Unifi dlink DIR-850L unifi firmware, firmware that support unifi

TSsupdate
post May 26 2014, 09:43 PM, updated 12y ago

Can anyone tell me where to download firmware that support unifi for Dlink Dir-850L

#aten
post May 26 2014, 10:08 PM

250 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3160058/all

^see the post from up there, you'll find the how-to guide on setting up VLAN tagging
https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-67/...-1394943768.jpg
https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-67/...-1394943788.jpg

This post has been edited by #aten: May 26 2014, 10:12 PM
Geo2
post Jul 7 2014, 04:36 PM

107 posts

Anyone have idea how to configure this for 5 static ip, now i mange to get 1 WAN ip work only.

SnoWFisH
post Aug 1 2014, 04:22 PM

2,250 posts

Unifi firmware can be downloaded from the singapore website....

https://sg.mydlink.com/support# , 1.09sg

anyway those who wants more info, ksleet got do some review here...

http://klseet.com/index.php/tl-wr1043nd-ve...ink-dir-850l-a1

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Aug 1 2014, 04:26 PM
haturaya
post Sep 26 2014, 09:10 PM

2,549 posts

Good router. Have been using this with Unifi for nearly 6 months. Zero problem + easy configuration. Firmware 1.07 SG
teohjo
post Jun 8 2016, 07:58 PM

214 posts

Can somebody share with me this old firmware? I screw up once updated it.. Sg website only show latest firmware..
bluetomsguy
post Jun 10 2016, 04:51 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(teohjo @ Jun 8 2016, 07:58 PM)
Can somebody share with me this old firmware? I screw up once updated it.. Sg website only show latest firmware..
is it means after update to latest frmware, your unifi cant connect ?
teohjo
post Jun 14 2016, 09:44 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(bluetomsguy @ Jun 10 2016, 04:51 PM)
is it means after update to latest frmware, your unifi cant connect ?
Yup. Did u encounter that?
geometrydash
post Jun 14 2016, 10:47 AM

Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months for me. Well this article that i've been waited for so long. I need this article to complete my assignment in the college, and it has same topic with your article. Thanks, great share.
adzyan
post Jun 19 2016, 12:31 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(teohjo @ Jun 8 2016, 07:58 PM)
try this :-
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/
eddiechubhunter
post Jun 28 2016, 10:22 AM

i'm subcribe for 30mbps unifi, for a month using dir-850l connection doing great.. but recently, i do some speedtest it only got 7.8mbps... dont know what happen.. connect with tm router, speed reach to 32mbps.. anyone know what happen?
teohjo
post Jun 28 2016, 10:43 AM

214 posts

i haven't test it. Which tm router are u using? The orange color one?
soonwai
post Jun 28 2016, 05:25 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(eddiechubhunter @ Jun 28 2016, 10:22 AM)
i'm subcribe for 30mbps unifi, for a month using dir-850l connection doing great.. but recently, i do some speedtest it only got 7.8mbps... dont know what happen.. connect with tm router, speed reach to 32mbps.. anyone know what happen?
Did you configure anything on the DIR-850L? Such as QoS or whatever. Some advanced features on the 850L will slow it down drastically.
teohjo
post Jun 28 2016, 05:32 PM

214 posts

guys.. what firmware version did you all using now?
wohcheeonn
post Jul 6 2016, 02:41 PM

hello, unifi people just recently upgraded my old orange router to DIR 850L (black cylinder dlink router). And I just upgraded to 30mbps. Unfortunately, the signal for this router was bad and when i did some speed test, it's about 7mbps as stated in one of the previous post. Anyone know how to fix this or adjust the router configuration to boost my wifi speed and signal for this Dlink DIR 850L? thanks in advance =)

(my firmware version is 2.07)

you can refer to the following link for the review of the router
http://www.blacktubi.com/review/d-link-dir-850l-review/

I did move to prioritize some of my device in the QOS section.

This post has been edited by wohcheeonn: Jul 6 2016, 02:45 PM
soonwai
post Jul 6 2016, 06:18 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wohcheeonn @ Jul 6 2016, 02:41 PM)
hello, unifi people just recently upgraded my old orange router to DIR 850L (black cylinder dlink router). And I just upgraded to 30mbps. Unfortunately, the signal for this router was bad and when i did some speed test, it's about 7mbps as stated in one of the previous post. Anyone know how to fix this or adjust the router configuration to boost my wifi speed and signal for this Dlink DIR 850L? thanks in advance =)

Can you reset the router to defaults and try again? Certain QOS stuff will disable "hardware nat" and slow down the router a lot. Default config for this router should be OK up to 300mbps.

