Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

kaiz3n
post Jan 6 2007, 01:00 AM

56 posts

Ooooh.... im going to attend Eynesbury International in a few weeks. Hope to enter Uni of Adelaide with a scholarship =D
I'll be doing foundation, most prolly engineering. you guys think i should go find a job or something, so as to relieve some burden on my parents shoulders? most important of all, will my schedule for foundation year allow me to work?

This post has been edited by kaiz3n: Jan 6 2007, 01:02 AM
kaiz3n
post Jan 6 2007, 09:16 PM

56 posts

i wanted to go UQ too, but i didnt get selected for their scholarship. i was offered scholarship by Tuart College Perth and Eynesbury Internation Adelaide. i took Eynesbury instead.

hmmm, are there any students here working in aussie while studying? im thinking of working at food shops like sushi-ya's, since i know japanese (not that much though, just able to read hira/katakana and some basic conversations) so im hoping it would be a plus. thats not the main concern, but how much is the pay for us students? people have been telling me, due to the heavy protection from the Union, pay ranges from AUD10-15 per hour. My dad said its all standardized at around AUD10 per hour. Really? If thats so, i work full time during hols or weekends for like, say, 10 hours, I would have already earned AUD100. If thats true, that would already help cover half of my projected weekly living cost. Im putting around AUD220-250 weekly, or less maybe. I still have to check on my accommodation. Bradford Lodge is already full, now I'm waiting for an answer from Highgate Lodge. Homestay is last on the list since i wanna learn to be independent and interact with others.

QUOTE(^mtv^ @ Jan 6 2007, 09:17 AM)
i'm also taking up foundation for engineering =)
and yes,i'll be woking partime in australia...
Hey, which part of Sarawak are you from and which part of aussie are you going? im from kuching and going to adelaide. will you be looking at working part time for thew hole week or weekends and hols only?

This post has been edited by kaiz3n: Jan 6 2007, 09:21 PM
kaiz3n
post Jan 6 2007, 09:24 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 6 2007, 09:21 PM)
hmm frankly to say...even with union...it doesnt help...
i work in melb with 7.50 pay per hr..asian shop...tell me...you think those right is aplly in all area? nay... wink.gif
Ah i kinda figured. Life just cant be that easy.
hmm theres another kind of visa we can apply for right? the one that alllows students to work also?

This post has been edited by kaiz3n: Jan 6 2007, 09:25 PM
kaiz3n
post Jan 7 2007, 02:22 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(^mtv^ @ Jan 7 2007, 11:10 AM)
I'm from Bintulu ! Actually,i was offered a scholarship for my foundation course from Eyensbury,Bradford College n IES(UQ) but i decided to go to IES(UQ) ! I'll be working partime during the weekends and hols...Wouldn't work during the whole week through...Need to catch up with my studies,can't afford to slack because i'm on schloarship. smile.gif

Wow....so many of you are going to UQ  thumbup.gif
wwwo yeah so many people going to UQ. makes me feel so left out cuz it seems like im the only one going to Eynesbury. i like the subs they offer in UQ, but oh well, no luck getting their scholarship..
Yeah my dad also asked me not to work for the whole week.
kaiz3n
post Jan 8 2007, 12:05 AM

56 posts

hey... got some nooby questions here =(
hmmm if i decide to work in aussie, do i need to apply for another visa that lets me work in aussie while studying. i read that students are allowed to work for 20 hours a week. i was thinking if i am able to work legally with that visa, i might be able to avoid exploitation through means of cheap labour by employers.

some search result i found
As when traveling to many countries, you need to seek permission from that country to stay for extended periods of time. Accordingly, you will require a student visa to study at Bond. A Student Visa may only be applied for once you are accepted to study at Bond University and you have received your Confirmation of Enrollment. Don't sweat it though. We guide you through this process and make it pain free. For study abroad students, it takes only 1 day and is done completely online.

To work in Australia, you will require an upgrade to your student visa which may only be applied for once you have arrived in Australia and started at Bond. The work visa allows you to work up to 20 hours per week.

*source : http://www.collegedownunder.com/programs/s...#Student%20Visa
Conditions of an Australian Student Visa

Some of the mandatory conditions of your Australian Student Visa include:

Full-time Study

International students in Australia must maintain full-time enrolment in each semester.

The only exceptions are:

1. You are in your final semester and are required to take additional units to complete your course; or
  2. You are in Australia on a different type of visa that permits part-time study i.e. does not include condition 8202; or
  3. You are a cross-institutional student who is enrolled full-time at your home institution; or
  4. You are in an approved program of study involving joint delivery by two separate institutions

You must attend classes in each semester of your course. If you are not in attendance, the University will be required to advise DIMA and your Australian Student Visa may be cancelled.

* Employment in Australia

While on an Australian Student Visa, you can work no more than 20 hours per week during semester, however you may work full-time during the official University vacations. Please note: DIMA strictly enforces this rule.

