MSI Gaming Notebook Thread V3
mental007
Nov 11 2014, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(MSI-NB @ Nov 11 2014, 09:48 AM) Kindly visit our service centre for cleaning  I don't think your Penang Service Centre will be able to help clean btw. They are just representative that don't have the power to check the laptop etc. Everything need call/refer to HQ. I even asked them whether can open to upgrade RAM and they also said need to refer HQ for it. LOL
TSMSI-NB
Nov 12 2014, 04:44 PM

Graphics card memory – how much is enough?How much memory do you really need? With the introduction of the GTX 900 series graphics from NVIDIA, we’ve seen a leap in two things: performance, and especially on the mobile graphics side, memory size. Simply put, the higher your resolution is, the more memory you’re going to need in addition to high raw processing power. But how much? For example, Futuremark recently updated its latest 3DMark to support 4K benchmarking. Trying to run this benchmark on any graphics card with what is now the de facto standard amount of graphics card memory, 2GB, will give you a really hard time with the FPS figures generally below 2 (yes, two) FPS in Game Test 2, whereas 3GB will be barely enough to get you by.  This is with 4K (3840x2160) of course, and just one benchmark, but it gives you an indication of where things are heading. That’s why we’ve chosen to equip our GTX 970M and 980M graphics cards with double the amount you’d expect – future proofing, and for high-res external monitors. A real-world example on the subject was written up by Swedish media NordicHardware on Nov 7th. During its testing of Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, they discovered that the game, even with a perfectly normal 1080P (1920x1080) resolution, would use all graphics memory at its disposal, all 6GB of the NVIDIA GeForce Titan Black.  Other games are going in the same direction as well. Games such as Shadow of Mordor also require a whole lot of VRAM, also eclipsing the 4GB barrier with 1080P resolution (tests once more courtesy of NordicHardware):  With even regular games, 2GB of VRAM is barely enough right now, and is simply not going to be enough in a future that is closer than you might think. The high-resolution revolution is closing in fast, do you have enough graphics memory?
TSMSI-NB
Nov 12 2014, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(mental007 @ Nov 11 2014, 05:20 PM) I don't think your Penang Service Centre will be able to help clean btw. They are just representative that don't have the power to check the laptop etc. Everything need call/refer to HQ. I even asked them whether can open to upgrade RAM and they also said need to refer HQ for it. LOL Hi there, we suggest you may call to our service centre for more information: 1300-88-2273 (operating from Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm, except public holiday). Alternatively, you may also contact our product info centre @ 1300-22-1986 for assistance. Hope this helps!
mental007
Nov 12 2014, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(MSI-NB @ Nov 12 2014, 04:50 PM) Hi there, we suggest you may call to our service centre for more information: 1300-88-2273 (operating from Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm, except public holiday). Alternatively, you may also contact our product info centre @ 1300-22-1986 for assistance. Hope this helps!  Its no use. The last time I took my laptop for repair also called their service centre hotline. And they asked me to bring to Penang service centre. And then penang service centre said need refer HQ and send to KL HQ for upgrades/repair. Everything need send to HQ. Its like there is no technician in Penang service centre. Maybe need improve on that. This post has been edited by mental007: Nov 12 2014, 06:19 PM
TSMSI-NB
Nov 13 2014, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(mental007 @ Nov 12 2014, 06:13 PM) Its no use. The last time I took my laptop for repair also called their service centre hotline. And they asked me to bring to Penang service centre. And then penang service centre said need refer HQ and send to KL HQ for upgrades/repair. Everything need send to HQ. Its like there is no technician in Penang service centre. Maybe need improve on that. Thanks for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service. For your information, currently the only repair centre is at Kelana Jaya as other branches help to collect and pick up. The standard working period is 14 working days. Should you require any assistance, feel free to contact our product info centre @ 1300-22-1986
LostAndFound
Nov 13 2014, 04:08 PM
... Just called KJ service center and received a really dissatisfying answer. I want to buy an mSata SSD for my brother as a present, but one stupid sticker over a screw prevents me from installing myself (which I've already done for my own other-brand laptop).
Service center quote me at RM140 for installation labour charges! Even my car workshop also don't charge so high for 2-3 hours of work, this 5 minute task want to charge RM140.
Anyone knows how to self-install without voiding warranty?
shin2l
Nov 13 2014, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 13 2014, 04:08 PM) ... Just called KJ service center and received a really dissatisfying answer. I want to buy an mSata SSD for my brother as a present, but one stupid sticker over a screw prevents me from installing myself (which I've already done for my own other-brand laptop). Service center quote me at RM140 for installation labour charges! Even my car workshop also don't charge so high for 2-3 hours of work, this 5 minute task want to charge RM140. Anyone knows how to self-install without voiding warranty? Hahahaha It remind me a forumer mentioned he went to service center to install ram/ssd and paid RM80 at the end. I think you can go to TechArmory to do installation, he is authorized but should be lower cost. Else, you will need a hair dryer
TSMSI-NB
Nov 13 2014, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 13 2014, 04:08 PM) ... Just called KJ service center and received a really dissatisfying answer. I want to buy an mSata SSD for my brother as a present, but one stupid sticker over a screw prevents me from installing myself (which I've already done for my own other-brand laptop). Service center quote me at RM140 for installation labour charges! Even my car workshop also don't charge so high for 2-3 hours of work, this 5 minute task want to charge RM140. Anyone knows how to self-install without voiding warranty? Hi, you may also upgrade via MSI Authorized Resellers (http://bit.ly/mymsinb_wheretobuy) to enjoy warranty service.
