The Official iOS 8 for iPhone Discussion Thread, Current Version: iOS 8.4

jin_akira
post Mar 10 2015, 08:14 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

yeah can someone keep track of the battery performance for the 6 4.7? i know deep down the update would most likely not make the battery performance better, but just give me hope haha
jin_akira
post Mar 10 2015, 09:59 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

okay just took the plunge (dammit). i don't know if it's too early to say, but the phone feels snappier. like the animation, the speed.. so yeah first impression is good. i'm definitely not praising the update as a fanboy or anything though, it just feels snappier than before. now, the battery life..
jin_akira
post Mar 13 2015, 12:09 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Mar 12 2015, 09:40 PM)
I'm actually experiencing improved battery life on my 6 (4.7"). Then again, I don't use WhatsApp or other instant messaging apps, so my use-case might not be representative of the majority here, but I do use a lot of automation stuff (Workflow, Launch Center Pro, IFTTT, Pushbullet) and tons of email. It's been a slow day today though (because I'm off work) , so posting a screenshot would be pointless, but just for reference, I've currently got 88% battery remaining with Usage - 2 hours 3 minutes Standby - 13 hours 39 minutes.
Whatsapp is battery hungry man. and that's what most people rely on (even my parents) so it's definitely an issue. i would say it's Whatsapp's fault but then again, there seems to be no problem for those (some of my friends) who are using older devices (4 and 4S) running 6.1.3..

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Mar 12 2015, 11:42 PM)
still got lag 2 sec after pick up a call....
the phone still ringing after pickup.....adoooiiiyaaaaa
anyone else...??
yeah i've been experiencing it ever since i got the phone back in November. i thought it was part of iOS 7/8's thing. got used to it but it's still quite annoying; after swiping/tapping 'answer', have to wait until i see the call duration (0.00) then only i put it to my ear. if it's a bug, then yes, it is a problem and i am still experiencing it.
jin_akira
post Mar 13 2015, 12:14 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

btw, i just restored my phone, downloaded all my apps and loaded all my music. have to say, it's noticeably faster than before. apps loads faster, multitasking is snappier.. overall i'm happy with the update.
jin_akira
post Mar 15 2015, 03:13 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Mar 13 2015, 08:00 PM)
not all iphone 6 have this problem....
maybe our ip6 the defect 1...hahaha
bro you should Google it; quite a number of people are experiencing. i didn't realize it was an issue until it was pointed out. i don't think only a 'handful' is affected
jin_akira
post Mar 16 2015, 07:14 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Mar 15 2015, 10:37 AM)
I feel the 8.2 Has improved the phone experience. Battery to me is quite good and the swiping experience is smooth.

Yesterday I installed the 8.3 beta 3 and the experience is even better.

### Another extra plus is now under data we have the options:

1. LTE
2. 3G
3. 2G

Carrier is v18.0.1.
What? 8.3 got 2G option? sure ah? what telco are you using?
jin_akira
post Mar 17 2015, 12:01 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Mar 16 2015, 08:37 PM)
Yes there is 2g option. I'm on Digi.
[attachmentid=4375030]
oh finally. you're on 8.2 or 8.3 beta? where is the settings? your settings looks a bit different..
jin_akira
post Mar 17 2015, 04:23 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Mar 17 2015, 01:25 PM)
You trying to be a comedian or what? Android has a lot of strengths, but battery life isn't one of them. The number of times I've had some application go lintang-pukang in the background and suck the battery dry (even after swiping it away in the multitasker) was just insane.
bro you should try the newer ones now. Z3 Compact, One Plus One, Meizu MX4, Xiaomi Mi-3.. battery easily 2 days with a regular usage on the iPhone. as for the battery sucking app, then can just easily get rid of that app. quite unlikely it's one of the stock apps that is causing the trouble. the only app i know that would cause trouble (drain battery and high processor usage) is the Facebook app. i've tried quite a wide range of Android devices and i must say, it's not as it was before. they are getting a lot better.
jin_akira
post Mar 18 2015, 10:00 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Mar 17 2015, 08:56 PM)
You've never used Google Currents/Newstand I imagine.