If you wish to work part-time while studying, you can only apply for a work permit after you have arrived in Australia and have finalised your enrolment at the University. You will be required to sign a request form in person at the International Office and apply online for Permission to Work through DIMA. DIMA charges a fee for the issue of the work permit.

* Satisfactory Progress

Australian student visa holders must achieve academic results that are determined by the education provider to be "at least satisfactory". The University makes this determination at the end of each semester.

* Residential Address

As an Australian Student Visa holder you must notify your education provider of your residential address within 7 days of arriving in Australia.

*Source : http://www.usyd.edu.au/fstudent/studyabroa...fers/visa.shtml
looking at the bold outs above, they tell 2 different things.
First quote says students are permitted to work for max of 20 hours with the visa tht permits work, while second quote says that students are permitted to work for 20 hours a week and this is not related to the work permit visa i believe. The Australian Student Visa like stated in 2nd quote is different than the visa that permits working, right?

Further research shows:
International students studying in Australia on a student visa can apply for permission to work once they commence their course.  Applying for a student visa with permission to work can be done electronically or on paper using form 157P.
*source : http://www.studyinaustralia.gov.au/Sia/en/StudyCosts/Working
i think i really need to upgrade the visa.

Any comments, working students in Australia?

This post has been edited by kaiz3n: Jan 8 2007, 12:29 AM
kaiz3n
post Jan 8 2007, 01:30 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 8 2007, 01:08 AM)
anything else u guys wanna noe bout living in aussie, plz feel freee 2 ask la...  oh yea...students workin is normal la...whu dun like extra cash...n since the pay here is way better than msia...y not??....n visa is simple stuff....apply online like how u purchase stuffs off ebay (coz u need 2 pay by creditcard...& dun worry they got all ur details in their database)...or fill in a form,get it stamped by uni, make an appointment with the immi office n be there 5 mins b4 time....no need  2 experience the bloody waits like how we all did for our mykad....
the regular student visa also allows you to work, or must "upgrade" your student visa (to the one that permits working) to work legally?
kaiz3n
post Jan 19 2007, 02:31 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 8 2007, 09:25 AM)
yea....juz as wat chris_c28 said...the funny thing is....d tax here is bout 40%...so u would only geta small sum in ur paycheck but we can get a tax return or sth like dat....so thats why we need the tax file number...

vdvaart:
visa u juz apply online...usually idp will giude u thru that...simple as abc....oh yea...better get urself vaccinated 1st....with watever la...coz it wud b a pain in the back to fell sick overseas....esp if u get a terrible cold.....get yerslf a flu jab....erm..n make sure uve seen ur dentist b4 u go,....make sure u wont hav any dental probs thruout ur stay there...dental fees r exp even if u look at the figures alone...if u convert lagi teruk...
QUOTE(RBR @ Jan 8 2007, 09:58 AM)
Your first $6,000 of the year is tax free.  Thereafter, its 15% up to $25,000.  Doubt you'll earn any more than that.  Your employer deducts a certain amount of your wages to forward to the tax office.  They'll follow a chart, chances are it'll be slightly above what you are really supposed to pay so you'll get a tax refund at the end of the tax year when you fill in a tax return. 

Your wages will also include a compulsory 9% superannuation contribution.
hmmmm.... according to waht i've found out:
International students are classified as residents, for the purposes of taxation, if they are studying in Australia for six months or more (please note this when completing your application form for an TFN).

http://www.international.unsw.edu.au/current/currenttax.html

"If you ...
are an overseas student enrolled in a course at an Australian institution that is more than six months long

then you ...
are generally an Australian resident for tax purposes." "

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content....ntent/64131.htm

------
If you are a student enrolled in a course of six months duration or more, we consider you a resident for tax purposes and you pay tax at the residents' rate

http://www.ato.gov.au/youth/content.asp?do...01/013&st=&cy=1
According to the charts... for residents, income below 6K, the tax is NIL.

But you guys get taxed? blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

edit: ah i think i know why... cuz your income will still be above 6K

This post has been edited by kaiz3n: Jan 19 2007, 03:05 AM
kaiz3n
post Jan 19 2007, 01:51 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(bubucaca @ Jan 19 2007, 10:50 AM)
i doubt student who works there dont even get 6k monthly.
normaly more or less income 6k are fix jobs.

student are not allowed to work more than 20 hours per week/month.
so we dont get tax. rmb only INCOME that we works not the income that we get from family

correct if im wrong.
o.O U sure we working students dont get taxed?

QUOTE(RBR @ Jan 19 2007, 10:57 AM)
$6k for the tax year.  Not $6k/month.
yeah.. haha sorry didnt state clearly =D
kaiz3n
post Jan 19 2007, 08:12 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 19 2007, 02:48 PM)
student got taxed but ...at the end of financial yr you can claim back
hmm how many % is the tax? at the end of financial year i can claim back all my taxed wage?

0.0459sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:01 PM