Do a test on LAN first to verify your router is functioning OK then test on Wifi to determine where the problem lies.
daniel20588
post Jul 16 2016, 11:08 PM

515 posts

anyone upgrade to version 2.07 for TM DIR-850L? Will there be any problem after upgrade?
SUSkevin23
post Jul 17 2016, 12:41 PM

1,803 posts

Seems that this router has many issues.
I have problem using my mobile device connected to wifi. Speed is so slow. But on laptop, no issues.

Nvr had this problem on my old orange router
Lineage
post Jul 24 2016, 08:17 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(daniel20588 @ Jul 16 2016, 11:08 PM)
anyone upgrade to version 2.07 for TM DIR-850L? Will there be any problem after upgrade?
Yes, i did upgraded to 2.07, so far didnt notice anything different..

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jul 17 2016, 12:41 PM)
I have problem using my mobile device connected to wifi.  Speed is so slow.  But on laptop,  no issues. 

I've experienced this when TM setup for me..then my wifi keep disconnect and delay..I thought this router is lousy, but then i do factory reset..everything went smooth so far..

Since this router is running dual band, try to set the 2.4GHz to Mixed g/n..5GHz to n/ac..i forgot is it like this..but something like that..
jackytiong
post Aug 5 2016, 04:46 PM

581 posts

nothing wrong....your old device connect it to 2.4 new device connect to 5...version 2.07 hardware B give free by unifi block 2 years....cry cry
soul_gamerz
post Sep 9 2016, 11:18 AM

446 posts

can anyone give me the link for firmware 2.07? I'm getting trouble to setup this router..it says connected but no internet..and i can view hypptv..

nvm..i found it..using the all region firmware..will try after work

This post has been edited by soul_gamerz: Sep 9 2016, 11:26 AM
Tok_Gajah
post Sep 13 2016, 02:03 PM

57 posts

don't use QOS engine just leave your pc unpriortize. i try to set my pc to HIGHEST amd my max connection speed just capped at 7.8Mbps

QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Sep 9 2016, 11:18 AM)
can anyone give me the link for firmware 2.07? I'm getting trouble to setup this router..it says connected but no internet..and i can view hypptv..

nvm..i found it..using the all region firmware..will try after work
http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=DIR-850L

Good new to 30Mbps subscribe.. you can now replacement your DIR615 to DIR850L with TOC

"Pilihan 1: Set alatan you akan diganti secara percuma, dan tempoh kontrak perkhidmatan you akan dilanjutkan bermula dari tarikh gantian set alatan
Atau
Pilihan 2: You boleh memilih untuk membeli set alatan baru daripada TM tanpa memperbaharui tempoh kontrak perkhidmatan. Tempoh jaminan untuk set alatan tersebut akan dilanjutkan dan jumlah bayaran akan dipaparkan di dalam bil you.

Untuk alatan, kami perlukan team kami untuk membuat semakan dahulu sama ada perlu ditukar atau tidak. Btw, jika router yang perlu ditukar, harganya ialah RM127.20 dan untuk BTU modem, ianya lifetime warranty ya "
soul_gamerz
post Sep 13 2016, 02:14 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Tok_Gajah @ Sep 13 2016, 02:03 PM)
Thanks..btw does this one have option for ppoe-unifi? The one i download dont have..need to revert back to 2.06. And i just know that need to use chrome in order to sucessfuly configure this router.
Tok_Gajah
post Sep 13 2016, 02:23 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Sep 13 2016, 02:14 PM)
Thanks..btw does this one have option for ppoe-unifi? The one i download dont have..need to revert back to 2.06. And i just know that need to use chrome in order to sucessfuly configure this router.
Hardware version B for UNIFI that support vlan tagging. I'm using Firefox to configured.. Chrome also do..
mastering89
post Oct 10 2016, 11:10 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

yep i had this issue too
reported to TM then they came and replaced to a new DIR 850L again (for the 3rd time in 3 months).
i found that if i enable QOS, everything will become shitty.
probably the firmware itself or the dumb router.

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jul 17 2016, 12:41 PM)
I have problem using my mobile device connected to wifi.  Speed is so slow.  But on laptop,  no issues. 

same here cry.gif
Bliz
post Oct 11 2016, 09:01 AM

2,734 posts

This router wifi signal is very weak, and the wifi speed will degrade once in a while, the only way to fix it is to restart. Fedup with this and upgraded to Asus RT-AC68U, even web browsing is so much smoother and responsive ( FYI, my house all using wifi, total got about 12 devices but not all using at the same time ), even streaming 4k movie through wifi is not a problem right now with the Asus router
soul_gamerz
post Nov 10 2016, 03:56 PM

