HOW!? Regret buying Hong Leong Income Builder.., Any way to revoke & get back the money ?

TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 10:13 PM, updated 12y ago

180 posts

3 years ago, I bought HONG LEONG INCOME BUIDER from a friend. RM6K / year. with LOCK IN PERIOD of 9 years
After I bought a few days, I regretted but didn't plan to revoke (grace period) since it is a friend deal...

Recently, I received a letter stating my friend has quit.
I felt that I have no reason to continue such scheme,SUPER LOW INTEREST, LOCK UP CAPITAL. (My salary NOT HIGH..)

However, the surrender value is NEGATIVE -35% if I take the money NOW..

Any idea? I don't mind lost all the interest ? CONSUMER COURT ? whatever method...

** I have no problem saving money ... I save most of my incomee(>50%) into saving, house & investment.

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 24 2014, 08:40 PM
TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 10:52 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2014, 10:43 PM)
u should terminate in grace period... I know it's your friend deal, but when comes to money matter u should do the best thing for yourself..

Anyway better to continue now, because u already paid for 3year.. I don't think consumer court can help nod.gif
Haiz.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Force saving plan.... While I have no problem saving...

Its 9 YEARS PLAN ! Newer plan is 6 years... Mine is 9 YEARS lo..

This can claim INCOME TAX ? (Under EPF & insurance, right ?)

Ya, I can get a FEW HUNDREND THOUSAND at the age of 90 ... rclxub.gif

Nowadays, those friends selling things, I AVOID TO SEE THEM lo...

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 22 2014, 01:51 AM
TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 11:47 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2014, 11:04 PM)
yup, u can claim Income Tax..

"I can get a FEW HUNDREND THOUSAND at the age of 92"?  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif I dun understand rclxub.gif
By accumulating interest RM6K X 9 years (RM54K) untill age of 90 (not 92), I can get a BIG SUM ! (Projected return rclxub.gif rclxub.gif )

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 22 2014, 01:51 AM
TScutepet
post Sep 21 2014, 11:49 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(sillybearz @ Sep 21 2014, 11:21 PM)
go bank negara complain, say agent misell, you might get a full refund, anyway its 3 years already I am not sure whether it works or not. For what I know, somebody do that before the 2nd year payment and got their money back
I plan to do that lo.... U know the method to do so...

Do u I need to inform the agent first ?

Thanks notworthy.gif

QUOTE(6216 @ Sep 21 2014, 11:09 PM)
Adoi....forced saving is better than no saving. I tell you, if I don't have insurance and all the other stuff from Pru, GE, etc....I have money in hand....then I go spend buying car la, bike la, laptop la....better they take from my account annually.

6K per annum is quite small leh...just stick with it.
I m stingy type of people... I think I can save very well....

Though I admit I earn little... JUST BIG PORTION of money go to Investment/Saving..

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 21 2014, 11:51 PM
TScutepet
post Sep 22 2014, 08:40 PM

180 posts

I am looking for a solution lo...

Hope I can really get back my money wit little losses... I can accept minimal loss icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 08:59 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Girl99 @ Sep 23 2014, 12:23 AM)
Hi.. I also bought the exactly same plan that u had. HLA income builder.

Actually besides complaint n surrender. You may reduce the plan to the minimum amount with the guaranteed yearly income of rm500. This plan actually have 6 years, 9 years & 12 years.

The agent sell to u 9 years plan just to earn higher commission. You can actually reduce the premium lower instead of paying 6k a year and also change the term from 9yrs to 6yrs. the premium can be reduce to roughly 2k - 3k according to you age.

Actually this plan is good for retirement because you're just paying/saving for 6yrs/ 9yrs/ 12yrs but the guaranteed interest payable to us up to age 90. But of cos we will not wait until age 90. You may withdraw the interest like maybe 5 years once or 10 years once or maybe when in future for any emergency use.

Since you have save for 3 years d. Not worth it if you cancel now.

The latest plan they had is minimum 6k. Paying / saving for 6yrs but interest only payable up to 25 years only.

The best way, I think you reduce the premium or change the term to 6 years if u felt 9 years was too long for u.

Can simply change plan one ?? Mine one, yearly income RM1,000

This post has been edited by cutepet: Sep 23 2014, 08:59 AM
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 11:18 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 23 2014, 09:21 AM)
not change plan, reduce sum assured. you are allowed to do it. but check the calculations. but this is better than total loss.

CAN NOT !

CHANGE OF PLAN ONLY ALLOWED ON FIRST YEAR . Check wit customer care already... rclxub.gif
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 04:56 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 23 2014, 12:30 PM)
Change of plan, yes only allowed for first year. What you are doing, is NOT change of plan. This is called reduce sum assured.

Change of plan means change different product. I already said it's NOT change of plan. sweat.gif
Reduce sum assured? The customer care said can not.. I will try again...maybe she blur blur one..

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Sep 23 2014, 01:55 PM)
Total Money Paid 3 x RM6000 = RM18000

Value of Investment NOW (woi -35% NEGATIVE) meaning == RM18000 x 65% = RM11700

Next year 215 throw another RM6000 into sea

Value of Investment 2015 (woi -45% NEGATIVE) meaning == RM24000 x 55% = RM13200

TS cannot be Future Millionaire sure GOT Ghost

Actual loss is bigger than 35%. Need to wait next year cut off date only .... DON't know what to do lo..
TScutepet
post Sep 23 2014, 10:35 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Girl99 @ Sep 23 2014, 08:18 PM)
Yes you can reduce to yearly income of rm500(minimum). So that your premium will be lesser d.

What u need to do is, told the customer service that u wish to reduce the sum assured and they will let u sign a request change form to do so. One of my fren did this too.

For me, this is better than surrender and u lost your money and den go for other investment and few years later again u withdraw your investment/ saving. Ended up , didn't save anything but lost even more.

You get what I mean? 😁
I understand... Thanks...

I will try complain to Hong leong, after tht BNM . After tht, court...
TScutepet
post Sep 24 2014, 08:22 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 24 2014, 11:38 AM)
Harsh but true laugh.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

OK, I told my friend that time :" I know ur scheme not good one la, I can help u to buy. But, u give me minimum amount, I help u lo"

Shit, I regretted THE NEXT DAY! I won't cancel because friend..

Now,I decide to take action since friend no longer agent anymore... WITH LOUSY SERVICE fr HER too... mad.gif
OK, I suddenly awakening NOW
TScutepet
post Oct 2 2014, 11:26 PM

180 posts

UPDATE:

Hong Leong said will reply me in another 5 working days. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
TScutepet
post Oct 3 2014, 07:09 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(td00164306 @ Oct 3 2014, 12:58 AM)
To be honest, if you friend did not give false information or blank promise on how this plan works, then I don't see any reason why should HLB entertain such silly request.

I am sure you will break a laughter at their office when they read:"Dear Sir, I buy this bloody thing because of my friend. I am so stupiak I don't know what the hell is this and I bought. Now my friend is no longer working for you, can I withdraw and you please give me a full refund despite the policy has stated the otherwise and I already agreed and signed on the paper."

1 word. Mempersiasuikan.
U r not helping... Please..

Some more, double post.

I just try my best to get back money, which I know chances are slim.
TScutepet
post Oct 5 2014, 08:23 PM

180 posts

Thanks for all the input...

I will try my best to get back most of my money.. Or request to reduce premium OR worse case, continue to serve.

I do not think it is costly to take action. I done via phone & email. Even bring to court, it cost RM 5. And postage maybe RM 10+

0.0237sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:27 AM