[V25] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

krislee
post Nov 3 2014, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 3 2014, 03:25 PM)
black, white or camou?
Black, and I should rephrase, Filco Majestouch Ninja TKL w/ Browns.
ntw
post Nov 3 2014, 04:04 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(krislee @ Nov 3 2014, 12:25 PM)
I guess so  wink.gif  I only made that decision after rotating between 2 Filcos each sporting a Red switch & Brown switch.

Friends think I'm crazy to have two identical keyboards just to find my liking for a color switch (after knowing the cost) laugh.gif

I have never tried brown. Are you willing to lend it to me for testing brows.gif brows.gif
justnits
post Nov 3 2014, 05:30 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(krislee @ Nov 3 2014, 03:34 PM)
agak agak u want let go for how much?
nemesis94
post Nov 3 2014, 05:39 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(krislee @ Nov 3 2014, 03:34 PM)
Interested to hear the price too. tongue.gif
quovadis123
post Nov 3 2014, 05:42 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:39 PM)
Your 55g RF sold? laugh.gif
nemesis94
post Nov 3 2014, 05:47 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:42 PM)
Your 55g RF sold? laugh.gif
Yeah, unfortunately. cry.gif I rarely used it anymore after I got my HHKB, and now I kinda miss typing on it.
wildwestgoh
post Nov 3 2014, 05:51 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 3 2014, 05:30 PM)
agak agak u want let go for how much?
QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:39 PM)
I think I already confirm with him, erm.. hopefully he can let go to me with that price... sweat.gif
quovadis123
post Nov 3 2014, 05:55 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:47 PM)
Yeah, unfortunately.  cry.gif  I rarely used it anymore after I got my HHKB, and now I kinda miss typing on it.
I tot you like 55g Topre.
Do you want to mod your hhkb to 55g?
nemesis94
post Nov 3 2014, 05:58 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:55 PM)
I tot you like 55g Topre.
Do you want to mod your hhkb to 55g?
I've modded my HHKB to 55g+dental mod previously but it doesn't feel as good as I hoped it would be. A 55g HHKB without dental mod on the other hand is pretty fun to type on, but after trying 45g+dental, I feel like it is the best combination for my HHKB. Luckily, I didn't mod the HHKB to 55g and sell my 87U with mix 45g+55g dome with a huge loss. thumbup.gif
quovadis123
post Nov 3 2014, 06:00 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:58 PM)
I've modded my HHKB to 55g+dental mod previously but it doesn't feel as good as I hoped it would be. A 55g HHKB without dental mod on the other hand is pretty fun to type on, but after trying 45g+dental, I feel like it is the best combination for my HHKB. Luckily, I didn't mod the HHKB to 55g and sell my 87U with mix 45g+55g dome with a huge loss.  thumbup.gif
If you interested in modding 55g Topre again, do pm me. I do provide the service. laugh.gif
belfong
post Nov 3 2014, 11:17 PM

click clacking
864 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Nov 3 2014, 05:58 PM)
I've modded my HHKB to 55g+dental mod previously but it doesn't feel as good as I hoped it would be. A 55g HHKB without dental mod on the other hand is pretty fun to type on, but after trying 45g+dental, I feel like it is the best combination for my HHKB. Luckily, I didn't mod the HHKB to 55g and sell my 87U with mix 45g+55g dome with a huge loss.  thumbup.gif
They say the Type-S is way way better than 45g+dental mod. Since you like 45g+dental mod, you absolutely have to go Type-S!
dadudeneverabides
post Nov 3 2014, 11:52 PM

Mechanical Kuda Ping Keyboard
1,105 posts

Btw, Grifit arrived. Will do dsitribution thingy this weekend. Now busy with closing.
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 02:40 AM

68 posts

Hey guys..not sure if asking here is the right place..

I have been wanting for a mech KB since forever and i came across Tesoro Excalibur G7NL LED Backlit..

Pricing at around RM250..for a mech KB with backlit....is this the best bang for buck for a mech KB? Any thoughts on this? hmm.gif

Perhaps, any comments regarding...maybe if not regarding this particular model, maybe about Tesoro brand in general..I know that Ducky,Filco, CM Storm are some of the top recommended brands here (just by skimming thru the pages and the last few ones..)

Any advice from other experienced users of Mech KB are much appreciated..TQ! notworthy.gif
cloud8992
post Nov 4 2014, 03:17 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(lynmz @ Nov 4 2014, 03:40 AM)
Hey guys..not sure if asking here is the right place..

I have been wanting for a mech KB since forever and i came across Tesoro Excalibur G7NL LED Backlit..

