HOW!? Regret buying Hong Leong Income Builder.., Any way to revoke & get back the money ?

TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 10:13 PM, updated 12y ago

180 posts

3 years ago, I bought HONG LEONG INCOME BUIDER from a friend. RM6K / year. with LOCK IN PERIOD of 9 years
After I bought a few days, I regretted but didn't plan to revoke (grace period) since it is a friend deal...

Recently, I received a letter stating my friend has quit.
I felt that I have no reason to continue such scheme,SUPER LOW INTEREST, LOCK UP CAPITAL. (My salary NOT HIGH..)

However, the surrender value is NEGATIVE -35% if I take the money NOW..

Any idea? I don't mind lost all the interest ? CONSUMER COURT ? whatever method...

** I have no problem saving money ... I save most of my incomee(>50%) into saving, house & investment.

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 24 2014, 08:40 PM
syahmie
post Sep 21 2014, 10:18 PM

262 posts

Just go with it untill 9 years
SUSMNet
post Sep 21 2014, 10:28 PM

11,954 posts

You already bought it for 3 years..

3 x 6k = 18k

My advise is continue the scheme
adele123
post Sep 21 2014, 10:42 PM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 21 2014, 10:13 PM)
3 years ago, I bought HONG LEONG INCOME BUIDER from a friend. RM6K / year. with LOCK IN PERIOD of 9 years
After I bought a few days, I regretted but didn't plan to revoke (grace period) since it is a friend deal...

I felt that I have no reason to continue such scheme,SUPER LOW INTEREST, LOCK UP CAPITAL. (My salary NOT HIGH..)

Any idea? I don't mind lost all the interest ? CONSUMER COURT ? whatever method...
You are not the first, definitely not gonna be the last.

The surrender value is always bad early on... Especially those insurance plans that payment short term for a long term policy.

You can try complain to HLA, and see if you can get a full refund. Not worth it for them to go to court for some small customers like you. 6k per year is peanuts to them compared to those customers paying 5-figure premium a year.

You can ask this 'friend' of yours on how to make a complaint effective, if your 'friend' knows how. Putting you in a better position to get a full refund.

If me, i will discontinue. Cause i rather cut-loss. Though i like to remind you, in the long run, you are most likely to get slightly better than FD return.

Your money is locked-in for more than 9 years. I rmb this is quite a long term plan. Premium payment is for 9 years or 6 years? Usually, it's 6-years for HLA. i think 9-years is the premium payment period, which means you are still not gonna be having positive returns after 9years. You get the most return at maturity. I have no idea when it matures.

Moral of the story, don't simply buy savings plan. Check and re-check
nexona88
post Sep 21 2014, 10:43 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

u should terminate in grace period... I know it's your friend deal, but when comes to money matter u should do the best thing for yourself..

Anyway better to continue now, because u already paid for 3year.. I don't think consumer court can help nod.gif
TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 10:52 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2014, 10:43 PM)
u should terminate in grace period... I know it's your friend deal, but when comes to money matter u should do the best thing for yourself..

Anyway better to continue now, because u already paid for 3year.. I don't think consumer court can help nod.gif
Haiz.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Force saving plan.... While I have no problem saving...

Its 9 YEARS PLAN ! Newer plan is 6 years... Mine is 9 YEARS lo..

This can claim INCOME TAX ? (Under EPF & insurance, right ?)

Ya, I can get a FEW HUNDREND THOUSAND at the age of 90 ... rclxub.gif

Nowadays, those friends selling things, I AVOID TO SEE THEM lo...

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 22 2014, 01:51 AM
nexona88
post Sep 21 2014, 11:04 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 21 2014, 10:52 PM)
Haiz.... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Force saving plan.... While I have no problem saving...

Its 9 YEARS PLAN !  Newer plan is 6 years... Mine is  9 YEARS lo..

This can claim INCOME TAX ? (Under EPF & insurance, right ?)

Ya, I can get a FEW HUNDREND THOUSAND at the age of 92 ... rclxub.gif

Nowadays, those friends selling things, I AVOID TO SEE THEM lo...
yup, u can claim Income Tax..

"I can get a FEW HUNDREND THOUSAND at the age of 92"? shocking.gif rclxub.gif I dun understand rclxub.gif
nexona88
post Sep 21 2014, 11:05 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by nexona88: Sep 21 2014, 11:06 PM
post Sep 21 2014, 11:09 PM

1,003 posts

Adoi....forced saving is better than no saving. I tell you, if I don't have insurance and all the other stuff from Pru, GE, etc....I have money in hand....then I go spend buying car la, bike la, laptop la....better they take from my account annually.

6K per annum is quite small leh...just stick with it.
sillybearz
post Sep 21 2014, 11:21 PM

240 posts

go bank negara complain, say agent misell, you might get a full refund, anyway its 3 years already I am not sure whether it works or not. For what I know, somebody do that before the 2nd year payment and got their money back
TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 11:47 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2014, 11:04 PM)
yup, u can claim Income Tax..

"I can get a FEW HUNDREND THOUSAND at the age of 92"?  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif I dun understand rclxub.gif
By accumulating interest RM6K X 9 years (RM54K) untill age of 90 (not 92), I can get a BIG SUM ! (Projected return rclxub.gif rclxub.gif )

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 22 2014, 01:51 AM
TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 11:49 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(sillybearz @ Sep 21 2014, 11:21 PM)
go bank negara complain, say agent misell, you might get a full refund, anyway its 3 years already I am not sure whether it works or not. For what I know, somebody do that before the 2nd year payment and got their money back
I plan to do that lo.... U know the method to do so...

Do u I need to inform the agent first ?

Thanks notworthy.gif

QUOTE(6216 @ Sep 21 2014, 11:09 PM)
Adoi....forced saving is better than no saving. I tell you, if I don't have insurance and all the other stuff from Pru, GE, etc....I have money in hand....then I go spend buying car la, bike la, laptop la....better they take from my account annually.

6K per annum is quite small leh...just stick with it.
I m stingy type of people... I think I can save very well....

Though I admit I earn little... JUST BIG PORTION of money go to Investment/Saving..

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 21 2014, 11:51 PM
wodenus
post Sep 21 2014, 11:50 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 21 2014, 11:47 PM)
By accumulating interest RM6K X 9 years (RM54K)    untill age of 88 (not 92), I can get a BIG SUM ! (Projected return  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif )
Easiest way out, stipulate in your will who gets the money. At least people will be nice to you for that, and someone will be able to inherit some good money smile.gif

sinbad2k
post Sep 22 2014, 02:48 AM

525 posts

Someone tried to sell that to me last year. I know it's unfavourable to consumers the moment the lock-up period terms was in it.

If you plan to bring this to court, i reckon that the odds are stacked against you. The agreement papers that you signed when you first purchased this will most probably has lines such as "you fully understand the product and agree to all other terms and conditions(the lock up period)". Having said that, you could try but you have to consider also the costs($$ & time) to undo everything.

If 6K/year is too tough for you, I'd say just cancel it and accept the losses. You could then use those to invest in some other stuffs like mutual funds to recoup your losses in the next few years.

Archer17
post Sep 22 2014, 08:36 AM

192 posts

why not just continue saving? is good to have a saving then none. i have pay this plan almost three years.. your situation are almost similar to me, thought of surrender it but value i get back is waste, so i just continue with it...

cherroy
post Sep 22 2014, 09:09 AM

25,802 posts

Friend is friend.
Your financial issue is yours, never mix money and friend together.
Never buy or commit anything just because friend.

You need to calculate the advantage and disadvantage in between from now onwards.
Look the past (-35%) is not going to help you at all and irrelevant.

Ask yourself if you put 6K/year how much you can get next year or following years as compared to premature cancellation that loss -35%.
Are you financial stressed due to 6K aka need to resort personal loan, credit card loan etc.

eg. (I don't know your plan, just illustration)
cancel now get, recoup 8K
vs
continue to commit 6K, then next year become how much.

Can you be better financial or whatever with recoup the 8K and no commit 6K which total 14K in hand?

So need to dissect the number and situation, I believe you have the projection number of premature surrender and total possible return when your first signed up time.
Look at those table.

adele123
post Sep 22 2014, 09:27 AM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(Archer17 @ Sep 22 2014, 08:36 AM)
why not just continue saving? is good to have a saving then none. i have pay this plan almost three years.. your situation are almost similar to me, thought of surrender it but value i get back is waste, so i just continue with it...
Some people think it may be better to cut loss. this income builder is an INSURANCE 'savings' plan. For some, it might be better to cut-loss. the returns given is yes, under most scenario, is better than FD rate. I don't know if there's statistics, but probably over the long-run, it may be 100 to 200 basis point above FD, which is a lot when you compound it over the many years. Insurance companies have good (and also lousy) fund managers too so the return can be actually quite ok.

However, in most cases, your money gets locked up for VERY VERY VERY LONG. which is why i dislike it. for those really lousy at saving money, it may not be a bad tool to leave it for their next generation or next next generation.

cutepet

I have heard of HLA giving full refund after 1-2 years. Not necessary income builder, but other similar savings plan. After all, it's not that THEY don't know their AGENTS are MIS-SELLING.

think about it, what words did your agents tell you?
interest is it? insurance got no interest. doh.gif
savings? this is not savings account, it's insurance. doh.gif

But yes, complaining to bank Negara might help as well. But better have some proof and arguments to support as well. I don’t think BNM will simply entertain complaints without some backup. After all, they need to be fair to the insurance company as well. Can still be argued that one is ignorant.

ya... consider points given by the person before as well.

