125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

Ah hao
post Sep 20 2014, 12:17 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 20 2014, 10:24 AM)
How to set focus to infinity manual focus for shooting stars? Yesterday and this early morning shots were failed. I sad mang... No star picture, blurry.
which camera u using ? My A5100 when set to DMF, and u turn the focus ring, it will show a scale of focus area, from near to infinity. But then my old nex-3 first gen dont have this function.

If urs is older version, i search about this in mr google before, and the way is turn peaking and the MF assist or zoom magnifier on, iso set to highest, then try to focus manually by focusing on the brightest star.
saigetsu
post Sep 20 2014, 11:20 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Sep 20 2014, 10:55 AM)
Turn it to infinity?
E mount lens doesn't hav infinity mark at the lens. There fore dunno how to focus toinfinity

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 20 2014, 11:41 AM)
Hand held or tripod? If handheld maybe motion blur?
Tripod. I think maybe i did not swr the focua to infinity
saigetsu
post Sep 20 2014, 11:22 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 20 2014, 12:17 PM)
which camera u using ? My A5100 when set to DMF, and u turn the focus ring, it will show a scale of focus area, from near to infinity. But then my old nex-3 first gen dont have this function.

If urs is older version, i search about this in mr google before, and the way is turn peaking and the MF assist or zoom magnifier on, iso set to highest, then try to focus manually by focusing on the brightest star.
Mine is nex 5r. Will try amd update here. My first star shoot
saigetsu
post Sep 21 2014, 12:05 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 20 2014, 12:17 PM)

20 sec 16mm f3.5 focus dunno how to infinity. Now please tell me what did i do wrong... No star at all. Sad.

Stupid cm browser

This post has been edited by saigetsu: Sep 21 2014, 12:08 AM

Newbieeeeee
post Sep 21 2014, 12:12 AM

:)
1,286 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 20 2014, 11:20 PM)
E mount lens doesn't hav infinity mark at the lens. There fore dunno how to focus toinfinity
Tripod. I think maybe i did not swr the focua to infinity
I see. But there's only 2 ends ma. Turn to one side, it's thats MFD then turn to the other side should be infinity.
nixonyang
post Sep 21 2014, 12:53 AM

757 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 21 2014, 12:05 AM)
20 sec 16mm f3.5 focus dunno how to infinity. Now please tell me what did i do wrong... No star at all. Sad.

Stupid cm browser
i see alot of light leakage into your shot.. try shoot somewhere darker and exclude all source of light in your frame.
saigetsu
post Sep 21 2014, 01:00 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Sep 21 2014, 12:12 AM)
I see. But there's only 2 ends ma. Turn to one side, it's thats MFD then turn to the other side should be infinity.
Nex e moumt lens can turn 360 liao. No stop one.
edpaul
post Sep 21 2014, 02:39 AM

394 posts

saigetsu: camera back facing your, turn focus ring "clock-wise".... but turning 'finish' doesnt means its infinity, u need to turn back a little. because the lens designed to go over infinity. its best to find a landscape/bright spot, use focus assist zoom in to check if its sharp at 'distanced'

ii) to shoot star, u need minimum light polution, and a clear sky. from the photo, there is massive light polution from everywhere, and the sky is not clear. thats why u couldnt get a good photo of stars
Newbieeeeee
post Sep 21 2014, 08:46 AM

:)
1,286 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 21 2014, 01:00 AM)
Nex e moumt lens can turn 360 liao. No stop one.
:blink:
Eiraku
post Sep 21 2014, 09:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 21 2014, 02:39 AM)
saigetsu: camera back facing your, turn focus ring "clock-wise".... but turning 'finish' doesnt means its infinity, u need to turn back a little. because the lens designed to go over infinity. its best to find a landscape/bright spot, use focus assist zoom in to check if its sharp at 'distanced'

ii) to shoot star, u need minimum light polution, and a clear sky. from the photo, there is massive light polution from everywhere, and the sky is not clear. thats why u couldnt get a good photo of stars
This. It actually looked like a cloud passed by while he was exposing the pic.
saigetsu
post Sep 21 2014, 10:58 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 21 2014, 09:49 AM)
This. It actually looked like a cloud passed by while he was exposing the pic.
How dark is dark.. Like super dark? No street light at all?
Eiraku
post Sep 21 2014, 12:26 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 21 2014, 10:58 AM)
If possible yes, for minimal light pollution. Hence a lot of milky way pics seem to be shot in the middle of nowhere.

