see it paced with spy well.
well, all ends well, though!

thanks for yr help again. my first purchases looking fine at this time. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 19 2014, 10:49 AM
teehk_tee
post Dec 19 2014, 12:08 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 18 2014, 12:41 AM)
Holy cow... gamings stocks kena kau kau...

Take a look at LVS, MPEL, MGM, WYNN..

All getting whacked from Xi JinPing anti-graft policy. No more China VIPs player wants to play in Macau anymore?  hmm.gif
MPEL is as if manila is a dud haha, but the momentum is massive so its no go for me still
danmooncake
post Dec 20 2014, 05:29 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 19 2014, 10:48 AM)
yes, u r right on this. i watched closely last night.
as crude stalled n even declined, hal, rig, xom, slb turned red.
xle did turn red briefly but can see it paced with spy well.
well, all ends well, though!

thanks for yr help again. my first purchases looking fine at this time. biggrin.gif
Congrats! Awesome bounce for XLE this week... $8 move from low of $72.50 rclxms.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 20 2014, 05:32 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 19 2014, 12:08 PM)
MPEL is as if manila is a dud haha, but the momentum is massive so its no go for me still
Not only that... the gaming folks in Macau is hoping for Xi JinPing visit could help to relief them of the draught.
But, I don't think he's signalling any easing for them yet since he still cracking down on corruption. nod.gif
max_cavalera
post Dec 20 2014, 05:15 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2014, 02:38 AM)
i made my 2 maiden us purchases just now. biggrin.gif

as i do not hv realtime subscription, i used yahoo fin for real time data, place orders on cimb itrade. yahoofin data is pretty realtime as i can see it when done at the correct time on itrade which is realtime for orders processing. overall, worked fine. actually using a tiny atom netbook to do this while waiting for new pc to arrive.

first time, quite pleased with it.

bought spy n xle (becos crude jumped 4%). in tens of shares, not thousands. laugh.gif

now, will see if crude rebound holds and how usd-rm will work out in the coming months...
congratz! break ur virginity in stocks already rclxms.gif

me yet to break my virginity in stocks...always monitor stocks in investing.com apps the past 1.5 years only... doh.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 20 2014, 06:42 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Dec 20 2014, 05:15 PM)
congratz! break ur virginity in stocks already  rclxms.gif

me yet to break my virginity in stocks...always monitor stocks in investing.com apps the past 1.5 years only...  doh.gif
i had been wanting to do that for some months now, since the time when aapl went below 100.

well, last week's oil price crash presented an opportunity i could not resist.

there's always a first time for anything, go for it! biggrin.gif

am actually looking to buy aapl n msft. if n when oil firms, will get some slb n rig.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 20 2014, 07:21 PM
ShinG3e
post Dec 22 2014, 10:42 PM

o0o
1,550 posts

my stock is making a double digit profit but the sales charge is painful to swallow. sad.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 22 2014, 10:52 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 22 2014, 10:42 PM)
my stock is making a double digit profit but the sales charge is painful to swallow. sad.gif
What does "sales charge" mean?
ShinG3e
post Dec 22 2014, 10:58 PM

o0o
1,550 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 22 2014, 10:52 PM)
What does "sales charge" mean?
lol... sry mistaken UT term

was referring to the brokerage fee to purchase a NYSE stock using local bank platform cry.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 22 2014, 11:09 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 22 2014, 10:58 PM)
lol... sry mistaken UT term

was referring to the brokerage fee to purchase a NYSE stock using local bank platform cry.gif
Oh I see, you're referring to the transaction fee.

Are you paying a "flat" fee or by "percentage"?
If by "percentage", then it is time to ditch your local broker and open a direct one with US brokerage.

But, if you don't trade much (like once a month or a quarter) or a "buy-and-hold" type,
then don't worry too much about it.

Also, USD is high now.. perhaps everytime you buy/sell locally, they will charge you transaction fee, and currency exchange fee too. That would be a double ouch. nod.gif

ShinG3e
post Dec 22 2014, 11:12 PM

o0o
1,550 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 22 2014, 11:09 PM)
Oh I see, you're referring to the transaction fee.

Are you paying a "flat" fee or by "percentage"?
If by "percentage", then it is time to ditch your local broker and open a direct one with US brokerage.

But, if you don't trade much (like once a month or a quarter) or a "buy-and-hold" type,
then don't worry too much about it.

Also, USD is high now.. perhaps everytime you buy/sell locally, they will charge you transaction fee, and currency exchange fee too.  That would be a double ouch. nod.gif
Hi there.