ReWeR
post Sep 22 2014, 09:43 AM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

this is a very common scam by banks.

nothing much you can do, there are a lot of similar victims with you.
Archer17
post Sep 22 2014, 01:32 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 22 2014, 09:27 AM)
Some people think it may be better to cut loss. this income builder is an INSURANCE 'savings' plan. For some, it might be better to cut-loss. the returns given is yes, under most scenario, is better than FD rate. I don't know if there's statistics, but probably over the long-run, it may be 100 to 200 basis point above FD, which is a lot when you compound it over the many years. Insurance companies have good (and also lousy) fund managers too so the return can be actually quite ok.

However, in most cases, your money gets locked up for VERY VERY VERY LONG. which is why i dislike it. for those really lousy at saving money, it may not be a bad tool to leave it for their next generation or next next generation.

cutepet

I have heard of HLA giving full refund after 1-2 years. Not necessary income builder, but other similar savings plan. After all, it's not that THEY don't know their AGENTS are MIS-SELLING.

think about it, what words did your agents tell you?
interest is it? insurance got no interest.  doh.gif
savings? this is not savings account, it's insurance.  doh.gif

But yes, complaining to bank Negara might help as well. But better have some proof and arguments to support as well. I don’t think BNM will simply entertain complaints without some backup. After all, they need to be fair to the insurance company as well. Can still be argued that one is ignorant.

ya... consider points given by the person before as well.
yup.. i agree with you but i have pay half way there. such a waste if i surrender now. wait till i'm old then enjoy. LOL
xuzen
post Sep 22 2014, 01:45 PM

4,436 posts

Saving plans are great if you are those itchy-hand type.. see money only must spend wan. No discipline wan....

Other than that... stay away from it. Its IRR is lebih kurang FD rate nia...

Xuzen.

SUSPink Spider
post Sep 22 2014, 01:57 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

How to decide whether to terminate or continue?

(a) continue paying. X years later, how much will u get?

(b) stop now. take back RMx,xxx. Use the RMx,xxx and invest elsewhere. Use the money that u would be paying to Hong Leong had u not terminated the plan and invest. X years later, how much will u get?

If u not financial savvy, ask an accountant friend to calculate for u.

What is past is past, when making financial decisions, u consider only the future.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 22 2014, 01:58 PM
DirectorLee
post Sep 22 2014, 03:33 PM

169 posts

This is foolish.
The agent that sells you this, will use any trick he can think of/ sell you any confidence or assurance (after all, thats what people want to hear in conjunction with their greed).

he will use friendship as a way to get in. then give u assurance that it will definitely make you a lot of money or whatever.

So, when your greed + confidence in him is strong enough. you bought it.
this is all sentimental decision.
Wanna know the facts?
Here they are, the inconvenience truth:
a. The uncertainty - Your Gain on your investment
whatever they say you will gain (it is not certain) and what data/statistic he shows you is definitely biased. After all, its the investment into the future we are predicting. The sure thing is, its definitely going to be lower than what he shows. It all depends on the fund manager's and the bank's decision and the future development of what they invested in.

b. The certainty
Your friend will definitely get a cut of your investment as commission. Mind you, this is a 100% gonna happen. And god knows how many % of your investment is going be end up in the sales team hierarchy pocket. Well, from your statement, probably not lower than 35% goes into their pocket.

c. Yea, Right?
If everything is as good and as firm as what they say. Why don't they put any minimal investment return/ dividend on the Terms and Condition? They sell you all the sweet talk, in the end what puts in writing/agreement is the protection towards themselves.

You want to get back 100%? Do you think the entire team is going to give you back what they have as commissions? Think logically, if the bank is gonna pay you back, that means the bank gonna have to collect back from whoever that got the commission (might not be even working in the bank anymore), which is highly unlikely. They don't have to worry anyway, since you already signed the terms and condition. Read it through and get through your denial phase.
nexona88
post Sep 22 2014, 03:40 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(DirectorLee @ Sep 22 2014, 03:33 PM)
Wanna know the facts?

Here they are, the inconvenience truth:
a. The uncertainty - Your Gain on your investment
whatever they say you will gain (it is not certain) and what data/statistic he shows you is definitely biased. After all, its the investment into the future we are predicting. The sure thing is, its definitely going to be lower than what he shows. It all depends on the fund manager's and the bank's decision and the future development of what they invested in.

b. The certainty
Your friend will definitely get a cut of your investment as commission. Mind you, this is a 100% gonna happen. And god knows how many % of your investment is going be end up in the sales team hierarchy pocket. Well, from your statement, probably not lower than 35% goes into their pocket.

c. Yea, Right?
If everything is as good and as firm as what they say. Why don't they put any minimal investment return/ dividend on the Terms and Condition? They sell you all the sweet talk, in the end what puts in writing/agreement is the protection towards themselves.

You want to get back 100%? Do you think the entire team is going to give you back what they have as commissions? Think logically, if the bank is gonna pay you back, that means the bank gonna have to collect back from whoever that got the commission (might not be even working in the bank anymore), which is highly unlikely. They don't have to worry anyway, since you already signed the terms and condition. Read it through and get through your denial phase.
woah, so deep but true notworthy.gif
Meng kit
post Sep 22 2014, 03:51 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(DirectorLee @ Sep 22 2014, 03:33 PM)

b. The certainty

c. Yea, Right?

This is so true, especially the commission part.
TScutepet
post Sep 22 2014, 08:40 PM

180 posts

I am looking for a solution lo...

Hope I can really get back my money wit little losses... I can accept minimal loss icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Girl99
post Sep 23 2014, 12:23 AM

Hi.. I also bought the exactly same plan that u had. HLA income builder.

Actually besides complaint n surrender. You may reduce the plan to the minimum amount with the guaranteed yearly income of rm500. This plan actually have 6 years, 9 years & 12 years.

The agent sell to u 9 years plan just to earn higher commission. You can actually reduce the premium lower instead of paying 6k a year and also change the term from 9yrs to 6yrs. the premium can be reduce to roughly 2k - 3k according to you age.

Actually this plan is good for retirement because you're just paying/saving for 6yrs/ 9yrs/ 12yrs but the guaranteed interest payable to us up to age 90. But of cos we will not wait until age 90. You may withdraw the interest like maybe 5 years once or 10 years once or maybe when in future for any emergency use.

Since you have save for 3 years d. Not worth it if you cancel now.

The latest plan they had is minimum 6k. Paying / saving for 6yrs but interest only payable up to 25 years only.

The best way, I think you reduce the premium or change the term to 6 years if u felt 9 years was too long for u.

[QUOTE]
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 08:59 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Girl99 @ Sep 23 2014, 12:23 AM)
Hi.. I also bought the exactly same plan that u had. HLA income builder.

Actually besides complaint n surrender. You may reduce the plan to the minimum amount with the guaranteed yearly income of rm500. This plan actually have 6 years, 9 years & 12 years.

The agent sell to u 9 years plan just to earn higher commission. You can actually reduce the premium lower instead of paying 6k a year and also change the term from 9yrs to 6yrs. the premium can be reduce to roughly 2k - 3k according to you age.

Actually this plan is good for retirement because you're just paying/saving for 6yrs/ 9yrs/ 12yrs but the guaranteed interest payable to us up to age 90. But of cos we will not wait until age 90. You may withdraw the interest like maybe 5 years once or 10 years once or maybe when in future for any emergency use.

Since you have save for 3 years d. Not worth it if you cancel now.

The latest plan they had is minimum 6k. Paying / saving for 6yrs but interest only payable up to 25 years only.

The best way, I think you reduce the premium or change the term to 6 years if u felt 9 years was too long for u.

Can simply change plan one ?? Mine one, yearly income RM1,000

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 23 2014, 08:59 AM
adele123
post Sep 23 2014, 09:21 AM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 23 2014, 08:59 AM)
not change plan, reduce sum assured. you are allowed to do it. but check the calculations. but this is better than total loss.
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 11:18 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 23 2014, 09:21 AM)
not change plan, reduce sum assured. you are allowed to do it. but check the calculations. but this is better than total loss.

CAN NOT !

CHANGE OF PLAN ONLY ALLOWED ON FIRST YEAR . Check wit customer care already... rclxub.gif
jack2
post Sep 23 2014, 11:56 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 22 2014, 01:45 PM)
Saving plans are great if you are those itchy-hand type.. see money only must spend wan. No discipline wan....

Other than that... stay away from it. Its IRR is lebih kurang FD rate nia...

Xuzen.
you are right.. i believe not many agents know how to calculate IRR...

they show you the return is so great such as 7-8% which is misrepresented.

adele123
post Sep 23 2014, 12:30 PM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 23 2014, 11:18 AM)

CAN NOT !

CHANGE OF PLAN ONLY ALLOWED ON FIRST YEAR .  Check wit customer care already... rclxub.gif
Change of plan, yes only allowed for first year. What you are doing, is NOT change of plan. This is called reduce sum assured.

