Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

leinnz
post Aug 25 2014, 02:55 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(pugger79 @ Aug 25 2014, 10:35 AM)
Excellent timing!

Where is this by the way?
Should be masjid Selat, melaka. Sony Workshop yesterday.
leinnz
post Sep 11 2014, 09:39 AM

oldfags
755 posts

Guys, Would like to know more on how can we snap a moon surrounded by clouds? is there a way to do it?
this is mine

Am a noob in shooting. Would like to learn more

This post has been edited by leinnz: Sep 11 2014, 09:40 AM
leinnz
post Sep 11 2014, 11:43 AM

oldfags
755 posts

wow's thanks guys for the tips. also thanks Eiraku. Will try this when tere are clouds around the bright moon.
Also i wonder how can we get a good shots when the moon rises?
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 11 2014, 11:12 AM)
Here it comes, the moon question... brows.gif

I'm gonna assume you're shooting with a NEX. Otherwise, ignore the E-mount references - the rest of this theoretical drivel still applies.

Anyway, you *need* a long lens for moon shots. Otherwise it will be small like the above. 100mm is minimum, 200mm is preferable, longer if possible. If you need to buy a lens to do this (seriously, you'll do like 5 shots of the moon before getting bored with it), get a cheap 100mm MF lens + adapter (which you can later use for portraits with yummy bokeh).

If you're a serious luna-tik, however, consider investing in a 500mm reflex mirror lens. Sony has one for the A-mount, and you need the L-EA1 or EA2 for it. There's also an MF one from Samyang/Rokinon, not sure if they have it in E-mount though.

And yes, a tripod - a sturdy one. Actually a Gorillapod with a pole would be enough, as long as it's stable. Though using a heavy 200mm lens with a Gorillapod (and even a normal tripod) might not be the healthiest thing for your poor little lens mount, unless the lens has a tripod collar.

Next, the lowest aperture that your lens would be sharp at (this varies per lens, most lenses it's around 4-5.6). Set to MF, focus to infinity (Google how). Then set for RAW shooting.

Meter for the moon (spot), lock AE, compensate EV until you get some clouds as well. Then snap.

As for getting clouds around the moon to begin with, that's more luck than anything.

Well, at least that's how I did it last time during my A200 days. Now I don't even have anything above 50mm so I don't bother.
leinnz
post Sep 12 2014, 10:02 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Sep 11 2014, 08:27 PM)
You need at least 150mm lens I think to get nice moon pic.

These what I got with 55mm lens using digital zoom.

Aperture f/8.0
Shutter speed 1/250
ISO 400
Digital Zoom x4
Focal Length 55mm

These sites may give you an idea how to take picture of the moon.
https://blog.sony.com/2012/07/how-to-shoot-...stellar-photos/
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3591489
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3560061
so many sifu's Happy to learn more from you guys. icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
leinnz
post Sep 18 2014, 02:07 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 18 2014, 11:40 AM)
nex camera dont have bulb mode. so cannot take milkyway anyway
Nex-5r user. IT has bulb mode
leinnz
post Sep 18 2014, 05:55 PM

oldfags
755 posts

Sifus. some noob question on wide angle for NEX. Is it necessary to have AF for wide angle lens (12mm).
leinnz
post Sep 18 2014, 06:02 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 18 2014, 05:58 PM)
no matter short or long zoom length, big or small aperture... the question is actually direct back to you, do you need AF? can you cope with MF?

some event shooter rely on AF... some event shooter rather shoot MF. so its a personal thing. if you shoot wide(12mm) for like wedding, if you do not know how to operate MF well, then u definitely will need AF....

my own 2 cent is always good to have AF, since u can switch to MF anytime..... if u get a MF lens, u cant mod it to AF.
Thanks. was looking for budget wide angle lens and mostly this budget ones are manual focus. Search some from google and few mention MF is enough.
looking at your reason, i have to rethink again my options.
leinnz
post Sep 19 2014, 04:28 PM

oldfags
755 posts

Regarding exposure setup and shooting a person with landscape, Are we supposed to use Multi Mode metering?
I find it better using Multi mode instead of centre or spot for my Nex-5R

leinnz
post Sep 21 2014, 11:24 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 20 2014, 03:50 AM)
leinnz: have you attended any Sony Workshop? try to join one, they explain a little more on there.

it really depends, but usually, multi-segment metering mode is recommend, i use this fulltime anyway. center-metering is used when your subject exposure might be affected by surround, eg heavy backlight etc. Spot is used when your subject is covered by a small are of the whole frame. but also it still depends on a lot other factor that affect your metering.

