Compilation of Good And Bad Contractors V2

rhenadal
post Apr 21 2017, 01:22 PM

98 posts

What's that???? Tiles?
What a shit job!!!

Better tell him re-do leh. You will be living there and have to look at it everyday. Will be very sakit hati one.

The floor skirting grout lines are not even lined up with the floor tiles. I had my kitchen tiles removed and redone because it was not the design i wanted. Lucky i go everyday and he said not really hardened yet so dug all the tiles up and re-lay.

rupart
post Apr 25 2017, 02:40 PM

421 posts

really sorry to hear that...i know how painful it can be

wallau....got website samo to create impression that he is hi tech know-how guy...

if u have receipts or contracts etc...try complain in persatuan pengguna and see
splinter
post Apr 26 2017, 04:14 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

Any good recommended Contractor for Sg Besi condo?

Wanna do some works.

Electrical, cabinet, plaster ceilling and etc.

splinter
post Apr 26 2017, 04:37 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(noiseemunkee @ Sep 20 2016, 08:23 PM)
just sharing my current experience on my new condo renovation. currently we engaged Icon Factory as the turnkey ID & Contractor to do the design and renovation for my new condo, sized about 1500sqft. so far the experience is very pleasant. this is the second ID that we approached. and compared to the first one that we approached this team give us much better confidence to deliver the works. the team there are well verse about id and renovation and been patiently explaining all the details to us. last meeting with them took 5 hours to go through the details.  sweat.gif the work is still ongoing and so far so good. they are backed up by quite a comprehensive list of supplier. the designer also took alot of efforts to do the detailing and to incorporating our views and preference. finger cross that the end product will be great. thumbup.gif  rating given based on the experience doing business with them 4.5 stars.
Can pm me detail and how the price goes? Some ID do quote crazy price.
Neoraj
post Apr 28 2017, 12:36 PM

21 posts

Hi there guys, this thread has been an eye opener.

I need some help with getting a contact of a reliable contractor who can deliver on ID designs. I have already got ID designs made by an ID however the charges to construct it is ridiculously high being done by ID etc.

Does anyone know who can deliver an ID design reliably ? Basically just follow the designs and don't want anything else. Ideally a contractor who is experienced in both ID and construction.

Thank you.
micro_machine_77
post May 1 2017, 11:53 PM

29 posts

Just finished my renovation for my double storey terrace house at Kemuning and I had engaged 2 contractors (1 for general and 1 for bedroom wardrobe + study table). Based on my experience with them, I’m very satisfied with the job been done by these 2 contractors and decided to share it at here.

For Unity Kitchen:
Rating = 5/5
I get them to work on the wardrobe + study table based on the helpful reviews given by the forumer here and had no regret on it.

For general contractor:
I hired the below contractor for the main chunk of my renovation.

UB Renovation & Construction Works
TEL: 03-5131 4685 H/P: 019-373 9898 (William) & 019-606 0389 (William - Whatsapp)
No.42A, Jalan Kemuning Prima E33/E, Kemuning Utama, Sek 33, 40400 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan.

Below is the renovation work that I had done (basically, it’s a whole house renovation):
1. Auto-gate motor and security door + installation.
2. Plaster ceiling for living & dining hall + light points + air-cond piping
3. TV rack and backboard + unifi point
4. Dry kitchen cabinet + Quartz top + mosaic tile (3” x 6”) on wall between top cabinet and quartz top + sliding door
5. Wet kitchen concrete top + tiles and cabinet below + mosaic tile (3” x 6”) on wall above hob till ceiling height + exhaust fan
6. Backyard floor concrete with B.R.C + tiles + concrete wall fence + small gate + Roof + grill between roof and fence + concrete table top with tiles + wall tile at cooker wall and washing area wall.
7. Master room sliding door (for walk-in wardrobe) + air-cond piping + shower screen
8. Other bedrooms (x3) air-cond piping + water heater point
9. Painting for interior, exterior, grill, door and staircase handle + plaster ceiling (included paint)
10. Miscellaneous like additional power sockets + switch + light points, installation of appliances + lights + fans, plumber work on sink + toilet accessories + water leaking fixes and etc…

Rating = 5/5

The main reason for getting a general contractor for renovation was so that I just need to deal with 1 person/party and this 1 person/party will then help me to coordinate the renovation progress for me. I have to said that William from UB totally live up to my expectation where he always keeps me well inform not only on the progress but also on the things that I need to prepare for him on subsequent process (like sample of downlight before light hole cutting on plaster ceiling, paint color code on which wall before interior painting, light + fan + heater readiness before wireman coming over for installation, …etc). Even on the additional things that I requested, he will still help me to coordinate it.