Pricing at around RM250..for a mech KB with backlit....is this the best bang for buck for a mech KB? Any thoughts on this?  hmm.gif

Perhaps, any comments regarding...maybe if not regarding this particular model, maybe about Tesoro brand in general..I know that Ducky,Filco, CM Storm are some of the top recommended brands here (just by skimming thru the pages and the last few ones..)

Any advice from other experienced users of Mech KB are much appreciated..TQ! notworthy.gif
Tesoro Excalibur G7NL LED Backlit is not recommended cause its using china switches (cherry copy ) yes its cheap but very inconsistent at least that is what corsair said about it.
http://imgur.com/a/7ujle take a look here if you still think you are fine taking the risk you can try can give us more feedback about it
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 12:26 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(cloud8992 @ Nov 4 2014, 03:17 AM)
Tesoro Excalibur G7NL LED Backlit is not recommended cause its using china switches (cherry copy ) yes its cheap but very inconsistent at least that is what corsair said about it.
http://imgur.com/a/7ujle take a look here if you still think you are fine taking the risk you can try can give us more feedback about it
Damn it..i was misled into thinking it was Cherry switch all along...I was aiming for ducky zero then i came across this..it says here Cherry switch.. sweat.gif

Tesoro Excalibur -HeavyArm

Well..guess there goes my hype for it.... doh.gif

Thank you so much for pointing that out.. icon_idea.gif
quovadis123
post Nov 4 2014, 12:37 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(lynmz @ Nov 4 2014, 12:26 PM)
Damn it..i was misled into thinking it was Cherry switch all along...I was aiming for ducky zero then i came across this..it says here Cherry switch..  sweat.gif

Tesoro Excalibur -HeavyArm
Well..guess there goes my hype for it.... doh.gif

Thank you so much for pointing that out..  icon_idea.gif
The newer Tesoro Excalibur G7NL are using Kailh (for new specs) switches.
But, Tesoro do have MX Cherry version too for the same keyboard.
The HeavyArm probably Cherry MX, you need to confirm by yourself then.
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 12:54 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:37 PM)
The newer Tesoro Excalibur G7NL are using Kailh (for new specs) switches.
But, Tesoro do have MX Cherry version too for the same keyboard.
The HeavyArm probably Cherry MX, you need to confirm by yourself then.
So much choices of KB available..hard to decide rclxub.gif

Alright..Perhaps it is the cherry version that i saw..I will double check..thanks. nod.gif

After going back thru the pages further Filco brand comes out often...at what price range am i looking at if i want a backlit version? perhaps from the Filco Majestouch 2 range?

My budget is ~RM350..for now...looking for backlit version.and if the choices available are "meh"..then i might increase the budget further... notworthy.gif
quovadis123
post Nov 4 2014, 12:59 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(lynmz @ Nov 4 2014, 12:54 PM)

Alright..Perhaps it is the cherry version that i saw..I will double check..thanks. nod.gif

After going back thru the pages further Filco brand comes out often...at what price range am i looking at if i want a backlit version? perhaps from the Filco Majestouch 2 range?

My budget is ~RM350..for now...looking for backlit version.and if the choices available are "meh"..then i might increase the budget further... notworthy.gif
Price range for backlit, RM350-RM470.
If you interested on Filco price range for backlit, then go for CM Storm QuickFire Rapid-I.

If you just want lighting for typing, then I recommend you go IKEA or somewhere else to buy some table lamps and get a proper non-backlit keyboard.
wildwestgoh
post Nov 4 2014, 01:02 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(lynmz @ Nov 4 2014, 12:54 PM)

You will never find Filco with LED backlit, they're built for and intent for typist, thus unlike other "gaming" brand, there's no fancy nor extra features (not even a single Fn key; media, etc.) so it's just a normal keyboard. sweat.gif

p/s: The Filco 60% is exception. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Nov 4 2014, 01:09 PM
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 01:20 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:59 PM)
Price range for backlit, RM350-RM470.
If you interested on Filco price range for backlit, then go for CM Storm QuickFire Rapid-I.

If you just want lighting for typing, then I recommend you go IKEA or somewhere else to buy some table lamps and get a proper non-backlit keyboard.
from the looks it..i need to decide on what i really want..either backlit or no backlit....

Will look into that CM strom model as you suggested..thank you.

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 4 2014, 01:02 PM)
You will never find Filco with LED backlit, they're built for and intent for typist, thus unlike other "gaming" brand, there's no fancy nor extra features (not even a single Fn key; media, etc.) so it's just a normal keyboard. sweat.gif

p/s: The Filco 60% is exception. tongue.gif
Ah i see. I thought it was catered for the same target market. Maybe it is, but perhaps those extra features do come in handy at times.

I still have a lot more to research on I guess. There are still alot more to learn. Will keep following this thread to help me decide on my purchase.

Thanks so far to those who replied. Much appreciated thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

126 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:16 PM