[V25] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 02:40 AM

68 posts

Hey guys..not sure if asking here is the right place..

I have been wanting for a mech KB since forever and i came across Tesoro Excalibur G7NL LED Backlit..

Pricing at around RM250..for a mech KB with backlit....is this the best bang for buck for a mech KB? Any thoughts on this? hmm.gif

Perhaps, any comments regarding...maybe if not regarding this particular model, maybe about Tesoro brand in general..I know that Ducky,Filco, CM Storm are some of the top recommended brands here (just by skimming thru the pages and the last few ones..)

Any advice from other experienced users of Mech KB are much appreciated..TQ! notworthy.gif
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 12:26 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(cloud8992 @ Nov 4 2014, 03:17 AM)
Tesoro Excalibur G7NL LED Backlit is not recommended cause its using china switches (cherry copy ) yes its cheap but very inconsistent at least that is what corsair said about it.
http://imgur.com/a/7ujle take a look here if you still think you are fine taking the risk you can try can give us more feedback about it
Damn it..i was misled into thinking it was Cherry switch all along...I was aiming for ducky zero then i came across this..it says here Cherry switch.. sweat.gif

Tesoro Excalibur -HeavyArm

Well..guess there goes my hype for it.... doh.gif

Thank you so much for pointing that out.. icon_idea.gif
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 12:54 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:37 PM)
The newer Tesoro Excalibur G7NL are using Kailh (for new specs) switches.
But, Tesoro do have MX Cherry version too for the same keyboard.
The HeavyArm probably Cherry MX, you need to confirm by yourself then.
So much choices of KB available..hard to decide rclxub.gif

Alright..Perhaps it is the cherry version that i saw..I will double check..thanks. nod.gif

After going back thru the pages further Filco brand comes out often...at what price range am i looking at if i want a backlit version? perhaps from the Filco Majestouch 2 range?

My budget is ~RM350..for now...looking for backlit version.and if the choices available are "meh"..then i might increase the budget further... notworthy.gif
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 01:20 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:59 PM)
Price range for backlit, RM350-RM470.
If you interested on Filco price range for backlit, then go for CM Storm QuickFire Rapid-I.

If you just want lighting for typing, then I recommend you go IKEA or somewhere else to buy some table lamps and get a proper non-backlit keyboard.
from the looks it..i need to decide on what i really want..either backlit or no backlit....

Will look into that CM strom model as you suggested..thank you.

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 4 2014, 01:02 PM)
You will never find Filco with LED backlit, they're built for and intent for typist, thus unlike other "gaming" brand, there's no fancy nor extra features (not even a single Fn key; media, etc.) so it's just a normal keyboard. sweat.gif

p/s: The Filco 60% is exception. tongue.gif
Ah i see. I thought it was catered for the same target market. Maybe it is, but perhaps those extra features do come in handy at times.

I still have a lot more to research on I guess. There are still alot more to learn. Will keep following this thread to help me decide on my purchase.

Thanks so far to those who replied. Much appreciated thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 05:00 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(cloud8992 @ Nov 4 2014, 03:57 PM)
that is from their old stock but malaysia taking new cyntrix tech facebook they did reply saying if want cherry got for the higher end 1
Cyntrix Technologies G1NL is the Durandal Ultimate. It has red LED, USB Hub, Headphone Jack, Palm Rest, and Cherry switch. It's the mainstream model for Tesoro
Like ยท 21 October at 12:44

so ya they are indirectly telling you most are not cherry  whistling.gif
and for the Tesoro Excalibur G7NL Backlit Mechanical Keyboard there is a promotion for rm199 you just need to  bundle with any tesoro gears from any cyntrix reseller like heavyamrs
Interesting. Alright,as mentioned in past few posts that Tesoro is not quite recommended due to the Kailh switch. If the Durandal Ultimate comes with Cherry, is that a good choice for purchase? drool.gif

lynmz
post Nov 4 2014, 05:12 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 4 2014, 05:05 PM)
Why not Ducky? brows.gif
Why not Tesoro? cuz durandal is RED color backlit.for Ducky (assuming same price range would be Zero shine?) is blue LED (& orange...saw some images of orange ones..looks very vibrant..maybe would look as close to red..). Everyone knows RED allows u to type faster... brows.gif

jokes aside..i have a red & black theme going pairing it up with my laptop..

but,yes.Ducky is in my list to look out for as well...just listing out my options for now.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lynmz: Nov 4 2014, 05:14 PM

0.0490sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:20 PM