Accident 101: i teach u claim loss of use

Ericz
post Sep 24 2019, 10:13 AM

116 posts

I did not read through everything here, anyway:
What's the best way to deal (tell them off) with those tow truck people that is harassing you? You know, those on scene in less than 5-10 mins.

They will keep harassing you, even when the tow truck you called arrive.
There are also cases whereby the tow truck guy you called will not tow your car before you 'settle' with the rest. (territorial thing maybe)
CcL
post Sep 24 2019, 05:56 PM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

Hey TS

Just curious, what is the highest rate one can claim for a under 4 yo conti SUV LOU per day? Is it capped at RM50?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by CcL: Sep 24 2019, 05:57 PM
TSsaigetsu
post Sep 24 2019, 09:39 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(CcL @ Sep 24 2019, 05:56 PM)
Hey TS

Just curious, what is the highest rate one can claim for a under 4 yo conti SUV LOU per day? Is it capped at RM50?

Thanks!
Read first post.
CcL
post Sep 24 2019, 09:53 PM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 24 2019, 09:39 PM)
Read first post.
Whoops, ok not cap at 50 but minimum.

Any ballpark of max claimable without actually renting a replacement car?
teutonic
post Sep 26 2019, 12:38 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Oct 1 2014, 10:11 AM)
Tenkiu....your point on 1 and 2. Anyway, you already answered.

OD kfk - you claim your own insurance and still not lost NCD. Wow....something new I learned. Thank you

Further question, OD kfk - can elaborate more? Ppl bang me, I claim my own insurance, and at same time I won't lost my NCD. Then, don't my insurance company disagree? Not my fault, or I mean the insurance co issue, but they have to pay for me, while the insurance for the person who bang me no need pay anything?
Another condition is, for OD KFK, it doesnt apply to public transport, like taxi and bus.
marfccy
post Sep 29 2019, 11:04 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

hey guys, my myvi is damaged after accidentally rear ended other car. not claiming insurance both side agreed, so i gonna pay for his damages

wonder if anyone has contacts for good workshop in PJ area i can go to?

prefer fastest to repair ones with decent pricing
Yakisaru
post Oct 12 2019, 04:31 PM

13 posts

Hi, I need your help in claiming insurance. Recently my car was involved in the accident. The damage was bad and police report has been made (called police yesterday and they said the investigation result is ready).

The adjuster has come and decided that the cost is more than the amount that I insured. So I have to declare total lost. Now I have to go matikan road tax, settle my car loan with bank and process the insurance claim.

I want to claim from the lorry's insurance since the lorry hit me from the opposite lane. My question is

1) how much can I claim from the third party insurance? And will the amount be deducted from the insurance money to settle my car loan or the insurance will have to settle my car loan and I get the insured sum in full? Note that my insurance and the lorry driver's are comprehensive.

2) how to claim for loss of use since the car is total lost and there is no time frame of which the car is being repaired.

3) currently I go with the first option, that is claim odkfk from my insurance and the will claim from the third party insurance (meaning my ncd will be saved) but is this the better choice of the 2?

Sorry guys this was my first car and this is my first time getting into such accident. I'm angry and sad but more importantly I want to get what is rightfully mine. Need the help of all sifus to guide me as I will be going to balai this Monday to get the keputusan kes and want to settle everything as soon as possible.

Thank you in advance and appreciate all help.
ciohbu
post Oct 14 2019, 11:15 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(Yakisaru @ Oct 12 2019, 04:31 PM)
Hi, I need your help in claiming insurance. Recently my car was involved in the accident. The damage was bad and police report has been made (called police yesterday and they said the investigation result is ready).

The adjuster has come and decided that the cost is more than the amount that I insured. So I have to declare total lost. Now I have to go matikan road tax, settle my car loan with bank and process the insurance claim.

I want to claim from the lorry's insurance since the lorry hit me from the opposite lane. My question is

1) how much can I claim from the third party insurance? And will the amount be deducted from the insurance money to settle my car loan or the insurance will have to settle my car loan and I get the insured sum in full? Note that my insurance and the lorry driver's are comprehensive.

2) how to claim for loss of use since the car is total lost and there is no time frame of which the car is being repaired.

3) currently I go with the first option, that is claim odkfk from my insurance and the will claim from the third party insurance (meaning my ncd will be saved) but is this the better choice of the 2?

Sorry guys this was my first car and this is my first time getting into such accident. I'm angry and sad but more importantly I want to get what is rightfully mine. Need the help of all sifus to guide me as I will be going to balai this Monday to get the keputusan kes and want to settle everything as soon as possible.

Thank you in advance and appreciate all help.
first question... the investigation result said siapa salah first ?
Yakisaru
post Oct 16 2019, 09:03 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Oct 14 2019, 11:15 AM)
first question... the investigation result said siapa salah first ?
Hi, The lorry was at fault.

Now my insurance is offering settlement since the car is "beyond economical repair". I have to go to the bank to get the VOC and go to JPJ to matikan road tax and then send all the relevant docs to my insurance.

And since I wasn't at fault, my insurance company said that I won't lose my NCD.

iamoracle
post Oct 17 2019, 08:54 AM

614 posts

Want to ask for advice.

Let's say a car is parked at roadside but not a designated parking spot. Then, the car was hit by hit-and-run car but a witness managed to write down the car plate number.