Change of plan means change different product. I already said it's NOT change of plan. sweat.gif
SUSKinitos
post Sep 23 2014, 01:55 PM

572 posts

Total Money Paid 3 x RM6000 = RM18000

Value of Investment NOW (woi -35% NEGATIVE) meaning == RM18000 x 65% = RM11700

Next year 215 throw another RM6000 into sea

Value of Investment 2015 (woi -45% NEGATIVE) meaning == RM24000 x 55% = RM13200

TS cannot be Future Millionaire sure GOT Ghost

TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 04:56 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 23 2014, 12:30 PM)
Change of plan, yes only allowed for first year. What you are doing, is NOT change of plan. This is called reduce sum assured.

Change of plan means change different product. I already said it's NOT change of plan. sweat.gif
Reduce sum assured? The customer care said can not.. I will try again...maybe she blur blur one..

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Sep 23 2014, 01:55 PM)
Total Money Paid 3 x RM6000 = RM18000

Value of Investment NOW (woi -35% NEGATIVE) meaning == RM18000 x 65% = RM11700

Next year 215 throw another RM6000 into sea

Value of Investment 2015 (woi -45% NEGATIVE) meaning == RM24000 x 55% = RM13200

TS cannot be Future Millionaire sure GOT Ghost

Actual loss is bigger than 35%. Need to wait next year cut off date only .... DON't know what to do lo..
Girl99
post Sep 23 2014, 08:18 PM

Yes you can reduce to yearly income of rm500(minimum). So that your premium will be lesser d.

What u need to do is, told the customer service that u wish to reduce the sum assured and they will let u sign a request change form to do so. One of my fren did this too.

For me, this is better than surrender and u lost your money and den go for other investment and few years later again u withdraw your investment/ saving. Ended up , didn't save anything but lost even more.

You get what I mean? 😁

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 23 2014, 08:59 AM)
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 10:35 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Girl99 @ Sep 23 2014, 08:18 PM)
Yes you can reduce to yearly income of rm500(minimum). So that your premium will be lesser d.

What u need to do is, told the customer service that u wish to reduce the sum assured and they will let u sign a request change form to do so. One of my fren did this too.

For me, this is better than surrender and u lost your money and den go for other investment and few years later again u withdraw your investment/ saving. Ended up , didn't save anything but lost even more.

You get what I mean? 😁
I understand... Thanks...

I will try complain to Hong leong, after tht BNM . After tht, court...
howszat
post Sep 23 2014, 11:34 PM

2,932 posts

I don't recall seeing any positive threads about any Hong Leong income, builder, savings, wealth products (apart from agents trying to argue otherwise).

Ultimately, there is no one else to blame apart from the buyer.

Caveat emptor.
Girl99
post Sep 24 2014, 01:04 AM

Actually nothing much to complaint. Because u did receive the policy contract. And at the moment, u did cancel with the period for full refund. Just because of support your fren. Unless u got any prove. Else agent still will fight for their right. To me, I feel this plan is not bad la.. U may deeply consider about it. This type of plan is for long term. Include whatever saving. Unless those high risk investment or share.

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 23 2014, 10:35 PM)
I understand... Thanks...

I will try complain to Hong leong,  after tht BNM . After tht, court...
jorgsacul
post Sep 24 2014, 08:45 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(Girl99 @ Sep 24 2014, 01:04 AM)
Actually nothing much to complaint. Because u did receive the policy contract. And at the moment, u did cancel with the period for full refund. Just because of support your fren. Unless u got any prove. Else agent still will fight for their right. To me, I feel this plan is not bad la.. U may deeply consider about it. This type of plan is for long term. Include whatever saving. Unless those high risk investment or share.
regret interest going up?
this funds only good if interest rate down...if u compare FD vs them....HLBB better.....if u compare ASB....ASB better
the IRR only 4.5% overall if you calculate. Only upper side, you get some life insurance coverage for your family
adele123
post Sep 24 2014, 09:01 AM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Sep 23 2014, 11:34 PM)
I don't recall seeing any positive threads about any Hong Leong income, builder, savings, wealth products (apart from agents trying to argue otherwise).

Ultimately, there is no one else to blame apart from the buyer.

Caveat emptor.
To be fair, when one is satisfied, one wouldn't come to this forum and will forget about this forum. when one is angry and pissed, then one will visit to this forum.

all these plans, are LONG LONG term. if one is in the insurance plan say, for 25-30 years and maybe one's child is just less than 5 years old. maybe one can use this insurance 'savings' plan for the child's house downpayment or something.

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Sep 24 2014, 08:45 AM)
regret interest going up?
this funds only good if interest rate down...if u compare FD vs them....HLBB better.....if u compare ASB....ASB better
the IRR only 4.5% overall if you calculate. Only upper side, you get some life insurance coverage for your family
interest going up yes, but that doesn't mean their returns from this savings plan won't go up as well. to be fair to the insurance companies. they can manage investment well enough too.

i don't know if there are actual statistic but one should take ACTUAL returns for comparison. remember that what they show in the table is for illustration based on their projections. could be more (and also less) in reality.
McFD2R
post Sep 24 2014, 09:02 AM

1,074 posts

cutepet There are only 2 reason why you want/should to terminate.

1. You have CONCRETE plans to ensure the money can instead be put to immediate use for higher gains investment.
2. You WANT to spend the money.

If it's not because of reason no. 1, then continue with it. It forces you to save. Many people think they can save without a plan. In many cases, most actually can't, especially those who do not earn much. It hurts them to see the little that they have going away into a fund they cannot use for 9 years, in your case, 6 more years. But unless you can guarantee a higher return if you terminate, then my suggestion would be to continue with it. The returns are generally higher than Fixed Deposits.
jorgsacul
post Sep 24 2014, 09:05 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 24 2014, 09:01 AM)
To be fair, when one is satisfied, one wouldn't come to this forum and will forget about this forum. when one is angry and pissed, then one will visit to this forum.

all these plans, are LONG LONG term. if one is in the insurance plan say, for 25-30 years and maybe one's child is just less than 5 years old. maybe one can use this insurance 'savings' plan for the child's house downpayment or something. 
interest going up yes, but that doesn't mean their returns from this savings plan won't go up as well. to be fair to the insurance companies. they can manage investment well enough too.

i don't know if there are actual statistic but one should take ACTUAL returns for comparison. remember that what they show in the table is for illustration based on their projections. could be more (and also less) in reality.
U know how they works right?
1 is fixed interest and another is variable (so call bonus)
The bonus one... i tell you, the funds like mutual funds company...they will keep on buying and selling to earn commission (fees income)....i work for bank lah brother....u think they charity ah
chamelion
post Sep 24 2014, 09:14 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Kept service the plan unless u can use the returned money to earn more then 35% or unless u urgently need the money for emergency stuff...
adele123
post Sep 24 2014, 09:55 AM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Sep 24 2014, 09:05 AM)
U know how they works right?
1 is fixed interest and another is variable (so call bonus)
The bonus one... i tell you, the funds like mutual funds company...they will keep on buying and selling to earn commission (fees income)....i work for bank lah brother....u think they charity ah
there's not FIXED interest in insurance, the fixed part is the 'insurance'. but yes, the bonuses are variable.

Par Fund and Distribution

i don't work for banks, i haven't heard of mutual fund companies selling and buying for fees income, maybe they do, i don't know. anyway, if you are lazy to read the whole thing, you may read the below.

Bonus and dividends are not guaranteed in advance. They are distributed from surplus generated from investments and operating profits from the participating fund. The actual amount paid out will depend on the investment performance of the life insurance company, operating experience and overall economic environment. You may receive more or less than the projected bonuses/dividends illustrated to you when you purchase your insurance policy. The distribution of surplus between policyholders and shareholders are governed by the Insurance Act 1996, in the ratio up to 90:10. This means that policyholders receive 90% of the surplus distributed from the life fund.

Yes, on the 'sales' side, it looks more attractive in low interest environment but doesn't mean it sucks as well in higher interest environment. just saying. Bye.

SUSPink Spider
post Sep 24 2014, 10:56 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 22 2014, 01:57 PM)
How to decide whether to terminate or continue?

(a) continue paying. X years later, how much will u get out of this plan?

(b) stop now. take back RMx,xxx (A). Use the RMx,xxx and invest elsewhere. Use the money that u would be paying to Hong Leong had u not terminated the plan (B) and invest. X years later, how much will u get from A + B?

If u not financial savvy, ask an accountant friend to calculate for u.

What is past is past, when making financial decisions, u consider only the future.
For the benefit of TS, I PRESUME he/she missed my previous post.

YOU DON'T THINK ABOUT THE PAST, WHAT IS PAST IS PAST.

If u still wanna stubbornly think about "aiya, if I terminate now, I lose 30%++ of what I pay...can I complain to BNM and get back full?", I wish u good luck. At the beginning u kept the plan i.e. did not take up the grace period window to cancel the deal to "give face" to your friend, years later your friend quit HLA, u wanna get back your money on basis of u being "misled"? If I am BNM officer, I'll ask u go fly kite.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 24 2014, 11:00 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 24 2014, 11:37 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 24 2014, 10:56 AM)
For the benefit of TS, I PRESUME he/she missed my previous post.

YOU DON'T THINK ABOUT THE PAST, WHAT IS PAST IS PAST.

