Microsoft Windows 10

horns
post Nov 22 2015, 12:22 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 21 2015, 03:32 PM)
tat's the link to download the windows 10 1011, 10586 iso manually ?
yes. it's w10 1511, 10586. i used it to do a clean install previously. it's the same new iso released at msdn (i.e. they have the same sha1 sum. i have posted the check sums previously)

ricstc
post Nov 22 2015, 12:49 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

for those who didn't know, you can check your current Win 10 build number by doing a

run
winver

and you will get something like this
ricstc
post Nov 22 2015, 12:57 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

for those who asked me about Threshold 2 here is some updates

for those who care or want to know

delsoo
post Nov 22 2015, 12:59 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2015, 12:22 AM)
yes. it's w10 1511, 10586. i used it to do a clean install previously. it's the same new iso released at msdn (i.e. they have the same sha1 sum. i have posted the check sums previously)
Can you provide link for me to download the latest version (win10 home 64 bit). I didn't clean install last time when I upgrade from win8...is it okay if I upgrade it to 10586 WITHOUT clean install?
xperiaDROID
post Nov 22 2015, 01:07 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 21 2015, 10:30 PM)
haha after 4 bloody months only my pilate windows 7 got NOTIFICATION to change windows 10...already pulled the trigger updating...tomorrow will do extensive testing laugh.gif rclxms.gif
I don't get it though, how do you guys get through all the updates without getting your desktop "blacked out" by Microsoft which keeps on telling you to get genuine Windows?
horns
post Nov 22 2015, 01:09 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 22 2015, 12:59 AM)
Can you provide link for me to download the latest version (win10 home 64 bit). I didn't clean install last time when I upgrade from win8...is it okay if I upgrade it to 10586 WITHOUT clean install?
it's the same link posted previously, https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench

choose windows 10. note that w10 pro and home is in the same iso. as long as you have sufficient space, you can do an upgrade. if possible, it's better to do a clean install, to prevent any potential issues.

the current build number has become 10586.11 (due to patches via windows updates after 10586.3, the build number of w10 1511)

delsoo
post Nov 22 2015, 08:01 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2015, 01:09 AM)
it's the same link posted previously, https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench

choose windows 10. note that w10 pro and home is in the same iso. as long as you have sufficient space, you can do an upgrade. if possible, it's better to do a clean install, to prevent any potential issues.

the current build number has become 10586.11 (due to patches via windows updates after 10586.3, the build number of w10 1511)

actaully i was thinking about not to upograde first , but the windows update is taking up my network bandwith , so i think i should downlad the iso form somewhere then run in at my computer .... is it recommended to do the upgrade thru windows update ? will i have to reinstall the driver again ?
Marcion
post Nov 22 2015, 09:48 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 21 2015, 11:30 PM)
haha after 4 bloody months only my pilate windows 7 got NOTIFICATION to change windows 10...already pulled the trigger updating...tomorrow will do extensive testing laugh.gif rclxms.gif
hmm.gif I thought that only for china pirate windows to get upgrade free windows 10, if like that I would want to try find pirate windows 7 pro to get upgrade windows 10 pro since my desktop PC using oem windows 7 home haven't go upgrade it but laptop already upgrade to windows 10

This post has been edited by Marcion: Nov 22 2015, 09:49 AM
Bombgen
post Nov 22 2015, 10:21 AM

967 posts

Havent recieve my windows 10 update yet. Both of my desktop and my laptop. Is it normal?
horns
post Nov 22 2015, 10:24 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 22 2015, 08:01 AM)
actaully i was thinking about not to upograde first , but the windows update is taking up my network bandwith , so i think i should downlad the iso form somewhere then run in at my computer .... is it recommended to do the upgrade thru windows update ? will i have to reinstall the driver again ?
it's the same (there are slight differences but the outcome is the same). if you downloaded the iso the obvious advantage is that you don't need to download it again. (when there comes the time you need to do a clean install, you're ready as well) as for drivers, it's better to download all latest drivers into your computer or an external storage before upgrade.

like i said before, it's always better to prepare yourself for the worst. download the iso and necessary drivers; back up data; make system image; etc. so that you can recover from unforeseen system issues after upgrade.

a lot of people whined about this and that because they themselves make the upgrade a one-way trip. tbh i'm not really sure what points they are trying to make.

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 22 2015, 10:34 AM
delsoo
post Nov 22 2015, 10:58 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2015, 10:24 AM)
it's the same (there are slight differences but the outcome is the same). if you downloaded the iso the obvious advantage is that you don't need to download it again. (when there comes the time you need to do a clean install, you're ready as well) as for drivers, it's better to download all latest drivers into your computer or an external storage before upgrade.

like i said before, it's always better to prepare yourself for the worst. download the iso and necessary drivers; back up data; make system image; etc. so that you can recover from unforeseen system issues after upgrade.

a lot of people whined about this and that because they themselves make the upgrade a one-way trip. tbh i'm not really sure what points they are trying to make.
how to create system image ? if i create system image , then i dont have to prepare all the drivers in external storage anymore ? is there anyway to prevent the windows update to donwnload the update ? coz i feel that my network speed slowed down when i am not using my pc in power saving mode, coz the windows is downloading the update behind . ( i checked the resource monitor and found that the netsvcs is running when it is not in power saving mode. )
PedangGila
post Nov 22 2015, 03:08 PM