446 posts

guys..who have use the Firmware 2.07? how do you configure to use it with unifi? It gave me notification about the 2.07 firmware, when i upgrade it all setting were lost and forced back to downgrade to 2.06. when in 2.07 I dont see the Unifi - PPPoE and cannot configure vLAN tagging.
Lineage
post Nov 10 2016, 04:19 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Nov 10 2016, 03:56 PM)
guys..who have use the Firmware 2.07? how do you configure to use it with unifi? It gave me notification about the 2.07 firmware, when i upgrade it all setting were lost and forced back to downgrade to 2.06. when in 2.07 I dont see the Unifi - PPPoE and cannot configure vLAN tagging.
I'm using 2.07..so far no problem with Unifi..
soul_gamerz
post Nov 10 2016, 05:18 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 10 2016, 04:19 PM)
I'm using 2.07..so far no problem with Unifi..
Can you configure vlan tagging? Did you also had the unifi-pppoe?
NotTheOne
post Nov 30 2016, 05:34 PM

241 posts

Guys
I would recommend not to use the 2.07
(I had to revert to 2.06)

issues with general internet speed when all settings left at default

soulfly
post Dec 13 2016, 07:52 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

I am using 2.07 without any kind of issues. Speed also stable. No complain about performance at all.

However it seems that I don't see VLAN BRIDGE option under Internet setting. Any idea?

sgpdsmss
post Dec 13 2016, 09:16 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Nov 30 2016, 05:34 PM)
Guys
I would recommend not to use the 2.07
(I had to revert to 2.06)

issues with general internet speed when all settings left at default
What kind of issue you encounter with V 2.07?

Mind to share ?

Thanks..
sgpdsmss
post Dec 24 2016, 10:44 AM

1,704 posts

updated to latest fw 2.07...

LAN4 tag to IPTV...unable change to INTERNET...

change to INTERNET ..click SAVE after reboot still IPTV..

anyone know how to change?
thanks..
westlife
post Dec 24 2016, 05:44 PM

14,230 posts

I had done two unifi new installation at two different location. Both location I was given the TP-link Archer C5 wifi router, which it works superb.
soulfly
post Jan 6 2017, 02:38 PM

15,903 posts

Just a finding, don't know if I'm late or not...

There is basically 2 versions of 2.07 firmware
- FW2.07 (Global??)
- FW2.07TM (TM certified)

There's probably other variants depending on region, but I'm not 100% sure.
What I know is that both firmware above can be used without any problem. The global firmware also supports IPTV... I have used and tested.

However the TM firmware has issues with OpenDNS not registering the correct IP address, hence you might have problem accessing certain websites. Domain blocking sometimes an issue too.
sgpdsmss
post Jan 6 2017, 07:33 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 6 2017, 02:38 PM)
Just a finding, don't know if I'm late or not...

There is basically 2 versions of 2.07 firmware
- FW2.07 (Global??)
- FW2.07TM (TM certified)

There's probably other variants depending on region, but I'm not 100% sure.
What I know is that both firmware above can be used without any problem. The global firmware also supports IPTV... I have used and tested.

However the TM firmware has issues with OpenDNS not registering the correct IP address, hence you might have problem accessing certain websites. Domain blocking sometimes an issue too.
Global firmware where to find?
suitable for asian's device?

thanks..
Lineage
post Jan 6 2017, 08:49 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

I'm using this..

soulfly
post Jan 7 2017, 08:02 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jan 6 2017, 07:33 PM)
Global firmware where to find?
suitable for asian's device?

thanks..
Global firmware you can get from international/US D-Link.
But I got mine previously by updating within the router firmware update function (under MANAGEMENT tab).

The 2.07TM can get from D-Link MY/SG site.

The 2.07TM will have something like this displayed in the HOME tab
I don't have a clue what this is, probably someone else can explain.

My DiR-850L originally came with 2.06 which I think has TM firmware, since it was given for UniFi subscription anyway.
Then, I use the built-in firmware update, and the router downloaded 2.07 global. It was running fine, no issues.

Then I gatal tangan and downloaded 2.07TM from D-Link Malaysia site and manually flash it. It was okay for a few days until I found out that it doesn't work well with OpenDNS. Domain blocking still works, but in the same time, you cannot access websites marked 'illegal' by TM.

Then I tried reverting back to Global 2.07 by downloading the firmware from US site and manual flash. Somehow this time I couldn't even connect to the internet for some unknown reason. Your result may vary.

Now I downgraded to 2.06 Malaysia firmware, everything works just the way I like it.

So my recommendation is don't upgrade to 2.07TM unless you are only doing 'normal stuff' laugh.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jan 7 2017, 08:07 AM
sgpdsmss
post Jan 7 2017, 09:21 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 7 2017, 08:02 AM)
Global firmware you can get from international/US D-Link.
But I got mine previously by updating within the router firmware update function (under MANAGEMENT tab).

The 2.07TM can get from D-Link MY/SG site.

