Asus G-Series Notebook Thread V10, Intel 8th Gen Strikes

milky
post Jun 22 2015, 11:59 AM

- King -
4,743 posts

guys,
is there a shop in KL or lowyat in which i can send my g55 to put msata in it?
nik91
post Jun 22 2015, 10:59 PM

96 posts

Hmm... Just got myself my handsome GL552JX afternoon nod.gif .. I wonder if anyone here owned this laptop.. It seems here only discuss about G751...

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 22 2015, 11:59 AM)
guys,
From asus Malaysia web:

Axxon Technology
Lot 4-010. Level 4, Plaza Low Yat No.7, Jalan Bukit Bintang, Off Jalan Bukit Bintang Central, 55100 Kuala Lumpur. (1.1km)
1300-883495
Mon-Fri, 09:00-18:00
Products: Notebook, Tablet, PadFone

nonexno
post Jun 23 2015, 04:37 PM

570 posts

got the g501jw. awesome machine. trying to play bf hardline but origin got server issue.
slingswish
post Jun 23 2015, 05:14 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(nik91 @ Jun 22 2015, 10:59 PM)
Hmm... Just got myself my handsome GL552JX afternoon  nod.gif .. I wonder if anyone here owned this laptop.. It seems here only discuss about G751...
From asus Malaysia web:

Axxon Technology
Lot 4-010. Level 4, Plaza Low Yat No.7, Jalan Bukit Bintang, Off Jalan Bukit Bintang Central, 55100 Kuala Lumpur. (1.1km)
1300-883495
Mon-Fri, 09:00-18:00
Products: Notebook, Tablet, PadFone
congrats on getting GL552JX its a beautiful beast! haha

is it worth it to put msata in G55?
slingswish
post Jun 23 2015, 05:15 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 22 2015, 11:59 AM)
guys,
how many GB you planning to put ? let me know how much it cost for asus to install it for u. I'm interested to do the same but thinking of doing it myself not sure worth the risk or not! rclxms.gif
milky
post Jun 23 2015, 11:27 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Jun 23 2015, 05:15 PM)
how many GB you planning to put ? let me know how much it cost for asus to install it for u. I'm interested to do the same but thinking of doing it myself not sure worth the risk or not!  rclxms.gif
ok i've already done asking
ASUS Service will not and NOT providing any service on putting mSATA on it...
then i don't know what is service centre for.. i told them i buy the msata from your company or i buy it and pay you guys for the service charges.. also tak mau

then i walk around the LOWYAT plaza asking for the service... got 1 shop nearby c-zone laptop repair charges me rm80 but i check youtube looks like quite difficult.. so at the end dont want to put edi.. scare that fella open edi close back that time got problem..
nik91
post Jun 23 2015, 11:48 PM

96 posts

What do you two mean by putting msata? I guess is putting msata SSD...

Lol why so pricey.. Near my place, there're shops charging only RM20-40 for cleaning dust... RM80 for putting an SSD is too much for me
slingswish
post Jun 24 2015, 12:03 AM

560 posts

hehe look like i gonna do it myself d. ada asus service centre also not helpful alamak.
horns
post Jun 24 2015, 12:28 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Jun 24 2015, 12:03 AM)
hehe look like i gonna do it myself d. ada asus service centre also not helpful alamak.
it's simple, but tedious, to tear a g55 down. just check out the first page of this thread for hints, have patience, be careful, and you will be fine. take photos in each step so that you don't need to remember things like cable arrangement for speakers, keyboard, wifi, etc.
slingswish
post Jun 24 2015, 08:04 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 24 2015, 12:28 AM)
it's simple, but tedious, to tear a g55 down. just check out the first page of this thread for hints, have patience, be careful, and you will be fine. take photos in each step so that you don't need to remember things like cable arrangement for speakers, keyboard, wifi, etc.
thanks for the help bro! guess i will need a day to do it. biggrin.gif
horns
post Jun 24 2015, 08:55 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Jun 24 2015, 08:04 AM)
thanks for the help bro! guess i will need a day to do it.  biggrin.gif
For the first or maybe second time it might take longer. After that hehe it's like 15mins to do a full teardown.

While you're at it, you might wanna take the chance to clean up the vents and fans. A tube of thermal paste might be handy if you wanna do that.
IazHes
post Jun 24 2015, 01:42 PM

371 posts

May i get an honest feedback on G501 CN139 on the
-FHD screen (color/pixel/anti-glare quality)
-keyboard area dent if press it harder
-temperature
-game on DOTA2 MAX out ?

TSriku2replica
post Jun 24 2015, 01:58 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Jun 24 2015, 01:42 PM)
-temperature
-game on DOTA2 MAX out ?

-Screen should be OK if they maintain IPS display.
-Keyboard area, what sort of dent? Or did you mean flex? The unibody is the keyboard itself, it should minimized the flex except for the keys.
-depends on ventilation.
- Should be no problem based on this

IazHes
post Jun 24 2015, 04:49 PM

371 posts

So far is there any issue on g501 cn139h model?
horns
post Jun 25 2015, 01:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Jun 24 2015, 04:49 PM)
So far is there any issue on g501 cn139h model?
actually you can check out http://rog.asus.com/forum/ for more user reviews and comments.
evum seu
post Jun 25 2015, 06:55 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Jun 24 2015, 01:42 PM)
-temperature
-game on DOTA2 MAX out ?

for gtx 960m, dota 2 can be maxed out easily but the problem is your temperatue....
zuhaili87
post Jun 29 2015, 02:53 PM

2,094 posts

Just bought Asus GL552JX (750GB HDD) + EXTRA 4GB RAM RM3120 includes GST for my sis in-law. I must say it has really nice build quality, much better than the V Nitro. I also like the backpack, damn nice design compared to my Lenovo Y50. cry.gif
nik91
post Jun 29 2015, 04:24 PM

96 posts

Nice choice... ya Asus build quality is generally always sturdy I must say... although my previous N55 build quality is better at screen hinge ...

I highly suggest that you do screen calibration (try the build in GL552JX ICC profile first) to make the screen much better at least based on a user claim... even though myself not do it yet because too lazy..

And this Hitachi 7200rpm HDD is crazy fast... faster than an old 7200rpm HDD and much faster than my previous Seagate 5400rpm HDD... It's so fast that I feel that I shouldnt throw an SSD into it hehe... I dunno it could be the i7 and Win 8.1 that make the 'fast' feeling...

This post has been edited by nik91: Jun 29 2015, 04:29 PM
zuhaili87
post Jun 29 2015, 09:57 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(nik91 @ Jun 29 2015, 04:24 PM)
Nice choice... ya Asus build quality is generally always sturdy I must say... although  my previous N55 build quality is better at screen hinge ...

I highly suggest that you do screen calibration (try the build in GL552JX ICC profile first)  to make the screen much better at least based on a user claim... even though myself not do it yet because too lazy..

And this Hitachi 7200rpm HDD is crazy fast... faster than an old 7200rpm HDD and much faster than my previous Seagate 5400rpm HDD... It's so fast that I feel that I shouldnt throw an SSD into it hehe... I dunno it could be the i7 and Win 8.1 that make the 'fast' feeling...
I wud say its fast because of Windows 8.1, it would be much2 faster if u use SSD, i use SSD on my Y50, after use SSD i can never use a normal HDD again. biggrin.gif

Btw how much did u got your GL552JX for bro? Did u upgrade your RAM?
jasonsuna1
post Jun 29 2015, 11:28 PM

318 posts

I'm back! lol...

Anyone know when the Next asus G series beast are going to release? tongue.gif

IPS display really rock!

85 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:46 AM