Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

haya
post Oct 27 2007, 12:16 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 27 2007, 11:53 AM)
is ur sis a socialisable person? afaik, if u are a socialisable person, ie comfy w/ western culture, speak comprehensible english (doesnt hav to be perfect), i can't see any problem blending in with them..that's my personal experience

went to reiji party last night as my plan to study for exam was fried when my HD dieded on me...it was soooooo boring =/

Added on October 27, 2007, 11:54 am

me! me! me! and there's quite a few of us from this thread are in brissy too
vintec, you're a QUT student? Where and doing what?

Added on October 27, 2007, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(vintec @ Oct 27 2007, 12:12 PM)
umm...it's in the previous page...

Added on October 27, 2007, 12:12 pmwow....the admins are quick! sensitive to the word racism laugh.gif

anyway, it's a good sign...keep up the good work, guys wink.gif
Giving pirority to the locals of a country is hardly racism. Remember, you are but a foriegner in their place. Get citizenship first, then we'll talk about racism.

This post has been edited by haya: Oct 27 2007, 12:17 PM
vintec
post Oct 27 2007, 12:30 PM

404 posts

someone mentioned his/her sister wasnt being treated well in the pharmacy she worked....and i dont see any wrong w/ giving priority to the locals...and in fact, i havent really encountered any racism against me

i'm doin masters in IT...hopefully finishing july next year...can't wait to get pr
jtsl9
post Oct 28 2007, 03:15 PM

276 posts

I Know this is out of the current topic. But I am doing my master next year. I would be goin to Uni of Wollongong. Can somebody tell me more about the place there and the uni?

vintec
post Oct 28 2007, 04:35 PM

404 posts

nah....that's not out of topic....that's about studying in australia smile.gif
Sesshoumaru
post Oct 28 2007, 05:30 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Oct 28 2007, 05:15 PM)
I Know this is out of the current topic. But I am doing my master next year. I would be goin to Uni of Wollongong. Can somebody tell me more about the place there and the uni?
Get nexus- to help you out.
fletcherwind
post Oct 29 2007, 02:39 AM

273 posts

Property price is going up like rocket, my rent will increase by more than 10% next year. Is there anybody here who suffers from this too?
haya
post Oct 29 2007, 09:53 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Oct 29 2007, 02:39 AM)
Property price is going up like rocket, my rent will increase by more than 10% next year. Is there anybody here who suffers from this too?
Welcome to Australia mate. biggrin.gif I think it's the same everywhere.
Crooked
post Oct 29 2007, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(haya @ Oct 29 2007, 11:53 AM)
Welcome to Australia mate. biggrin.gif I think it's the same everywhere.
no doubt. prices of property is going up everywhere.. that is why when someone asks me who do i support for the upcoming election, i'll say whoever gives me more money, i'll support him... well thats the main point we are here for ... dont you think so?
haya
post Oct 29 2007, 02:11 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(Crooked @ Oct 29 2007, 10:36 AM)
no doubt. prices of property is going up everywhere..  that is why when someone asks me who do i support for the upcoming election, i'll say whoever gives me more money, i'll support him...  well thats the main point we are here for ... dont you think so?
I persume you hold an Australian passport then? Most of us in this thread don't have a say in the election.
KVReninem
post Oct 29 2007, 04:26 PM

IX
5,369 posts

kevin rudd ! ...
genejere
post Oct 30 2007, 12:51 PM

24 posts

Trinity College Foundation Studies February Main Intake 2008..Anyone here who is going?
limeuu
post Oct 30 2007, 01:05 PM

12,295 posts

i got a feeling they are going to get a sharp drop in registration from next year, with the new melbourne model........and the premium pricing doesn't help.......
KVReninem
post Oct 30 2007, 06:05 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 30 2007, 02:05 PM)
i got a feeling they are going to get a sharp drop in registration from next year, with the new melbourne model........and the premium pricing doesn't help.......
agreee with limeuu...