The 2.07TM will have something like this displayed in the HOME tab
I don't have a clue what this is, probably someone else can explain.
My DiR-850L originally came with 2.06 which I think has TM firmware, since it was given for UniFi subscription anyway.
Then, I use the built-in firmware update, and the router downloaded 2.07 global. It was running fine, no issues.

Then I gatal tangan and downloaded 2.07TM from D-Link Malaysia site and manually flash it. It was okay for a few days until I found out that it doesn't work well with OpenDNS. Domain blocking still works, but in the same time, you cannot access websites marked 'illegal' by TM.

Then I tried reverting back to Global 2.07 by downloading the firmware from US site and manual flash. Somehow this time I couldn't even connect to the internet for some unknown reason. Your result may vary.

Now I downgraded to 2.06 Malaysia firmware, everything works just the way I like it.

So my recommendation is don't upgrade to 2.07TM unless you are only doing 'normal stuff'  laugh.gif
I already upgraded to TM 2.07 fw few weeks ago..
I'm using Google DNS...
SUSedwardstevens
post Feb 3 2017, 02:59 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 7 2017, 08:02 AM)

uhh...where to get 2.06 tm?

i 'accidentally' upgrade to 2.07 tm and have trouble with the TR dns server

dlink website only have 2.06sg. i cant add static lan ip with that fw
soulfly
post Feb 3 2017, 05:55 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Feb 3 2017, 02:59 AM)
uhh...where to get 2.06 tm?

i 'accidentally' upgrade to 2.07 tm and have trouble with the TR dns server

dlink website only have 2.06sg. i cant add static lan ip with that fw
the firmware i am using is DIR850L_FW206SGb04
not sure about the static ip thingy as i am not utilizing it
SUSedwardstevens
post Feb 5 2017, 01:49 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 3 2017, 05:55 PM)
the firmware i am using is DIR850L_FW206SGb04
not sure about the static ip thingy as i am not utilizing it
ooo...

after 2.06sg, there is a 2.06tm which is stable, can turn off the WPS and can add static lan ip

the TR in 2.07tm is tr-069. router need to phone home (to tm) once in a while probably.

the tr dns server don't resolve any domain.

devices that support ipv6 wont have problem since they will use ipv6 dns server to resolve domain but old device, well...shit

edit: btw, i e-mailed dlink malaysia and they give an updated firmware, 2.08tm. none of that TR nonsense

This post has been edited by edwardstevens: Feb 6 2017, 12:19 PM
max_cavalera
post Feb 6 2017, 01:50 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(edwardstevens @ Feb 5 2017, 02:49 PM)
ooo...

after 2.06sg, there is a 2.06tm which is stable, can turn off the WPS and can add static lan ip

the TR in 2.07tm is tr-069. router need to phone home (to tm) once in a while probably.

the tr dns server don't resolve any domain.

devices that support ipv6 wont have problem since they will use ipv6 dns server to resolve domain but old device, well...shit

edit: btw, i e-mailed dlink malaysia and they give an updated firmware, 2.08tm. none of that TR nonsense
So how?

Problem solved already?
bsb85my
post Feb 15 2017, 11:28 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

Is there any button that can manually disconnect ONLY from the internet without restarting the router? I can't find the disconnect button unless i change the connection setting to "on demand/manually".
GuyM
post Feb 16 2017, 02:16 PM

1,787 posts

Can anyone advise the steps to use this router as repeater?
soonwai
post Feb 17 2017, 12:31 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 02:16 PM)
I don't think you can with this router but I could be wrong. Best you do is have it as a wired AP.

muncheno
post Feb 17 2017, 12:43 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 16 2017, 02:16 PM)
I saw the option is available, you may want to try it.

After set the repeater mode, I think u need to set the same wireless setting same as main router.

Zzzz. Good night

soonwai
post Feb 17 2017, 02:26 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 17 2017, 12:43 AM)

After set the repeater mode, I think u need to set the same wireless setting same as main router.

Zzzz. Good night
Thanks for the correction.

GuyM It should be quite easy, all you need are SSID, password and MAC address of the opposing wifi. So just find places to key those in and you're done.
GuyM
post Feb 17 2017, 07:47 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 17 2017, 12:43 AM)

Zzzz. Good night
OK, will try to do it this weekend, cheers!
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 17 2017, 02:26 AM)
Thanks for the correction.

GuyM It should be quite easy, all you need are SSID, password and MAC address of the opposing wifi. So just find places to key those in and you're done.
I supposed I could easily get those info from my main router rtn12hp...? Thanks mate!
bsb85my
post Feb 22 2017, 02:15 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

A sharing of my experience with firmware 2.06sg, 2.07TM, and 2.08TM:

Before I begin, I would like to say that the results below was solely my own experience. It may be vary for you guys. And note that I'm only using mobile phone (redmi note 3 SD), and this was the only device that connected to the router.