If u still wanna stubbornly think about "aiya, if I terminate now, I lose 30%++ of what I pay...can I complain to BNM and get back full?", I wish u good luck. At the beginning u kept the plan i.e. did not take up the grace period window to cancel the deal to "give face" to your friend, years later your friend quit HLA, u wanna get back your money on basis of u being "misled"? If I am BNM officer, I'll ask u go fly kite.
TS is not an investor else where can get suckered by this kaka?
Thus, TS can't think in terms of zero-sum now + future VS continuing being fish bait.
Well, pros & cons lor - we do need to feed the weaker ones to predators for a lively eco-system mar - then only will the weaker ones learn & get stronger OR weeded out sweat.gif
my apologies if it sounds harsh notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 24 2014, 11:38 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 24 2014, 11:37 AM)
TS is not an investor else where can get suckered by this kaka?
Thus, TS can't think in terms of zero-sum now + future VS continuing being fish bait.
Well, pros & cons lor - we do need to feed the weaker ones to predators for a lively eco-system mar - then only will the weaker ones learn & get stronger OR weeded out sweat.gif
my apologies if it sounds harsh notworthy.gif
Harsh but true laugh.gif thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
nexona88
post Sep 24 2014, 04:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

so cutepet, what's your decision smile.gif
DirectorLee
post Sep 24 2014, 07:51 PM

169 posts

If you think you have the discipline, and able to put that money to good use in the future. you don't really need this thing...
This kind of saving package/ investment scheme, is suitable for people who has no responsibility and self control in their lives.
See, its a win win situation.
We force you to save, and you give us some as commission.

In fact, if you have good discipline, you don't even need all sorts of fancy insurance packages...
TScutepet
post Sep 24 2014, 08:22 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 24 2014, 11:38 AM)
Harsh but true laugh.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

OK, I told my friend that time :" I know ur scheme not good one la, I can help u to buy. But, u give me minimum amount, I help u lo"

Shit, I regretted THE NEXT DAY! I won't cancel because friend..

Now,I decide to take action since friend no longer agent anymore... WITH LOUSY SERVICE fr HER too... mad.gif
OK, I suddenly awakening NOW
nexona88
post Sep 24 2014, 08:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 24 2014, 08:22 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

OK, I told my friend that time :" I know ur scheme not good one la, I can help u to buy. But,  u give me minimum amount, I help u lo"

Now,I decide to take action since friend no longer agent anymore... WITH LOUSY SERVICE fr HER too...  mad.gif 
lesson learned, nvr join any scheme/products intro by friends if not good tongue.gif
Irresistible
post Sep 25 2014, 12:10 AM

3,274 posts

File a complaint is a good move..though difficult to win...

Pls update us..
Girl99
post Sep 25 2014, 04:37 AM

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 24 2014, 08:22 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

OK, I told my friend that time :" I know ur scheme not good one la, I can help u to buy. But,  u give me minimum amount, I help u lo"

Now,I decide to take action since friend no longer agent anymore... WITH LOUSY SERVICE fr HER too...  mad.gif 
You asked for minimum.. But the amount he given to you was actually not the minimum amount. And your fren should sell u the shortest plan with minimum amount since you're his/hers friend. At the view of mine, it is actually your friend trying to earn more commission from your plan that's why selling the 9 yrs plan to u. They earn higher commission compare between 6yrs and 9yrs plan. It was actually nothing wrong with the insurance company. It is the behavior and responsible for that agent. If u wish to make a complain, u should complain because the agent mis-selling as u ask for minimum premium. But not the insurance company.

This post has been edited by Girl99: Sep 25 2014, 04:38 AM
jorgsacul
post Sep 25 2014, 08:06 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(Girl99 @ Sep 25 2014, 04:37 AM)
You asked for minimum.. But the amount he given to you was actually not the minimum amount. And your fren should sell u the shortest plan with minimum amount since you're his/hers friend. At the view of mine, it is actually your friend trying to earn more commission from your plan that's why selling the 9 yrs plan to u. They earn higher commission compare between 6yrs and 9yrs plan. It was actually nothing wrong with the insurance company. It is the behavior and responsible for that agent. If u wish to make a complain, u should complain because the agent mis-selling as u ask for minimum premium. But not the insurance company.
TELL US THE TRUTH....EX GIRL FRIEND SOLD U THE PACKAGE NOW TURN SOUR YOU WANNA REVENGE AH?
nexona88
post Sep 25 2014, 01:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Sep 25 2014, 08:06 AM)
TELL US THE TRUTH....EX GIRL FRIEND SOLD U THE PACKAGE NOW TURN SOUR YOU WANNA REVENGE AH?
bro, please don't type in all caps. It is rude. It is the equivalent of yelling..
jorgsacul
post Sep 25 2014, 04:22 PM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 25 2014, 01:01 PM)
bro, please don't type in all caps. It is rude. It is the equivalent of yelling..
Noted.......i am noobie earlier
TScutepet
post Oct 2 2014, 11:26 PM

180 posts

UPDATE:

Hong Leong said will reply me in another 5 working days. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 3 2014, 12:09 AM

52,874 posts

You may a complain to FMB.

URL: http://www.fmb.org.my/en/
td00164306
post Oct 3 2014, 12:58 AM

287 posts

** I have no problem saving money ... I save most of my incomee(>50%) into saving, house & investment.
To be honest, if you friend did not give false information or blank promise on how this plan works, then I don't see any reason why should HLB entertain such silly request.

I am sure you will break a laughter at their office when they read:"Dear Sir, I buy this bloody thing because of my friend. I am so stupiak I don't know what the hell is this and I bought. Now my friend is no longer working for you, can I withdraw and you please give me a full refund despite the policy has stated the otherwise and I already agreed and signed on the paper."

1 word. Mempersiasuikan.
td00164306
post Oct 3 2014, 12:59 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(td00164306 @ Oct 3 2014, 12:58 AM)
To be honest, if you friend did not give false information or blank promise on how this plan works, then I don't see any reason why should HLB entertain such silly request.

I am sure whoever received your letter will ROLF, if you wrote something like this:"Dear Sir, I bought this bloody thing because of my friend. I am so stupiak I don't know what the hell is this and yet I bought. Now my friend is no longer working for you, I really regret la, can I withdraw and you please give me a full refund despite the policy has stated the otherwise and I already agreed and signed on the paper. Please~~~~~~~"

1 word. Mempersiasuikan.
This post has been edited by td00164306: Oct 3 2014, 01:00 AM
TScutepet
post Oct 3 2014, 07:09 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(td00164306 @ Oct 3 2014, 12:58 AM)

I am sure you will break a laughter at their office when they read:"Dear Sir, I buy this bloody thing because of my friend. I am so stupiak I don't know what the hell is this and I bought. Now my friend is no longer working for you, can I withdraw and you please give me a full refund despite the policy has stated the otherwise and I already agreed and signed on the paper."

1 word. Mempersiasuikan.
U r not helping... Please..

Some more, double post.

I just try my best to get back money, which I know chances are slim.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 3 2014, 07:45 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Oct 3 2014, 07:09 AM)
U r not helping...  Please.. 

Some more,  double post.

For sure, if you surrender now, you'll be getting the surrender value as stipulated in the "table" shown to you during sign up.

Unless you're looking for filing a dispute with HLA and not happy with the surrender value because you have been misrepresented by your friend agent. Thus, you may give a try to lodge your story to FMB and if FMB sides your story, you'll be awarded 50-50 of the settlement (50% for you; 50% for HLA) under neutral verdict. Why not give a try there unless you're not convinced with your own story.

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 3 2014, 10:15 AM

16,872 posts

To be honest, I don't support TS and his story.

You only have 2 options, 1 only to be frank with you.
(1) Just surrender the plan and take back the surrender value
(2) Report to HLA and/or higher authority and claim mis-selling. But seriously speaking, YOU DON'T HAVE A CASE unless u cook up some grandfather story. To be fair to HLA, they'd most likely call up the (ex-)agent who is your friend to hear his/her side of the story. YOU HAD YOUR CHANCE TO REPORT/CANCEL the plan but you GAVE FACE to your friend and kept the plan.

Grow up, TS. And you don't deserve "help".

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 3 2014, 10:25 AM
xuzen
post Oct 3 2014, 11:38 AM

4,436 posts

First rule in finance, there is no free lunch.

TS had insurance coverage during the time he kept the policy in force and insurance cover comes with a cost. Cost will be levied upon you. There is no free lunch,, you have to pay that cost to the insurance company. It is a contract, you signed it, and since you not invoke the cooling off period, hence you are deemed to accept it in good faith.

You are free to sever the contract aka surrender, but that again comes at a cost, again back to rule no 1, there is no free lunch in finance, all comes at a cost.

Xuzen

DirectorLee
post Oct 3 2014, 12:28 PM

169 posts

I cant believe this topic is still going...
Cutepet,

Filing for dispute: (What David83 says)
- take into account, is the cost worth it?
- do you have any prove of being misled by your friend?
- consult and know the charges, see if the risk of spending more money/time is worth the money.

Or

Take back whatever remains of your investment since:
- there is no guarantee putting your money for another fives years or so will give you more gain
- the whole idea of all this financial products are to convince you to not withdraw your money, so that the financial firm can use this capital for their investment and their own gain.

