Chipset cooler, discussion and suggestion

a1098113
post Aug 15 2007, 07:36 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Aug 15 2007, 07:30 PM)
u r mentioning losely mounting + vibration but me is proper mounting + minor vibration smile.gif
but still..wat u say is true in this case where the thermal paste is useless
Hmm proper mounting and minor vibration, still the thermal paste is not a significant contributor... the only significant contributor here is the contact...between the core and the cooler:) And if there is any form of vibration, it would not affect normal comp users, but in high performance or overclocking. Vibration by fans can be annoying. My verdict, passive cooling with a copper core and aluminium fins.
TScoolice
post Aug 15 2007, 07:52 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 15 2007, 07:36 PM)
Hmm proper mounting and minor vibration, still the thermal paste is not a significant contributor... the only significant contributor here is the contact...between the core and the cooler:) And if there is any form of vibration, it would not affect normal comp users, but in high performance or overclocking. Vibration by fans can be annoying. My verdict, passive cooling with a copper core and aluminium fins.
like i say just now..help abit,not significant smile.gif
K3N
post Aug 15 2007, 07:53 PM

97 posts

This is wat happens when senior members are taking too seriously in facts worrying that newbies might misunderstood...well, to a large forum with so many forumers like lyn, i'm sure someone will point out the mistake and all it takes is to edit the wrong fact... lolhalol might be just trying to point out the wrong fact...its just that he sounded in the wrong way which led to all the misunderstanding
QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 15 2007, 05:32 PM)
..maybe coz cigarets rise in price so need to cut down..
yea... maybe thats the culprit behind the whole misunderstanding nod.gif nod.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

So chill and continue to serve this forum to make it a better place for the newbies... we appreciate both of your efforts very much notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

empire23
post Aug 15 2007, 08:16 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 14 2007, 03:37 PM)
bro u were implying it ( damaged core) and im talking like this coz im getting sick of people not researching their claims first... this is what killing or forums... inconsistencies in facts leading to many newbies getting it wrong... im not saying all ur posts are not right.. its just this one post bout the x38 ihs...  im notbeing harsh.. im being direct...  what does teh rm 100 got to do with anything??
I'm being fair by saying he didn't imply it.

He's right, vibration can kill contact which in turn results in higher temps, not by alot, but still, it exists, and it does disturb the channels and filling created by thermal paste. About the X38, he is also correct, as you get more surface area, force is distributed more evenly and thus there's less disturbance across a higher area. Newton's law at work (what i believe he's trying to imply). That's why even though newton's law dictates that for every force there is an equal and opposite force, a man can fire a .50 BMG without getting his arm ripped off, because the acting surfact area for recoil transfer is that much higher, although the kenetic force is still the same. Note that this applies to 2 solid bodies assuming linear oscillation.

Point is that I win.

Anyone who wants to lawan can take it up with Pak Cik Fourier laugh.gif
a1098113
post Aug 15 2007, 10:45 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 15 2007, 08:16 PM)

He's right, vibration can kill contact which in turn results in higher temps, not by alot, but still, it exists, and it does disturb the channels and filling created by thermal paste. About the X38, he is also correct, as you get more surface area, force is distributed more evenly and thus there's less disturbance across a higher area. Newton's law at work (what i believe he's trying to imply). That's why even though newton's law dictates that for every force there is an equal and opposite force, a man can fire a .50 BMG without getting his arm ripped off, because the acting surfact area for recoil transfer is that much higher, although the kenetic force is still the same. Note that this applies to 2 solid bodies assuming linear oscillation.

Point is that I win.

Anyone who wants to lawan can take it up with Pak Cik Fourier  laugh.gif
I do agree with what empire23 has said about the first few sentences, but hmm using newtons third law as a point of reference is probably not the right analogy to use.... because if you are working on newtonian dynamics to explain heat transfer then heat that hits on the copper sink should bounce back to the NB die, now thats third law of newtonian dynamics on heat transfer. You should use the principles of thermodynamics or the principles of heat transfer between metal composites.. i would suggest as reference, i might be wrong.. but newtons laws are quite clear cut.

