Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

SKYjack
post Jan 26 2015, 06:54 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(sam2park @ Jan 26 2015, 08:51 AM)
Hi to all members..need some opinion, how can i improve my ride to be more comfort?
As my car is a Griffe package with 18' wheel, i feel bit bumpy and rough surface. i know this car tune for sport spring. can i change my tyre setup to 215/45/18? normal is 225/40/18 or change my pressure to 31-32? my normal setup is 34 or change to soft spring? but as for now i still can live with it just need some opinion.. tq
It all depends how much you want to spend. Change of tyres,shocks,coil springs will improve comfort.

SKYjack
post Jan 26 2015, 06:58 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Eugene Ong @ Jan 26 2015, 06:54 PM)
I think FC are not totally base on your mileage. It also base on time spend on the road. Example some people travel from Seremban to KL to work which around 35 min around 40km and some Cheras to KL especially MRR2 which 35min around 5-8km. Mean they stuck in the jam more and the car tense to go gear 1-3 only which is more fuel consumption compare to longer distance with idle speed. So I think this cause why the different reading for each car. My also average around 450Km per tank, and better fuel consumption when I go longer ride. Basically almost same, unless you always hear the "piseeeee" for turbo then will be different story.
Well said la bro. All of us addicted to the "piseeee" already, so how to get good FC....hehehe! biggrin.gif
SKYjack
post Jan 26 2015, 09:22 PM

367 posts

caltex gave 370km for rm100 before fuel low.
bhp gave me 300km only before i used caltex

filled bhp 97 again to test. current milleage is 1900km

[/quote]
At 2000km I found my FC to be high. Can't remember the figures. So no surprise on your figures. Keep us informed on your findings on BHP.

I don't think the FC read outs at the car MFS are very correct, so have stopped bothering. Just enjoying the run whenever I can. Already picked up an AES ticket last month on my way to Penang!
SKYjack
post Jan 27 2015, 11:46 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Eugene Ong @ Jan 27 2015, 11:21 AM)
Hahahaha... me too. But after getting 3 photograph been taken in a year. Now just follow the sign boardĀ  shocking.gif . Sometime really boring driving in the high way with speed limit 90/km and felt sleep too with sturdy car.
90 kmh with this car a pain. Recently I kena photo shootout at Putrajaya. Was only doing 82Kmh on nice clear wide dual carriage,did not realize limit was 70kmh. Not even housing or shopping area, broad clear highway,bloody AES crony theft! cry.gif

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 27 2015, 12:26 PM
SKYjack
post Jan 28 2015, 10:55 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Eugene Ong @ Jan 27 2015, 02:33 PM)
What 70kmh at Putrajaya. Really need to take note. Stupid, look like trick us. That mean my bicycle will get the summon too. Hahahaha..  brows.gif. So far I didn't pay the AES, cause is not link to PDRM. Only available at Myeg.

I know the worst highway I get summon, Bukit Kayu Hitam between Thailand border. Our 2 car was shock when see the sign board. 40km/h
Really aah, no problem if ignore AES summon! 40kmh limit is crazy! That's how la Bolehland crony earn money! Sit on their fat back side, back side move only to kalwat other ppl housewife and steel our money!
SKYjack
post Jan 29 2015, 10:28 AM

367 posts

For info:
North/South Hwy - from Seremban to Penang
2 AES cameras:-
Before Serdang exit
Before Kumminting exit

Both cameras monitoring north bound traffic. South bound from Penang till Seremban no cameras.

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Jan 29 2015, 09:13 AM)
sorry to ask .. normally check at MyEG or ... ?  rclxub.gif
Ya check at MyEG

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 29 2015, 10:32 AM
SKYjack
post Jan 29 2015, 11:19 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jan 29 2015, 10:52 AM)
I've seen this list before. I think the list was the intended spots. Finally on PLUS Hwy only 2 cameras installed. The list shows one more at Slim River, non there, I've done that route 5 times last year.

There are quite a lot of cameras at KL city.

Cameras are quite expensive, so I doubt there will be as many as shown on the list!
SKYjack
post Jan 29 2015, 02:51 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(eusened @ Jan 29 2015, 12:43 PM)
Some cameras are in someone's bank account dy
Oh like that...okok!
SKYjack
post Jan 30 2015, 03:37 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 30 2015, 01:54 PM)
hi all

what is you average mileage?
for mine, city drive is ~400km for ~50l
Your car is very new,hence the high FC. It will improve after 10k service.
SKYjack
post Feb 2 2015, 10:27 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(akubaem @ Jan 31 2015, 09:40 PM)
Guys, some noob question:-

I'm about to buy 2nd hand 408 Turbo.
1) Will the warranty void for the 2nd owner?
2) If the schedule services schedule miss for 1 month (due to its being in the used car), will the warranty void? eventhough the millage is still far from the its suppose millage service schedule.
3) How much usually will cost me for 40k km service?
QUOTE(akubaem @ Jan 31 2015, 10:23 PM)
Yes, I'm fully aware of the new price 2014 models. But I go for the 2nd for a reason.