onelove89
post Oct 30 2007, 07:20 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(genejere @ Oct 30 2007, 12:51 PM)
Trinity College Foundation Studies February Main Intake 2008..Anyone here who is going?
Many of my friends are going, they are from miri, so get to look out for them. =) I supposedly to go, but i'm off to perth now.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 30 2007, 01:05 PM)
yes, melb modal sux big time, stupid uni, you can earn just as well w/o it, seems the popularity of melb U might drop cos of it. but it is one of my choices of uni if i take up my 3rd choice.
KVReninem
post Oct 30 2007, 09:30 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Oct 30 2007, 08:20 PM)
Many of my friends are going, they are from miri, so get to look out for them. =) I supposedly to go, but i'm off to perth now.
yes, melb modal sux big time, stupid uni, you can earn just as  well w/o it, seems the popularity of melb U might drop cos of it. but it is one of my choices of uni if i take up my 3rd choice.
aiyo...onelove89..
dun bandwagon which uni is good and bad...
next year shall we see how it goes.
onelove89
post Oct 31 2007, 06:22 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 30 2007, 09:30 PM)
aiyo...onelove89..
dun bandwagon which uni is good and bad...
next year shall we see how it goes.
I'm pin pointing on Melb Modal programme, not melb U. I dont like the modal, I like the Uni. I nvr said melb U is bad *points at my post XD *

This post has been edited by onelove89: Oct 31 2007, 06:23 AM
haya
post Oct 31 2007, 07:25 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Learning how to spell "model" before talking about it might be a good start. Even then its still too early to say if it is a good idea. Lets sit back and see how things go for the next few years.

You still can get into Melbourne; just do a 1st degree.
aaron4d
post Oct 31 2007, 08:22 AM

110 posts

I dont understand why you guyz are so critical of the melbourne model even before u noe the results. Just becoz it;s a new concept to malaysians. In fact, this model has been practised for along time in North America, n no one's complaining about it. In the future, i believe this kind of model will become the leading model of undergrad education, coz more n more unis in countries outside of north america are implementing this all-rounder kind of model...eg Melbourne uni, Singapore Management uni etc... I think this model is wayy beter than the current british method of learning where u onli learn what u specialise in. Here, u learn about subjects not part of ur major wic can greatly enhance ur knowledge n not to mention ur preparedness for the job market, coz in this age workers need to adapt quikly to different situations n this model provides a background for them. Although i dunno bout how it;s gonna be in Melbourne, the US system has long been the best eduation system in the world....ie the best universities in the world are located there...so it could onli be a step forward when melbourne uni implemented the melbourne model right?

: )
KVReninem
post Oct 31 2007, 08:36 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Oct 31 2007, 09:22 AM)
I dont understand why you guyz are so critical of the melbourne model even before u noe the results. Just becoz it;s a new concept to malaysians. In fact, this model has been practised for along time in North America, n no one's complaining about it. In the future, i believe this kind of model will become the leading model of undergrad education, coz more n more unis in countries outside of north america are implementing this all-rounder kind of model...eg Melbourne uni, Singapore Management uni etc... I think this model is wayy beter than the current british method of learning where u onli learn what u specialise in. Here, u learn about subjects not part of ur major wic can greatly enhance ur knowledge n not to mention ur preparedness for the job market, coz in this age workers need to adapt quikly to different situations n this model provides a background for them. Although i dunno bout how it;s gonna be in Melbourne, the US system has long been the best eduation system in the world....ie the best universities in the world are located there...so it could onli be a step forward when melbourne uni implemented the melbourne model right?

: )
well aaron4d, i got nothing against the melbourne model which will be implemented next year.
i been to the talk for my faculty studies, it is very good indication which allow me to do more cases basis design > b`cos it is architecture and require alot PBL related to be the best
currently the hype about melbourne uni student and the fees, thats the one making it doesnt sound good.
just say tat the system apply next yr with 20% fee per sems higher than other unis and what is offer is almost the same, which one will you go?
due to this days, education turn to be the next agenda to be capitalize by major developed country like US, UK, AUS which give indication what are you going to get in this situation.
Well, like others; i`ll just sit back and watch hmm.gif
limeuu
post Oct 31 2007, 08:51 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 31 2007, 08:36 AM)
well aaron4d, i got nothing against the melbourne model which will be implemented next year.
i been to the talk for my faculty studies, it is very good indication which allow me to do more cases basis design > b`cos it is architecture and require alot PBL related to be the best
currently the hype about melbourne uni student and the fees, thats the one making it doesnt sound good.
just say tat the system apply next yr with 20% fee per sems higher than other unis and what is offer is almost the same, which one will you go?
due to this days, education turn to be the next agenda to be capitalize by major developed country like US, UK, AUS which give indication what are you going to get in this situation.
Well, like others; i`ll just sit back and watch hmm.gif
i am confused, what are you exactly trying to say? Please do not use SMS language.

126 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:11 AM