kyu85
Nov 13 2014, 11:30 PM
just wondering, does every1 here updated ur com to win8.1? the window have been prompting me to update my GS70 to win8.1 for sometime... usually i will skip it with option update later... but this few days it dun have option of later but to start update in few hours... how is the win8.1 now? stable?
mental007
Nov 13 2014, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 13 2014, 04:08 PM) ... Just called KJ service center and received a really dissatisfying answer. I want to buy an mSata SSD for my brother as a present, but one stupid sticker over a screw prevents me from installing myself (which I've already done for my own other-brand laptop). Service center quote me at RM140 for installation labour charges! Even my car workshop also don't charge so high for 2-3 hours of work, this 5 minute task want to charge RM140. Anyone knows how to self-install without voiding warranty? SC quoted me RM75 for RAM installation. hey, this is less than 1 minute. my old lenovo is free when upgrade. Pass them the laptop, change in within 1 min and done, no charges.
giovanni
Nov 14 2014, 08:04 AM
Anyone knows if it is possible to change the front cover of msi laptop? my has scratches here n there. Plan to change the cover to make it nice looking!
shin2l
Nov 14 2014, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(kyu85 @ Nov 13 2014, 11:30 PM) just wondering, does every1 here updated ur com to win8.1? the window have been prompting me to update my GS70 to win8.1 for sometime... usually i will skip it with option update later... but this few days it dun have option of later but to start update in few hours... how is the win8.1 now? stable? 8.1 pro genuine is here
LostAndFound
Nov 14 2014, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(shin2l @ Nov 13 2014, 04:25 PM) Hahahaha It remind me a forumer mentioned he went to service center to install ram/ssd and paid RM80 at the end. I think you can go to TechArmory to do installation, he is authorized but should be lower cost. Else, you will need a hair dryer  Good idea. I'll check out TechArmory. If my own laptop I'll do it myself, but since not mine.... QUOTE(MSI-NB @ Nov 13 2014, 04:31 PM) Hi, you may also upgrade via MSI Authorized Resellers (http://bit.ly/mymsinb_wheretobuy) to enjoy warranty service. Thanks, that's useful. I think you all should reconsider how the sticker is placed though. I'm a loyal ASUS fan and their laptops (and the Dells/Toshibas my family had before) always are capable to be opened, for those of us who know how. Warranty service also not an issue, and doesn't cost 3 digit for simple 5 minute task. How much money can you earn this way vs the customer being pissed off with your brand?
kyu85
Nov 14 2014, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(shin2l @ Nov 14 2014, 08:16 AM) 8.1 pro genuine is here  they force updated my com to win8.1 now... sigh... just wondering, it there a need to updated all the driver like sound card etc to win8.1 version?
shin2l
Nov 14 2014, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(kyu85 @ Nov 14 2014, 01:10 PM) they force updated my com to win8.1 now... sigh... just wondering, it there a need to updated all the driver like sound card etc to win8.1 version? Some of them yes, eventhough it is 8.1 but driver difference is like 7 and 8. So, better upgrade the drivers, or you can download all related drivers for 8.1 then upgrade.
kyu85
Nov 14 2014, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(shin2l @ Nov 14 2014, 01:24 PM) Some of them yes, eventhough it is 8.1 but driver difference is like 7 and 8. So, better upgrade the drivers, or you can download all related drivers for 8.1 then upgrade. Driver Realtek Audio Intel chipset Realtek cardreader Intel® Core processors graphics card BigFoot Lan/Wireless/Bluetooth Elantench Touchpad F6 Install Floppy Create with Raid mode bios Intel Rapid Storage Technology Intel Management Engine need to update all this? Firmware Touchpad Firmware EC Firmware Wat is this? Utility Sound Blaster Cinema AP SOund Blaster Cinema EQ wat the different between this 2? How about BIOS? need to update oso?
shin2l
Nov 14 2014, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(kyu85 @ Nov 14 2014, 02:06 PM) Driver Realtek Audio Intel chipset Realtek cardreader Intel® Core processors graphics card BigFoot Lan/Wireless/Bluetooth Elantench Touchpad F6 Install Floppy Create with Raid mode bios Intel Rapid Storage Technology Intel Management Engine need to update all this? Firmware Touchpad Firmware EC Firmware Wat is this? Utility Sound Blaster Cinema AP SOund Blaster Cinema EQ wat the different between this 2? How about BIOS? need to update oso? Yes, firmware also need to update as well, SBC has 2: main installer and eq settings. BIOS must update. But first, back up all of your data.
TSMSI-NB
Nov 14 2014, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 14 2014, 09:14 AM) Good idea. I'll check out TechArmory. If my own laptop I'll do it myself, but since not mine.... Thanks, that's useful. I think you all should reconsider how the sticker is placed though. I'm a loyal ASUS fan and their laptops (and the Dells/Toshibas my family had before) always are capable to be opened, for those of us who know how. Warranty service also not an issue, and doesn't cost 3 digit for simple 5 minute task. How much money can you earn this way vs the customer being pissed off with your brand? Hi, we usually advise customers to do the upgrade via our authorized resellers and service centres as installing an SSD requires reconfiguring the Bios (only for creating RAID 0 volume) and backing up the OS to port it over to the SSD. Customers may also upgrade SSD themselves however we usually discourage this due to if customer cause any damage to the unit they might not enjoy warranty service anymore. Our service centre always charges a flat rate so we suggest you to always check with your local MSI dealer for better rates. This post has been edited by MSI-NB: Nov 14 2014, 06:02 PM
kyu85
Nov 14 2014, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(shin2l @ Nov 14 2014, 04:19 PM) BIOS must update.
But first, back up all of your data. how to update bios? @@
shin2l
Nov 14 2014, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(kyu85 @ Nov 14 2014, 07:19 PM) your msi laptop home page driver download has detail, just refer to it.