191 Pages « < 182 183 184 185 186 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

Max-
post Mar 20 2015, 08:49 PM

33 posts

Hi guys, looking for a lightweight laptop

1. Preferred Brand:Any Brand
2. Budget: 2k-3k
3. Usage : for office work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any size
clicckyy2211
post Mar 20 2015, 10:56 PM

Hi Im a college student, studying designs... not much to use for gaming, but sometimes will ply Steam game like csgo. I pretty like macbook pro, but is it worth that buying it with that 'kind' of specs? I mean storage.. anyway still need u guys' opinion. Pls...

1. Brand : Apple, dell or asus? (Scare of Asus's service)
2. Budget : RM5000-6000
3. Usage : Work, study, daily usage, seldom gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : whatever
KL Barracuda2
post Mar 21 2015, 07:58 AM

14 posts

Dear Sirs,

Recommendations much appreciated :-

1. Preferred Brand: Dell
2. Budget: Not more than RM3,000
3. Usage: office, web browsing, gaming, photoshopping
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 inches
5. Most importantly should be as durable as possible (tahan lasak) - bcos my son uses it 12 hours a day (That's why we choose Dell for its great 2 years warranty - takut "mati" lepas 6 bulan.)

Selected the popular 7447 but was told no more stock (Dah jadi EOL : "End-Of-Life"). Now considering the new Inspiron 5445 (with fifth generation new I7-5500 chip). Bros, anyone use this chip before?. New model . . . takut beli lemon lappy.

Thanks in advance any invaluable input.

Cheers

This post has been edited by KL Barracuda2: Mar 21 2015, 08:19 AM
bananazero2000
post Mar 21 2015, 08:10 AM

163 posts

Sifus.... Please Help

i need a Laptop budget around 3k, biggest purpose is for gaming and video editing, can recommend a 'worth every cents' laptop? FKING GST coming, no choice already.....

PREFERRED BRAND: ANYTHING WILL DO, ONLY MATTERS IS THE AFTER SALES SERVICE AND QUALITY, DUN SPOIL IN 2 YEARS ......
BUDGET : 3000
USAGE: GAMING/AUDIO PRODUCTION/MOVIES ETC
SIZE AND WEIGHT: DOESNT MATTER IM STRONG

also i want to use Windows 7 le, Windows 8 I dun like, how ah?

This post has been edited by bananazero2000: Mar 21 2015, 08:13 AM
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 10:27 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(clicckyy2211 @ Mar 20 2015, 10:56 PM)
Hi Im a college student, studying designs... not much to use for gaming, but sometimes will ply Steam game like csgo. I pretty like macbook pro, but is it worth that buying it with that 'kind' of specs? I mean storage.. anyway still need u guys' opinion. Pls...

1. Brand : Apple, dell or asus? (Scare of Asus's service)
2. Budget : RM5000-6000
3. Usage : Work, study, daily usage, seldom gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : whatever
Design as in which area ? Interior design ? 3D rendering ?
The new MB is spec is not as good as the previous, if you really want MB, get the previous version. The new one is quite a facepalm, Intel M processor and need to get external adapter for more ports doh.gif
Do note if you get MB, you can't play CSGO on high settings 1080p. You may play it but you hardly can get 60fps abv.
Your budget is very high. If you seldom game, just get Business grade laptop. It is more reliable and built quality is better.
Thinkpad, Latitude and Elitebook are all your choice. IF you want gaming capability then get one with dgpu.
If not then go for gaming laptop. Your budget can get gtx970m already.
ILLEGEAR S5 / D5, Asus G751JT, MSI GE62 2QF etc.
LimYiHui
post Mar 21 2015, 11:10 AM

77 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Anything except Acer and Samsung
2. Budget - around RM5,500
3. Usage - for university. Looking for a battery life of about 8-10 hours with light-medium usage? Touchscreen is a must laugh.gif
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Minimum 13"

Dear sifus, I'll be using this laptop in the uni, and the field that I am in requires me to use the laptop outside the classroom often. Meaning I'll be walking about with the laptop in my hands, so a light portable laptop will definitely be better.