suddenly many nice tutorial from all sifus. Star shooting is hard.
Bro EdPaul, i was at the Sony Workshop in Melaka. Learn some info from sifus there.
Also tried to shoot stars on that day but all was overexposed.
I think due to my metering was set at centre only and shutter speed was 25 secs with 16mm and iso 100. and yes nex-5R again. sad sad.gif

This post has been edited by leinnz: Sep 21 2014, 11:27 PM
leinnz
post Sep 23 2014, 10:44 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Sep 23 2014, 10:30 AM)
easy bro if u understand basic photography...

the subject distance to camera should be less then the subject distance to background...then u can achieve nice bokeh even with f3.5....

eq :

camera > subject (30cm)
subject > background (1m)
thanks for the tip
leinnz
post Sep 23 2014, 01:49 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 23 2014, 01:46 PM)
I just hate the touchscreen function, only limited for touch focus and touch shutter, then other thing like menu, setting etc totally cant use, so freaking lame feature.

But I still appreciate the smaller size though,when compare to a6000.

I suggest potential buyer dont consider touchscreen as a pros in a5100,its is really quite useless =.=
Hmm. My old Nex5r can touch the menu
leinnz
post Sep 24 2014, 09:50 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 23 2014, 10:12 PM)
Pic 1

18-55 kit lens
35mm f/6.1

Pic 2

18-55 kit lens
18mm f/3.5
with this settings? and you can let the viewer see what to see/expect from the pic. WOW. salute notworthy.gif
leinnz
post Oct 8 2014, 11:24 AM

oldfags
755 posts

Since it is a lunar eclipse, Time lapse can be made. BTW Sifus, what settings can be use for this shooting?
leinnz
post Oct 12 2014, 10:18 PM

oldfags
755 posts

So edpaul , if i understand from your explanation, if u snap with different lenslength with same aperture but different DOF to make the sizes of the object equals, the bokehness is to be different. due to the length of lens?

This post has been edited by leinnz: Oct 12 2014, 10:40 PM
leinnz
post Oct 12 2014, 11:12 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Oct 12 2014, 11:04 PM)
50mmF1.4 MFT vs 100mmF1.4 FF. DOF will not be the same.
50mmF1.4 MFT vs 50mmF1.4FF. DOF will be the same. due to diff working distance, causing diff focus point, definately the dof change with different focus point.

hope u get what i am saying, coz im damn bad in explaining.
what i was pointing out is actually the length of lens(focal length) will have perspective compression... this was the term most ppl left out when comparing longer lens is bokeh-er.... instead of plain F2.8 vs F4

lets put it this way.

you can shoot with a 50mm @ F/1.4.... which give you a pretty nice bokeh, but ridiculous amount of shallow DOF
with a 200mm @ F2.8, but having a F2.8 DOF, which is much larger then F1.4 when shooting the same composition means getting more and sharper details on in focus area.... the BOKEH will not be same as the CoC is simply enlarged from the F2.8 DOF, but the CoC size is comparable to the 50F1.4 (but they are not the same)
edpaul if you/albert happen to find the book. let me know. thumbup.gif
leinnz
post Oct 13 2014, 03:19 PM

oldfags
755 posts

Some learning shoots from my Nex 5R

user posted imageDSC08245 by leinnz, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC08412 by leinnz, on Flickr
leinnz
post Nov 2 2014, 11:34 AM

oldfags
755 posts

user posted imageBH2014-53 by leinnz, on Flickr

user posted imageBH2014-66 by leinnz, on Flickr

This post has been edited by leinnz: Nov 2 2014, 11:35 AM
leinnz
post Nov 19 2014, 11:33 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Nov 19 2014, 08:12 PM)
im shy shy... lol

(edit: not sure what i did wrong, the video wont play, here the direct link http://youtu.be/MMCJ2mm8I7s)

the idea is that, with (physical)filter, you are limited single color cast/alteration. but with photoshop u can do targeted contrast.

(sorry for shaky video, use phone to record coz desktop record will end up recording my 3 monitors and many 'ahhhh...')

i made a lot mistake in the video... mini panic attack  sweat.gif unscripted video  blush.gif

1:15 - very over exposed
2:05 - super-ly, ultra-ly...  sweat.gif
2:28 - attached deteach (docked or undocked)
3:56 - from the phone(-camera, not font)
ok ba. at least i know new skills in PS BW
leinnz
post Dec 18 2014, 05:23 PM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Dec 18 2014, 04:52 PM)
I'm using Nex 5N with 18-50mm lens .. Seriously speaking, bought the camera back in end 2011 and only used for 3 times since I found it slightly a bit bulky.

I plan to change the lens to normal 16mm lens that comes with when I bought the camera, may I know if I were to just use it when I travel to snap picture .. is 16mm more than enough?
16mm is a great lens to snap around whilst travelling. anyway it depends on how you want to show your picture

0.0653sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:30 AM