I'm paying by % but there is a minimum of USD30 per transaction.

i'm more towards the buy-and-hold type. hardly speculate.

luckily i purchased mine before the oil issue and USD high time. laugh.gif

hence, would like to ask what are the procedures to open a direct account with a US brokerage?
teehk_tee
post Dec 22 2014, 11:36 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

Looks like the saudis are bent on scorched earth with their commentary, crude down to 55.6x again
talexeh
post Dec 22 2014, 11:43 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,085 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 22 2014, 11:36 PM)
Looks like the saudis are bent on scorched earth with their commentary, crude down to 55.6x again
Good thing I resisted from throwing anything into UWTI. Gonna just stick with DWTI & hope that crude continues to drop.
yok70
post Dec 22 2014, 11:47 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 22 2014, 11:09 PM)

.. perhaps everytime you buy/sell locally, they will charge you transaction fee, and currency exchange fee too.  That would be a double ouch. nod.gif
fyi, for cimb's iTrade, every foreign account transaction will first "buy the currency", then "trade with the currency" and you may choose not to change back into RM if selling foreign shares. As for my iTrade, there are currently 3 sub-accounts to deal with HKD, USD and RM although all 3 still managed under one integrated iTRade account. So no double charged. laugh.gif

AVFAN
post Dec 23 2014, 12:13 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 22 2014, 11:12 PM)
Hi there.
I'm paying by % but there is a minimum of USD30 per transaction.
i'm more towards the buy-and-hold type. hardly speculate.
luckily i purchased mine before the oil issue and USD high time.  laugh.gif
hence, would like to ask what are the procedures to open a direct account with a US brokerage?
min usd30.. what bank..? higher then than cimb itrade's usd25.
hope yr % is not higher than 0.4%.
anyway, if not trading much, minor effect...

QUOTE(yok70 @ Dec 22 2014, 11:47 PM)
fyi, for cimb's iTrade, every foreign account transaction will first "buy the currency", then "trade with the currency" and you may choose not to change back into RM if selling foreign shares. As for my iTrade, there are currently 3 sub-accounts to deal with HKD, USD and RM although all 3 still managed under one integrated iTRade account. So no double charged.   laugh.gif
i m on same thing: rm-sgd-usd. i find the rates reasonable.
what i do with say, sgd dividends, i leave it in trust acc for not more than a qtr, accumulate enough to buy more when price is acceptable.
come jan 2015, sgx going board lot 100 which will make things easier.
plan is to do same for usd, no reason to think rm will strengthen bigtime for "decades"; reverse may come true, though. tongue.gif

this oil story... after many saying it'll go as low as usd40 some weeks ago, now i start to read some reports making the case for usd64-65 avg for 2015. well, who knows.... but we do have an interesting opportunity now... to buy or to keep watching...?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 23 2014, 12:34 AM
ShinG3e
post Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM

o0o
1,550 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 23 2014, 12:13 AM)
min usd30.. what bank..? higher then than cimb itrade's usd25.
hope yr % is not higher than 0.4%.
anyway, if not trading much, minor effect...
i m on same thing: rm-sgd-usd. i find the rates reasonable.
what i do with say, sgd dividends, i leave it in trust acc for not more than a qtr, accumulate enough to buy more when price is acceptable.
come jan 2015, sgx going board lot 100 which will make things easier.
plan is to do same for usd, no reason to think rm will strengthen bigtime for "decades"; reverse may come true, though. tongue.gif
this oil story... after many saying it'll go as low as usd40 some weeks ago, now i start to read some reports making the case for usd64-65 avg for 2015. well, who knows.... but we do have an interesting opportunity now... to buy or to keep watching...?
HLE broking. good for local market. but charge me USD30 when i purchase a stock from NYSE. sweat.gif

technically, buy USD 30, sell USD 30 = USD60 unsure.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 23 2014, 12:13 AM)
Remember when Goldman said Oil will go to $200 when it was $140 back in '08?.. then it reverses and went down.

The thing is when a lot people start talking about $40 oil, it most likely it will not happen and likely to bottom in the 50s and move back up. A lot of times, they overshoot to the downside.

As for Opec,, funny argument from them they're saying non-Opec members should cut back production.. not them. tongue.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 23 2014, 12:54 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM)
HLE broking. good for local market. but charge me USD30 when i purchase a stock from NYSE.  sweat.gif

technically, buy USD 30, sell USD 30 = USD60  unsure.gif
$30/trade.. that's high. shocking.gif Does this involve a human remisier assisted trade?

$30 could mean 30 trades for me..

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 23 2014, 12:55 AM
ShinG3e
post Dec 23 2014, 12:56 AM

o0o
1,550 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 23 2014, 12:54 AM)
$30/trade.. that's high.  shocking.gif  Does this involve a human remisier assisted trade?

$30 could mean 30 trades for me..
nope... e-trade. cry.gif

hence, asking around what are my better options regarding this issue. unsure.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 23 2014, 01:08 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM)
Remember when Goldman said Oil will go to $200 when it was $140 back in '08?.. then it reverses and went down.

The thing is when a lot people start talking about $40 oil, it most likely it will not happen and likely to bottom in the 50s and move back up. A lot of times, they overshoot to the downside.

As for Opec,, funny argument from them they're saying non-Opec members should cut back production.. not them.  tongue.gif
i like to think that the selling was a bit overdone like it always happen; good probability it will recover 10-15% soon and hover there for some time. the case of oil can't be like gold which never recovered, maybe not for 10 yrs!

anyway, i have a passion for oil having worked in that industry for some years a long time ago. so, just bought bits of slb and oih for old time sake. tongue.gif

will look for opportunity to buy some aapl n msft. with that, i'll be happy just to sit back for a while. wink.gif

good nite.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 23 2014, 01:10 AM

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:17 PM