One great thing about William was he really listen to my request and he will itemize it down clearly in the quotation. Any additional request that I make later during the renovation, he also gets it itemize clearly. He is also an honest contractor where whatever idea/request that I have which is not practical or do-able, he will straight advise me about it instead of keep saying yes. Also, he charged the additional request accordingly and reasonably.

Another great thing is he is well versed in English and very responsive on WhatsApp…!!! (I personally feel that this is something that you don’t usually see it from uncle which is 50 years old and above.) This had made my life easier to communicate with him as whatever ideas or questions that I have or whatever things that I think need to be touch up, I can just snap a photo or video, WhatsApp to him and he will reply back and then follow up on it.

For pricing wise, I can't say he is the cheapest 1 nor the most expensive 1, but it is negotiable and reasonable to me. During my quotation time, I do point out the pricing on some items are not competitive enough and he did look into it and then work out a better pricing for it. He even gave me some extra discount on the total amount of the initial quotation. Payment wise was 1K to confirm using his renovation services and then paid progressively after he completed certain progress for the renovation. For the additional items that I requested during the reno process, he did not take the advantage to mark up the price and charge me "kaw kaw" on it. In stead, he gave me an estimated price 1st and when I'm ok with it, he will then updated it into the additional item's quotation.

Lastly, I was really amazed that at the end of renovation, he did clean up the house for me…!!! Although not 100% clean but It is more like 80% clean and it had made my life much easier when I clean up the unit myself. Not to mention that he did finish up all the touch up on the things that I requested him to touch up.

So, I would say that the experience that I have with UB renovation is great, positive and I think he deserves a 5 stars rating from me. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by micro_machine_77: May 2 2017, 09:24 AM
rupart
post May 2 2017, 11:16 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(micro_machine_77 @ May 1 2017, 11:53 PM)

Just finished my renovation for my double storey terrace house at Kemuning and I had engaged 2 contractors (1 for general and 1 for bedroom wardrobe + study table). Based on my experience with them, I’m very satisfied with the job been done by these 2 contractors and decided to share it at here.

For Unity Kitchen:
Rating = 5/5
I get them to work on the wardrobe + study table based on the helpful reviews given by the forumer here and had no regret on it.

For general contractor:

TEL: 03-5131 4685 H/P: 019-373 9898 (William) & 019-606 0389 (William - Whatsapp)
No.42A, Jalan Kemuning Prima E33/E, Kemuning Utama, Sek 33, 40400 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan.

Below is the renovation work that I had done (basically, it’s a whole house renovation):
4. Dry kitchen cabinet + Quartz top + mosaic tile (3” x 6”) on wall between top cabinet and quartz top + sliding door
5. Wet kitchen concrete top + tiles and cabinet below + mosaic tile (3” x 6”) on wall above hob till ceiling height + exhaust fan
6. Backyard floor concrete with B.R.C + tiles + concrete wall fence + small gate + Roof + grill between roof and fence + concrete table top with tiles + wall tile at cooker wall and washing area wall.
7. Master room sliding door (for walk-in wardrobe) + air-cond piping + shower screen
9. Painting for interior, exterior, grill, door and staircase handle + plaster ceiling (included paint)
10. Miscellaneous like additional power sockets + switch + light points, installation of appliances + lights + fans, plumber work on sink + toilet accessories + water leaking fixes and etc… 

Rating = 5/5

The main reason for getting a general contractor for renovation was so that I just need to deal with 1 person/party and this 1 person/party will then help me to coordinate the renovation progress for me. I have to said that William from UB totally live up to my expectation where he always keeps me well inform not only on the progress but also on the things that I need to prepare for him on subsequent process (like sample of downlight before light hole cutting on plaster ceiling, paint color code on which wall before interior painting, light + fan + heater readiness before wireman coming over for installation, …etc). Even on the additional things that I requested, he will still help me to coordinate it.

One great thing about William was he really listen to my request and he will itemize it down clearly in the quotation. Any additional request that I make later during the renovation, he also gets it itemize clearly. He is also an honest contractor where whatever idea/request that I have which is not practical or do-able, he will straight advise me about it instead of keep saying yes. Also, he charged the additional request accordingly and reasonably.

Another great thing is he is well versed in English and very responsive on WhatsApp…!!! (I personally feel that this is something that you don’t usually see it from uncle which is 50 years old and above.) This had made my life easier to communicate with him as whatever ideas or questions that I have or whatever things that I think need to be touch up, I can just snap a photo or video, WhatsApp to him and he will reply back and then follow up on it.

