QUOTE(vdvaart @ Jan 7 2007, 10:01 PM)
eh...what are the stuff we need to do before fly? Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience
Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience
Jan 7 2007, 10:47 PM
1,007 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
Jan 7 2007, 11:03 PM
469 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Uranus |
Jan 7 2007, 11:24 PM
900 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 7 2007, 02:46 PM) basser college...not baxter...i very scared of guailou leh...yah...takkan free internet usage?haha...need to bring cable or not?dial up or broadband?owh...is IH cheap?i wil shift in 2nd yr gua...thinkin of staying in basser in 1st yr...then see how lor... oh i got the spelling wrong maybe haha ... but i think basser is full of ang mo 1 oo...me taking medicine also...where u staying? i did sam in taylors...haha...but i hav friends doing ausmat in sunway, under jpa also... |
Jan 8 2007, 12:05 AM
56 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hey... got some nooby questions here =(
hmmm if i decide to work in aussie, do i need to apply for another visa that lets me work in aussie while studying. i read that students are allowed to work for 20 hours a week. i was thinking if i am able to work legally with that visa, i might be able to avoid exploitation through means of cheap labour by employers. some search result i found QUOTE As when traveling to many countries, you need to seek permission from that country to stay for extended periods of time. Accordingly, you will require a student visa to study at Bond. A Student Visa may only be applied for once you are accepted to study at Bond University and you have received your Confirmation of Enrollment. Don't sweat it though. We guide you through this process and make it pain free. For study abroad students, it takes only 1 day and is done completely online. To work in Australia, you will require an upgrade to your student visa which may only be applied for once you have arrived in Australia and started at Bond. The work visa allows you to work up to 20 hours per week. *source : http://www.collegedownunder.com/programs/s...#Student%20Visa QUOTE Conditions of an Australian Student Visa looking at the bold outs above, they tell 2 different things. Some of the mandatory conditions of your Australian Student Visa include: Full-time Study International students in Australia must maintain full-time enrolment in each semester. The only exceptions are: 1. You are in your final semester and are required to take additional units to complete your course; or 2. You are in Australia on a different type of visa that permits part-time study i.e. does not include condition 8202; or 3. You are a cross-institutional student who is enrolled full-time at your home institution; or 4. You are in an approved program of study involving joint delivery by two separate institutions You must attend classes in each semester of your course. If you are not in attendance, the University will be required to advise DIMA and your Australian Student Visa may be cancelled. * Employment in Australia While on an Australian Student Visa, you can work no more than 20 hours per week during semester, however you may work full-time during the official University vacations. Please note: DIMA strictly enforces this rule. If you wish to work part-time while studying, you can only apply for a work permit after you have arrived in Australia and have finalised your enrolment at the University. You will be required to sign a request form in person at the International Office and apply online for Permission to Work through DIMA. DIMA charges a fee for the issue of the work permit. * Satisfactory Progress Australian student visa holders must achieve academic results that are determined by the education provider to be "at least satisfactory". The University makes this determination at the end of each semester. * Residential Address As an Australian Student Visa holder you must notify your education provider of your residential address within 7 days of arriving in Australia. *Source : http://www.usyd.edu.au/fstudent/studyabroa...fers/visa.shtml First quote says students are permitted to work for max of 20 hours with the visa tht permits work, while second quote says that students are permitted to work for 20 hours a week and this is not related to the work permit visa i believe. The Australian Student Visa like stated in 2nd quote is different than the visa that permits working, right? Further research shows: QUOTE International students studying in Australia on a student visa can apply for permission to work once they commence their course. Applying for a student visa with permission to work can be done electronically or on paper using form 157P. i think i really need to upgrade the visa.*source : http://www.studyinaustralia.gov.au/Sia/en/StudyCosts/Working Any comments, working students in Australia? This post has been edited by kaiz3n: Jan 8 2007, 12:29 AM |
Jan 8 2007, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jan 7 2007, 11:24 PM) oh i got the spelling wrong maybe haha ... but i think basser is full of ang mo 1 owh...i dunno abt the situation there but i think basser will be best bet for me for first yr...see how first |
Jan 8 2007, 01:08 AM
1,374 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
hie there...im a student in monash uni melb....under jpa oso..finisehed 1st year, goin on 2nd.....from ausmat sunway college 2005 batch....