IINM anyway. I still haven't found my "scene" yet so I haven't tried.
Ah hao
post Sep 21 2014, 03:34 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 21 2014, 10:58 AM)
if ur eyes cant see any stars, u wont be able to shoot it as well.

shooting stars need completely dark, u need to go a remote place. and need a clear sky, if many clouds in the sky u wont get nice picture as well.

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 21 2014, 02:39 AM)

nex lens focus ring will never stop, u can rotate till tomorrow sweat.gif

Ah hao
post Sep 21 2014, 03:42 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 21 2014, 12:26 PM)
If possible yes, for minimal light pollution. Hence a lot of milky way pics seem to be shot in the middle of nowhere.

IINM anyway. I still haven't found my "scene" yet so I haven't tried.
i tried once in pulau tioman, with 1st gen nex-3, no indication of focus to infinity, so the stars i shot was OOF rclxub.gif

luckily new nex/alpha mirrorless have this function now whistling.gif
ezyfoto19
post Sep 21 2014, 05:41 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Sep 19 2014, 10:37 PM)
wow, damn nice. although its kinda clearing off old stocks
yup. just get few A7 series for resell RX100. still, the only RX series available with made in japan

ezyfoto19
post Sep 21 2014, 05:44 PM

52 posts

everyone, if anyone go to sony centre mid valley, never refer to the salesperson named brandan ng. he's really rude person
shootkk
post Sep 21 2014, 06:21 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Sep 20 2014, 01:27 AM)
May I know if you used any diffuser in the wedding dinner shot? It looks like you used the stofen type? Will just pulling out the bounce card work in wedding dinners?
I use my F-58AM flash with the bounce card pulled up and pointed to bounce from ceiling about 80% of the time. It has served me pretty well so far.
ho-ll
post Sep 21 2014, 09:30 PM

602 posts

Hey guys, I wonder if you know how much does Sony Service Center charge for lens cleaning and its duration (Camera still under warranty)? Else, any recommendation?

Thank you in advance! biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 21 2014, 10:25 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Anyone has any idea when next A58 or A6000 successor will come? Looking at Alpha range for cheaper lens... But prefer ILCE for smaller size. Can try converter and get some fun lenses to play with the E mount too...

Thinking to get the A6000... Then saw the A5100. Feel like wanting the 180 degree display (selfie display? biggrin.gif ) but don't want to lose the EVF in A6000. Also after reading some comparison between them, A6000 has most of the upside (EVF, burst, hotshoe, stronger flash...) but A5100 has some of them like the 180 degree screen, XAVCS codec and the RM250+- cheaper price point ($100 SGD cheaper in SG).

and then... Possible or not A6100 comes out before the 1 year product cycle? doh.gif doh.gif Now A6000 and A5100 like stuck in the middle, hesitate to grab either.

Besides that, if I get a A5100/A6000 or any E-mount lens, would you recommend to take the kit lens, SEL1650PZ? I saw some bad review on that lens, saying that the old SEL1855 does better. If that's really the case, maybe can consider grabbing body only then get a second hand unit of SEL1855 biggrin.gif

I have also taken RX100 III into consideration hmm.gif Read some comments comparing RX100 III and A6000 saing that RX100 III actually has the edge over the A6000 (on SEL1650PZ) even with the 1" sensor size but putting a better glass on A6000 will take it ahead of RX100III

Still in the stage of surveying (yet I'm already rclxub.gif rclxub.gif ). Maybe will only get myself a camera 2 months later. biggrin.gif

Any input from you guys? I can also take input from other brands (although I know I'm now posting in the orange territory), budget RM3k with Kit Lens.

*Have been looking at Sony cameras since like Alpha-A550 age (4~5 years ago?)... But was then still studying, now started working then only can start thinking to get one to play with drool.gif Cheapo phone camera and cheapo P&S have left me too much to desire*

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Sep 21 2014, 10:33 PM
leinnz
post Sep 21 2014, 11:24 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 20 2014, 03:50 AM)
leinnz: have you attended any Sony Workshop? try to join one, they explain a little more on there.

it really depends, but usually, multi-segment metering mode is recommend, i use this fulltime anyway. center-metering is used when your subject exposure might be affected by surround, eg heavy backlight etc. Spot is used when your subject is covered by a small are of the whole frame. but also it still depends on a lot other factor that affect your metering.

suddenly many nice tutorial from all sifus. Star shooting is hard.
Bro EdPaul, i was at the Sony Workshop in Melaka. Learn some info from sifus there.
Also tried to shoot stars on that day but all was overexposed.
I think due to my metering was set at centre only and shutter speed was 25 secs with 16mm and iso 100. and yes nex-5R again. sad sad.gif

This post has been edited by leinnz: Sep 21 2014, 11:27 PM

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:35 PM