My 850L router came originally with 2.07TM and from what I've remember, it didn't gave me major issue with the wifi connection (2.4ghz + 5ghz) as well as the internet.

Then last week I've updated to 2.08TM, where the nightmare begun. The wifi connection on 5ghz disconnected certain times and unable to connect back with a message says password invalid. It can only be fixed by restarting the router. As for the internet, frequent delay or lag occurred. For example, if you would scroll Instagram or YouTube or even Clash Royale, it took as least 5 sec to load. Almost every time when i did a page refresh in the Instagram or YouTube, again it took about another 5 sec to load. I've tried to use the speedtest.net app to do some speed tesing, it couldn't even load up the "nearest location". Somehow the download speed was ok (full speed), but the whole connection thing went so delay/lag. And the 3rd issue was the 3rd party DNS (google + opendns) isn't allowed. Even though the 3rd party DNS is set, so-called illegal sites are still blocked.

Then I reverted back to 2.07TM and i thought the issues would be solved. Sadly the internet and the wifi connection were as bad as in 2.08TM. The only thing was working is that I could use the 3rd party DNS.

Currently the best solution for me now is to roll back to 2.06sg version. Everything goes fine so far with this firmware. The only thing is I've disabled the 5ghz wifi and solely use 2.4ghz, because disconnections still occur. I'm not sure whether it's the router itself unable to handle 5ghz or my device issue.

I've tried 2.07 global version, but failed. Probably it's due to the lack of vlan tagging feature in the global version. (Correct me if I'm wrong)

Conclusion:
2.08TM:
Wifi (5ghz) frequent disconnection, internet connection delay/lag, 3rd party DNS disallowed.

2.07TM (after roll back from 2.08TM):
Wifi (5ghz) frequent disconnection, internet connection delay/lag

2.06sg:
Everything is perfect, except for the Wifi (5ghz) has frequent disconnection

I hope my sharing here, perhaps, might help the community here.

This post has been edited by bsb85my: Feb 22 2017, 02:17 AM
iXora.ix
post Feb 23 2017, 07:07 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(bsb85my @ Feb 22 2017, 02:15 AM)

Conclusion:
2.08TM:
Wifi (5ghz) frequent disconnection, internet connection delay/lag, 3rd party DNS disallowed.

2.06sg:

Great info. Right now Im using 2.07 firmware and only use as AP. SO far no issue for frequent disconnected, but I need to reboot the router once in a 2-3 days. hmm.gif hmm.gif
IamNOT
post Feb 25 2017, 12:53 PM

283 posts

Hi, I got New router hardware version B1 from TM. Cannot change DNS Where you guys download SG firmware?
From SG website I only found:

For H/W Rev. A:
v1.12

For H/W Rev. B:
v2.03
Khalid21
post Feb 25 2017, 05:47 PM

1,138 posts

Before I begin, I would like to say that the results below was solely my own experience. It may be vary for you guys. And note that I'm only using mobile phone (redmi note 3 SD), and this was the only device that connected to the router.

My 850L router came originally with 2.07TM and from what I've remember, it didn't gave me major issue with the wifi connection (2.4ghz + 5ghz) as well as the internet.

Then last week I've updated to 2.08TM, where the nightmare begun. The wifi connection on 5ghz disconnected certain times and unable to connect back with a message says password invalid. It can only be fixed by restarting the router. As for the internet, frequent delay or lag occurred. For example, if you would scroll Instagram or YouTube or even Clash Royale, it took as least 5 sec to load. Almost every time when i did a page refresh in the Instagram or YouTube, again it took about another 5 sec to load. I've tried to use the speedtest.net app to do some speed tesing, it couldn't even load up the "nearest location". Somehow the download speed was ok (full speed), but the whole connection thing went so delay/lag. And the 3rd issue was the 3rd party DNS (google + opendns) isn't allowed. Even though the 3rd party DNS is set, so-called illegal sites are still blocked.

Then I reverted back to 2.07TM and i thought the issues would be solved. Sadly the internet and the wifi connection were as bad as in 2.08TM. The only thing was working is that I could use the 3rd party DNS.

Currently the best solution for me now is to roll back to 2.06sg version. Everything goes fine so far with this firmware. The only thing is I've disabled the 5ghz wifi and solely use 2.4ghz, because disconnections still occur. I'm not sure whether it's the router itself unable to handle 5ghz or my device issue.

I've tried 2.07 global version, but failed. Probably it's due to the lack of vlan tagging feature in the global version. (Correct me if I'm wrong)

Conclusion:
2.08TM:

2.06sg:

for 5ghz wifi, try fix channel 44
IamNOT
post Feb 26 2017, 05:19 PM

283 posts

Conclusion:
2.08TM:

2.06sg:

How they disallow DNS change in 2.08TM? No more setting in advance?

