191 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

chocobo7779
post Aug 13 2014, 07:38 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2014, 07:09 PM)
Not really sure what's required of an Architecture notebook, but can consider this:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265@RM1899[2.02kg], 4GB, 500GB, Linux, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support; W8.1SL@RM2099
hmm.gif Is there a huge difference between 4200M and 4210U? hmm.gif
Hann13
post Aug 13 2014, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2014, 07:11 PM)
Usually I would recommend going for Dell for students; at least the fixing duration is fast (1-2 working days) if the notebook breaks down nod.gif
still
15.6"
Asus
G56JR-CN260H, i5-4200H + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080)@RM3299[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

*prices in RRP; upgrade to at least 8GB RAM
How about Lenovo Z50? Do you think that will cope with my needs ? Because i'm trying to lower my budget as i can cry.gif
Thanks anyway ! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Hann13: Aug 13 2014, 08:28 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 08:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pcteh83@yahoo.com @ Aug 13 2014, 07:31 PM)
Thank you for your precious advice, I actually followed all your thread since first page, fantastic job of yours.
Just few questions:

1.  Is FHD experience in Flex 14-2 very big difference as compared with those 1366 x 768?
2. Do you have a link to review on HP Envy 14-k119TX, HP Pavilion 14-V011TX and  HP Envy 14-K125TX , really difficult to find, is it different model used internationally?
3. Devices below are the one in my mind after read through all your suggestions, which one has the better speaker? 
1. Dell Inspiron 14' 7000 (i5, 4 GB RAM)
2. Dell Vostro 14' 5470 (i5, 4GB RAM)
3. Lenovo Flex 14-2 (i5, 8GB RAM)
4. HP Envy 14-k119TX (i5, 4GB RAM)
5. HP Pavilion 14-V011TX (i5, 4GB RAM)
6. HP Envy 14-K125TX (i5, 4GB RAM)
7. Toshiba U40T-A102 (i5, 4GB RAM)

Thank you in advance.
Thank you man, appreciate it notworthy.gif
Yes, the resolution difference between FullHD and HD is very significant nod.gif
However, it also depends on whether you really need the FullHD screen or not nod.gif If you don't do a lot of spreadsheets, photo editing or perhaps multitask (I love to watch movie and surf net at the same time laugh.gif), then FullHD or not doesn't really matter nod.gif Unless if you love watching high quality movies with rich sounds and have a budget limited to RM2.5k~

Those HP Envy are quite old already, I don't recall HP refreshing those lines, still, I might be outdated already laugh.gif

Most notebooks do not have great speakers, even those that do have them can be easily pawned with a cheapo RM100 external speakers laugh.gif

Still, how about taking a look at these:
14"
HP
Pavilion 14-V011TX, i5-4210U + Nvidia GT830M@RM1999[BeatsAudio][1.98kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: silver/white/red
Pavilion 14-V023TX, i7-4510U + Nvidia GT840M@RM2499[BeatsAudio][1.98kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: silver/white/red

Go and test see whether the Beats are really that good XD

If strictly choosing from the list above, I would definitely pick the Insiron 14 7000 with warranty coverage laugh.gif I like that laptop alot, very premium for its price range thumbup.gif But that's just me la, you probably have higher expectations than I do laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2014, 08:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 13 2014, 07:38 PM)
hmm.gif Is there a huge difference between 4200M and 4210U? hmm.gif
Quite a big difference between CPU performance and also battery life nod.gif
So it all depends on what you expect of your notebook, the former or the latter icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Hann13 @ Aug 13 2014, 08:28 PM)
How about Lenovo Z50? Do you think that will cope with my needs ? Because i'm trying to lower my budget as i can  cry.gif
Thanks anyway ! notworthy.gif
Well, the Z50 and others are one-class lower, so the games you can play at decent settings are also affected nod.gif
However, please do take note that the RM2799 variant of the Z50 is not worth it (the RM2.3k variant is), go for the Flex-2 14 instead icon_rolleyes.gif
chocobo7779
post Aug 13 2014, 08:57 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2014, 08:52 PM)
Quite a big difference between CPU performance and also battery life nod.gif
So it all depends on what you expect of your notebook, the former or the latter  icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, the Z50 and others are one-class lower, so the games you can play at decent settings are also affected nod.gif
However, please do take note that the RM2799 variant of the Z50 is not worth it (the RM2.3k variant is), go for the Flex-2 14 instead  icon_rolleyes.gif
Performance... whistling.gif tongue.gif
sheng291
post Aug 13 2014, 09:13 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(mycerdas @ Aug 13 2014, 05:53 AM)
Thanks for your input...
I would love to get MBA but afraid there will be compatibility issues with software that i need to install for my work.
Soo, decided to get a laptop with windows instead.

