Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

g88
post Jan 15 2016, 12:34 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jan 15 2016, 10:33 AM)
Any idea the touchup paint use what kind of thinner?
normal one that can get from hardware store.
derail
post Jan 16 2016, 10:53 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Jan 13 2016, 09:16 PM)
i mantain polishing and waxing every now and then all done by myself and even tried once detailing outside but it just seems that there will be tough dirt sticking on the clear coat or the wax i dont really know whats that called but i would really like to know what are the products that could prevent dirt from sticking on to my paint so that i dont really need to polish every 1month or so. AFAIK the normal suggested period for polishing and waxing should b around 3mths once if im not wrong hmm

anyhow, i washes my car every week whether rain or shine, using meguiars ultimate detailer and ultimate quik wax after drying up the car. but still, there will be black dirt stain after 1 week or 2 after polishing and waxing, what to do?   doh.gif
Meguiars ultimate quik detailer is not a polish. You use for a quick touch up or to clean some dirty spots on a fully waxed car or as clay lube but the normal non-ultimate quik detailer is cheaper as clay lube. Use a claybar first and ultimate compound or ultimate polish for polish if you want to stick with Meguiars. Maybe your car's paint still has some dirt which needs removing by claying/polishing and the wax isn't sticking well enough because of the dirt.

This post has been edited by derail: Jan 16 2016, 11:26 AM
busta_dude
post Jan 16 2016, 04:40 PM

302 posts

Got read from orsen web Saturday got open till 1.00pm, I rush there and arrive 12.00pm to see it closed. Am I missing something? Wanna shop for bucket and some spray bottle.
frozen7
post Jan 16 2016, 05:06 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Jan 16 2016, 04:40 PM)
Got read from orsen web Saturday got open till 1.00pm, I rush there and arrive 12.00pm to see it closed. Am I missing something? Wanna shop for bucket and some spray bottle.
Perhaps should try from their rear entry?
Just been there around 10am today.
busta_dude
post Jan 16 2016, 05:15 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jan 16 2016, 05:06 PM)
Perhaps should try from their rear entry?
Just been there around 10am today.
Go around the premises. But both grill shut. But the light inside got on. Or is it we need to call their worker to open?
frozen7
post Jan 16 2016, 05:45 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Jan 16 2016, 05:15 PM)
Go around the premises. But both grill shut. But the light inside got on. Or is it we need to call their worker to open?
I usually went on saturday. The front gate is closed during my first two visits.
Perhaps as per what you said, try calling them instead since the light still on. smile.gif
Bendan[520]
post Jan 17 2016, 12:03 AM

Nerd
1,021 posts

Sifus,

I just started washing my car seriously today with two bucket system..

I bought PG's polymer wash & wax and PG polymer sealant and microfibre cloth for RM35..

Use both products and found my car cleaner and shines... but somehow waterspots can't be removed.. feel like its not enough =/

Should I also buy the PG shine detailer and a clay? before I go into waxing?
KeithYen
post Jan 17 2016, 01:51 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Jan 16 2016, 04:40 PM)
Sorry but what is orsen Web? Where is it and what's sold there? Thanks:)
N33d
post Jan 17 2016, 11:56 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Jan 17 2016, 12:03 AM)
Sifus,

I bought PG's polymer wash & wax and PG polymer sealant and microfibre cloth for RM35..

Use both products and found my car cleaner and shines... but somehow waterspots can't be removed.. feel like its not enough =/

waterspot not so easy to remove as they are 'caked' mineral, not even clay will do much to it. it only become easier to remove after you dissolved them with acidic stuff

ideally u should prepare your surface adequately first(wash, clay, remove waterspot , etc) before u wax. else u just wax over those contaminant instead of the clear coat
lifeless_creature
post Jan 18 2016, 08:56 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Jan 17 2016, 12:03 AM)
Sifus,

More serious 'etched' watermarks u will need to polish, depending on the 'etched' on to your clearcoat/car paint, mild level ones u can do away with mild polish, more serious 1 you will need something more abrasive.

Once it is polished out, you need to seal it (wax, or sealant or any Last Step Protection solutions), so future watermarks will not be formed and makes your washing much easier.
linkin182
post Jan 18 2016, 09:16 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Jan 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
ur fren able to remove swirl, scratches or watermark with meg polish by hand? mind to share more how to do?
Hey eprince,

So I had some time during the weekend and gave it a go again.
Its still the same product but I have then changed to Meguiars Micro Fiber cloth.

This time I payed extra attention to the sponge, cloths and micro fibers.