For pricing wise, I can't say he is the cheapest 1 nor the most expensive 1, but it is negotiable and reasonable to me. During my quotation time, I do point out the pricing on some items are not competitive enough and he did look into it and then work out a better pricing for it. He even gave me some extra discount on the total amount of the initial quotation. Payment wise was 1K to confirm using his renovation services and then paid progressively after he completed certain progress for the renovation. For the additional items that I requested during the reno process, he did not take the advantage to mark up the price and charge me "kaw kaw" on it. In stead, he gave me an estimated price 1st and when I'm ok with it, he will then updated it into the additional item's quotation.

Lastly, I was really amazed that at the end of renovation, he did clean up the house for me…!!! Although not 100% clean but It is more like 80% clean and it had made my life much easier when I clean up the unit myself. Not to mention that he did finish up all the touch up on the things that I requested him to touch up.

So, I would say that the experience that I have with UB renovation is great, positive and I think he deserves a 5 stars rating from me.  thumbsup.gif
Thanks for sharing and good it worked out well for u

joshel
post May 12 2017, 02:28 PM

Avoid MG Home Builders (USJ). The owners are friendly and did finished the job scope, however seems to be inexperienced. They do not seem to have permanent workers too, thus the worker will only comes as and when they wish.

My cement floor comes out within days after the work completed. Uses wrong connector for water heater installation resulted in leaking, the plaster ceiling now with 4 holes that is getting bigger day by day.
HomeNurseServices
post May 17 2017, 01:37 AM

18 posts

Hi guys.

Just finished renovation to my dream home recently. I used the same contractor as previously.

I wanted to share a bit on my experience with Mr Yap's services.

For starters, he is very accommodating with your requests and can easily give you pros and cons for your request. And he help overcome the con so that you still get what you want without compromising quality.

Since we are living in the same house during the renovation process, the workers even make sure to keep everything clean while working indoors. They do a good job and follow up with all my requests. Especially when I wanted to a small gate to the entrance of my house. Very pleasant.

It is definitely a good experience and I'm so glad that I did not have to go through any horror stories like what I have read here.

Pricing was definitely reasonable as I compared with several companies on Kaodim and it was still within my budget. Not to mention the fact that he overlook minor fixes in order to help out.

Mr Yap even went above and beyond to make sure the job was done satisfactorily. Last day of reno, he personally show up (even though he did not have to) and fixed up last items with his team of technicians. I really appreciated that gesture.

Mr Yap's work in both my houses definitely left a lasting good impression. Will definitely recommend his service and can vouch his good work.

And since good things must be shared; contact details below. smile.gif

Yap Peng Kim
VNB Trading
Company Reg No: 002009406-P

This post has been edited by HomeNurseServices: May 17 2017, 01:38 AM

rupart
post May 18 2017, 10:34 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(HomeNurseServices @ May 17 2017, 01:37 AM)
Hi guys.

Just finished renovation to my dream home recently. I used the same contractor as previously.

I wanted to share a bit on my experience with Mr Yap's services.

For starters, he is very accommodating with your requests and can easily give you pros and cons for your request. And he help overcome the con so that you still get what you want without compromising quality.

Since we are living in the same house during the renovation process, the workers even make sure to keep everything clean while working indoors. They do a good job and follow up with all my requests. Especially when I wanted to a small gate to the entrance of my house. Very pleasant.

It is definitely a good experience and I'm so glad that I did not have to go through any horror stories like what I have read here.

Pricing was definitely reasonable as I compared with several companies on Kaodim and it was still within my budget. Not to mention the fact that he overlook minor fixes in order to help out.

Mr Yap even went above and beyond to make sure the job was done satisfactorily. Last day of reno, he personally show up (even though he did not have to) and fixed up last items with his team of technicians. I really appreciated that gesture.

Mr Yap's work in both my houses definitely left a lasting good impression. Will definitely recommend his service and can vouch his good work.

And since good things must be shared; contact details below.  smile.gif
Yap Peng Kim
VNB Trading
Company Reg No: 002009406-P
Is he general contractor?

HomeNurseServices
post May 19 2017, 10:21 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(rupart @ May 18 2017, 10:34 AM)
Is he general contractor?
Yes
cikdoralin
post Jun 1 2017, 04:21 AM

23 posts

micro_machine_77,

Hi..Is UB Construction a general contractor? Do they provide the services for kitchen cabinet+kitchen island and built-in wardrobe? Thanks.