I stand by what I said. I don't consider micro-management like going into settings and killing processes to be acceptable. Mind you, I'm perfectly okay with digging deep into the system. I run ArchLinux and OpenBSD on my desktop. Thing is, with Linux, I only have to do it once when configuring the system, because the OS actually listens to me, unlike Android which I have to micromanage on a daily basis just to get by.

Only exceptions I'm willing to make are Sony flagships. No experience with the Z3 Compact, but the full sized Z2 and Z3 I know are very good with battery life, provided I take the time time to micro-manage stuff. Never used the China brands before, so maybe you're right there.
uh yeah never used those apps before. my kind of usage is rather basic which involves calls, Whatsapp, browsing (most of the time on WIFI) and gaming (intensity varies with game haha). so i evaluate other devices based on that kind of usage pattern. and based on my usage pattern, i've noticed that the newer devices have lasted longer compared to the older devices, especially the 2014 devices running on Kit Kat or Lollipop. also, my usage pattern did not require me to kill an app on a daily basis or manage them meticulously which i have that going for me which is nice (Bill Murray face). with all that said, our usage pattern is most likely (or clearly) different so our battery usage is different. i simply assumed that just because i experienced a better battery performance, others must or should have experienced the same thing. it's unfortunate that you have to resort to micro managing your stuff just to get things going. but i'm still willing to give Android a chance after seeing their improvement over the years and the potential that they have (there is a freaking PSP emulator for Android now. so they definitely have the potential to do more and go further).

i better get back in topic before the others make noise haha. did you guys notice that the 'Artists' have their own picture in the Music app? last time it would simply show their album cover. now they have a custom photo of the Artists (most likely based off iTunes). it just noticed it when i updated to 8.2. since when was it downloaded and tagged to my music and how do i disable them? i don't want the inconsistency where some Artists have their picture while others don't.

This post has been edited by jin_akira: Mar 18 2015, 10:08 AM
jin_akira
post Mar 18 2015, 10:10 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

for those who TL;DR my previous post; how to disable the Artist picture from automatically downloading and tagging my files in iTunes? i don't want the Artist photo.
jin_akira
post Mar 27 2015, 09:27 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Mar 26 2015, 05:45 PM)
I think you will have to do it manually with iTunes.
Get info, and delete the thumbnail.
Not really sure if that'll help.
that's for album art bro. this one is Artist photo. like their band photoshoot photo, the ones they use on their iTunes. i can't find any settings that would link to the Artist photo. is there a way to disable iTunes from automatically downloading the Artists' details?
jin_akira
post Apr 6 2015, 11:46 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(SirRieq @ Apr 5 2015, 11:00 PM)
Nope. There is no option anymore without using 3g in ios 8 and above. Only jailbroken iphone can have that which to change to 2g.
there was a forumer who posted before a screenshot of the option being available on 8.3 (beta). so all we need to do is wait for 8.3 to come out.

btw, what's the ETA for 8.3?
jin_akira
post Apr 7 2015, 12:04 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Apr 7 2015, 12:00 AM)
take a look at iOS history chart http://www.thinkybits.com/blog/iOS-versions/#_=_  biggrin.gif

a minor release from version major.minor can go up to 100 days or 5 betas most
wow did not know such chart existed. thanks man. and based on the chart, it seems like it's still far away. planning on restoring my phone; i thought can wait a bit and restore to 8.3 straight. seems like i will be restoring to 8.2 for now..
jin_akira
post Apr 11 2015, 10:50 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

why is the download EXTREMELY slow via iTunes?
jin_akira
post Apr 11 2015, 10:53 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

i'm on Unifi 20 btw and my speedtest results is between 12-15mbps, so definitely there's nothing wrong on my side
jin_akira
post Apr 16 2015, 09:45 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

okay so here's what i noticed after the update;

Battery; more or less the same

Animation; feels a bit snappier

Features; loving the 2G option. didn't really bother about the rest

Performance; despite the animation being snappier, i'm not sure whether i can say the same about the performance. i play Injustice and Mortal Kombat X regularly, and both games tend to freeze and stutter during gameplay. i'm not sure whether this is a problem with iOS 8.3 (previous versions got no problem at all) or a problem with the games since they come from the same developers (Warner Bros -> NetherRealm) and that they may have not synchronize with iOS 8.3 yet. can you guys check your games as well? has your games been affected by the update or not?

