The Official iOS 8 for iPhone Discussion Thread, Current Version: iOS 8.4

THTgadgets.com
post Mar 17 2015, 03:46 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Mar 17 2015, 01:25 PM)
You trying to be a comedian or what? Android has a lot of strengths, but battery life isn't one of them. The number of times I've had some application go lintang-pukang in the background and suck the battery dry (even after swiping it away in the multitasker) was just insane.
That was precisely why I dropped my Samsung Galaxy S Advance for an iPhone 5, back in March 2014. The Samsung phone's battery drained very fast, considering I only used it for phone calls, texting, a bit of WhatsApp, and photo taking. ohmy.gif

Contrast that with both my iPhone 5 and 6, which also goes down fast but with double the usage (including gaming, Internet access, and Waze)! thumbup.gif
jin_akira
post Mar 17 2015, 04:23 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

You trying to be a comedian or what? Android has a lot of strengths, but battery life isn't one of them. The number of times I've had some application go lintang-pukang in the background and suck the battery dry (even after swiping it away in the multitasker) was just insane.
bro you should try the newer ones now. Z3 Compact, One Plus One, Meizu MX4, Xiaomi Mi-3.. battery easily 2 days with a regular usage on the iPhone. as for the battery sucking app, then can just easily get rid of that app. quite unlikely it's one of the stock apps that is causing the trouble. the only app i know that would cause trouble (drain battery and high processor usage) is the Facebook app. i've tried quite a wide range of Android devices and i must say, it's not as it was before. they are getting a lot better.
vostro78
post Mar 17 2015, 05:22 PM

6,804 posts

hi guys, i hope i ask at the correct section, if not pls enlight me to the correct link. tq

previously i own an ipad mini2 and ip5s, everytime when there is free apps, i install on either 1 of the iOS device my another devices will get the update as well, i found out this feature is vy useful for me as some apps come out with 2 version specially those games that got version for ipad and version for iphone.

but last week i get a new ip6 and i start setup as new iphone in icloud. now everyday when i install a new apps , my another 2 ios will get the apps as well.

my ip6 is on Digi package, and i install the Music Freedom + spotify+Deezer due to FOC until this July, but my ip5s is on celcom like and it also installed with all these 3 apps. i need to manually remove it.

is there a setting where the apps only appeatr in 1 iOS and not all the 3 ?
TSC63 AMG
post Mar 17 2015, 05:58 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

Lol your sense of sarcasm must be low.
But the fact is, for those complaining battery life on the iPhone isn't great, they should consider getting an Android device like the Note 3 4 5 or whatever Android device with larger battery capacities.

This post has been edited by C63 AMG: Mar 17 2015, 06:04 PM
TSC63 AMG
post Mar 17 2015, 06:03 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ Mar 17 2015, 12:30 PM)
That's why the battery talk is ongoing. Its about your own usage/preference on day to day usage. As of me, my pattern is almost the same everyday, and that is why i feel there is an improvement on iOS 8.2. I can squeeze in 2 to 3 hours more on 8.2 with the same pattern usage on the 8.1.2. So it is indeed a better update.  thumbup.gif

btw how bout u? notice any difference in your battery life yet?
Lol like we have agreed, it's based on personal usage.

I find it appalling that some idiots complain they only have 2-3 hours from 100-0 but the reality is they have spent 80% of the battery on games. Well obviously it ain't gonna last long.

But for the record, nope, no difference in battery life experienced for me.
If I were to compare though, I'd say the i6 has a better battery life than the 5S, but definitely no differences over software updates smile.gif

This post has been edited by C63 AMG: Mar 17 2015, 06:07 PM
TSC63 AMG
post Mar 17 2015, 06:06 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Mar 17 2015, 04:23 PM)
bro you should try the newer ones now. Z3 Compact, One Plus One, Meizu MX4, Xiaomi Mi-3.. battery easily 2 days with a regular usage on the iPhone. as for the battery sucking app, then can just easily get rid of that app. quite unlikely it's one of the stock apps that is causing the trouble. the only app i know that would cause trouble (drain battery and high processor usage) is the Facebook app. i've tried quite a wide range of Android devices and i must say, it's not as it was before. they are getting a lot better.
I agree 100% with you on this.
I once used the Redmi Note as my main phone and noticed it's battery is pretty good.
Unless like some people, you run a lot of shit, without clearing your apps running in the background, then you're in the same shit as those having smaller battery capacities.
frantic912
post Mar 17 2015, 08:35 PM