918 posts

Mine still buld 10240. Checking update it says upto date already. OTA slow leh hahah
stromae
post Nov 22 2015, 03:44 PM

247 posts

update my lappy to windows 10.. from windows 8.1

the weird thing is why my Microsoft office need to activated again?

stella_purple
post Nov 22 2015, 07:08 PM

392 posts

hey guys did u disable hibernation/fast startup in windows 10? i heard it can cause unnecessary write to the ssd.
horns
post Nov 22 2015, 07:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 22 2015, 10:58 AM)
how to create system image ? if i create system image , then i dont have to prepare all the drivers in external storage anymore ? is there anyway to prevent the windows update to donwnload the update ? coz i feel that my network speed slowed down when i am not using my pc in power saving mode, coz the windows is downloading the update behind . ( i checked the resource monitor and found that the netsvcs is running when it is not in power saving mode. )
1. plug in an external storage. it's better to have a newly formatted one.
2. run windows power shell at administrator prviledge, and run the command: wbAdmin start backup -backupTarget:<backup.destination>: -include:C: -allCritical -quiet

the above command will back up only your c: partition and necessary system partitions to restore the os and make it runs as usual. replace <backup.destination> with the driver letter of your external drive.

alternatively, you can use 'backup and restore (windows 7)' in control panel.
horns
post Nov 22 2015, 07:10 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(stella_purple @ Nov 22 2015, 07:08 PM)
hey guys did u disable hibernation/fast startup in windows 10? i heard it can cause unnecessary write to the ssd.
yes, i do that. i can live with a slightly longer boot time.
noorimanyosh
post Nov 23 2015, 04:48 AM

saoirse ronan :3
2,148 posts

gais minta tolong sikit

just upgraded from 8.1

now my Lenovo Z500T is running Win10 without problem but,

FIFA15 now lag. already update the nvidia gc driver but still same problem occur

any solution?
NightFelix
post Nov 23 2015, 08:35 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Nov 23 2015, 04:48 AM)
gais minta tolong sikit

just upgraded from 8.1

now my Lenovo Z500T is running Win10 without problem but,

FIFA15 now lag. already update the nvidia gc driver but still same problem occur

any solution?
Try open your Nvidia setting force select your games use dedicated gpu instead if auto or integrated gpu.
xonedl
post Nov 24 2015, 01:29 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Nov 22 2015, 07:09 PM)
alternatively, you can use 'backup and restore (windows 7)' in control panel.
I used to do some backup but recently when I try to restore one of the old backup I ran into problem... hmm.gif
Copy paste from another board:

Windows version: W10 N 64 bit.

Before the recent November update, I created a image backup for my system drive which is the usual C: drive.
After the update, I also created a seperated image backup of the same C: system drive.

Now due to some unknown issue with Windows10-KB3010081-x64 (Media Feature Pack) not installing properly on the latest updated Windows- despite the installer ran flawlessly, none of the media components installed. I decided to roll back to my old before-update-copy to give it a try.

Now problem struck.

Currently I have 2 copies of image backups:
- 12 November before-update backup
- 14 November after-update backup

For some unknown reason the before-update backup image only consist of 1 partition (only 1 VHDX file), which is C: drive. And do not include the additional small system partition which is about 400MB in size. Whenever I try to restore to that image, the process telling me the following error:

Windows cannot restore your computer from the selected system image
The system image is from a dynamic disk. To restore from this system image, the layout of your computer has to match the layout of system image. The layout of this computer does not match the system image.
Choose a different system image to restore your computer from.

While the latest 14 November after-update backup image does have TWO VHDX file, one for C: drive and one for that small 400MB system drive. This copy can be restored without any problem. I am pretty sure I did the backup process exactly the same way, but the latest one came out with two VHDX files, hmm...

Now about dynamic disk, I checked all my drives and none of them are dynamic disk. Huh?
Dynamic disk is the one with green-border, right? I don't see any green border in my disk management...

Is there any possible way to restore that VHDX from 12 November backup, bypassing the error given?

Or if anyone knew how to install that darn Media Feature Pack successfully (Windows10-KB3010081-x64.msu) and fix USB MTP issue with phone, then I might not need to figure out that restore problem. rclxub.gif Or just suck it up and get the full non-N version...

This post has been edited by xonedl: Nov 24 2015, 01:31 PM
horns
post Nov 24 2015, 03:26 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(xonedl @ Nov 24 2015, 01:29 PM)
I used to do some backup but recently when I try to restore one of the old backup I ran into problem...  hmm.gif

Or if anyone knew how to install that darn Media Feature Pack successfully (Windows10-KB3010081-x64.msu) and fix USB MTP issue with phone, then I might not need to figure out that restore problem.  rclxub.gif Or just suck it up and get the full non-N version...
yes the generated system image set was incomplete. for stock windows installation (afaik for uefi mode), usually you should have at least 3 vhdx files.

i never tried this before, but if you have a windows version that can run vhdx via disk management (e.g. pro, enterprise), you can try attach the vhdx as a virtual disk, then make a clone image of that virtual disk with a third party tool. finally apply the clone image to the correct partition of your drive. or, you can just clone it directly to the partition. or, look for third party tools to see if they support conversion of vhdx directly to their native format, so that you can use it to apply to the partition.

after cloning, you might need to check and repair boot settings if necessary.

as for media feature pack, i think you missed the part that ms has released a new one for w10 1511, https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3099229 . i'm not sure about that usb mtp thing.

127 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:23 AM