This post has been edited by a1098113: Aug 15 2007, 10:47 PM
empire23
post Aug 15 2007, 11:12 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 15 2007, 10:45 PM)
I do agree with what empire23 has said about the first few sentences, but hmm using newtons third law as a point of reference is probably not the right analogy to use.... because if you are working on newtonian dynamics to explain heat transfer then heat that hits on the copper sink should bounce back to the NB die, now thats third law of newtonian dynamics on heat transfer. You should use the principles of thermodynamics or the principles of heat transfer between metal composites.. i would suggest as reference, i might be wrong.. but newtons laws are quite clear cut.
I think you misunderstood me, the newtonian law is there to explain the force of vibration upon a surface and the resulting resonance, not for temperature, a same amount of force on 2 surfaces, one bigger than the other is obviously going to result in the bigger surface experiencing less disturbance or a lower magnitude of resonance across it's surface. Mechanical resonance results in surface contact irregularity which thus affects thermal transfer. Think of a coin flat on a copper plate and another being subjected to vibration, which one has better thermal transfer due to constant contact.

I think the laws of heat transfer via Fourier (that's why i mentioned him at the end) function are pretty much discreet and self explanatory, you don't need newtonian mechanics here for thermal energy alone, but you do need it to explain vibrations tho.

lolhalol
post Aug 16 2007, 10:41 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 15 2007, 09:16 PM)

Point is that I win.

Anyone who wants to lawan can take it up with Pak Cik Fourier  laugh.gif
bro im not lawan uncel newton and fourier , but waht shawty said bout the x38 wasnt all about the vibration,.. it was that he stated that it is the x38 is the nly chipset in the world to have ihs, and thats where the whole thing started... from what i can deduce or analyse, both of us have misunderstood each other... ...

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 16 2007, 12:12 AM)
I think you misunderstood me, the newtonian law is there to explain the force of vibration upon a surface and the resulting resonance, not for temperature, a same amount of force on 2 surfaces, one bigger than the other is obviously going to result in the bigger surface experiencing less disturbance or a lower magnitude of resonance across it's surface. Mechanical resonance results in surface contact irregularity which thus affects thermal transfer. Think of a coin flat on a copper plate and another being subjected to vibration, which one has better thermal transfer due to constant contact.

I think the laws of heat transfer via Fourier (that's why i mentioned him at the end) function are pretty much discreet and self explanatory, you don't need newtonian mechanics here for thermal energy alone, but you do need it to explain vibrations tho.
btw i like the way u use laws of physics to show ur points...as im also use to study physics... especial thermphysics.. and fluids...
sHawTY
post Aug 16 2007, 11:11 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 16 2007, 10:41 AM)
but waht shawty said bout the x38 wasnt all about the vibration,..
Again with the X38 chipset. shakehead.gif

No matter how many times i repeat the same thing again and again you won't understand it do ya? doh.gif

Go here & read it:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12866714

That's my last explanation to you about the whole thing i'm talking about.
If you can't understand simple english, then i don't know what to say to you anymore.

I grow tired of explaining the same thing over and over again to you. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 16 2007, 11:12 AM
lolhalol
post Aug 16 2007, 11:46 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

bro i wasnt repeating to u... u dun no how to read kah? im telling empire23 , with nothing to do with u... if i was talkng to u , y would i quote his post and not urz.?
sHawTY
post Aug 16 2007, 12:01 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 16 2007, 11:46 AM)
bro i wasnt repeating to u... u dun no how to read  kah? im telling empire23 , with nothing to do with u... if i was talkng to u , y would i quote his post and not urz.?
Okay then, now mind accepting your mistake about the vibrations?

