126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

vdvaart
post May 22 2007, 05:08 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ May 21 2007, 05:00 PM)
heh spot on mate biggrin.gif

basketball? where?
actually it was the last basketball inter-varsity games.they couldn't finish the tourney on time, so they delayed it to last night.

another thing is i cant find any golf course here either laugh.gif and i actually did go to Missy Higgins concert at the tivoli last Sunday...alone because none of my friends 'layan' her tongue.gif but it was freaking awesome! stone sour's gig also awesome, but Missy's better.

I know none of my post is quite 'education essential', but just to give some picture on living in Brissy tongue.gif i promise to post more educational posts after this.

cheers mate!
bluevirus
post May 22 2007, 06:47 PM

Hi Im new here and want to ask that, do you all heard about la trobe university??
How about its reputation?
coz i heard from my sis(from what she have heard from her friend) the uni have bad reputation..
sotong4896
post May 22 2007, 07:01 PM

babywears.my
974 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 16 2007, 09:41 PM)
haha
student ke ape tu yang tak tao unsw...uni adelaide...haha
anyways, between university of melbourne and monash australia...which ranks better huh?
personally i mean...not the internet ranking
if u know la...
personal opinion
melb uni hard to go in, easy on course work
monash uni easy to go in, hard on course work

QuackSilver
post May 22 2007, 07:13 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(vdvaart @ May 22 2007, 07:08 PM)
actually it was the last basketball inter-varsity games.they couldn't finish the tourney on time, so they delayed it to last night.

another thing is i cant find any golf course here either  laugh.gif  and i actually did go to Missy Higgins concert at the tivoli last Sunday...alone because none of my friends 'layan' her  tongue.gif but it was freaking awesome! stone sour's gig also awesome, but Missy's better.

I know none of my post is quite 'education essential', but just to give some picture on living in Brissy  tongue.gif i promise to post more educational posts after this.

cheers mate!
what do you mean you cant find any golf course? there's a golf course about 5 mins away from uni lol. the St Lucia golf links. the driving range i frequent is in Oxley though. i get student rates there as well hehe

Tivoli? friend who went for the Silverchair gig last month said that it was a very hard place to go to lol
wartevar
post May 22 2007, 07:28 PM

170 posts

wats the difference Go8 unis and other unis?? students can get better opportunity in the working world? wat made them the top unis?
the students?the lecturers?

these are the things i dun understand..mind explaining?

btw how many of u haf 2 take IELTS to goto uni in australia?im taking mine next week...kinda scared tat i might actuali flung and not gettin in 2 any uni in july :S

bluevirus
post May 22 2007, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(bluevirus @ May 22 2007, 06:47 PM)
Hi Im new here and want to ask that, do you all heard about la trobe university??
How about its reputation?
coz i heard from my sis(from what she have heard from her friend) the uni have bad reputation..
cry.gif cry.gif no 1 know about this uni??
QuackSilver
post May 22 2007, 08:11 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(wartevar @ May 22 2007, 09:28 PM)
wats the difference Go8 unis and other unis?? students can get better opportunity in the working world? wat made them the top unis?

btw how many of u haf 2 take IELTS to goto uni in australia?im taking mine next week...kinda scared tat i might actuali flung and not gettin in 2 any uni in july :S
with regards to the Go8 question, scroll up or go back a few pages and you'll come across some informative post.

i took IELTS before i continued my studies in aus. no biggie. went in without any preparations and still i came out with a band of 7.5.
vdvaart
post May 22 2007, 08:22 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ May 22 2007, 07:13 PM)
what do you mean you cant find any golf course? there's a golf course about 5 mins away from uni lol. the St Lucia golf links.  the driving range i frequent is in Oxley though. i get student rates there as well hehe
Tivoli? friend who went for the Silverchair gig last month said that it was a very hard place to go to lol
really?maybe i didn't notice the golf course laugh.gif

