125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

bdrc
post Nov 25 2014, 05:35 PM

1,626 posts

Some folks say this looks not natural, would like to hear some comments here as well.

user posted imageasd-5 by bdrc, on Flickr

extra:
user posted imageasd--5 by bdrc, on Flickr

lwliam
post Nov 25 2014, 07:53 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 25 2014, 03:41 PM)
A7S raw file support in Lightroom 5.5 ?

Can any good people here send me one RAW file for A7S pls?

Sony lens 24-70 is F4 only, no F2.8 meh?
E mount is f/4..
A mount is f/2.8
ChinWY
post Nov 25 2014, 08:36 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Nov 25 2014, 10:35 PM)
Some folks say this looks not natural, would like to hear some comments here as well.

user posted imageasd-5 by bdrc, on Flickr

extra:
user posted imageasd--5 by bdrc, on Flickr
In my opinion yes it is not natural. HDR will always has that effect unless it is well controlled. Personally I am more interested in the sunrays in the photo but than the clouds but probably it will not show under normal pp either.

I always have this problem.. sky or land when shooting UWA. Become quite a challenge to me when I was in China recently taking the mirror lakes of Jiuzhaigou and the snow fields where lighting can be difficult to balance. Kinda deja vu when I use to shoot slide film and end up loosing the entire roll due to exposure problem.. lucky I can do HDR PP these days to save the image.
hensky
post Nov 25 2014, 09:00 PM

644 posts

pm me ur email.
vincentlee90
post Nov 25 2014, 10:18 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

yes, A7S RAW file is supported in Lightroom 5.5, along with ACR ver. 8.5
for further info, please refer this link

btw, as bro william mentioned. about lenses, 24-70mm for E-mount is F4, meanwhile A-mount is F2.8
bdrc
post Nov 26 2014, 02:42 PM

1,626 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Nov 25 2014, 08:36 PM)
In my opinion yes it is not natural. HDR will always has that effect unless it is well controlled.  Personally I am more interested in the sunrays in the photo but than the clouds but probably it will not show under normal pp either. 

I always have this problem.. sky or land when shooting UWA.  Become quite a challenge to me when I was in China recently taking the mirror lakes of Jiuzhaigou and the snow fields where lighting can be difficult to balance.  Kinda deja vu when I use to shoot slide film and end up loosing the entire roll due to exposure problem..  lucky I can do HDR PP these days to save the image.
I see, So the foreground should not too exposed, and let the dark areas remain deeper?

Wanted to try the soft effect in Sony cameras with post processing, but not successful. Anyone has some tips on how to achieve it?

user posted imageasd-0167 by bdrc, on Flickr

Spam:

user posted imageasd-03022 by bdrc, on Flickr
NutZ748
post Nov 26 2014, 03:30 PM

131 posts

Any recommended seller for A7? what's the street price for body? and with kitzoom?
ChinWY
post Nov 27 2014, 08:36 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Nov 26 2014, 07:42 PM)
I see, So the foreground should not too exposed, and let the dark areas remain deeper?

For that specific photo.. it was the foliage in the foreground.. the colour was wrong and mess it up.. Clouds do give a very dynamic impact. but also do not ignore the physical landscape and sometimes a long lens can pull in some interesting views - far more interesting than the wide angle shot.

HDR is a tool that we can very easily overdo the colours. You can get really pretty nice effects but can appear over cooked and has that artificial look and appear hard to our eyes.. I will call it personal taste in most ways because I know it is "does not look like that" at the time it was taken. ie it is very easy to pick up a photo that is HDR processed.

Which PP process did you use ?

I am just expressing my opinion on the cycle of preference I have gone through.. take plenty and have fun.. you will find your preference eventually. Photography is an art so you are entitle to express in your own choice and colour - some of us are renaissance and others are contemporary in expression and or preference.

This post has been edited by ChinWY: Nov 27 2014, 08:37 AM
chinkw1
post Nov 27 2014, 10:11 AM

3,160 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Nov 25 2014, 10:18 PM)
yes, A7S RAW file is supported in Lightroom 5.5, along with ACR ver. 8.5
for further info, please refer this link

btw, as bro william mentioned. about lenses, 24-70mm for E-mount is F4, meanwhile A-mount is F2.8
A7S is using E mount or A mount lens?

or both are 100% compatible?

Is it like EF vs EF-S lens in canon, where APSC Canon can also use EF lens? something like that.?
bdrc
post Nov 27 2014, 12:58 PM

1,626 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Nov 27 2014, 08:36 AM)
For that specific photo.. it was the foliage in the foreground.. the colour was wrong and mess it up..  Clouds do give a very dynamic impact. but also do not ignore the physical landscape and sometimes a long lens can pull in some interesting views - far more interesting than the wide angle shot.

HDR is a tool that we can very easily overdo the colours.  You can get really pretty nice effects but can appear over cooked and has that artificial look and appear hard to our eyes.. I will call it personal taste in most ways because I know it is "does not look like that" at the time it was taken.  ie it is very easy to pick up a photo that is HDR processed.

Which PP process did you use ?

I am just expressing my opinion on the cycle of preference I have gone through..  take plenty and have fun.. you will find your preference eventually.  Photography is an art so you are entitle to express in your own choice and colour - some of us are renaissance and others are contemporary in expression and or preference.
I see, a good insight, much appreciated! Still much to learn. Using long lens and do panorama stitching, would be next experiment.

I took 4 photos and hdr merged in photomatix, using that as base i then put into PS and insert another 4 exposures with luminosity masking, first time try this.
TSalbnok
post Nov 27 2014, 01:09 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 27 2014, 10:11 AM)

Is it like EF vs EF-S lens in canon, where APSC Canon can also use EF lens? something like that.?
Here's a video that may get you familiar with the two mounts:

vincentlee90
post Nov 27 2014, 07:50 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 27 2014, 10:11 AM)

A7S is E-mount full frame camera. it required A-mount adapter if u use A-mount lenses
hidden830726
post Nov 27 2014, 11:32 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Posting here in anticipation for Sony A7ii news
melvintcs
post Nov 28 2014, 08:52 AM

♥ Photography ♪
1,350 posts

can someone recommend me good lens for portrait?
zoom range probably around 17-50, 70mm, budget below Rm2000, e mount
hensky
post Nov 28 2014, 08:55 AM

644 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Nov 28 2014, 08:52 AM)
can someone recommend me good lens for portrait?
zoom range probably around 17-50, 70mm, budget below Rm2000, e mount
e-mount portrait lens
apsc - 50mm f1.8
ff - 55mm f1.8
melvintcs
post Nov 28 2014, 08:59 AM

♥ Photography ♪
1,350 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 28 2014, 08:55 AM)
e-mount portrait lens
apsc - 50mm f1.8
ff - 55mm f1.8
sorry, it's apsc
i don't like prime lens sad.gif
hazril
post Nov 28 2014, 10:25 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Nov 28 2014, 08:59 AM)
sorry, it's apsc
i don't like prime lens  sad.gif
prime is the way to go for potrait bro...1st time i see someone commented that they dont like prime.... laugh.gif
awiekupo
post Nov 28 2014, 11:15 AM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

y leh? prime should be everyone top list worr... especially since u wanna do portrait..

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Nov 28 2014, 08:59 AM)
sorry, it's apsc
i don't like prime lens  sad.gif
lwliam
post Nov 28 2014, 11:21 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

lazy to walk la tu....

then get 18-200... suitable for ppl like this
awiekupo
post Nov 28 2014, 11:29 AM