~ Demn ~
711 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Mar 17 2015, 12:23 PM)
I'm on 8.3 Beta 3.
if i update to 8.3 beta 3, can i downgrade to 8.2 back when something wrong...??
nas
post Mar 17 2015, 08:47 PM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Mar 17 2015, 08:35 PM)
if i update to 8.3 beta 3, can i downgrade to 8.2 back when something wrong...??
Yes you can because 8.2 is the latest signed version. Just do a restore.
G-17
post Mar 17 2015, 08:56 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Mar 17 2015, 04:23 PM)
then can just easily get rid of that app. quite unlikely it's one of the stock apps that is causing the trouble.
You've never used Google Currents/Newstand I imagine.

I stand by what I said. I don't consider micro-management like going into settings and killing processes to be acceptable. Mind you, I'm perfectly okay with digging deep into the system. I run ArchLinux and OpenBSD on my desktop. Thing is, with Linux, I only have to do it once when configuring the system, because the OS actually listens to me, unlike Android which I have to micromanage on a daily basis just to get by.

Only exceptions I'm willing to make are Sony flagships. No experience with the Z3 Compact, but the full sized Z2 and Z3 I know are very good with battery life, provided I take the time time to micro-manage stuff. Never used the China brands before, so maybe you're right there.

cocooh
post Mar 17 2015, 09:48 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Mar 17 2015, 10:43 AM)
Lol all the battery talks going on.
Come on. U can't really compare how powerful your battery is depending on how long it lasts.
I can do basic browsing, whatsapp, wechat, fb and other social media shit and get thru a whole day with battery still remaining at the end.
I can also kill my battery by gaming on asphalt for about 2-3 hours. Or go from 100 to 0 in 1.5 hours by playing the Sims City game.
Point is, it's all about usage habits. If you stress your usage on certain apps, battery life will definitely take a hit.
iOS versions barely changes shit to battery life. It's your usage habits and app updates that affects the battery life. I've been using the iPhone since the first one and never had I once thought "oh cool, battery life has been prolonged over the software update". If u need more power just get a power bank. Or be a wall hugger. Or get an android. iPhones were never known for good battery lives.
Ok bye.
laugh.gif you must be kidding me, my iPhone 6+ can last at the least 6 hours of usage (yes, this is the screen on time, not the standby time).

I've been using both ecosystem, Android and iOS for years. Tbh, the wakelocks in Android can be controlled with xposed or other root-access apps but still it can never reach up to the par with iOS.

frantic912
post Mar 17 2015, 11:42 PM

~ Demn ~
711 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Mar 17 2015, 08:47 PM)
Yes you can because 8.2 is the latest signed version. Just do a restore.
any bugs so far on 8.3...???
TSC63 AMG
post Mar 18 2015, 07:50 AM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Mar 17 2015, 09:48 PM)
laugh.gif you must be kidding me, my iPhone 6+ can last at the least 6 hours of usage (yes, this is the screen on time, not the standby time).

I've been using both ecosystem, Android and iOS for years. Tbh, the wakelocks in Android can be controlled with xposed or other root-access apps but still it can never reach up to the par with iOS.
Oops. Sorry. My bad. I've been living only with the iPhone 6 that I've totally forgotten about the plus. You got me.

matkim
post Mar 18 2015, 08:11 AM

iFag
711 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Mar 17 2015, 05:22 PM)
hi guys, i hope i ask at the correct section, if not pls enlight me to the correct link. tq

previously i own an ipad mini2 and ip5s, everytime when there is free apps, i install on either 1 of the iOS device my another devices will get the update as well, i found out this feature is vy useful for me as some apps come out with 2 version specially those games that got version for ipad and version for iphone.

but last week i get a new ip6 and i start setup as new iphone in icloud. now everyday when i install a new apps , my another 2 ios will get the apps as well.

my ip6 is on Digi package, and i install the Music Freedom + spotify+Deezer due to FOC until this July, but my ip5s is on celcom like and it also installed with all these 3 apps. i need to manually remove it.