The price is rm75k otr. plus it really seem like a new car, the owner rarely used it, as the millage only 20k after 2years 1month from day its register. the interior is really2 clean as well. so, I think it is a good deal...
Additional question:-

4) if the previous owner got free service (5 years or what ever), will I get the privilege as well?
5) What will it covers in the free service? Part? fluids? or only labour?
$75K is good price,especially since you say the car is in good shape & only done 20K. However I want to explain something to you. It all depends how you take my advice.

Warranty is already void,becomes void the moment service is missed 14days beyond service date, even though mileage is low. Peugeot France is very strict on this!

Many will tell you avoid buying this car,since no warranty. The dealer will swear that's not true and warranty is valid. The choice to buy or not, is yours!

My advice,buy this car, but at a lower price. Use the no warranty to bargain for lower price. Start below $70K and try to close the deal at $70K max. This model has proved reliable, so no worries. You may face some QC issues,which you'll have 5K from the purchase price to use if needed. That is also the reason why I'm telling you to close the deal at $70K max, the $5K can be used as QC issues buffer!

Since no warranty, you can service your car at a good non SC workshop. This will cost much cheaper! 40K service is just oil & oil filter change which will cost $500 at SC. You can get this done at $300+ at non SC workshop. I advice you to use AMSOIL fully synthetic or Mobil 1.

I can't comment on free service as I don't know the details. Various promotion were offered at different periods. Use the car number and check at NASA outlet on the package. They will have records and details. If this is not transferable, use this as a bargain point for price negotiation. DON'T take the dealers word,he'll swear it's transferable, he'll lie like hell to make the sale!Do your own checking!

You can always get advice on issues from us. Good luck!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Feb 3 2015, 06:45 PM
SKYjack
post Feb 4 2015, 07:08 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(akubaem @ Feb 3 2015, 11:51 PM)
Hi skyJack.. thank u very much for the advice.. for ur info, i've paid the booking this morning for this car with some changes of the deal.. the price would be rm72k + rm2.5k proc fee + rm1k insurance w/55% ncd.. yes its still rm75k otr, but i've requested them to do additional 40k service @peugeot sc and change of 2 piece of tyre (conti max, not new but agreed to be still 80% good condition)..

I've already done my homework, as the sc told me there is no more warranty at NASA, but for small/cheaper part example like gear knob etc still have warranty as the part will come from sc themselve..

So i've tried to use this as a bargaining chip, but the seller wont give a lower price as the price is the lowest in the market right now (comparing with all other online sellers).. but after few discussion, they only agreed to do service and change of tyre..

Btw- im still buying bcoz its really a good price, given if put another 5k for QC buffer, the price is still lower than the current market value..
Congrats! Well done, since you were able to squeeze a better deal. You have got your self quite a bit of high tech technology at a great price. Ya 5K buffer will be very sufficient. The engine & gb on this model has no problems, you are going to enjoy this car very much!

Here are some contacts for spares & workshop:-
Euromotive Auto Parts - 03 90570921
En Rahim (Peugeot mechanic) 019 6687799

Let us know any good workshop/mechanic you find.
SKYjack
post Feb 17 2015, 08:56 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Lion Prince @ Feb 17 2015, 01:50 AM)
This is only the tyres which are stocked for sometime. How about other parts in the car.
This is a CKD model right. Anyone knows where is it assembled?
Car parts are covered by warranty which is 5 years. All 408s are CKD from Gurun assembly plant.
SKYjack
post Feb 18 2015, 11:32 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Feb 17 2015, 10:16 PM)

I have been given an appointment with Glenmarie soon to rectify the above problems. I requested for a new car but was rejected.

In the meantime, I have filed a case with the Consumer Tribunal against the dealer and the case will be mentioned on 12/3/2015. My argument is the car should not have been allocated to me in the first place. It does not pass the test of a new car though the car is considered new by the dealer as it was not used before.

So now just wait and see what happens.

Bro vknight
I'm very keen to know the outcome,please let us know! Wish you the best!
SKYjack
post Feb 19 2015, 04:10 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Feb 19 2015, 02:12 PM)
Hi Skyjack.

Will definetely keep you updated.

But i must say its a fantastic car. No regrets. But should have bought it elsewhere especially from Naza Branch. The dealer gave a better discount but to think of it i would rather pay more but less headache. The paint defects i am very sure was caused by the dealer while polishing. Glenmarie Clic have been helpful.
Yes it is truly a wonderful car. Mine coming up to 3 years,am enjoying it every time i take her out. Fortunately all this time I needed to make only one warranty claim - faulty coolant temp sensor.