What I suggest, if you are a sucker at saving money/doing anything productive with your money (lack of self discipline). you can continue to use this as a tool to force yourself to save.
Otherwise, swallow the 35% losses and take this as a lesson.
Here's something optimistic, in life we make mistakes, people who are knowledgeable and wise are people who has made a lot of mistake in the past. We learn from mistakes. Just, Dont make silly mistake.
Cheer up, you made mistake, and its not a silly one.
roystevenung
post Oct 4 2014, 12:46 PM

2,173 posts

This is what happens when people get mis-leaded to think that the Investment Linked Policy (ILP) is for Investments instead of for protection.

Insurance has and always will be for its protection values, never for investments even if it is ILP.

Whenever anyone buys an insurance product, it is associated with the coverage (sum insured). The coverage given is not free and comes with insurance charges.

Here is the bummer, the insurance charges will go up as you get older (even the fund management charges as the fund grows).

If you are looking for investments, or even force savings, find a product that has the least charges (or better none tongue.gif).
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 4 2014, 01:00 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Oct 4 2014, 12:46 PM)
This is what happens when people get mis-leaded to think that the Investment Linked Policy (ILP) is for Investments instead of for protection.

Insurance has and always will be for its protection values, never for investments even if it is ILP.

Whenever anyone buys an insurance product, it is associated with the coverage (sum insured). The coverage given is not free and comes with insurance charges.

Here is the bummer, the insurance charges will go up as you get older (even the fund management charges as the fund grows).

If you are looking for investments, or even force savings, find a product that has the least charges (or better none tongue.gif).
Those bummers where will look at charges? They only see "I pay RMxxx for x years, after x years I get back RMxx,xxx" whistling.gif
roystevenung
post Oct 4 2014, 01:08 PM

2,173 posts

There are many that says continue the plan since already bought for 3 years doh.gif

3 years cutting loss isn't that bad as compared to having to pay for 9 years and only able to 'break even' after 20 years.

Take note of the word 'break even', not even making money yet. The reason why any insurance product needs at least 20 years to break even is due to the high initial charges (agent commission, admin charges, fund charges, et cetra).
magika
post Oct 4 2014, 03:56 PM

2,605 posts

Its not only HL, there are other banks with the same products. Previously I recomend a few of my close relatives to Premier Banking into which the sweet talking RM introduced them to such a scheme. Upon hearing about it, all my persuasive talking and calculation could not compel them to withdraw within the grace period. On the other hand , it caused boh hua hi ness as it seems to give them the impression that they are stupid. Only after afew years, when they need the money, then there is the feeling of slight regret. I however strictly keep my mouth shut this round as not willing to go thru the same situation.
TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 4 2014, 04:12 PM

165 posts

why u dun wan try to change a new plan ?? i thought able to change ??

beside, if according ur words, new plan is 6 yrs lock in, why u dun ask too change for new plan while u already paid for 3 yrs ??
nexona88
post Oct 4 2014, 04:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Oct 4 2014, 01:08 PM)
There are many that says continue the plan since already bought for 3 years doh.gif

3 years cutting loss isn't that bad as compared to having to pay for 9 years and only able to 'break even' after 20 years.

Take note of the word 'break even', not even making money yet. The reason why any insurance product needs at least 20 years to break even is due to the high initial charges (agent commission, admin charges, fund charges, et cetra).
Thanks for the info. Next time if any of my friend "promo" those ILP products, I would think it carefully before join it nod.gif
TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 4 2014, 05:53 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2014, 04:33 PM)
Thanks for the info. Next time if any of my friend "promo" those ILP products, I would think it carefully before join it  nod.gif
depend on ur frienship actually.. blush.gif
my best buddy gang will really share their plan , cons n pron..
so far i heard the hong leong investment plan is better , because have the promised higher value buy bak ur share when the plan expire.
that why i wonder this income builder is same plan or not

This post has been edited by TerrorOfDeath: Oct 4 2014, 05:54 PM
nexona88
post Oct 4 2014, 06:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(TerrorOfDeath @ Oct 4 2014, 05:53 PM)
depend on ur frienship actually.. blush.gif
my best buddy gang will really share their plan , cons n pron..
so far i heard the hong leong investment plan is better , because have the promised higher value buy bak ur share when the plan expire.
that why i wonder this income builder is same plan or not
which plan is that? hmm.gif
td00164306
post Oct 4 2014, 06:39 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Oct 3 2014, 07:09 AM)
U r not helping...  Please.. 

Some more,  double post.

You are trying to breach a contract without receiving the undersigned penalty.
roystevenung
post Oct 4 2014, 06:46 PM

2,173 posts

Promised higher return? If there is such a thing as promise it will not be call an investment. No pun intended.
Bonescythe
post Oct 4 2014, 08:01 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2014, 06:02 PM)
It is called booster..
boost up the price for another... say 10% from the highest unit price..

however same applies. to eenjoy all these benefit. U must finish the whole course and wait till maturity.

SUSsupersound
post Oct 4 2014, 08:54 PM

11,554 posts

First and last, insurance plans does not protect buyer at any 1 time, remember this until you are being buried or burn to ash.
When a person buying a product from company A and having problem, sure at least 1 agent from company B will come in and says this product are cheating and says their product does not cheat. This is SOP of all insurance agents in Malaysia.
When there is a plan that saying the return are higher than FD's interest, it is a trap. BNM already said this again and again. But yet still got people get their money cheated.
nexona88
post Oct 4 2014, 10:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 4 2014, 08:01 PM)
It is called booster..
boost up the price for another... say 10% from the highest unit price..

however same applies. to eenjoy all these benefit. U must finish the whole course and wait till maturity.

shakehead.gif doh.gif
Bonescythe
post Oct 4 2014, 10:37 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 4 2014, 08:54 PM)
First and last, insurance plans does not protect buyer at any 1 time, remember this until you are being buried or burn to ash.
When a person buying a product from company A and having problem, sure at least 1 agent from company B will come in and says this product are cheating and says their product does not cheat. This is SOP of all insurance agents in Malaysia.
When there is a plan that saying the return are higher than FD's interest, it is a trap. BNM already said this again and again. But yet still got people get their money cheated.
Aiyah, you don't know then don't simple say la.
All insurance plan that is sold is being reviewed and approved by BNM.

Insurance plan do not cheat. It is agent misinterpretation that leads to confusion. Over promises is one of the factors.

Insurance is about protection. Is there such product from insurance that doesn't not talk about protection? That is probably not from insurance.

SUSsupersound
post Oct 4 2014, 10:48 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 4 2014, 10:37 PM)

Insurance plan do not cheat. It is agent misinterpretation that leads to confusion. Over promises is one of the factors.

Insurance is about protection. Is there such product from insurance that doesn't not talk about protection? That is probably not from insurance.
If insurance is like what you said, then this thread won't be opened.
Indeed, an insurance company won't cheat, but human working in it will cheat.
Bonescythe
post Oct 4 2014, 11:29 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 4 2014, 10:48 PM)
If insurance is like what you said, then this thread won't be opened.
Indeed, an insurance company won't cheat, but human working in it will cheat.
So did the insurance cheat you?

Insurance company and Insurance Agent is 2 different entity.

Company already outlined all the terms and condition in a lot of pages in the policy that each received - if only 1 would read from page 1 to last page. All the fine prints and everything.

Insurance agent is another story. Got desperate agent, got lan see agent, got rich agent, poor agent, no knowledge agent.. All kind of agents will all kind of presentation, style, tactics.

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Oct 4 2014, 11:32 PM
DirectorLee
post Oct 4 2014, 11:35 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 4 2014, 10:37 PM)

Nice choice of wording there...
Let me tell you something REAL LOGICAL. Insurance is sold to buyer as a protection. Insurance from seller prospective is to earn money. All the odds are absolutely factored into the plan, how much you pay, how much you get as compensation in return.

"Just because something isn't a lie does not mean that it isn't deceptive. A liar knows that he is a liar, but one who speaks mere portions of truth in order to deceive is a craftsman of destruction."
-- Criss Jami

In all financial products, basically you have to sell them in such the way mentioned above. or else you will eat bread everyday... Wait? Why do you join insurance anyway? The risk of losing 80% of your friend/relatives/families.... Wait... Ya... Right... that make sense now.

And btw i totally agree with roystevenung.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 4 2014, 11:46 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 4 2014, 11:29 PM)
So did the insurance cheat you?

Insurance company and Insurance Agent is 2 different entity.

Company already outlined all the terms and condition in a lot of pages in the policy that each received - if only 1 would read from page 1 to last page. All the fine prints and everything.

Insurance agent is another story. Got desperate agent, got lan see agent, got rich agent, poor agent, no knowledge agent.. All kind of agents will all kind of presentation, style, tactics.
So you are telling me that a company can outline something, but is by company or human that outline it?
Indeed all kinds of agent we have like you said, but 1 common of all them is will cheat to get a business.
Bonescythe
post Oct 4 2014, 11:52 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 4 2014, 11:46 PM)
So you are telling me that a company can outline something, but is by company or human that outline it?
Indeed all kinds of agent we have like you said, but 1 common of all them is will cheat to get a business.
Company outline in the policy, but it is the policy holders responsibility to read them thoroughly.

Yes, I agree many of agents. Some cheat for business, while some are genuine and will put down pros and cons.

SUSsupersound
post Oct 4 2014, 11:57 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 4 2014, 11:52 PM)
Company outline in the policy, but it is the policy holders responsibility to read them thoroughly.