Does a setup of 128gb ssd + 1tb hdd is enough? I am doing heavy work with excel with lots of files and data.
or going for pure 512gb SSD will give more impact on the performance?
If possible, would like to keep the budget low if the difference is not that much of a difference  icon_rolleyes.gif

Any laptop recommendation please....
well, unless you install your excel, and save your file in ssd, else there will be difference between hving the file in hdd and ssd.
how 'lot' files you have? 256G ssd cnt handle it?
For laptop wise , can giv better suggestion
Lil Kiasu
post Aug 13 2014, 10:22 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2014, 02:48 PM)
You are most welcomed bro notworthy.gif

Yeah, replaced by the newer generations of tablets  tongue.gif
Eheh... Ya lor... Nowadays I bring my old VX6s, my junior mates thought new laptop... doh.gif They're only familliar with tabs and big phones now...

Anyways, I'll continue lurking for now... ph34r.gif Gonna help parents to hunt the laptop later...

Thanks a lot...
mycerdas
post Aug 14 2014, 06:02 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Aug 13 2014, 09:13 PM)
well, unless you install your excel, and save your file in ssd, else there will be difference between hving the file in hdd and ssd.
how 'lot' files you have? 256G ssd cnt handle it?
For laptop wise , can giv better suggestion
Yes, 256gb should be sufficient.
Can give some laptop suggestions please. icon_rolleyes.gif
sheng291
post Aug 14 2014, 10:09 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(mycerdas @ Aug 14 2014, 06:02 AM)
Yes, 256gb should be sufficient.
Can give some laptop suggestions please.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ideapad Flex 2-14, i5-4210U + Nvidia 840M +(1920x1080; IPS touch)@RM2499[2kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8.1, 2 yrs; colors: red/white
Z50-70, i5-4210U,Nvidia 840M + (1920x1080)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8.1, 2 yrs

The only 2 laptop I can find with FHD under 2.5k, as swapping a 256SSD and add 4G ram will cost you around 500++
Speedy~
post Aug 14 2014, 10:38 AM

181 posts

Guys,

Please help, i am looking for a laptop

1. Brands: Any brands would do
2. Usage: Coding & Dota 2 (High setting)
3. Budget: < rm 3,000.00
4. Preference: Does'nt overheat easily

There's some model that i shortlisted, unsure if it's suitable for my usage.

- MSI GP60 2PE Leopard Pro i7 model around RM 2,999
- Lenovo y410p, but this model pretty hard to find.

Please advise

This post has been edited by Speedy~: Aug 14 2014, 10:40 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 11:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Speedy~ @ Aug 14 2014, 10:38 AM)
Guys,

Please help, i am looking for a laptop

1. Brands: Any brands would do
2. Usage: Coding & Dota 2 (High setting)
3. Budget: < rm 3,000.00
4. Preference: Does'nt overheat easily

There's some model that i shortlisted, unsure if it's suitable for my usage.

- MSI GP60 2PE Leopard Pro i7 model around RM 2,999
- Lenovo y410p, but this model pretty hard to find.

Please advise
Yes, both are suitable nod.gif
Go for the 15 incher if you want cooler temps icon_rolleyes.gif
Speedy~
post Aug 14 2014, 12:08 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 14 2014, 11:58 AM)
Yes, both are suitable nod.gif
Go for the 15 incher if you want cooler temps  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks, another question, do u think it's worth for an upgrade for gtx850m for another extra rm400? Or do you think good enough settling 840m for my case

This post has been edited by Speedy~: Aug 14 2014, 12:17 PM
Jaremkell
post Aug 14 2014, 12:21 PM

34 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: below 2.7K
3. Usage: Gaming, Illustrator, Photoshop, Torrent
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: i7, 8GB RAM, with DVD Tray so later can convert to SSD

Thank you.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 12:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Speedy~ @ Aug 14 2014, 12:08 PM)
Thanks, another question, do u think it's worth for an upgrade for gtx850m for another extra rm400? Or do you think good enough settling 840m for my case
Dota 2 is not demanding, so its alright to stick to the previous ones nod.gif

Speedy~
post Aug 14 2014, 12:24 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 14 2014, 12:23 PM)
Dota 2 is not demanding, so its alright to stick to the previous ones nod.gif
Thanks alot bro rclxms.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2014, 01:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Jaremkell @ Aug 14 2014, 12:21 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: below 2.7K
3. Usage: Gaming, Illustrator, Photoshop, Torrent
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: i7, 8GB RAM, with DVD Tray so later can convert to SSD

Thank you.
Lenovo Y410p? hmm.gif
Jaremkell
post Aug 14 2014, 01:44 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 14 2014, 01:41 PM)
Lenovo Y410p?  hmm.gif
Only this model?
pandera999
post Aug 14 2014, 02:35 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Jaremkell @ Aug 14 2014, 01:44 PM)
Only this model?
good model with decent spec at the moment.. brows.gif
Jaremkell
post Aug 14 2014, 02:38 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 14 2014, 02:35 PM)
good model with decent spec at the moment..  brows.gif
Cool. Thank you very much! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Jaremkell
post Aug 14 2014, 02:40 PM

34 posts

Just to be sure, does this model comes with 4GB or 8GB RAM? Some I see is with 4 some is 8.

191 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:35 AM