This post has been edited by IamNOT: Feb 26 2017, 05:19 PM
bsb85my
post Mar 1 2017, 12:31 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(IamNOT @ Feb 26 2017, 05:19 PM)
How they disallow DNS change in 2.08TM? No more setting in advance?
No, you can still enter 3rd party DNS and the router will also shows 3rd party DNS

But u still can't access those blocked sites. So I assume that the static DNS function is useless now.
bsb85my
post Mar 1 2017, 12:36 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(IamNOT @ Feb 25 2017, 12:53 PM)
Hi, I got New router hardware version B1 from TM. Cannot change DNS Where you guys download SG firmware?
From SG website I only found:

For H/W Rev. A:
v1.12

For H/W Rev. B:
v2.03
Here it is
bsb85my
post Mar 1 2017, 03:59 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Feb 25 2017, 05:47 PM)
for 5ghz wifi, try fix channel 44
Thanks. Seems like working.
jacktiew
post Mar 15 2017, 03:21 AM

289 posts

This is for the user facing speed delay on 2.07TM and 2.08TM.

I guess the reason you guys saying 2.06 is fast is due to it did not enable IPv6 by default. The default IPv6 DNS from TM itself has speed delay.

You guys need to change both IPv4 and IPv6 DNS to Google DNS or any other DNS (for my case, I use Google DNS.)

Change IPv4 DNS to Google DNS

Change IPv6 DNS to Google DNS
2001:4860:4860::8888
2001:4860:4860::8844

This post has been edited by jacktiew: Mar 15 2017, 03:30 AM
jack208
post Mar 21 2017, 06:40 PM

335 posts

Hmm.. seems I'm having the same issue with 2.08TM. After I installed the firmware yesterday, I found this morning devices are able to connect but not identified (ie no dynamic IP given). No internet access.

I reverted back to 2.07TM but the same issue remained. I'm getting around that thru static IP (on the device). Maybe I hard-reset the 850L and see if it resolves the issue. Will revert on the findings later.
jack208
post Mar 22 2017, 06:55 AM

335 posts

Managed to resolve the dynamic IP issue with a factory reset. Seems factory reseting the router cleared it of whatever's causing the problems on my end. Router is still at 2.07TM. Likely keep it at this FW until someone can verify 2.08TM is good to upgrade.

I saw that in D-link global, the recent 2.08 (non-TM) has an update date in Feb/Mar.
nikrizal
post Mar 22 2017, 09:15 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(jack208 @ Mar 22 2017, 06:55 AM)
Managed to resolve the dynamic IP issue with a factory reset. Seems factory reseting the router cleared it of whatever's causing the problems on my end. Router is still at 2.07TM. Likely keep it at this FW until someone can verify 2.08TM is good to upgrade.

I saw that in D-link global, the recent 2.08 (non-TM) has an update date in Feb/Mar.
Mine 2.08...working well
razkal
post Apr 3 2017, 06:32 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Mar 22 2017, 09:15 AM)
Mine 2.08...working well
Does google DNS work with the non TM firmware. Currently using 2.08TM but having problems with google DNS. Have to set manically on device itself.
nikaizad
post Apr 3 2017, 01:27 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

Conclusion:
2.08TM:

2.06sg:

DNS change setting is not working on 2.08TM

sepulse
post Apr 27 2017, 02:55 PM

434 posts

i need help. im using this router as an Access Point. problem is i need the Mac filter function. anyone know any firmware that support mac filtering on access point mode?
donat_g
post May 31 2017, 12:12 PM

Conclusion:
2.08TM:

2.06sg:

THANKS BROOOOOOOO I really appreciate the help
blackbox
post Jun 19 2017, 10:16 AM

133 posts

Hi guys,

Just subscribed Unifi 30mbps and was given this Dlink router, it seems the speed is very slow and accessing to the router is hang at all time, any idea why?
nikrizal
post Jun 19 2017, 04:26 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(blackbox @ Jun 19 2017, 10:16 AM)
Hi guys,

Just subscribed Unifi 30mbps and was given this Dlink router, it seems the speed is very slow and accessing to the router is hang at all time, any idea why?
It's a well known bad router. I only use it as a network switch.
kayFX
post Jul 27 2017, 09:16 AM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

has anyone successfully set this router to use ipv6? been searching since yesterday but to no avail rclxub.gif manage to use PPPoE connection to connect but ipv6 connection test fail hmm.gif other setting can't even connect.. or is there something that I've been missing?
birain
post Jul 27 2017, 01:24 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ Apr 3 2017, 06:32 AM)
Does google DNS work with the non TM firmware. Currently using 2.08TM but having problems with google DNS. Have to set manically on device itself.
ipv4 and ipv6 google dns is working on 2.08TM. i'm on ipv6 ip assign by TM, no problem so far.
Zaryl
post Aug 1 2017, 12:31 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Hi guys,

speed is slow?
My UniFI 30/10mbps router is also using DIR 850.