Tivoli indeed was hard to find. I was wandering around Valley for quite a while and finally found it tongue.gif at Costin St. Luckily I took a pic of that particular area on the map before I went there laugh.gif ( kinda embarrased to bring a map lol) But that place is very nice, unlike Arena (venue for Stone Sour). Go Missy! rclxm9.gif laugh.gif
limeuu
post May 22 2007, 09:14 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(bluevirus @ May 22 2007, 08:04 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif no 1 know about this uni??
la trobe is one of the 2nd tier unis.........

i tend to look at oz unis this way.............1st tier is the go8 unis..........then there is the tech unis, historically originates as technical institutes, but now unis, so consider them 1st tier tech unis, like the go8 have grouped themselves into Australian Technology Network of Universities (uts, unisa, qut, curtin, rmit).............

then come the 2nd and 3rd tier unis.............

standards and admission criteria is obviously gonna lower than the 1st tiers.........

rule of thumb..........always try to get in the 1st tier unis and techs..........the fees are about the same anyway...............

Added on May 22, 2007, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(wartevar @ May 22 2007, 07:28 PM)

if your pre-u study is not english based (ie sam/ausmat, a levels, etc) it is compulsory to have ielts...........and even if they are, it is always good to get yourself internationally benchmarked.........

This post has been edited by limeuu: May 22 2007, 09:17 PM
KVReninem
post May 22 2007, 10:56 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 22 2007, 10:14 PM)

i tend to look at oz unis this way.............1st tier is the go8 unis..........then there is the tech unis, historically originates as technical institutes, but now unis, so consider them 1st tier tech unis, like the go8 have grouped themselves into Australian Technology Network of Universities (uts, unisa, qut, curtin, rmit).............

standards and admission criteria is obviously gonna lower than the 1st tiers.........

rule of thumb..........always try to get in the 1st tier unis and techs..........the fees are about the same anyway...............

if your pre-u study is not english based (ie sam/ausmat, a levels, etc) it is compulsory to have ielts...........and even if they are, it is always good to get yourself internationally benchmarked.........
can list down the all the tier according to your view?if u dun mind
coz alot contradiction seeing which is the best
QuackSilver
post May 22 2007, 10:56 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(vdvaart @ May 22 2007, 10:22 PM)
really?maybe i didn't notice the golf course  laugh.gif

Tivoli indeed was hard to find. I was wandering around Valley for quite a while and finally found it  tongue.gif  at Costin St. Luckily I took a pic of that particular area on the map before I went there  laugh.gif  ( kinda embarrased to bring a map lol)  But that place is very nice, unlike Arena (venue for Stone Sour). Go Missy! rclxm9.gif  laugh.gif
take the 432 bus to indooroopilly and you'll see it biggrin.gif

at least the organisers did NOT hold the concert out at Brisbane Entertainment Centre. mai gawd, its in Virginia which is like uber far away from Brisbane. even with car it took me 20 minutes to get there using the inner city bypass then going onto Sandgate road sweat.gif

edit: forgot the word NOT tongue.gif

This post has been edited by QuackSilver: May 22 2007, 10:58 PM
lordsharingan
post May 23 2007, 09:04 AM

やった!!
656 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 22 2007, 09:14 PM)

how do u noe which uni is in which tier?? is there a website to find out? hope u can provide more info on tat biggrin.gif

no matter wat, ielts is exam..exam always make me nervous and scared..and all those creepy feeling thinking tat ill fail after the exam...sigh..wat make it worst, the exam is international...
chris_c28
post May 23 2007, 10:45 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ May 23 2007, 09:04 AM)
how do u noe which uni is in which tier?? is there a website to find out? hope u can provide more info on tat biggrin.gif
There's no official university rankings in Australia, unlike the US. However, the Go8 universities are often regarded as first tier because they are the leading research universities here. They are much bigger and much better-funded than any other universities. They also offer a broader range of disciplines. They also have greater political-power.
Similarly in the US, there's no official statement which says Ivy League universities are first-tier. It is mainly through years of reputation, research and academic performance that people associate these universities as "first-tier".

haya
post May 23 2007, 04:48 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

chris_c28 is right; there is no offical ranking on which is 1st tier, 2nd tier, 3rd tier etc. Its all based of the perception and reputation of the public.