I am currently looking at the new 2015 Dell XPS13, i7 with touchscreen, but if any sifus know of a laptop with touchscreen, i5/i7, with good battery life and doesnt weigh much then I'd consider them also! I do some light gaming every now and then, so HD5500 should be enough but a dedicated GC wouldn't hurt smile.gif Thankiuuuuu
clicckyy2211
post Mar 21 2015, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 21 2015, 10:27 AM)
Design as in which area ? Interior design ? 3D rendering ?
The new MB is spec is not as good as the previous, if you really want MB, get the previous version. The new one is quite a facepalm, Intel M processor and need to get external adapter for more ports doh.gif
Do note if you get MB, you can't play CSGO on high settings 1080p. You may play it but you hardly can get 60fps abv.
Your budget is very high. If you seldom game, just get Business grade laptop. It is more reliable and built quality is better.
Thinkpad, Latitude and Elitebook are all your choice. IF you want gaming capability then get one with dgpu.
If not then go for gaming laptop. Your budget can get gtx970m already.
ILLEGEAR S5 / D5, Asus G751JT, MSI GE62 2QF etc.
Lol im not interested that new MB la...is MBP...
Anyway, is gaming laptop reliable? Which brand is better?
Note that im a seldom gaming guy. I know gaming laptop comes with higher specs, but also heard gaming laptop always problemed...
I need a laptop that can hold as longer as possible, i dunwn any problems if possible, i hate to going to service centre hahaha..

This post has been edited by clicckyy2211: Mar 21 2015, 11:16 AM
LovelyPotato
post Mar 21 2015, 11:23 AM

647 posts

Recommendations much appreciated :-

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: Under RM1.5k, lower better (budget limited) but hopefully with sshd
3. Usage: Office, web browsing, mainly for GST accounting, no gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any, but lighter/thinner better
5. a. Preferably SSHD (even with 8GB is good enough) for fast boot, no need god spec, enough to run GST compliance software then ok already.
b. Comes with original windows, 7 or 8 doesn't matter
c. Hopefully it can last for quite a while since it is for company use

http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/asu...p-notebook.html

Is Intel Atom good enough for accounting software?

This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Mar 21 2015, 11:35 AM
myway1985
post Mar 21 2015, 11:49 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(LimYiHui @ Mar 21 2015, 11:10 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Anything except Acer and Samsung
2. Budget - around RM5,500
3. Usage - for university. Looking for a battery life of about 8-10 hours with light-medium usage? Touchscreen is a must laugh.gif
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Minimum 13"

Dear sifus, I'll be using this laptop in the uni, and the field that I am in requires me to use the laptop outside the classroom often. Meaning I'll be walking about with the laptop in my hands, so a light portable laptop will definitely be better.

I am currently looking at the new 2015 Dell XPS13, i7 with touchscreen, but if any sifus know of a laptop with touchscreen, i5/i7, with good battery life and doesnt weigh much then I'd consider them also! I do some light gaming every now and then, so HD5500 should be enough but a dedicated GC wouldn't hurt smile.gif Thankiuuuuu
intel 5500 can play dota 2
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 12:20 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(clicckyy2211 @ Mar 21 2015, 11:15 AM)
Lol im not interested that new MB la...is MBP...
Anyway, is gaming laptop reliable? Which brand is better?
Note that im a seldom gaming guy. I know gaming laptop comes with higher specs, but also heard gaming laptop always problemed...
I need a laptop that can hold as longer as possible, i dunwn any problems if possible, i hate to going to service centre hahaha..
If you're really not going to game a lot, especially high demanding game, then get business grade laptop. Business grade laptop built quality is better and will surely last you at least 3-5 years if you take care of it.
Thinkpad and Latitude is quite common in this area. Just make sure you get a unit which is upgrade-friendly. (no onboard ram, support up to at least 16gb ram, SSD slot etc etc.)
If you're rich, then you can go ahead and get MBP or Dell XPS 13. These 2 unit is damn slim and battery life is damn long. But their spec is not as good as you expected. U series processor is not meant for multitasking and heavy processing.

This post has been edited by miong93: Mar 21 2015, 12:20 PM
xowangzi
post Mar 21 2015, 01:47 PM

281 posts

Currently using Lenovo y500 SLI GT650m running Ubunbu Gnome. Intern as IOS Developer. Going to pursue final year degree in Computer science in US.

Not sure whether to continue building apps for IOS. But looking for a premium build laptop. Planning to pass this Gaming laptop to my younger bro as I don't need so much GPU power.

If money is not a problem. What's the best laptop for programmer/ developer ?

- premium build quality
- support 2x external monitor
- resolution as high as possible. 2k or 4k
- ram : 16gm (multi VMs)
- Disk : ( anti HDD only SSD)
- more CPU less GPU. Intel GPU is fine. Afaik, intel gpu can now support 3x display.

- wait for 2015 mbpr 15' refresh?
- Dell Precision M3800 mobile workstation, developer edition (ubuntu), it has quadro, overpowered GPU. i dont think i need that.
- Any think pad series reached my requirements ? (i know they're good in build quality)
- or any other recommendation, other developer what are you using ?