mind telling me what kind of device you are accessing the router with? smartphones? ipads? desktop? laptop? etc

all my smartphones, ipads, PS4 & laptop can get around 27-30 mbps speed.
but sometimes my desktop pc can get up to 10-15mbps only. but this is due to my desktop is using Dell wireless adapter, which is known to have low reception problem.

what i did was, i tweaked some settings inside it, especially on antennas & channel strength, and i can get vast improvement. can easily get 27-30mbps now.

miejot
post Aug 2 2017, 11:39 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Aug 1 2017, 12:31 AM)
speed is slow?
My UniFI 30/10mbps router is also using DIR 850.

mind telling me what kind of device you are accessing the router with? smartphones? ipads? desktop? laptop? etc

all my smartphones, ipads, PS4 & laptop can get around 27-30 mbps speed.
but sometimes my desktop pc can get up to 10-15mbps only. but this is due to my desktop is using Dell wireless adapter, which is known to have low reception problem.

what i did was, i tweaked some settings inside it, especially on antennas & channel strength, and i can get vast improvement. can easily get 27-30mbps now.
can you share how you tweaked the settings?
Zaryl
post Aug 5 2017, 10:23 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(miejot @ Aug 2 2017, 11:39 AM)
can you share how you tweaked the settings?
Right click on the Wifi logo in your Win 10. choose Open network & sharing center.
Then choose Adapter settings.
Double click on your Dell Wifi adapter. Go to Settings.

Unfortunately, even after tweaked, sometimes i find the speed dropped back like i mentioned earlier; 6-7 mbps. doh.gif

just today, i went to a pc shop, bought the Dlink N high gain USB wireless adapter, disabled the damn Dell wireless adapter, installed the Dlink's and now my speed is always maximum, all the time!

RM75 only.

thumbup.gif
zhihao4456
post Aug 7 2017, 09:12 AM

559 posts

Hi guys,

TM stock routers are known for not good stability~ Speed wise you still get it on and off~ You might want to get another router like ASUS or TPLink
miejot
post Aug 7 2017, 02:21 PM

32 posts

just bought a secondhand router from mudah and the speed is stable to me. I am using as my second router for my upper floor wifi coverage. With firmware 2.08TM, everything is good including the DLNA server.
soonwai
post Aug 24 2017, 09:28 PM

11,455 posts

For those who are having problems with using custom DNS with the DIR-850L. Be sure to:

1. Enter your custom DNS.

2. Disable DNS relay.

Tested on HW: B1 v2.08TM with MacBook Pro, sarawakreport and youporn.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 24 2017, 11:01 PM
birain
post Aug 24 2017, 10:31 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 24 2017, 09:28 PM)
For those who are having problems with using custom DNS with the DIR-850L. Be sure to:

2. Disable DNS relay.

Tested on v2.08TM.
you set 1 in the router and another 1 inside windows, else you will kena block if surf ahem-ahem sites...
soonwai
post Aug 24 2017, 10:49 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 24 2017, 10:31 PM)
you set 1 in the router and another 1 inside windows, else you will kena block if surf ahem-ahem sites...
Not necessary, just set in router. The device will get the custom DNS via DHCP. Tested with HW:B1 2.08TM, MacBook Pro, sarawakreport and youporn.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 24 2017, 11:02 PM
zhihao4456
post Aug 25 2017, 09:04 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 24 2017, 10:31 PM)
i set in router already enough~
birain
post Aug 27 2017, 12:00 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(zhihao4456 @ Aug 25 2017, 09:04 AM)
i set in router already enough~
really? dunno why this banner keep popping up if set in router... sweat.gif and also that TM's lazada banner. blink.gif

soonwai
post Aug 27 2017, 12:18 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 27 2017, 12:00 PM)
really? dunno why this banner keep popping up if set in router... sweat.gif  and also that TM's lazada banner. blink.gif

Make sure you have DNS Relay disabled. My tests were done with IPv4 only.

Anyway, nothing wrong with setting the DNS on your PCs. For a typical home with not many devices, it's quite manageable. If you do that, you don't have to set anything on the router.
birain
post Aug 27 2017, 12:23 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 27 2017, 12:18 PM)
Make sure you have DNS Relay disabled. My tests were done with IPv4 only.