Yes, I agree many of agents. Some cheat for business, while some are genuine and will put down pros and cons.
You see, even now you are trying to cheat me, a company does not able to outline a policy, is the human working inside that do the job.
If insurance company does not cheat, then why we need to wait 1-2 months for a claim?
Even doctors that writing the report will say the same.
adele123
post Oct 4 2014, 11:59 PM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 4 2014, 11:52 PM)

Dont argue. Some people holds grudges and have no objectivity and thinks the world is out to get him. He's an extremist. Though i felt sorry for those cheated by lousy agents, to have such twisted thinking is beyond any rationale.
Too difficult to save. rclxub.gif

To the rest of the world,
For those interested to know, you may google HLA ever gain plus. You should get something off the website for the thingy about guarantee buy back whatever thingy.
Disclaimer: i am not in support of the plan. Just want to remind others that it's an insurance plan, NOT a pure investment product.

TerrorOfDeath just to let you know, remember insurance companies cant sell investment products.

This post has been edited by adele123: Oct 5 2014, 12:14 AM
Bonescythe
post Oct 5 2014, 12:00 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(DirectorLee @ Oct 4 2014, 11:35 PM)
Nice choice of wording there...
Let me tell you something REAL LOGICAL. Insurance is sold to buyer as a protection. Insurance from seller prospective is to earn money. All the odds are absolutely factored into the plan, how much you pay, how much you get as compensation in return.

"Just because something isn't a lie does not mean that it isn't deceptive. A liar knows that he is a liar, but one who speaks mere portions of truth in order to deceive is a craftsman of destruction."
-- Criss Jami

In all financial products, basically you have to sell them in such the way mentioned above. or else you will eat bread everyday... Wait? Why do you join insurance anyway? The risk of losing 80% of your friend/relatives/families.... Wait... Ya... Right... that make sense now.

And btw i totally agree with roystevenung.
Sell it in wad way? Sell it in deceiving manner to the buyer? Cheat and con people? Well, some agent does that probably.. But not all do it this manner. So don't generalize everyone in this industry for that group of people.

Professional insurance agent will access a customer needs and wants, and propose the something to supply to the needs and demand. They will also bring awareness of getting yourself and your family protected. Understanding customer, outlining their needs and wants, highlighting the importance, then proposing a solution.. Takes time and patient

Short cut to it is to promise everything lo.

TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 5 2014, 09:02 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2014, 06:02 PM)
so far its a investment plan
i tell u my currently bought plan.

let say the price for 5th OCT selling for RM 2, den its will lock it until occur higher value or the plan expired or u surrender like TS
so basically even the share drop till RM .10, i will buy more so when the plan expired or i surrender, the HL will buy bak with RM 2 ( if no higher value appear )
so far this is what i BOUGHT, I NOT SELLING PLAN, bought from fren and survey 99 baru sign
TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 5 2014, 09:06 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 4 2014, 11:59 PM)
Dont argue. Some people holds grudges and have no objectivity and thinks the world is out to get him. He's an extremist. Though i felt sorry for those cheated by lousy agents, to have such twisted thinking is beyond any rationale.
Too difficult to save.  rclxub.gif

To the rest of the world,
For those interested to know, you may google HLA ever gain plus. You should get something off the website for the thingy about guarantee buy back whatever thingy.
Disclaimer: i am not in support of the plan. Just want to remind others that it's an insurance plan, NOT a pure investment product.

TerrorOfDeath just to let you know, remember insurance companies cant sell investment products.
lol...i know ...that why we go over like Maybank investment plan n etc, and find out, HLA offer a better plan , hong leong assurance and that wat i refer on above
TOMEI-R
post Oct 5 2014, 09:08 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Nexg time, think properly before you put your money down. Your said friend must be a female huh TS?
TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 5 2014, 09:10 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 4 2014, 11:57 PM)
You see, even now you are trying to cheat me, a company does not able to outline a policy, is the human working inside that do the job.
If insurance company does not cheat, then why we need to wait 1-2 months for a claim?
Even doctors that writing the report will say the same.
no offence brothers, but somethings must need to wait a couple of time to claim,

like u bought a hdd, u send bak to manufacturer , they also need run test and check, this all cause time.
one more things, company have their rules n regulations, u cant expect how many policy or claim they need to handle every single working day.
like PredXXXXal, one day may be over a 1000 case to claim medical expenses, 500 case accident, so they need time to check the report ( avoid false report )
TOMEI-R
post Oct 5 2014, 09:13 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

To me all isurance is bullshit. No matter what the agents tell you. Just buy whatever is neccessary like medical and hospitalization and leave the rest out no matter what the agents say.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 5 2014, 09:13 AM
SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 09:57 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(TerrorOfDeath @ Oct 5 2014, 09:10 AM)
no offence brothers, but somethings must need to wait a couple of time to claim,

like u bought a hdd, u send bak to manufacturer , they also need run test and check, this all cause time.
one more things, company have their rules n regulations, u cant expect how many policy or claim they need to handle every single working day.
like PredXXXXal, one day may be over a 1000 case to claim medical expenses, 500 case accident, so they need time to check the report ( avoid false report )
If an honest company will straight away release. As per my doctor that saying insurance are cheating, this period of waiting time is for insurance company to do investigations to find flaw in order to reject the claim.
TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 5 2014, 10:36 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 5 2014, 09:57 AM)
If an honest company will straight away release. As per my doctor that saying insurance are cheating, this period of waiting time is for insurance company to do investigations to find flaw in order to reject the claim.
so , bro, u no buy any insurance ? drool.gif

SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 11:16 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(TerrorOfDeath @ Oct 5 2014, 10:36 AM)
so , bro, u no buy any insurance ?  drool.gif
Nope, not a single insurance. Why? Because they cheat.
Savings = confirmed to cheat, a 10 year plan need 20 years to get it matured.
Investment link = value lost by > 75% within 3 years, got cheated by will be having 6%, at the end, 0% dividend for 3 years
medical? The only company that says will follow the document, but when I need to do a surgery, claim rejected. Doctor even willing to give me 50% of the total cost in cash if I can claim after appeal.
Do insurance cheat? Nope, it won't, but all the people working will cheat.
DirectorLee
post Oct 5 2014, 11:22 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Oct 5 2014, 12:00 AM)
Sell it in wad way? Sell it in deceiving manner to the buyer? Cheat and con people? Well, some agent does that probably.. But not all do it this manner. So don't generalize everyone in this industry for that group of people.

Professional insurance agent will access a customer needs and wants, and propose the something to supply to the needs and demand. They will also bring awareness of getting yourself and your family protected. Understanding customer, outlining their needs and wants, highlighting the importance, then proposing a solution.. Takes time and patient

Short cut to it is to promise everything lo.
Professional insurance agent.... huh... Anyhow, this debate is pointless... There is always good apple and bad apple. But majority is bad apple, down to the very fundamental idea of surviving. "everyone for themselves". O, wait? what is bad and good anyway?
Speaking of professionals, How do you justify you providing customer's needs & wants to what you gain? Of course there isn't even one standard metric of measurement to that. Pros and cons... policies.... What to argue about if it doesn't exist. An expert in any field can choose to present ideas whichever bias way they want to.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

But back to the topic,
I would suggest cutepet to withdraw whatever remain, if he/she can find a better use of the money provided that he/she has good self discipline. Otherwise, use it as force-saving. And you really should get over the idea of "I promise won't make this mistake again, please give me back all my money" thingy. 4 pages, and you still couldn't get to the acceptance phase. Mind you, non of us is going to share how embarrassed we are at learning our lessons in life, just to make you feel good that the amount you loss for the lesson is not really that damaging.
DirectorLee
post Oct 5 2014, 11:41 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(TerrorOfDeath @ Oct 5 2014, 10:36 AM)
so , bro, u no buy any insurance ?  drool.gif
So you bought insurance, can you explain to me up to this moment, how much you gained from them? I don't know, money? safety? whatever it is?

I didn't buy 1, and when i broke three of my metatarsals from extreme sports, I went for surgery and stay in government hospital. Ended up total charges not more than rm150.
Do you know how much the government spend on healthcare annually? And lets not go into debating how paying premium insurance is more worth it and private hospital bla bla bla...
Because at the end of the day, the charges go back to you, in the form of...... insurance....
Insurance & Priv hospital have their own arrangement, do simply logic, if insurance company gain, and private hospital gain. In the end, who losses?
Take for instance, if I am to go into private hospital for that surgery, The bill will comes out like god know's RM 5k? RM 7k? I don't know... But I don't have to pay a dime for it because my insurance covers it all.
But of course there are times when these insurance plan are really helpful too. like maybe when the government healthcare services are so crowded and bad (and slow LOL). Private hospitals are more comfortable.

All in all, you should only pay for what you can afford, don't get yourself misled into premium plans that you couldn't afford, in the end who's the one who gets hurt?

I go for body check-up, decent diet, regular exercises, I would rather invest into my well-being than pay up all these insurance premium and wait for the "Big Finish" because I am too lazy to really Take Care of Myself.

But this topic is about what income-builder scheme, which is more to investment, not insurance. Lets stay there.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 12:37 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DirectorLee @ Oct 5 2014, 11:41 AM)
So you bought insurance, can you explain to me up to this moment, how much you gained from them? I don't know, money? safety? whatever it is?