1) Washed with a wool (or similar) sponge
2) Dried with a separate micro fiber "DRY" cloth
3) Waxed with another separate micro fiber cloth

The results to my surprise, was night and day.

I took this picture after my wash and you will notice the micro swirl marks left by years of neglected care.

Here's the results after applying JUST Meguiars Ultimate Quik Wax and using the Meguiars Supreme Shine Micro Fiber cloth.

I was really surprised with the results and I found this forum posting below that it seems Ultimate Quik Wax have some "Filling" capability.
Though I do not think that by just applying the Ultimate Quik Wax have "Corrected" the swirls, I believe the Micro Fiber cloth
may have applied the wax in a much finer manner and also spread the solution across better.

If you're doing by hand, you have to take note of:-
1) Elbow grease needed
2) Correct cloth
3) Correct method (small sections at a time)
- I split my bonnet/door panels by half
- For door panels, I did the top half first to avoid picking up dirt/dusts from the lower panels
- The roof, I split it into quarters 1/4 section

Forum Posting of Ultimate Quik Wax (or Review):-
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/produc...e-quik-wax.html

The correct method of applying any polish or waxes:-
http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showt...timate-Quik-Wax

I have yet to give Swirl X (ordered, waiting to arrive) a try and properly "Correct" the swirls,
but lets see if the swirls resurfaces after a few wash. Again, I dont think Ultimate Quik Wax have "Corrected" the swirls.

Will try to post more when I have the chance to give Swirl X a go!

Other than that, I hope this post helps you for your black car!
aori67
post Jan 18 2016, 12:49 PM

Hi guys,

i am new to the forum and have been spending quite some time reading the whole V4 thread. Initially i just wanted to save my 13 years old wira's paint which has been neglected all these years. So i started washing and claying and boy it was the most wonderful feeling claying those rough surface into glass smooth paint and i now am hooked to this feeling sad.gif although the paint surface now is much cleaner and smooth but there are still visible scratches and chips that i need to work on. So here am i reaching out to your guys to see if anyone is willing to let go their makitas or dewalt smile.gif So far i've tried the random orbital from Black&Decker but it is not good enough to remove the scratches.
g88
post Jan 18 2016, 01:39 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(aori67 @ Jan 18 2016, 12:49 PM)
Hi guys,

i am new to the forum and have been spending quite some time reading the whole V4 thread. Initially i just wanted to save my 13 years old wira's paint which has been neglected all these years. So i started washing and claying and boy it was the most wonderful feeling claying those rough surface into glass smooth paint and i now am hooked to this feeling sad.gif although the paint surface now is much cleaner and smooth but there are still visible scratches and chips that i need to work on. So here am i reaching out to your guys to see if anyone is willing to let go their makitas or dewalt smile.gif So far i've tried the random orbital from Black&Decker but it is not good enough to remove the scratches.
what product are you working with ? Any image to show which can define your issue more precise ?
aori67
post Jan 18 2016, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 18 2016, 01:39 PM)
what product are you working with ? Any image to show which can define your issue more precise ?
Hi g88,

here is some of the pics.

some of the scratches is hard to capture from my phone camera.

g88
post Jan 18 2016, 04:40 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(aori67 @ Jan 18 2016, 03:21 PM)
Hi g88,

here is some of the pics.

some of the scratches is hard to capture from my phone camera.
they look like clear coating gone soon or some deep scratches done by abrasive product. You may want a compound to fix this.
aori67
post Jan 18 2016, 05:20 PM

Yes, i wanna try if i can level the paint further and see how it goes. That's why i am looking for 2nd hand rotary buffer.
g88
post Jan 18 2016, 05:23 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(aori67 @ Jan 18 2016, 05:20 PM)
Yes, i wanna try if i can level the paint further and see how it goes. That's why i am looking for 2nd hand rotary buffer.
what your budget ? How about backing plate, foam pad, wool pad, product etc ?

aori67
post Jan 18 2016, 06:28 PM

around rm300-400 for RB,including the backing plate,pads if that's possible
linkin182
post Jan 18 2016, 07:28 PM

283 posts

Err I dont mean no offence but are you confident with the rotary buffer?

IMO, I would leave the power tools to the expert and maintain it through out the year with some diligent hand polish/waxing.
aori67
post Jan 18 2016, 09:56 PM

well, i have zero experience to be honest but i guess i need to start somewhere and if i just start with least aggressive product and pad and not go crazy with the speed of the buffer i should be alright right? Also this is an old car and i just want to see how much i can get out from this paint. If i can get this right then i am happy, if it goes south i am not too heart ache too smile.gif

So anyone willing to part with their rotaries? smile.gif

138 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:51 AM