Others; i found out (myself as well as other users) that iOS 8.3 has restricted app access from third party PC file managers such as iFunbox, iExplorer, etc. i can still browse my music and extract my contacts but i can't see the contents in my apps or make changes to it. this is a major downside for me because i rely heavily on iExplorer to backup/restore my games. i don't feel comfortable using iCloud or iTunes as it does not let me choose what to back up specifically and gives me no freedom at all. so now i can't restore my games' data (luckily Injustice saved my data via WBID)
jin_akira
post Apr 16 2015, 11:52 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(jrlogger @ Apr 16 2015, 10:25 AM)
Infinity Blade 3 also gives me freezes and stutters, where previously it was smooth. Guess it's an iOS issue.
okay so it is the 8.3's fault. was afraid it was my phone acting up. clearly it's not. phew

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Apr 16 2015, 11:24 AM)
2g ?  hmm.gif

if choose 2g option, you will encounter slowness. and it will show E. is it ?
the stuttering/freezing occurred on all settings for me (2G, 3G and LTE) when playing those games. or are you talking about the internet speed..? if you are, then yeah it is slow, but it can still handle Whatsapp. i don't need 3G/LTE constantly because when i'm out (at home got Unifi), i use Whatsapp the most compared to browsing. if i need to browse, then only i turn on 3G/LTE. this way i can conserve battery cause the phone will need more power to continuously search for 3G and even more power to search for LTE. it'll be even worse when that area has none of that (or 3G only) so it will keep on searching for it thus using up more battery. so yeah, battery comes first.
jin_akira
post Apr 17 2015, 02:57 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Apr 17 2015, 12:40 PM)
Update your iFunbox. Mine works perfectly fine.
The guys at iFunbox did a great job by releasing the iOS 8.3 compatible software so quickly.
oh so iFunbox works? i read that the update only allows partial access. i rely more on iExplorer though, and the update didn't change anything. but i'll give iFunbox a try anyway. just need to restore 3-4 save game data, after this backup via iTunes. hopefully i can transfer data in the phone with this new update. have you tried transferring data in the phone via iFunbox?
jin_akira
post Apr 17 2015, 04:31 PM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

ahhhh still can't bro

jin_akira
post Apr 18 2015, 04:51 AM

Corrupt the Core
890 posts

QUOTE(enciksohai @ Apr 18 2015, 01:10 AM)
Hi ! I want to upgrade from Nexus 4 to Iphone 5 or Iphone 5c . Which of these is better in term of durable and resell value since i'm getting a refurbished set that has 1 month warranty , both are 16gb but the shop sells  Iphone 5c RM50 cheaper than Iphone 5 . I would not buy 5s since out of budget . So which one should I get ?
there should be more cases and accessories for the 5 so i would say that the 5 has a better resale value. also it is suitable for everyone in terms of looks, compared to the 5c that looks less premium looking

QUOTE(alifsaduri @ Apr 18 2015, 01:37 AM)
Hi bro,

Anyone here can suggest me any explorer apps that allow me to access into system files? Paids or free doesnt matter as long as i can manage the files that i want.
iFunbox is free, iExplorer is paid. unless you're on iOS 8.2 or lower, access is considerably restricted right now. iOS 8.3 patched some security holes that kinda broke the app management function. you can see the page before this for the kind of message that you'll get when you try to access apps via these file manager softwares. you can still browse and extract other basic stuff though like contacts, music (i think), etc

but if you're talking about a file manager app on the phone, i don't think there is any that would allow access into system files unless you have a jailbroken device

0.0438sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:30 PM