Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

SKYjack
post Jan 6 2015, 10:23 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(logen @ Jan 5 2015, 09:21 PM)
Hi guys, there is no info on 'oil ok' mentioned in para c, in my car.how bout you guys, got such display?.tq
It depends on the software installed,comes down to cost,ie most cost with more features. I believe our models will be basic,which is oil level low indication.

Here oil quantity is monitored. As long as you don't get a warning message,you or OK!
SKYjack
post Jan 6 2015, 10:34 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jan 6 2015, 12:07 AM)
Hi Guys

On the BHP Petrol - I contacted BHP and they have informed that their Petrol - Both 95 and 97 is from Singapore. The Sulphur content is consistent lower than Euro 2 petrol which is 500 ppm. They have informed that they cannot claim the petrol is Euro 3 or 4 until sulphur level is consistently lower. Good explanation from them.
Tks for the feedback. With that news I am deciding to switch to either BHP or Caltex RON97. Want to know more about Caltex, which claims an engine cleaning additive.
SKYjack
post Jan 6 2015, 11:15 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Jan 6 2015, 10:47 AM)
last time tried BHP ... quite good  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
just some of their station is not "friendly" and toilet dirty this that ..
that why i stick with shell ... hahahaha ... still OK OK use la ..  thumbup.gif
Hehehe.....yes this is so very true in most Bolehland public amenities! For this reason I usually stay zipped till I get home. My long range tanks help very much...hehehe!
SKYjack
post Jan 6 2015, 11:29 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jan 5 2015, 11:54 PM)
A friend of mind who just purchased 408T complained to me today that when switch off his ignition after a long drive instead loud motor sound he is getting hissing sound for some time before it stops. Anybody across the same issue?...thanks
Hissing sound means an escape of compressed air. From what you said, I feel the turbo wastegates do not open dump air upon engine shut down. As a result air is hissing out to atmosphere!

Just a wild guess! biggrin.gif
SKYjack
post Jan 10 2015, 09:51 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(k.t @ Jan 9 2015, 09:49 PM)
Aiyo y my car aircond got some snake sound all.. and the chillness too low.. sad.gif
Waaah you got a pet as a free gift aaah.....hehehe! biggrin.gif

Before you hand over your car to the SC,find out if they have inhouse aircon service. Only some peugeot SC have aircon service. Most of them will call in outsourced aircon servicemen. This process takes very long,since it's on short notice. You might have to leave the car at the SC overnight.

Recently I heard someone waited at Geoauto almost the whole day for aircon to be fixed, but only to be told at 4pm he has to leave his car overnight. The outsourced service guy was probably too busy and available only the next day.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 10 2015, 06:05 PM
SKYjack
post Jan 10 2015, 06:45 PM

367 posts

I've poking around and found this at Caltex website. Unlike Bolehland, law suites are heavy in the US and I'm sure no Co. will make such claims without facts and substantial backing.

All major oil companies say that their fuel is special. Why should I buy Caltex fuel?

Consider this, the United States has some of the world's toughest emission and pollution regulations. When US auto manufacturers design and build new engines and emissions control systems, they know they must prove to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that the car can go a long way and still operate with very low emissions. To help their new engines pass the tough EPA 50,000 and 100,000 mile emission system durability tests, all three major US auto manufacturers use only Caltex with Techron® despite having to purchase the fuel in faraway Kentucky and spend to transport it all the way to the Detroit area (the product is not marketed anywhere near Michigan). All the trouble they go through definitely translates to something.

I will try out Caltex RON 97 and report back!
SKYjack
post Jan 10 2015, 10:16 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(St.Christopher @ Jan 10 2015, 08:56 PM)
Hi Skyjack,
Curious, is Caltex RON95 not good enough, even with Techron?
Cheers
They claim Techron on all Caltex fuel!It should be good enough. Since techron is on RON 95 too, you probably wondering why I am choosing to switch to RON 97. I do find slight performance improvement with RON97 and the price is now $2.11c. All this while have been paying $2.30c for RON 95. So now can afford Premium fuel for my Lion! tongue.gif Just wanna treat my Lion to better quality fuel! tongue.gif

Why should I choose Caltex™ with Techron® over lower quality fuels?