Go setting and then itunes&app store...u can see those setting..
nas
post Mar 18 2015, 09:18 AM

Apple Convert
1,662 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Mar 17 2015, 11:42 PM)
any bugs so far on 8.3...???
You may refer the link below.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1855155

jin_akira
post Mar 18 2015, 10:00 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Mar 17 2015, 08:56 PM)
You've never used Google Currents/Newstand I imagine.

I stand by what I said. I don't consider micro-management like going into settings and killing processes to be acceptable. Mind you, I'm perfectly okay with digging deep into the system. I run ArchLinux and OpenBSD on my desktop. Thing is, with Linux, I only have to do it once when configuring the system, because the OS actually listens to me, unlike Android which I have to micromanage on a daily basis just to get by.

Only exceptions I'm willing to make are Sony flagships. No experience with the Z3 Compact, but the full sized Z2 and Z3 I know are very good with battery life, provided I take the time time to micro-manage stuff. Never used the China brands before, so maybe you're right there.
uh yeah never used those apps before. my kind of usage is rather basic which involves calls, Whatsapp, browsing (most of the time on WIFI) and gaming (intensity varies with game haha). so i evaluate other devices based on that kind of usage pattern. and based on my usage pattern, i've noticed that the newer devices have lasted longer compared to the older devices, especially the 2014 devices running on Kit Kat or Lollipop. also, my usage pattern did not require me to kill an app on a daily basis or manage them meticulously which i have that going for me which is nice (Bill Murray face). with all that said, our usage pattern is most likely (or clearly) different so our battery usage is different. i simply assumed that just because i experienced a better battery performance, others must or should have experienced the same thing. it's unfortunate that you have to resort to micro managing your stuff just to get things going. but i'm still willing to give Android a chance after seeing their improvement over the years and the potential that they have (there is a freaking PSP emulator for Android now. so they definitely have the potential to do more and go further).

i better get back in topic before the others make noise haha. did you guys notice that the 'Artists' have their own picture in the Music app? last time it would simply show their album cover. now they have a custom photo of the Artists (most likely based off iTunes). it just noticed it when i updated to 8.2. since when was it downloaded and tagged to my music and how do i disable them? i don't want the inconsistency where some Artists have their picture while others don't.

This post has been edited by jin_akira: Mar 18 2015, 10:08 AM
jin_akira
post Mar 18 2015, 10:10 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

for those who TL;DR my previous post; how to disable the Artist picture from automatically downloading and tagging my files in iTunes? i don't want the Artist photo.
TSC63 AMG
post Mar 26 2015, 05:45 PM

Frequent Flyer
1,643 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Mar 18 2015, 10:10 AM)
for those who TL;DR my previous post; how to disable the Artist picture from automatically downloading and tagging my files in iTunes? i don't want the Artist photo.
I think you will have to do it manually with iTunes.
Get info, and delete the thumbnail.
Not really sure if that'll help.
SirRieq
post Mar 26 2015, 08:22 PM

Junior Baby
1,634 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Mar 17 2015, 05:22 PM)

Bro, u need to turn off automatic download in settings>iTunes&appstore for each device unless u want other device to download the same app. Hope it clear.

For the rest, please don't talk shit about battery life in ios or android. Be matured guys!!
jin_akira
post Mar 27 2015, 09:27 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Mar 26 2015, 05:45 PM)
I think you will have to do it manually with iTunes.
Get info, and delete the thumbnail.
Not really sure if that'll help.
that's for album art bro. this one is Artist photo. like their band photoshoot photo, the ones they use on their iTunes. i can't find any settings that would link to the Artist photo. is there a way to disable iTunes from automatically downloading the Artists' details?
firdausbhari
post Mar 27 2015, 12:03 PM

2,281 posts

battery problem with both android and ios? Just get a power bank. problem solved, temporarily solved i guess lol

pasal battery life pun nak bertekak ke

86 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:00 AM