I didn't buy 1, and when i broke three of my metatarsals from extreme sports, I went for surgery and stay in government hospital. Ended up total charges not more than rm150.
Do you know how much the government spend on healthcare annually? And lets not go into debating how paying premium insurance is more worth it and private hospital bla bla bla...
Because at the end of the day, the charges go back to you, in the form of...... insurance....
Insurance & Priv hospital have their own arrangement, do simply logic, if insurance company gain, and private hospital gain. In the end, who losses?
Take for instance, if I am to go into private hospital for that surgery, The bill will comes out like god know's RM 5k? RM 7k? I don't know... But I don't have to pay a dime for it because my insurance covers it all.
But of course there are times when these insurance plan are really helpful too. like maybe when the government healthcare services are so crowded and bad (and slow LOL). Private hospitals are more comfortable.

All in all, you should only pay for what you can afford, don't get yourself misled into premium plans that you couldn't afford, in the end who's the one who gets hurt?

I go for body check-up, decent diet, regular exercises, I would rather invest into my well-being than pay up all these insurance premium and wait for the "Big Finish" because I am too lazy to really Take Care of Myself.
But this topic is about what income-builder scheme, which is more to investment, not insurance. Lets stay there.
Bah, another person that does not trust insurance thumbup.gif
But yes, this is a fact that people don't know, sad but true.
Bonescythe
post Oct 5 2014, 03:01 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 5 2014, 11:16 AM)
Investment link = value lost by > 75% within 3 years, got cheated by will be having 6%, at the end, 0% dividend for 3 years
medical? The only company that says will follow the document, but when I need to do a surgery, claim rejected. Doctor even willing to give me 50% of the total cost in cash if I can claim after appeal.
I bought my medical insurance. Paid for 3 or 4 years. Then I got some gastric problem, when to private hospital and all the bills are fully paid. I didn't come out even 1 cent from it. No issue with claims at all.

Saving plan i also got. Bought and still servicing it, treat it as force saving for 10 years and keep until maturity. My friend told me to diversify, which I think is good. I know what I am buying, so no complain from me.
Nauts
post Oct 5 2014, 03:19 PM

340 posts

Invested in a savings plan, pay for 5 years, wait 10 years can withdraw, total 15 years..
TScutepet
post Oct 5 2014, 08:23 PM

180 posts

Thanks for all the input...

I will try my best to get back most of my money.. Or request to reduce premium OR worse case, continue to serve.

I do not think it is costly to take action. I done via phone & email. Even bring to court, it cost RM 5. And postage maybe RM 10+

TerrorOfDeath
post Oct 5 2014, 08:31 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Oct 5 2014, 08:23 PM)
Thanks for all the input...

I will try my best to get back most of my money.. Or request to reduce premium  OR worse case, continue to serve.

I do not think it is costly to take action.  I done via phone & email. Even bring to court, it cost RM 5. And postage maybe RM 10+
good luck for u bro...investment for me..ok la..just as a saving , rather den the money duno spend at whr in the end.
cuz only buy like share, u wan more, u buy more, or else, just save 1 yr around 3k ( 3k /12 )
insurance ? i get medical card cukup pakai..biggrin.gif
DirectorLee
post Oct 6 2014, 09:08 PM

169 posts

It is good to have views on both sides. You should take note on both side of suggestions, and then make the decision which you are comfortable with (which suits your style/personality in the way you manage your money). Good luck.
jorgsacul
post Dec 31 2015, 01:51 AM

1,377 posts

sudah apa cerita?

jac1792
post Jan 2 2016, 01:46 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(DirectorLee @ Oct 5 2014, 11:41 AM)

When people buy insurance, they buy not only to protect themselves but also to protect their loved ones from suffering financially.
It's not at all about "Being Too Lazy to Take Care of ourselves", look at MH370 & MH 17, is that an affect of "Being Too Lazy to Take Care of themselves", both events were unexpected.
Just like we may unexpectedly fall critically ill/ getting into accident like the earthquake in mount KK, and when we do, who suffers? Its not just us, but our loved ones too.
Because when things get bad, they have to bear the consequence too, more so financially when we did not prepare anything!
We're not just talking about medical bills here, but also the expenses that we have took on over the course of life. If we TPD/ fall ill, no more income, who gonna pay? Force sell all investments lo, since no other choice wert...then when recover, just start all over again lo. All those years of hard work spent in accumulating the wealth went down the drain.

If you don't see the value in this, then don't condemn people who does, because it speaks more about your lack of understanding of the true purpose of having insurance.

jac1792
post Jan 2 2016, 02:06 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 5 2014, 11:16 AM)
Insurance dont cheat, but humans do.
Not just those working for the company, aka agents but also those who buy.
If you know next week you're going for major operation and will cost about 50k, you think you will buy or not?
Seeing the way you portray yourself here, sure you will buy, and confirm won't disclose that you're going operation next week.
Pay few hundred, but cover my 50k wor, save so much.

If you don't already know, when one finger of yours is pointing at others and calling them cheaters, there are another four more pointing right back at you.
If you have had bad experience with agents, then you have my sympathy because I did too.
Know that when you allow your past experience to keep you from moving past it, you're just allowing that same person to continue hurting your benefit.
You think if you don't buy insurance, that fella got feel meh? The fella will suffer financially meh? He/She probably even forgotten about you.
But if you still don't get it and still wish to condemn insurance, by all means, anyways it says more about your lack of understanding of the true purpose of insurance.

SUSsupersound
post Jan 2 2016, 02:29 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jac1792 @ Jan 2 2016, 02:06 AM)
Insurance dont cheat, but humans do.
Not just those working for the company, aka agents but also those who buy.
If you know next week you're going for major operation and will cost about 50k, you think you will buy or not?
Seeing the way you portray yourself here, sure you will buy, and confirm won't disclose that you're going operation next week.
Pay few hundred, but cover my 50k wor, save so much.

If you don't already know, when one finger of yours is pointing at others and calling them cheaters, there are another four more pointing right back at you.
If you have had bad experience with agents, then you have my sympathy because I did too.
Know that when you allow your past experience to keep you from moving past it, you're just allowing that same person to continue hurting your benefit.
You think if you don't buy insurance, that fella got feel meh? The fella will suffer financially meh? He/She probably even forgotten about you.
But if you still don't get it and still wish to condemn insurance, by all means, anyways it says more about your lack of understanding of the true purpose of insurance.
Next week going for operation and buy now it won't cover.
Yup, you are right, not all agent cheat, that's why I got cheated for 3 times shakehead.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 2 2016, 10:12 AM

16,872 posts

Cheat u 1 time maybe u are unlucky
Cheat u 2nd time maybe u are REALLY unlucky
Cheat u 3rd time...what it means? rolleyes.gif
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2016, 10:21 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 2 2016, 10:12 AM)
Cheat u 1 time maybe u are unlucky
Cheat u 2nd time maybe u are REALLY unlucky
Cheat u 3rd time...what it means? rolleyes.gif
Actually not really. Once I claim from airasia cause for damaged for my bag. Repairs cost rm100. They cover rm50 only. Saying something is their policy of minus rm50 from the claim. Like that also can. mad.gif vmad.gif

If you tell me that's not cheating then I don't know what is it. Only coveting half when padahal expect them to cover completely.

But as you said, buy insurance only if you cannot cover your networth and to protect the provider family.
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 2 2016, 10:25 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 2 2016, 10:21 AM)
Actually not really. Once I claim from airasia cause for damaged for my bag. Repairs cost rm100. They cover rm50 only. Saying something is their policy of minus rm50 from the claim. Like that also can. mad.gif vmad.gif

If you tell me that's not cheating then I don't know what is it. Only coveting half when padahal expect them to cover completely.

But as you said, buy insurance only if you cannot cover your networth and to protect the provider family.
"EXPECT." Key word there. Did u read the policy T&C before u click "buy"?

We also have people who bought "cheap" PA and EXPECT it to pay out upon death under ANY circumstances lor whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 2 2016, 10:26 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 2 2016, 10:31 AM

16,872 posts

People who have proper education, I expect u to behave like one.

U get what u buy.
U are entitled to what u signed up for.

U go to a restaurant and order charsiew rice, u get charsiew rice. If the charsiew rice fail to fill your tummy because u failed to grasp that u only get a large bowl of rice unless u ordered extra rice to go with that, that is your problem. U don't go scream on Facebook and complain to MCA Public apalanjiao bureau that the Kedai Nasi Ayam Tongsan tu penipu when u feel hungry within 2 hours of eating that plate of rice. Lu did not ask for extra rice, lu punya pasal.

U go marry a woman, she cannot conceive a child for u...MAYBE it's your sperm quality, maybe it's her eggs quality. Unless u sign a pre-nuptial agreement stating that u can divorce her with no strings-attached unless she can conceive, u cannot do anything about your wife. U GET WHAT U SIGNED UP FOR. If u did not read, it's your problem.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 2 2016, 10:34 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2016, 10:38 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 2 2016, 10:25 AM)
"EXPECT." Key word there. Did u read the policy T&C before u click "buy"?

We also have people who bought "cheap" PA and EXPECT it to pay out upon death under ANY circumstances lor whistling.gif
Read through the thing. They didn't mentioned anything about rm50. I asked them (email) they told me you take the money or you don't take the money. You don't sign the paper, you won't get any money. You signed, you get only rm50. So if they want to play like that next time. I can play like that also. Ask the shop to write in the receipt next time for extra RM150.