In your case, as you said it not the car, but rather a dodgy dealer. I guess there's a lesson here for all of us, when something is very cheap, be careful of hidden surprise!

SKYjack
post Feb 20 2015, 12:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(BlackLion @ Feb 19 2015, 08:20 PM)
Hello Skyjack,

i encountered the same issue earlier while heading up to Genting. Engine Check appeared and repair needed popped up on the screen.
Eventually it went off, as i let it cool down for a bit and also did reset the ECU & GearBox.
Did u manage to get the problem solved? Did the SC change any parts? Was it the air sensor / fuel pump? or left it as it is? can you pls advice.
I also noticed another Peugoet 408 T, which is quite new from the number plate on a tow truck.
Hi BlackLion
I believe speedysam's problem has been solved. It was a faulty h/p fuel pump. This seems a common problem. Btw the h/p pump on this model has been redesigned to be more robust. I guess it needs better QC during manufacture.
SKYjack
post Feb 25 2015, 10:25 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(akubaem @ Feb 25 2015, 12:33 AM)
Just now did some meter clocking. I'm trying to get the best FC I can get out of my car by safe driving and auto cruising between 90-110km/j in other words, drive like an old man. The road is clear because its night time and using Mex highway to go back and forth from Saujana Putra to KL, So here's the result:-

Distance :- 90km
Fuel Consumption :- 7.2 L/100km
Avg speed :- 62km/j

so, what do you guys think?
btw - usually when I push my car a bit hard like 120kmj - 150kmj average, I usually get like 10.5 L/100km, is that normal?
Perfectly normal, is about what I'm getting. However must salute you for achieving 7.2L/100. That is 'expert uncle' style. In fact 7.2L/100 is what I'm getting on my wife's Myvi...lol. On the Lion.... cannot la....turbo too addictive tongue.gif !
SKYjack
post Mar 4 2015, 09:39 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(leech777 @ Mar 3 2015, 03:12 PM)
Probably after this time I will. If they still say they unable to fix. Else gonna like you bro, wait until it cannot drive which is what I don't like. It's like a time bomb. Cars can have issues I think we all can understand that but it's the SC's inability to resolve it which makes it unbearable.
I can understand your insecurity. All faults will be logged in your car on board computer. It does not matter if the defect is not present at the time the mechanic is looking at the car. As suggested, try another SC.

Sometime back I wrote about the dangers of driving with unsteady coolant temp. It is very important,have a look back.

IMO, not a good idea to wait any longer and an official letter to CILC is a very good idea!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Mar 4 2015, 09:44 AM
SKYjack
post Mar 12 2015, 12:08 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(chrisauyong @ Mar 11 2015, 05:50 PM)
Hi guys,
Just wanna ask, is it advisable to put a 1 inch wheel spacer onto our original rims, so that it will look nicer?
Hahaha, and any idea where to get it?
The 1 inch wheel spacer will give the car a more aggressive look. However it will compromise the handling. The suspension is carefully setup and sports tuned. Any alteration will affect it's handling and also steering feedback & feel.

If you are willing to compromise handling for the aesthetic look, then go for the spacer!
SKYjack
post Mar 13 2015, 11:47 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Mar 11 2015, 07:14 PM)
Hi all is this price real or is a hoax why so cheap?

2014 Peugeot 408 1.6 (A) GRIFFE HIGH SPEC TURBO LUXURY rm91k
Read more at http://www.mudah.my/Peugeot+408+1+6+A+GRIF...EJtbRlWPFzlD.99
This is not a hoax, it is not the Griffe, it is not new! Being 2014 model with 35K milage, price is not cheap. However the car looks good from the photos.

Have a look at the car documents, especially service dates. Service must not exceed 6 months or 10K km,which ever comes first. Balance of 4 years warranty is transferable, if it not void. If warranty is void,bargain for lower price.

There are no serious issues on this model, is worth getting it! Good luck!
SKYjack
post Mar 14 2015, 12:52 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(akubaem @ Mar 13 2015, 08:26 PM)
Funny thing is, I've viewed the car.. They sell the car that time was 104k, and they didnt even know Peugeot got offer 105k for griffe until I told them. During that time, the purpose was to test drive their 2nd hand Preve... I try not to laugh but, my face still show someĀ  doh.gif face... haha
Actually they know, bro! These fellows are very cunning. They know there's a lot of public unaware on the latest offers.So they keep on trying,just like 'tikam'. You and I know the price, but alot of public don't. All they need is one unsuspecting customer. Just like hellfire8888, he thought it was very cheap. If he didn't check with us, could have been hoodwinked by these crooks! These buggers can be very convincing to a unsuspecting customer.

Anyway, you managed to get a good deal. How's your car running? Any issues? Found any good workshop familer with turbo pugs?

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Mar 14 2015, 01:05 PM

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:06 PM