This post has been edited by cikdoralin: Jun 1 2017, 04:25 AM
cikdoralin
post Jun 1 2017, 04:24 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(micro_machine_77 @ May 1 2017, 11:53 PM)

For Unity Kitchen:
Rating = 5/5

For general contractor:

Rating = 5/5

So, I would say that the experience that I have with UB renovation is great, positive and I think he deserves a 5 stars rating from me.  :thumbsup:
Hi..Is UB Construction a general contractor? Do they provide the services for kitchen cabinet+kitchen island and built-in wardrobe? Thanks
micro_machine_77
post Jun 3 2017, 12:45 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(cikdoralin @ Jun 1 2017, 05:24 AM)
Hi..Is UB Construction a general contractor? Do they provide the services for kitchen cabinet+kitchen island and built-in wardrobe? Thanks

Yes, UB is a general contractor which had helped me to coordinate most of the reno of my house.
He did provide the service for kitchen cabinet.
For kitchen island, my kitchen is not that big to fit-in an island but I think UB do provide the service too.
For built-in wardrobe, I was thinking to get IKEA but later on changed my mind and go for Unity Kitchen.

If you asked me why I did not get UK for kitchen cabinet, it was due to there are some services that UK does not provide like plumbing, wiring, small mosaic tiling and sliding door.
Although they can advise on it, but, that is not what I want as I don't have the time to coordinate it myself.
Therefore, I decided to use the services from UB.

cikdoralin
post Jun 3 2017, 01:28 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(micro_machine_77 @ Jun 3 2017, 12:45 AM)

Yes, UB is a general contractor which had helped me to coordinate most of the reno of my house.
He did provide the service for kitchen cabinet.
For kitchen island, my kitchen is not that big to fit-in an island but I think UB do provide the service too.
For built-in wardrobe, I was thinking to get IKEA but later on changed my mind and go for Unity Kitchen.

If you asked me why I did not get UK for kitchen cabinet, it was due to there are some services that UK does not provide like plumbing, wiring, small mosaic tiling and sliding door.
Although they can advise on it, but, that is not what I want as I don't have the time to coordinate it myself.
Therefore, I decided to use the services from UB.
ok. thanks for the reply! really helpful..
JudgeMental2017
post Jun 5 2017, 06:20 PM

QUOTE(funkar @ Feb 25 2016, 06:37 PM)
Stay away from Danial who does electrical work in one soho subang jaya. Cool Night Marketing 0178822824
JudgeMental2017
post Jun 5 2017, 06:25 PM

Also stay away from IT Design and Builders Sunway, they are run by a bunch of Bangladeshis hidden behind local representatives. They have no civil engineer qualification and certification. Their electrician are from Bangladesh and workers that cannot be relied upon. Always making mistakes and have to be taught by the customer how to do their job. Charge quite cheap but dont be penny wise pound foolish.
Everything can do .... hahaha engage at your own risk
coyouth
post Jun 7 2017, 12:16 AM

820 posts

QUOTE(JudgeMental2017 @ Jun 5 2017, 06:25 PM)
Also stay away from IT Design and Builders Sunway, they are run by a bunch of Bangladeshis hidden behind local representatives. They have no civil engineer qualification and certification. Their electrician are from Bangladesh and workers that cannot be relied upon. Always making mistakes and have to be taught by the customer how to do their job. Charge quite cheap but dont be penny wise pound foolish.
you can see that i've already provided feedback about this contractor on the first page listing. somehow, the admin seem to have deleted my feedback coz post #62 refers to another comment now.

7) General Contractor
Vendor Lowyat ID : Service Location : Name/Com : Contact ==> NA : Klang Valley, 019-3792982 Rafiq, IT Design & Builders Sdn. Bhd

5 stars - 0
4 stars - 0
3 stars - 0
2 stars - 0
1 stars - 1 (coyouth)

Feedback comments :
coyouth: Refer to post #62

the pic above is the face of the useless bangladeshi boss.

This post has been edited by coyouth: Jul 8 2017, 01:25 AM
coyouth
post Jun 7 2017, 12:47 AM

820 posts

QUOTE(JudgeMental2017 @ Jun 5 2017, 06:25 PM)
too bad i didn't check their ssm info beforehand to find out that the owner is a bangladeshi bangwall.gif

Registration Number 810602-M
Entity Name IT DESIGN & BUILDERS SDN. BHD.
GST Number 002083557376

xiaohui_214
post Jun 13 2017, 02:58 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(cikdoralin @ Jun 3 2017, 01:28 AM)
ok. thanks for the reply! really helpful..
want ask the UB price to do cabinet ok?

27 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:04 PM