If buying a cheap PA and they don't want to pay upon death, then it's cheating also what. As a PA is meant to cover usually natural, accident death. Am I not right? You pay higher premiums if you want larger amounts, and it to cover more areas.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 2 2016, 10:39 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 2 2016, 10:39 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 2 2016, 10:38 AM)
Read through the thing. They didn't mentioned anything about rm50. I asked them (email) they told me you take the money or you don't take the money. You don't sign the paper, you won't get any money. You signed, you get only rm50. So if they want to play like that next time. I can play like that also. Ask the shop to write in the receipt for extra RM150.

If buying a cheap PA and they don't want to pay upon death, then it's cheating also what. As a PA is meant to cover usually natural, accident death. Am I not right? You pay higher premiums if you want larger amounts, and it to cover more areas.
1. Why u no take the case to higher authority?

2. PA is PERSONAL ACCIDENT. Accident means things like car accident, fall down stairs, kena rob etc, die in your sleep, death because of illness, or death after having sex with 3 prostitutes ARE NOT DEATH IN ACCIDENT.

See? U did not do your homework. I stop here.

We're in 21st century already (if u have the Black & White, u can fight virtually anything, anyone, u can even take over a country), and u are a student (i.e. learned person). Behave like one. Don't listen to and behave like those pasar malam loudspeakers. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 2 2016, 10:42 AM
SUSsupersound
post Jan 2 2016, 10:44 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 2 2016, 10:21 AM)

Well, buy that time they will say is covered.
But claim that time have limit.
Some may say we never read, but the fact is, the insurance seller cheated or misleaded buyer.
Is not easy to defend your stand since in forum there's > 8 insurance agents wanted to make a luxury living.

But I still agree with some that insurance agents does not cheat. But the agent's boss tell the agents that, if they don't secure so and so quota, they will out of job. So is up to the agent what needs to be done to get that quota. The agent know pretty well that 1 finger cut cannot claim, so they "accidentally" forgot to mention it shocking.gif
when the hard copy policy comes, they will try to look for excuse not to read it out.
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2016, 10:45 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 2 2016, 10:39 AM)
1. Why u no take the case to higher authority?

2. PA is PERSONAL ACCIDENT. Accident means things like car accident, fall down stairs, kena rob etc, die in your sleep or die after having sex with 3 prostitutes ARE NOT DEATH IN ACCIDENT.
Because that insurance company is not located in malaysia. I flew from X country. The insurance company in relationship with airasia who paid me and send those emails are from X country. Complained to airasia malaysia, no email response until today. Forget about it. Now I learnt a lesson from insurance companies. Make sure your claim is slightly higher or else one will rugi.

Sorry. My bet. I thought PA = personal assurance = life insurance.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 2 2016, 10:47 AM

11,554 posts

Read through the thing. They didn't mentioned anything about rm50. I asked them (email) they told me you take the money or you don't take the money. You don't sign the paper, you won't get any money. You signed, you get only rm50. So if they want to play like that next time. I can play like that also. Ask the shop to write in the receipt next time for extra RM150.

Well, as or this, they have the ultimate excuse to deny your claim : following your luggage's value.
Happen to me when I got cheated for the 3rd time, they use "too many people abusing it" as excuse to deny the claim.
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 2 2016, 10:49 AM

16,872 posts

Key word - They SAY

Japs also SAY they were here to uplift East Asians lor whistling.gif
BN also SAY they dahulukan Rakyat lor whistling.gif
When u want a girl to open legs for u, u also SAY u love her only and forever lor whistling.gif

jac1792
post Jan 2 2016, 05:17 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 2 2016, 02:29 AM)
Next week going for operation and buy now it won't cover.
Yup, you are right, not all agent cheat, that's why I got cheated for 3 times shakehead.gif
When I say they will cover, I meant to say that application will be accepted because if they don't tell agent about their condition, agent do not know and their case will be accepted as standard case and be approved by the company.
But of course when claim comes and company check, they won't pay the claim, then the person who buys will say insurance company cheat people, when in fact, it was the other way around.
So I rest my case in saying that "Lies work both ways"
My sympathy goes out to you that you got cheated 3 times.
Do share your 3 different experiences.
jac1792
post Jan 2 2016, 05:30 PM

24 posts

Look for the work excess/ deductibles, if you see those word existing in your policy, it would then mean that if the excess/ deductibles amount is rm50, anything below or exactly rm50, you have to bear. But if over Rm50, say rm100, you pay rm50, balance the company will pay. That's what make the policy so cheap.
You can read more about it here....I wrote a simple article about it some time ago
https://m.facebook.com/jaclyntanfinancial/p...ype=3&source=48

This is not a good example of Insurance Company cheating, but your lack of understanding in the terms they use. Why insurance agent still have a job is because the lack of understanding in the Malaysia Market.
So Study up before you buy something.
This is my rule of thumb,

1. if it seemed really cheap, there must be something going on.
2. If I don't understand what I am buying, I will hold off buying
DirectorLee
post Jan 2 2016, 10:10 PM

169 posts

Why I got dragged back into a conversation thats so long time ago??? Please check my reply date nx time before bashing me.

Btw, all your replies shows your very very pro-insurances stance.
You are probably an agent yourself.

and the way you try to twist the facts of cheating into something else. says it all.

Hei, there is a saying "When you are doing something long enough, you see everything in it". deep in yourself you know you are trying to hide the things that stops you from closing the deal.

I dont even want to get back into this topic.
I have a real close friend who got into "District Manager" pos in insurance selling, he is now 40+ ages. Save your bullshits. Its just a "money game" thats the exact word he told me, especially those financial/investment products, such as whats this topic was originally about:
"INCOME BUILDER scheme"

And people who stopped replying for 3months plus, dont really want to get back into the same conversation. You are not very perceptive, which is probably why you only see the "GOOD" side of the crap you are selling. But watever, leave me out of it.
ReWeR
post Jan 2 2016, 10:22 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(DirectorLee @ Jan 2 2016, 10:10 PM)
Why I got dragged back into a conversation thats so long time ago??? Please check my reply date nx time before bashing me.

Btw, all your replies shows your very very pro-insurances stance.
You are probably an agent yourself.

and the way you try to twist the facts of cheating into something else. says it all.

Hei, there is a saying "When you are doing something long enough, you see everything in it". deep in yourself you know you are trying to hide the things that stops you from closing the deal.

I dont even want to get back into this topic.
I have a real close friend who got into "District Manager" pos in insurance selling, he is now 40+ ages. Save your bullshits. Its just a "money game" thats the exact word he told me, especially those financial/investment products, such as whats this topic was originally about:
"INCOME BUILDER scheme"

And people who stopped replying for 3months plus, dont really want to get back into the same conversation. You are not very perceptive, which is probably why you only see the "GOOD" side of the crap you are selling. But watever, leave me out of it.
those saving / invest related plan from insurance companies are not worth it.

I think many financial advisors already stated this many times.

Insurance companies are suppose to sell pure insurance only.

lifebalance
post Jan 3 2016, 03:30 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

It'll be more advisable to speak to a proper consultant in regards to this matter.

Regards to refund, it's only doable if you've just receive your policy and you may free-look it for 15 days on the date of receiving your policy.
max_cavalera
post Jan 5 2016, 09:12 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(cutepet @ Sep 21 2014, 11:13 PM)

How much yearly interest they pay u?

13aby
post Jan 6 2016, 01:47 PM

975 posts

Even is friend or close friend , they only wan sales and commision . Who cares when u die ..... Saving plan via insurance is always no to me... There are lot more way like FD to do a saving plan .
SUSsupersound
post Jan 6 2016, 09:36 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(13aby @ Jan 6 2016, 01:47 PM)
Even is friend or close friend , they only wan sales and commision . Who cares when u die ..... Saving plan via insurance is always no to me... There are lot more way like FD to do a saving plan .
This bloody statement are darn true.
A very sad case for me on 31st Dec, my grandfather passed away. We do the normal funeral process where my late grandfather was kept at temple for 2 days. Most of my aunties do have some friends come, but not for my auntie that are super rich by selling trust funds. Only her manager came(also because need to know when she can back to work).
Insurance or trust fund agents won't have any friends sweat.gif
cheahcw2003
post Mar 28 2018, 04:47 PM

5,379 posts

what i can't tolerate is that they try to mislead the potential investors by highlighting 8% p.a.

i received the call from HL for the last 5 years, i do not know how they get my contact as i do not have any insurance policy with HLA.
syaaron
post Mar 29 2018, 03:44 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Mar 28 2018, 04:47 PM)
what i can't tolerate is that they try to mislead the potential investors by highlighting 8% p.a.

i received the call from HL for the last 5 years, i do not know how they get my contact as i do not have any insurance policy with HLA.
some party 'sharing' our data probably .
i received lots of these offer also
ckdenion
post Mar 30 2018, 11:07 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Mar 28 2018, 04:47 PM)

interest potential could be there... say 6%~8%. reason being y end up capital also susah mau ambil balik is because the charges and agent commission is much more than the interest. only after when the agent stop taking commission from your premium then only your savings start to build up. i myself cannot tolerate agents who sell like that. seriously possible to 'destroy' people's future funds.

0.0491sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:53 AM