vdvaart: hmhmh.....nth difficult wat....visa u can get idp 2 get it done 4 u....juz need ur body check-up dats all....erm....accomo is a thing to think about....erm....depends if u wanna enjoy the feeling of campus life or not, balancing the higher costs of living in hostel n the cheaper rates when u share a house with yer frens... anything else u guys wanna noe bout living in aussie, plz feel freee 2 ask la... oh yea...students workin is normal la...whu dun like extra cash...n since the pay here is way better than msia...y not??....n visa is simple stuff....apply online like how u purchase stuffs off ebay (coz u need 2 pay by creditcard...& dun worry they got all ur details in their database)...or fill in a form,get it stamped by uni, make an appointment with the immi office n be there 5 mins b4 time....no need 2 experience the bloody waits like how we all did for our mykad.... |
Jan 8 2007, 01:22 AM
469 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Uranus |
QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 8 2007, 01:08 AM) hie there...im a student in monash uni melb....under jpa oso..finisehed 1st year, goin on 2nd.....from ausmat sunway college 2005 batch.... actually that's what i thought about visa vdvaart: hmhmh.....nth difficult wat....visa u can get idp 2 get it done 4 u....juz need ur body check-up dats all....erm....accomo is a thing to think about....erm....depends if u wanna enjoy the feeling of campus life or not, balancing the higher costs of living in hostel n the cheaper rates when u share a house with yer frens... anything else u guys wanna noe bout living in aussie, plz feel freee 2 ask la... oh yea...students workin is normal la...whu dun like extra cash...n since the pay here is way better than msia...y not??....n visa is simple stuff....apply online like how u purchase stuffs off ebay (coz u need 2 pay by creditcard...& dun worry they got all ur details in their database)...or fill in a form,get it stamped by uni, make an appointment with the immi office n be there 5 mins b4 time....no need 2 experience the bloody waits like how we all did for our mykad.... |
Jan 8 2007, 01:30 AM
56 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 8 2007, 01:08 AM) anything else u guys wanna noe bout living in aussie, plz feel freee 2 ask la... oh yea...students workin is normal la...whu dun like extra cash...n since the pay here is way better than msia...y not??....n visa is simple stuff....apply online like how u purchase stuffs off ebay (coz u need 2 pay by creditcard...& dun worry they got all ur details in their database)...or fill in a form,get it stamped by uni, make an appointment with the immi office n be there 5 mins b4 time....no need 2 experience the bloody waits like how we all did for our mykad.... the regular student visa also allows you to work, or must "upgrade" your student visa (to the one that permits working) to work legally? |
Jan 8 2007, 05:58 AM
882 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(kaiz3n @ Jan 8 2007, 01:30 AM) the regular student visa also allows you to work, or must "upgrade" your student visa (to the one that permits working) to work legally? You need to "upgrade" to the the visa with working permission. Your regular student visa does not allow you to work. You can only work for up to 20 hours during session, but you can work full time during the holidays. Assuming you get paid $15-$20/hour (average rates before tax), that's potentially a good sum of money you can earn. You'll also need to apply for a tax file number after you get your working visa. What's a good place to work? I reckon the retail industry is popular with students. Restaurants can be a little challenging. If you can get some sort of internship for what you're studying, that will be the best option. |
Jan 8 2007, 09:25 AM
1,374 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
yea....juz as wat chris_c28 said...the funny thing is....d tax here is bout 40%...so u would only geta small sum in ur paycheck but we can get a tax return or sth like dat....so thats why we need the tax file number...
vdvaart: visa u juz apply online...usually idp will giude u thru that...simple as abc....oh yea...better get urself vaccinated 1st....with watever la...coz it wud b a pain in the back to fell sick overseas....esp if u get a terrible cold.....get yerslf a flu jab....erm..n make sure uve seen ur dentist b4 u go,....make sure u wont hav any dental probs thruout ur stay there...dental fees r exp even if u look at the figures alone...if u convert lagi teruk... |
Jan 8 2007, 09:58 AM
3,107 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sydney |
QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 8 2007, 09:25 AM) yea....juz as wat chris_c28 said...the funny thing is....d tax here is bout 40%...so u would only geta small sum in ur paycheck but we can get a tax return or sth like dat....so thats why we need the tax file number... Your first $6,000 of the year is tax free. Thereafter, its 15% up to $25,000. Doubt you'll earn any more than that. Your employer deducts a certain amount of your wages to forward to the tax office. They'll follow a chart, chances are it'll be slightly above what you are really supposed to pay so you'll get a tax refund at the end of the tax year when you fill in a tax return. vdvaart: visa u juz apply online...usually idp will giude u thru that...simple as abc....oh yea...better get urself vaccinated 1st....with watever la...coz it wud b a pain in the back to fell sick overseas....esp if u get a terrible cold.....get yerslf a flu jab....erm..n make sure uve seen ur dentist b4 u go,....make sure u wont hav any dental probs thruout ur stay there...dental fees r exp even if u look at the figures alone...if u convert lagi teruk... Your wages will also include a compulsory 9% superannuation contribution. |
Jan 9 2007, 02:31 AM
1,885 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Sydney / Penang |
QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 7 2007, 02:46 PM) Not sure yet, maybe staying outside. Wanna share? QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jan 7 2007, 07:57 PM) YES! Finally, more people here coming to UNSW. We are observing an 18% increase in international applications this coming session, one of the strongest increase ever seen. Nice info here dude Learn to enjoy sausages, pizzas and beer. In the first few weeks of uni, you'll be fed this a LOT. Be here early (although CNY is late this year During orientation and first week of uni, get to know as many people in your course as possible. Surviving uni is a lot about socialising as it is about academic achievements. Spend some time travelling (although every suburb here's almost the same) because when uni starts, you might not have the time to do so. |
Jan 9 2007, 11:09 AM
Jan 9 2007, 12:47 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
any kakis in melbourne ?
Jan 9 2007, 04:58 PM
695 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Jan 9 2007, 08:11 PM
Jan 9 2007, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(blaxez @ Jan 9 2007, 08:11 PM) Good that you can get a place in the residential college, I applied quite late and I think the chances are quite slim for me to get in. haha...i applied in october i think...got it in november...i wrote in and they extended the dateline to make the payment...and i confirmed my place few days ago cuz got an offer from unsw dy |
Jan 9 2007, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jan 9 2007, 08:57 PM) haha...i applied in october i think...got it in november...i wrote in and they extended the dateline to make the payment...and i confirmed my place few days ago cuz got an offer from unsw dy Too bad I just got my offer few days ago as my HSC results released quite late. |
Jan 10 2007, 03:03 AM
1,433 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Hi guys and gals,
I am going to UQ for this Febuary intake, anyone going there too? Maybe we can arrange accommodation or flight together? I guess its much better if we can look out for each other. Not to mention this CNY we most probably gotta spend over there too. Maybe we can have a gathering or something! |
Jan 10 2007, 03:07 AM
23 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Which uni is best for pharmacy?
| Change to: | 0.0216sec