Techron®, the special ingredient in all Caltex petrol, makes them unbeatable at keeping vital engine parts clean, helping your car perform at its best. Lower quality fuels can leave harmful deposits in your car's engine. As these deposits accumulate over time, your car may begin to hesitate and stumble during acceleration, knock or lose power. Caltex fuels with the Techron® additive are unbeatable at cleaning up and avoiding deposits. There's no better way for you to protect and maintain your engine's performance than by using Caltex with Techron®.

Here's more info I found on Cheveron website. Techron appears to be Cheveron's patent.

Techron's formulation is special because it contains polyetheramines. With over 30 years of robust research and development, Techron's unique polyetheramine formulations have been scientifically proven to prevent grimy deposits. The result is a cleaner engine, for maximum performance and lower emissions - proof that Techron works.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 11 2015, 10:10 AM
SKYjack
post Jan 11 2015, 12:40 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Jan 11 2015, 12:12 PM)
Just did my 40K service for 408T and 408 NA at Puchong.
Damage - RM 1530 and RM 1300 respectively.
Is it this expensive guys or I'm being overcharge at Puchong SC?
They also did Evidis disinfection, change Charcoal filter and pollen filter

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Cheap if all fluids were changed! Normally major service is done at 50K or 60K, did you ask for it?

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 11 2015, 12:43 PM
SKYjack
post Jan 11 2015, 04:39 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Jan 11 2015, 03:58 PM)
They said 40K is major service, that is why more expensive this round.

blink.gif
Strictly speaking,major service is 60K. I don't mind changing fluids early as fluids are the life line of engine and gb. Did my major service at 50K, although my car had only done 36K
SKYjack
post Jan 14 2015, 10:18 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(summerkw @ Jan 14 2015, 06:32 PM)
bros, any contact where to get the rotor disc. mine is worn out. need to change. SC quoted 1.9k <pengsan>
Try Asli Motors in Subang Jaya. U can Waze it for exact location.

Am a little curious. Rotor discs are made of high tensile steel,how did it wear off. Did you over look your brake pad and damage the disc?
SKYjack
post Jan 15 2015, 03:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(summerkw @ Jan 15 2015, 10:32 AM)
I also dunno. first time my car need to change disc rotor in my life. I always complain to SC about the screeching sound when braking. Then they claim done. But after a while back the sound back again. Then i went to a normal tyre shop they say the brake pads are ok.

So i went to another tyre shop and they told me the disc wearing off. Warranty for disc rotor is only the first 20k.
SO i guess is my bad that i didn't push to check for the screeching sound earlier.

Anyway thanks for the contact. Will try locate them. Meanwhile i'm sourcing for the disc rotor in garage section and also mudah.

All the best to me....hahhaha
Very careless SC. I suppose you were not sure and did not press for it. Had you mentioned this here I would have told you,screeching sound when braking is symptom of worn brake pads. Need to change immediately cos disc will be damaged if prolonged.

Pads have worn down to the point where metal studs holding the pads on it's housing are protruding. When you brake, the studs come it contact with the disc. They make the screeching sound and circular groves will appear on the disc. Basically the studs are eating away the disc,everytime you brake!

U can also try:
Euromotive Auto Parts
03 90570921

Do tell us the cost.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 15 2015, 06:42 PM
SKYjack
post Jan 18 2015, 09:50 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(wongryan @ Jan 16 2015, 09:46 PM)
it has been a while since i visited the forum.
just dropping by to report after 1.5 years of owning the Lion

1. 2.0NA
2. Car = 1.5 years
3. Mileage = 20,082KM
4. Last Service = 30K KM service
5. SierraGlow coating
6. Yokohama battery, really "ngam ngam" 1 year died ... called the SC to come and replace with Delkor

Pros
1. Fuel economy improving after breaking 18,000 KM ... Recently changed to RON97, fuel economy gets even better, now at 12.5L/100KM. I am 80% city driving. Have tried a past 2 weeks, switching off aircond during my drive in the morning (to office) and evening (back home) .. the fuel consumption can get even better to about 11.8L/100KM

2. Still as enjoyable as the first day driving the car...solid, stable and reliable.

3. All who sat in the car before, enjoys the spaciousness

4. LOL ... all have the impression that this Lion, being continental is an expensive car, and its a class of its own as compared to others ( fuhh .. i feel classsssy )
Cons
1. Dashboard (passenger side) have sound whenever going through rough surface ... did complained to SC, but they say they need to take out the whole dashboard, and cannot guarantee they can resolve. Worst still, the sound may even get worst ... So I just leave it as it is ... normally, with the aircond blowing,  and with my radio on, it is barely noticeable.
Minor scratch, suspect motorcyclist hit it. The SierraGlow coating is like wearing off, I need a new coating. Anyone to intro, please PM me.
Glad to hear your Lion serving you well.