This post has been edited by xowangzi: Mar 21 2015, 01:48 PM
Hapeng
post Mar 21 2015, 02:05 PM

1,031 posts

Dear Sirs,

Thank you in advance,

1. Preferred Brand: None
2. Budget: Not more than RM3,000
3. Usage: office, web browsing, gaming

Looking for a business grade laptop that'll last me for a bit.

pandi
post Mar 21 2015, 03:44 PM

23 posts

1. Preferred Brand-MSI,Dell,Lenovo
2. Budget-5k-5.5k
3. Usage-College (studying IT),Light gaming like Dota2, CSGO
4. Preferred laptop/screen size-15-17

Looking into MSI GE62 2QF, 2015 MacbookPro , Dell XPS , or Lenovo Y50 . Dont know which one to choose , prefer light, long battery life.
evofantasy
post Mar 21 2015, 04:13 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Mar 21 2015, 01:47 PM)
Currently using Lenovo y500 SLI GT650m running Ubunbu Gnome. Intern as IOS Developer. Going to pursue final year degree in Computer science in US.

Not sure whether to continue building apps for IOS. But looking for a premium build laptop. Planning to pass this Gaming laptop to my younger bro as I don't need so much GPU power.

- premium build quality
- more CPU less GPU. Intel GPU is fine. Afaik, intel gpu can now support 3x display.

- Dell Precision M3800 mobile workstation, developer edition (ubuntu), it has quadro, overpowered GPU. i dont think i need that.
- Any think pad series reached my requirements ? (i know they're good in build quality)
for your current field, I guess a MBP would be better.
you can get the academic discount as well.
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 04:58 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Mar 21 2015, 01:47 PM)

- premium build quality

As evo said, MBPr is your best bet if you're still going for IOS or Apple development.
If you're totally not into Apple development already, get Thinkpad or Latitude. Most business grade laptop that has high end CPU comes with quadro card, so no choice but to get it though.

fudoyuseix
post Mar 21 2015, 05:37 PM

161 posts

Sifus, I need a light laptop for uni that has a long battery life. Any good Windows laptop that can compete with the Macbook Air besides Dell XPS 13? Not really considering the Surface because storage is too small... It'll be better for me if the screen quality is around 1080p and above.

1. Brand : Asus or any other brands (Worried about Acer's quality)
2. Budget : RM3000-RM4000
3. Usage : study, typing document and doing presentation, web browsing, watch videos, no gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 inches or smaller

Thanks~

This post has been edited by fudoyuseix: Mar 21 2015, 05:40 PM
dude06
post Mar 21 2015, 06:15 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(dude06 @ Oct 13 2014, 11:59 PM)
Hi All,

Need advise and opinion here...smile.gif

1. Preferred Brand    : Lenovo or Dell...Other reliable and stable brand also can.
2. Budget                  : Less than 1.5k
3. Usage                    : Internet surfing, FB, Email, MS, Car diagnostic 
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Any size will do.

-Need a stable machine and good battery life. Intel HD will do because wont play any game at all.

-Free DOS and I will be using WIN 7.

Thanks for recommendation    smile.gif
Dear All, icon_question.gif

I bought the Asus TP300 running on Win8.1 previously and unfortunately, I am unable to downgrade it to Win 7 or Win XP. Sold it off and I need an advise again on my purchase of laptop. sad.gif

1. Preferred Brand : Lenovo, Asus or Dell...Other reliable and stable brand also can. Looking at entry level portable such as Lenovo S series,Dell Vostro or any equivalent

2. Budget : Less than 2.0k

3. Usage : Internet surfing, FB, Email, MS, Car diagnostic

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 inches and below.

-Need a stable machine and good battery life. Intel HD will do because wont play any game at all.

-Free DOS and I will be using Win XP or WIN 7.

Thanks again and hope to get more opinion here... notworthy.gif
icecreamcake
post Mar 21 2015, 08:24 PM

307 posts

Hi guys

Please help my friend to choose a laptop.

1. Preferred Brand : Lenovo or Dell
2. Budget : Less than 1.7-1.9k
3. Usage : Internet surfing, coding, dota2, watch video
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14"-15.6"

-reliable
-Free DOS or win8.1 also can

Thanks all biggrin.gif
unlimitedlogic
post Mar 21 2015, 11:03 PM

Sensei of laptop recommendation
I'm in need to buy laptop before gst start soon, so I would appreciate if can next week settle the laptop

1. Preferred Brand : Lenovo / Dell / Asus (Asus would suite me best)
2. Budget : below 3k but if splurge a bit i don't mind
3. Usage : Internet , torrent , dota2, movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15"-ish to 17-ish

something that would be reliable in both performance and cooling in gaming.
If lowyat store selling asus n550 or n750 ,pm me(since i cant find it i assume is sold out)

hahaha1
post Mar 21 2015, 11:21 PM

112 posts

Hi all, need some suggestions on a new laptop

1. Brand: preferably a reliable brand that can last long
2. Budget: 2-2.5k
3. Usage: Watch movies, work usage
4. Size: 15", 1Tb hard disk space

Thanks!

191 Pages « < 182 183 184 185 186 > » Top