And mind pulling back your words that i'm implying the vibrations will kill the nb chipset when i did not say that?
Find anyone here that agrees with you about me implying that vibrations will kill the nb chipset, no one said that i did imply that vibrations will kill nb hsf except you. smile.gif

See either you're willing to accept your mistake or not. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 16 2007, 12:02 PM
lolhalol
post Aug 16 2007, 12:31 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

yes im willing to accept my mistake of misunderstanding ur posts.......... but will stand by the point ( not saying u said this now ..... happy????) that vibration if it happens CAN kill chipsets... and this is settle.... so we can now all move on and go back to discussion on chipsets....
emilz
post Aug 16 2007, 01:56 PM

1,377 posts

lol both of this guy don wan to loose lioa i have nothing to say...
nvm lar since it was men ego lar laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 16 2007, 02:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 16 2007, 12:31 PM)
yes im willing to accept my mistake of misunderstanding ur posts..........
Thank You.
Appreciate That. smile.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 16 2007, 05:16 PM

628 posts

yeah.... happy family is back finally.... hahahaha... ok guys, let's keep on going on the chipset cooling...

will it be easier to install hsf or nb block on x38 since it has an ihs (bigger contact area)... i mean i'm those that not very patient guy that wish everything just 1 shot done n not redo... so i just slap it on n wish it's almost perfect... lol...

when i install my nb block on my 975, i found it that i have to tighten them down to the chipset slowly so that i won't cause uneven contact or tilted the base of the block...
empire23
post Aug 16 2007, 05:34 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Aug 16 2007, 10:41 AM)
bro im not lawan uncel newton and fourier , but waht shawty said bout the x38 wasnt all about the vibration,.. it was that he stated that it is the x38 is the nly chipset in the world to have ihs, and thats where the whole thing started... from what i can deduce or analyse, both of us have misunderstood each other... ...
i think he was pretty clear on him saying that the X38 is the first with the IHS lah. Settle loh.

Other chips have never had IHSes but ceramic packages, which is abit different lah, which is understandable. smile.gif

Just a small misunderstanding. Cheers smile.gif

Anyways i just installed 2 HR-05s and 2 HR-09s on my P5N32-E SLI rclxms.gif , very nice improvement. Still trying to work out the voltage controller schematics for a Vmod and Stability mod.
lolhalol
post Aug 17 2007, 03:29 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 16 2007, 06:34 PM)
i think he was pretty clear on him saying that the X38 is the first with the IHS lah. Settle loh.

Other chips have never had IHSes but ceramic packages, which is abit different lah, which is understandable. smile.gif

Just a small misunderstanding. Cheers  smile.gif

Anyways i just installed 2 HR-05s and 2 HR-09s on my P5N32-E SLI  rclxms.gif , very nice improvement. Still trying to work out the voltage controller schematics for a Vmod and Stability mod.
yeah understood...

nice man.... im still a big fan of the hr- series ... i mu minf ill still buy hr-05 over the u6... irangan dun kill me ya... smile.gif
E-J@1
post Aug 22 2007, 08:08 PM

Capital Eā„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Big Bruin @ Aug 17 2007)
Testing:

To test the cooling potential of the Thermalright HR-05 SLI chipset cooler at idle and load conditions, it was installed in a test system with the following equipment:

» AMD Opteron 185 processor
» DFI LANParty NF4 SLI-DR motherboard
» 1024MB G.SKILL Extreme DDR (2 x 512MB) memory
» 3x Western Digital 36GB 10K RPM SATA-I hard drives
» Two eVGA GeForce 7800 GT CO SLI 256MB GDDR3 PCI-E
» Pioneer DL DVDRW
» SB Audigy 2z Platinum sound card
» Enermax Enlobal 120mm fan

any forumer here using Noctua NC-U6 on the same chipset used by Big Bruin (nForce 4 SLI) whistling.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Aug 22 2007, 08:08 PM
bryanyeo87
post Aug 22 2007, 09:51 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

ok, now that u guys have stopped arguing laugh.gif
i want to ask, what is a good p35 NB cooler without it being excessively large and ridiculously expensive
ronaldjoe
post Aug 22 2007, 10:04 PM

3,569 posts

How about this?
Evercool Serpent...but it has poor reviews.
sHawTY
post Aug 22 2007, 10:14 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 22 2007, 10:04 PM)
How about this?
Evercool Serpent...but it has poor reviews.
That's because that chipset heatsink is a poorly designed chipset cooler.
The heatpipes aren't connected well with the heatsink base. shakehead.gif

50 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:34 AM