As for the dashboard sound, I suspect the airbag hosing not installed properly. For this the whole dashboard has to be dismantled. If the sound is bothering you then make an appointment with Balakong. Be prepared to leave your car there a couple of days.

SKYjack
post Jan 18 2015, 10:05 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(k.t @ Jan 16 2015, 01:57 PM)
Thanks SKYjack.. wat u said is 100% correct. sent to SC. they said, need one or 2 days.. need to leave at sc.. damn it. they said will call vendor.. i said , ok tell me who is the vendor.. let me check with them.. the answer was interesting. he said, we also not sure sir.. we wil call them. they will come and fix. sad.gif
When it comes to aircon problems, we customers are in a fix. Even if we got the vendor address, going there direct will not expedite the process.

Serious aircon work may require dismantling the center console and even the steering column. It's a complicated process and the aircon vendor will not have the experts. They rely on the SC to remove whatever necessary, only then the vendor will work on the aircon. It has to be a joint effort.

This is the problem with most conti's!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 18 2015, 05:59 PM
SKYjack
post Jan 21 2015, 10:46 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Ladbrokes88 @ Jan 20 2015, 07:01 PM)
Tyre shop quote me Michelin PS3 (year 2014, Thailand) for 225/45R17 @ RM490 per piece. Good price?
Yes good price and Michelin is a more comfortable tyre than Continental. It better suited for 408t, go for it!
SKYjack
post Jan 21 2015, 04:21 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Jan 21 2015, 12:08 PM)
use PS3 before .. better grip but u will notice much more road noise ..
Did you use PS3 on your Lion?
SKYjack
post Jan 21 2015, 07:15 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 21 2015, 04:00 PM)
Bro, Mich PS3 is a performance tyre, not really more comfortable than Conti.
Oh I see. Will be good if someone who has used both tyres on his Lion give us a feedback. If use on different cars will not be an accurate feedback.

SKYjack
post Jan 22 2015, 10:38 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(gcoolw @ Jan 22 2015, 01:54 PM)
Hi 408 owner ..i plan to get a used 2012 turbo unit ..Just concern about the FC.

As i driving honda city now ... how much different will be ??

Any real facts here to share ??
You should not look at FC based on engine size. Look at FC based on power produced. There is no free ride. The basic rule, the more power you want the more fuel will be consumed.

This engine produces as much power as a 2.5NA. However with all the new technology in it, it is much more economical than a 2.5NA. FC of a 2.5NA would be around 8km/L. Our 1.6THP does around 10 - 12km/L.

For sure City FC will be better, but only produces 1/2 the power compared to this Lion! The driving experience from Lion is simply awesome!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 23 2015, 06:47 PM
SKYjack
post Jan 24 2015, 10:05 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jan 23 2015, 11:17 PM)
Mine RM105 for 450km.. So not everybody sama..
This is true,not everone sama.....mine is $86 for 450km, city driving.I'm moderate foot. I'm sure others with light foot will return better FC.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 24 2015, 10:13 AM
SKYjack
post Jan 25 2015, 09:57 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jan 24 2015, 02:43 PM)
Wahh.. Yours better..

Im city driving too but not during peak hours.. No heavy traffic at all but still RM105 for 450km..  shakehead.gif
You must be heavy foot la.....hehehe...enjoy! tongue.gif

Only got 320km with RM100 Ron 97 BHP. I find that my last remaining 170 -180 km with petrol left drops fast. sometimes drive around 20km and straight drops to 100km remaining and then it drops fast.

now testing caltex. shows have completed 267 km and left 123km.
I think my FC improved after 10K service. Am on Caltex RON 97 now. Since Caltex has cleaning additive have decided to use this. I think for performance BP may be an edge better! Am more interested in keeping my Lion healthy!
SKYjack
post Jan 26 2015, 06:33 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jan 25 2015, 09:04 PM)
Bro what petrol u are using? full tank should be around 60 litres. so good performance.
That's what I'm getting now on Caltex

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:02 AM