While making police report, will the police officer say it is victim fault for parking at illegal spot? With that, is that mean victim can't claim the other party insurance?
Chili_90
post Oct 18 2019, 12:20 AM

160 posts

good info!
Chili_90
post Oct 18 2019, 12:20 AM

160 posts

good info!
ys2233
post Oct 19 2019, 04:02 PM

Rare case. Seeking opinions

My car has been in the franchise holder workshop for the past 4 years being repaired under OD claim. Initially requested for total loss but rejected and they approved repairs of about 50% of insured value + pending "to inspect" another 60%.
As the years go by, more parts are claimed. But few months ago, the insurers officially notify they won't entertain any further claim.
1. Repairs are still incomplete
2. Claims already exceed economic value. Potentially, I've to pay another 50% of insured value to complete.
3. Insurer can't issue further instructions
4. Workshop won't agree to total loss as they already spent money on completed repairs.

What's your suggestion?

PS: no fraudulent activities as they are official distributor of premium brand for >50yr. For this rare model, parts take 3-6 months to import.

TSsaigetsu
post Oct 19 2019, 08:44 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(ys2233 @ Oct 19 2019, 04:02 PM)
Rare case. Seeking opinions

My car has been in the franchise holder workshop for the past 4 years being repaired under OD claim. Initially requested for total loss but rejected and they approved repairs of about 50% of insured value + pending "to inspect" another 60%.
As the years go by, more parts are claimed. But few months ago, the insurers officially notify they won't entertain any further claim.
1. Repairs are still incomplete
2. Claims already exceed economic value. Potentially, I've to pay another 50% of insured value to complete.
3. Insurer can't issue further instructions
4. Workshop won't agree to total loss as they already spent money on completed repairs.

What's your suggestion?

PS: no fraudulent activities as they are official distributor of premium brand for >50yr. For this rare model, parts take 3-6 months to import.
Report to bnm. Coz franchise dont want to repair is not ur problem. Its between u and insurer. Threaten the insurer first. See what is their response.
odin88
post Oct 20 2019, 02:15 AM

475 posts

@saigetsu

I have very very special case .. the boy who hit me dont have license .. but he said want to settle luar .. so i go report to police saying some xx vehicle hit me in the back instead of putting his license plate .. in fact i did this in front of inspector .. the inspector give me 2 choice .. report and this boy if kenot pay go to jail etc or if feel kesian go settle luar .. ready some installment plan for the kid ..

and macam biasa i kena tipu .. report sudah buat but the boy dont pay me any money .. so i endup use my own insurace and ncd kena tolak ..

assuming if u in my position .. u already did report .. and cannot tarik balik .. how u handle this by not using ur own ncd ?

This post has been edited by odin88: Oct 20 2019, 02:15 AM
TSsaigetsu
post Oct 20 2019, 12:37 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(odin88 @ Oct 20 2019, 02:15 AM)
@saigetsu

I have very very special case .. the boy who hit me dont have license .. but he said want to settle luar .. so i go report to police saying some xx vehicle hit me in the back instead of putting his license plate .. in fact i did this in front of inspector .. the inspector give me 2 choice .. report and this boy if kenot pay go to jail etc or if feel kesian go settle luar .. ready some installment plan for the kid ..
and macam biasa i kena tipu .. report sudah buat but the boy dont pay me any money .. so i endup use my own insurace and ncd kena tolak ..

assuming if u in my position .. u already did report .. and cannot tarik balik .. how u handle this by not using ur own ncd ?
Nothing u can do. F the boy in the first place is the way to go.
thxxht
post Oct 24 2019, 10:34 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ericz @ Sep 24 2019, 10:13 AM)
I did not read through everything here, anyway:
What's the best way to deal (tell them off) with those tow truck people that is harassing you? You know, those on scene in less than 5-10 mins.

They will keep harassing you, even when the tow truck you called arrive.
There are also cases whereby the tow truck guy you called will not tow your car before you 'settle' with the rest. (territorial thing maybe)
reject their offer and call the toll free number on your car sticker that's provided by your insurance company. They will arrange to send authorized tow truck.

sidenote, some insurance companies actually operate their own tow trucks (Allianz) so it's easy for you to differentiate.

QUOTE(odin88 @ Oct 20 2019, 02:15 AM)
@saigetsu

chalk it up to bad luck, the boy probably don't have the money anyway, making police report is still the proper way to approach this issue. At least if the boy gets sent to prison that's one less problem on the road anymore. Think of it as doing a public service lo

This post has been edited by thxxht: Oct 24 2019, 10:37 AM
UnknownH
post Oct 24 2019, 08:40 PM

1,437 posts

Hi TS, relative got into accident with other party. Somehow in the process, I tag along at the panel workshop(car already sent there). Clerk girl there say something about betterment and pointing to relative's insurance policy and insured amount and might need to topup accordingly for the repair. What's that about?

Car is old(>10 years). Report made, report gave to that workshop already. In phase of waiting for "keputusan" I guess but definitely other party fault.
TSsaigetsu
post Oct 25 2019, 12:58 AM

707 posts

Insurance cover your car as it is. So they have to restore the car that is worth more than 10 years old. Since the part that u get is new, u gotta topup a bit lor. Thats "better" ment pay ment
TSsaigetsu
post Oct 25 2019, 12:58 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Oct 24 2019, 08:40 PM)
Hi TS, relative got into accident with other party. Somehow in the process, I tag along at the panel workshop(car already sent there). Clerk girl there say something about betterment and pointing to relative's insurance policy and insured amount and might need to topup accordingly for the repair. What's that about?

Car is old(>10 years). Report made, report gave to that workshop already. In phase of waiting for "keputusan" I guess but definitely other party fault.
Refer above

77 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:18 AM