By and large, the 1st tier uni's are those in the Go8 and the ATN(Australian Technology Network of Universities. The 2nd tier are usually those who are private universities. And don't even look at the 3rd tier.

Go8 includes: ANU, Melb, Adelaide, Monash Melb, UNSW, UQ, Sydney, and UWA.
ATN includes:QUT, RMIT, Curtin, UniSA, UTS (one in each state! Well, almost)

2nd tier in queensland usually means: USQ, Griffith and JCU. And 3rd tier is usually Bond, CQU and Sunshine Coast.

Rankings really tell only part of the story; QUT is ranked lower than JCU in some rankings, but thats rubbish. I know some JCU students who are unhappy there. Take rankings with a pinch of salt.
lordsharingan
post May 23 2007, 07:28 PM

やった!!
656 posts

woo..thanks for the info...u definately cleared my doubts...
im taking degree in commerce so i guess ill head to UNISA instead of uni of adelaide....

as u said Go8 unis r based on researches...and lecturers there (frm wat i heard) r mostly professors....not reali practical for wat im doing now wherelse UNISA's lecturers r mostly r those retiree frm working world.so i feel in tat way,dey can relate their teaching with their experience....hehe...

i hope i get my opinion right....do correct me if im wrong...thanks

Added on May 23, 2007, 8:08 pmtheres one thing i dun understand.....as u said UNISA is referred as the 1st tier in Australia...

but why dey dun require us to take the IELTS?? compare to other universities they do need the IELTS but not UNISA.... y is the requirement low? dey have not enouf students? does anyone noe why>

This post has been edited by lordsharingan: May 23 2007, 08:08 PM
Sesshoumaru
post May 23 2007, 08:31 PM

1,190 posts

Frankly, I don't look highly upon UniSA from an external point of view, simply because it has a rather low entry requirement. In fact, I don't even look highly upon my own uni now (Monash) externally, but internally I know its coursework and syllabus is of a good standard. I won't go too far as to say Commerce in Monash is more difficult then UniMelb, but coming from the mouth of a UniMelb-ian himself is something I'm not gonna dispute.

It is difficult to discern the exact reason, besides the fact it is not prestigious enough. You can probably make an unsupported conclusion from the fact that UniSA twins with TBS though. There are just too many factors to consider to confidently say what is the reason. But from my perspective, not any official ranking or what not, UniSA lies at a lower tier. I wouldn't encourage you to enter anything else besides Go8 or some of the better unis like RMIT simply because we come from a country where our exchange rate is so much weaker than Australia. Making full use of the fees paid is a virtue, unless you're filthy rich.
jae
post May 23 2007, 09:37 PM

359 posts

If you are capable of going into the Go8 universities, i would encourage you to do so rather than going to UniSA or any other non-Go8 for that matter. There are reasons as to why Go8 universities generally do not participate in twinning programs with local colleges/private unis though I am not the best person to tell you why, but the few previous posts should have already given you a pretty clear point of view regarding the unis in different tiers.

manutd6389
post May 23 2007, 11:11 PM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

so UniSA is not encourage to go??
but their TER requirement is very low though...
lordsharingan
post May 24 2007, 08:49 AM

やった!!
656 posts

hmm....does low requirement reflects the quality of an uni??

jae
post May 24 2007, 03:08 PM

359 posts

Not necessary, the TER requirement set by the universities in australia is actually based on demand for their courses, the higher the demand the higher the requirement, a best example is the TER requirement for a Bach.Commerce in ANU. The requirement was around 80 when i last checked, which is honestly low for a commerce degree in the Go8 universities where the average requirement is around 88-90, but this doesn't mean that ANU is inferior compared to the others, it is in fact one of the top universities here in australia, but people don't fancy going to Canberra to study, hence the low demand for its courses and the low TER requirement as well.

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:16 PM