126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

TScoolgirl_y2k1
post Sep 7 2006, 02:53 PM, updated 18y ago

90 posts

i have seen threads on tips for studying in uk and US...why not start a thread for students planning to study in Australia..or mayb u are currently studying there or is a alumni of an Australian uni. Feel free to give tips and experience,things to bear in mind when in OZ etc..

By the way, im planning to study in Uni of Queensland this coming Feb...anyone currently there or studied there b4?smile.gif
aobk84
post Sep 9 2006, 10:03 PM

406 posts

I'm in my third year of study in Adelaide Uni. not that much entertainment compared to KL or Subang. Study environment and lecturers are great.. interesting layout of course..

Ppl here alright only, don't feel any better than Malaysians.. somehow we are better..
Not sayin they are racist but some are!

Got 4 season.. haha u know too
Food got many types..
In the end, it's costly to study here..

This post has been edited by aobk84: Sep 9 2006, 10:04 PM
blaxez
post Sep 9 2006, 11:24 PM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

I am going to UNSW next year, anyone here too?
Unwritten law
post Sep 9 2006, 11:25 PM

| | NJ Legion Iced Tea | |
745 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Sep 9 2006, 10:03 PM)
I'm in my third year of study in Adelaide Uni. not that much entertainment compared to KL or Subang. Study environment and lecturers are great.. interesting layout of course..

Ppl here alright only, don't feel any better than Malaysians.. somehow we are better..

Food got many types..
Oh im going to University of South Australia soon , any tips on accomodations to stay and such? hows the food? entertaiment ?
TScoolgirl_y2k1
post Sep 9 2006, 11:36 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Sep 9 2006, 10:03 PM)

Food got many types..
QUOTE(blaxez @ Sep 9 2006, 11:24 PM)
QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Sep 9 2006, 11:25 PM)
Oh im going to University of South Australia soon , any tips on accomodations to stay and such? hows the food? entertaiment ?
mind sharing what course are u studying there?

chris_c28
post Sep 10 2006, 01:51 AM

882 posts

Yup, I'm here. There's a couple more from LYN at UNSW too. In short, great uni, good location (Sydney), nice experience, wonderful people. The only downside would be the higher living costs.
Peisqo
post Sep 10 2006, 04:56 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

I'm here .. UNSW pwns =D Btw i'm taking mechatronics ...
orangysb
post Sep 10 2006, 05:38 PM

340 posts

a first year student in the University of Melbourne

anybody else here?
lazo
post Sep 10 2006, 06:29 PM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

PLanning to study in australia queensland. la trobe university . anyone from there? biggrin.gif
knuxed
post Sep 10 2006, 07:16 PM

1,885 posts

Uni of Sydney baby,gonna go do Econometrics
nyprinz83
post Sep 10 2006, 08:18 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Sep 7 2006, 02:53 PM)
i have seen threads on tips for studying in uk and US...why not start a thread for students planning to study in Australia..or mayb u are currently studying there or is a alumni of an Australian uni. Feel free to give tips and experience,things to bear in mind when in OZ etc..

By the way, im planning to study in Uni of Queensland this coming Feb...anyone currently there or studied there b4?smile.gif
I remembered there was a thread last year on Study in Aust as there were quite some useful postings there. Maybe it has been deleted ? Oh well we can start anew biggrin.gif
Geminist
post Sep 10 2006, 08:30 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

It was moved to kopitiam because it is being filled with pointless one liners which contributes nothing to the discussion smile.gif
hocklai8
post Sep 10 2006, 08:53 PM

429 posts

There was such a thread some time ago... I've posted quite a couple of tips back then. Now graduate and back in Malaysia edi smile.gif

Anyway, Adelaide is a good place to study... coz very few distractions or "life". But then, it will be a good time to enjoy other healthier lifestyle like sports, recreation, beaches, etc. Cost of living is reasonably low if you can budget your expenses well (eg. Self-cook, sharing house, stay in suburbs, little shopping).
slashlink
post Sep 11 2006, 03:59 PM

117 posts

Hi, anyone know where can i check the ranking of the University in Australia?
aobk84
post Sep 11 2006, 06:08 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Sep 9 2006, 11:25 PM)
Oh Uni of SA is just right next to my uni. Acommodations in the city is still the best, coz u can get around easily. Cost more than staying in suburbs..
Food got a lot of types, so don worry..
Entertainment.. haha.. cannot be compared to KL coz it's really a small city,Adelaide..

Hope this helps..

This post has been edited by aobk84: Sep 11 2006, 06:11 PM
aobk84
post Sep 11 2006, 06:12 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Sep 9 2006, 11:36 PM)
mind sharing what course are u studying there?
I'm doing Economics and Finance degree, 4 year course and deep into my third year now.. hehe
QuackSilver
post Sep 11 2006, 08:48 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Sep 7 2006, 04:53 PM)

i'm in UQ right now. doing mechatronics engineering

any questions, just shoot it out smile.gif
wKkaY
post Sep 12 2006, 08:08 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(orangysb @ Sep 10 2006, 07:38 PM)
a first year student in the University of Melbourne

anybody else here?

Computer Science, final year.
KVReninem
post Sep 12 2006, 04:47 PM

IX
5,369 posts

Holmesglen Tafe- YR 1 dip building design and tech
going architecture maybe in rmit or unimelb.
TScoolgirl_y2k1
post Sep 12 2006, 05:02 PM

90 posts

hmm....want to ask those already in OZ land, do u do part time jobs there to earn pocket money for living expenses? coz my dad says lots of students support their living expenses all by themself and ask me to do that too perhaps in 2nd year...pls enlighten me on how to apply work visa, eg of jobs we can do...thx a lot.

p/s cant imagine myself working part time in a foreign country....coz i've nvr even worked in malaysia b4 blush.gif

126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:53 AM