Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

jae
post Jan 29 2008, 08:37 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 29 2008, 05:55 PM)
went to idp today, didnt help me much sad.gif
basically told me that i'd need my as results and a2 forecast and spm cert, but prob is, i dont have my spm cert yet(stpid school ><" ) any chance theyll accept the results slip instead?

so yeah, i've decided to apply to anu, melbourne and sydney for mech eng.

any comments? or recommendations?

thanks lotsa biggrin.gif
I submitted my applications directly to the uni representatives during my college's placement day using my spm slip with other relevant documents and none of my applications were rejected nor did they requested particularly for the spm cert, so i reckon it shouldn't be any problem with using your slip instead of your cert.
chris_c28
post Jan 29 2008, 09:10 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 29 2008, 08:47 PM)
its f***in weird la going to australia compared to uk, theres no personal statement or anything, they just wanna see ur results and the entry scores are lower compared to uk unis, its as if theyre saying "anyone with money can come in"

makes me doubt my decision of going to aussie sometimes sad.gif
You cannot make such a comparison. Generally, Australian unis has never implemented such a requirement, even for their local students. They are purely merit-based as places are determined and ranked by the admissions score index. But hey, it doesn't necessarily degrade their quality in any way, but I guess you might not feel that elite anymore.
Yes, they are running a business, so are the UK universities. You might think it's easy to go in, but that's only the first 5% of the story.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jan 29 2008, 09:14 PM
Cruzer
post Jan 29 2008, 09:36 PM

131 posts

its f***in weird la going to australia compared to uk, theres no personal statement or anything, they just wanna see ur results and the entry scores are lower compared to uk unis, its as if theyre saying "anyone with money can come in"

they let international students come in with the high school fees
these students who just made the grade with the lower entry scores probably will do badly unless they work for it , have to repeat exam
at the end of the day , they swallow their money and use it to fund their research

btw this is just my theory.
EnSky
post Jan 29 2008, 09:39 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 27 2008, 03:22 PM)
I went to Sydney straight after SPM on January, luckily I wasnt chosen for NS (but even if ur chosen, u can just refuse)
Im in Sydney under own fundings but if u wanna get a study loan, u need to apply for it,
some of those I know took A lvls or AUSMAT. Maybe the others can help u out on this..
If ur under scholarship, u'll get around AUD1200 per month and its up to u to spend (rent, flight tix maybe, etc.)

My expenses last year (Foundation Year)
total course fee AUD18,000 but its now AUD22,000+
Accomodation AUD295 per week (all bills included) at Unilodge@UNSW
Monthly allowance AUD1600-1700 but it depends on each individual.

pretty pricey I guess  tongue.gif
Hope this helps u out a bit.
thx for ur helpful reply.
by the way,as i know if i want to apply any loan i have to wait for spm results isn't?
but seriously i dont wan to waste anytime after spm.
huh,refuse NS? by using what reason?
the best reason is studying overseas isn't?
Cruzer
post Jan 29 2008, 10:05 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(EnSky @ Jan 29 2008, 09:39 PM)
thx for ur helpful reply.
by the way,as i know if i want to apply any loan i have to wait for spm results isn't?
but seriously i dont wan to waste anytime after spm.
huh,refuse NS? by using what reason?
the best reason is studying overseas isn't?
i seriously advise u NOT to apply for loan unless its by JPA. even so , they only offer to undergrads.
bank loans have really really high interest.
this will be a very huge burden to your parents.
Go after SPM only if u have the financial means to do so
kamagotchi
post Jan 29 2008, 10:15 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Cruzer @ Jan 30 2008, 01:05 AM)
i seriously advise u NOT to apply for loan unless its by JPA. even so , they only offer to undergrads.
bank loans have really really high interest.
this will be a very huge burden to your parents.
Go after SPM only if u have the financial means to do so
True, guess you have to do something like A lvls or ausmat first to apply for a scholarship.
jtsl9
post Jan 29 2008, 10:42 PM

276 posts

I am goin to Uni of Wollongong (UOW) this Feb to do my master. Finally getting everything done, only left payment for my accomodation
kamagotchi
post Jan 29 2008, 10:52 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jan 30 2008, 01:42 AM)
I am goin to Uni of Wollongong (UOW) this Feb to do my master. Finally getting everything done, only left payment for my accomodation
Good on ya, mate! Hope everything runs smoothly for you.
HyeoshinX
post Jan 29 2008, 10:53 PM

491 posts

I'm leaving liao tomorrow morning..9.30am flight!! cry.gif cry.gif
genejere
post Jan 29 2008, 11:15 PM

24 posts

haha..wish you a pleasant flight mate..see you there !!
limeuu
post Jan 29 2008, 11:23 PM

12,290 posts

how do you come to the conclusion that entry scores are lower for oz compared to uk?
Cruzer
post Jan 29 2008, 11:30 PM

131 posts

probably because if you are using Alevels result for instance, to enter Imperial College for example , u need AAA as oppose to melbourne uni where u need BBB for a guaranteed entry or BCC for consideration.

i think

This post has been edited by Cruzer: Jan 29 2008, 11:31 PM
johnkor
post Jan 30 2008, 12:18 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

i am tomorrow as well 9.30 to PERTH!

Added on January 30, 2008, 12:18 ami seriously bring all my computer stuff like processor and stuff to assemble there hehe!

This post has been edited by johnkor: Jan 30 2008, 12:18 AM
HyeoshinX
post Jan 30 2008, 12:32 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Jan 30 2008, 12:18 AM)
i am tomorrow as well 9.30 to PERTH!

Added on January 30, 2008, 12:18 ami seriously bring all my computer stuff like processor and stuff to assemble there hehe!
LoL. Assemble there.. I am flying to melbourne smile.gif

but quite sad, leaving family and friends behind sad.gif cry.gif
KVReninem
post Jan 30 2008, 12:42 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(HyeoshinX @ Jan 30 2008, 01:32 AM)
LoL. Assemble there.. I am flying to melbourne  smile.gif

but quite sad, leaving family and friends behind sad.gif  cry.gif
chilll!
see you thr !
dun forget jumper! smile.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jan 30 2008, 12:47 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

More and more people coming to Melbourne. thumbup.gif

1.5 weeks more for me before going back there... gotta enjoy kao kao for the remaining time.
KVReninem
post Jan 30 2008, 12:58 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 30 2008, 01:47 AM)

1.5 weeks more for me before going back there... gotta enjoy kao kao for the remaining time.
same...3rd day chinese new yr?
skool start
gear up time whistling.gif
mwkh_hope
post Jan 30 2008, 01:25 AM

406 posts

Hi guys, to whose whom are studying at australia.. I need some help from u guys.. Currently I'm searching for LCD monitor but is there any website or place that sell cheap & reasonable lcd?
snowcandy
post Jan 30 2008, 01:27 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 30 2008, 12:47 AM)

It'll be 2 and a half weeks more for me before flying to Adelaide.
I can hardly wait. xD

This post has been edited by snowcandy: Jan 30 2008, 01:28 AM
Cruzer
post Jan 30 2008, 01:51 AM

131 posts

man u all leaving so soon , im leaving only in march. hahahah

126 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0276sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled