126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

nFiniteFX
post Nov 21 2006, 05:49 PM

223 posts

University of South Australia here. Currently into 3rd year of Bachelor of Civil Engineering, going 4th a.k.a final year next year, here in Mawson Lakes campus. I would agree with some of the poster here from Adelaide, it's a nice and quiet place for study. Not much entertainment unless if you want to go to Crazy Horse at night, lol, I am sure some of you study here know that place.

Food's here okay, just that one thing I want to point out, among of the meats here that are edible, only chicken is! Why? Cause, the beef and the pork here are quite smelly and give some odor. Trust me, you won't like it.

Other than that, for daily marketing, I would stick with China town cause stuff there cheap and a lot of Chinese/Vietnamese supermarket there. If you come by during Saturday afternoon, the amos fruit vendor slashed their fruit price a lot and give a good bargain, of course the drawback is that the fruit almost rotten la, but if you are lucky, its worth it.

And working experience, nah, never done it before cause lazy to work. Anyway if you work here, in the end, you have to pay some tax to the government, about 40% of your earning if not mistaken, haha...

Other than that, Adelaide is a nice place, but still, I miss my hometown, especially the foods! Cheap and nice!

Anyone still have question about living in Adelaide, let me know, I'll be happy to answer them. icon_rolleyes.gif
kon
post Nov 22 2006, 12:12 PM

66 posts

Wow. Lotsa ppl studying in Adelaide. Nice to hear that. The only problem is that I graduate already (finished last year)... or else can meet up tongue.gif

Anyway, I agree with most pp that Adelaide is a nice place although the entertainment and shopping malls cannot be compared with those in Malaysia. However, if you are the outgoing type, Adelaide has lotsa nature trails. I've been to my share or nature trails biggrin.gif Besides that, the vineyards are also interesting (You can go to wine tasting sessions thumbup.gif )

Want more info on Adelaide can ask me laugh.gif
nFiniteFX
post Nov 22 2006, 08:59 PM

223 posts

Good on ya kon, I took this elective course this year during my mid-year break, went for bushwalking. Seriously, it's not for those pampered people like me.

What I mean is that, during the bushwalking at Mount Remarkable National Park, there is no electricity, limited water (can't bath, just for cooking and drinking), sleep on the mats in a confined tents, and worst of all, have to take a dump in the wild, out of the world. But still, quite a fun experience though, got to see the nature and nice view above the peak of the mountain, saw a few kangaroos too.

At the end of the day, brought back rashes on my feets sad.gif
nerd nation
post Nov 23 2006, 10:23 PM

Trance addict
1,440 posts

Hi everyone. I'm studying in Uni adelaide. yeah looks like lots of ppl in SA. Perhaps we can meet up for a drink or something huh?
porkchop
post Nov 23 2006, 10:42 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

noone at melboune ah??
nFiniteFX
post Nov 24 2006, 09:07 AM

223 posts

hey nerd, i would like to but, flying back to m'sia for holiday ler sweat.gif
zltan
post Nov 25 2006, 11:29 AM

695 posts

Anyone going for Trinity College Foundations Studies February 2007 intake?
Canopies
post Nov 25 2006, 11:55 AM

2,733 posts

hey guys who all studying in aus..

i wanna ask

which college offers twining program which hv law degree?
Wind82
post Nov 26 2006, 08:12 PM

1,433 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone studying in University of Queensland currently?

I am going there for postgraduate course for Feb 2007 intake, and there's few question I would like to enquire.

I am offered a place in International House and it cost almost 1k AUS per month. Issit worth it?

Will it be cheaper if I look for accomodation myself?

Is it easy to look for one?

Roughly how much will it cost per month including electricity, water, phone and internet bill?

I would be really appreciate if someone could guide me in the above matters.

Also, are there anyone going for UQ this coming FEB? Maybe we could arrange accomodation together. That would be much easier.

Thank you.
pangping1510
post Nov 28 2006, 10:56 PM

1,007 posts

how abt utas? and its medical course?
jianee89
post Nov 29 2006, 12:24 AM

252 posts

what about tasmania?

I think im going there after my alevels
ØSK
post Nov 29 2006, 04:21 PM

178 posts

this mayb useful...
http://www.paked.net/higher_education/rank...es_rankings.htm

heard ppl said dat living in tasmania is kinda boring...
bt d place is juz peaceful....
sinichi_v
post Nov 29 2006, 05:15 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Nov 24 2006, 01:42 AM)
noone at melboune ah??
i'm studying at melbourne.
jdreamer
post Nov 30 2006, 11:03 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

What about Griffith University?
KVReninem
post Nov 30 2006, 12:15 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Nov 23 2006, 11:42 PM)
noone at melboune ah??
im in melbourne le smile.gif
MildBluese
post Dec 4 2006, 02:04 AM

70 posts

Curtin International College, Perth in 2007

Anyone going there as well? I'm not sure if I should take the Commerce Stream or the Mass Com stream.

I really like languages and communications but my brother discourages that because he says it's hard to get PR.

x.x Is it worth sacrificing something I like to get the PR?

What's the demand for accountants and economists as opposed to Mass Com graduates' prospective jobs in Australia?

This post has been edited by MildBluese: Dec 4 2006, 02:07 AM
nyprinz83
post Dec 4 2006, 05:27 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(MildBluese @ Dec 4 2006, 02:04 AM)
Curtin International College, Perth in 2007

Anyone going there as well? I'm not sure if I should take the Commerce Stream or the Mass Com stream.

I really like languages and communications but my brother discourages that because he says it's hard to get PR.

x.x Is it worth sacrificing something I like to get the PR?

What's the demand for accountants and economists as opposed to Mass Com graduates' prospective jobs in Australia?
I think its better to go with your own interests rather than going for commerce for the sake of PR. Yep accountants/economists are at the very top of the wanted list and will be a breeze for anyone wanting to gain residency. Employment wise its also very secure as Aus is still running short on accountants. Mass Com is probably going to be hard to secure PR as the current 120 points was just increased last year and they might increase it again you never know.
sykz
post Dec 6 2006, 03:11 PM

339 posts

I got a question ask. What is TAFE? Any place in KL I can find more about it? I would like to seek business studies course, the course fees and a good U. Im a SPM only graduate dude. Thanks.
ØSK
post Dec 7 2006, 07:54 PM

178 posts

tafe is sum sort of vocational programme in australia
check this out
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TAFE

shimy
post Dec 7 2006, 11:31 PM

381 posts

adelaide is a peaceful place?? so muz b fun to studi overthere,izit?? can sumbody tell me which uni in adelaide u think is de best?n how is de cost to studi overthere..i m doin de research on tat...
n can sumbody tell me abt monash uni in aus oso?? i wan sum info on tat 2 ...
thx

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:22 AM