Anyway, nothing wrong with setting the DNS on your PCs. For a typical home with not many devices, it's quite manageable. If you do that, you don't have to set anything on the router.
ic, both my ipv4 and ipv6 is on and both is working. the dns relay already untick when i first installed.
tallrice
post Aug 27 2017, 12:52 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 24 2017, 09:28 PM)

2. Disable DNS relay.

Tested on HW: B1 v2.08TM with MacBook Pro, sarawakreport and youporn.
thanks bro...
tallrice
post Aug 27 2017, 12:53 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ Apr 3 2017, 06:32 AM)
mine also is 2.08 and no problem setting to google DNS for IPv4 and IPv6...
zhihao4456
post Aug 28 2017, 08:56 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 27 2017, 12:23 PM)
ic, both my ipv4 and ipv6 is on and both is working. the dns relay already untick when i first installed.
disable ipv6 as well~
Lineage
post Sep 18 2017, 10:15 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

https://www.lowyat.net/2017/142166/dlink-un...me-router-risk/

D-Link Malaysia already responded about this issue..
http://www.dlink.com.my/securityadvisory-msia/

This post has been edited by Lineage: Sep 18 2017, 10:21 PM
siegfried21
post Sep 19 2017, 03:07 PM

18 posts

I have ipv6 & ipv4 set to Google DNS and DNS relay disabled but some websites are still blocked. Any other settings that I need to change on the router?
HonMun
post Sep 19 2017, 03:20 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

Maybe fibre cable issue.......call TM to replace connector.
nikrizal
post Sep 19 2017, 05:15 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 18 2017, 10:15 PM)
I only use this modem as a bridge mode, no need to worry, right?
anoobist
post Sep 23 2017, 07:45 PM

74 posts

After the latest firmware update, I'm unable to get internet. How to fix sad.gif
SilentVampire
post Sep 23 2017, 08:11 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(anoobist @ Sep 23 2017, 07:45 PM)
After the latest firmware update, I'm unable to get internet. How to fix sad.gif
Are you with Unifi or Time? Did you buy the router yourself? If you got the router from Unifi or Time, you should not have updated the firmware as it is for retail unit, not Unifi or Time supplied router.

Try to check your PPPoE username and password, or check if your VLAN tagging is enabled.
anoobist
post Sep 23 2017, 09:49 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 23 2017, 08:11 PM)
Are you with Unifi or Time? Did you buy the router yourself? If you got the router from Unifi or Time, you should not have updated the firmware as it is for retail unit, not Unifi or Time supplied router.

Try to check your PPPoE username and password, or check if your VLAN tagging is enabled.
Dammit. Anyway to fix? How to get to vlan tagging page?
SilentVampire
post Sep 23 2017, 10:12 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(anoobist @ Sep 23 2017, 09:49 PM)
Bro, see here: http://global.dlink.com.sg/faq/faq_pdfs/DI...R-850L-v1.1.pdf

Hope that fixes the problem.
tai_digidestany
post Sep 23 2017, 10:34 PM

505 posts

Just wanna ask; this modem can be use to Streamyx?
^Ware^wolf
post Sep 23 2017, 10:39 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(anoobist @ Sep 23 2017, 09:49 PM)
go to advanced setting on the pppoe password page.

set 500 and 600 for internet vlan id and IPTV Vlan id . save and reboot your router....
SilentVampire
post Sep 23 2017, 10:46 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Sep 23 2017, 10:34 PM)
Just wanna ask; this modem can be use to Streamyx?
No. You will need to have a separate modem. It is just a router, and not a modem/router combo.
vamfire
post Sep 23 2017, 10:47 PM

171 posts

I just updated to the retail firmware, everthing seems to be working fine...

Internet connection still can choose unifi-pppoe

But one thing I noticed is that my PC connected through LAN is not showing up in the connected clients, only connected wifi devices listed...

Pencil icon for edit clients name also not working (cannot save)
anoobist
post Sep 23 2017, 11:09 PM

74 posts

Everytime i click save, it does not save the settings omg. Can't downgrade either. Fml lol
Eterman
post Sep 23 2017, 11:10 PM

490 posts

retail firmware seem to not support unifi-pppoe (on the 850L with TM logo) for me, i can see it as an option but i can't save it. Every reboot, it keep default back to pppoe.

Assessing the dlink interface with my phone doesn't show unifi-pppoe option at all.

Reflash 2.08TM firmware and everything works again. Gonna wait for TM version of the latest firmware.
anoobist
post Sep 23 2017, 11:12 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Sep 23 2017, 11:10 PM)
retail firmware seem to not support unifi-pppoe (on the 850L with TM logo) for me, i can see it as an option but i can't save it. Every reboot, it keep default back to pppoe.

Assessing the dlink interface with my phone doesn't show unifi-pppoe option at all.

Reflash 2.08TM firmware and everything works again. Gonna wait for TM version of the latest firmware.
How to reflash. Teach me masterrrr
SilentVampire
post Sep 23 2017, 11:15 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(anoobist @ Sep 23 2017, 11:12 PM)
Get the firmware for TM 2.08 and reflash: http://www.dlink.com.my/dir-850l-msia/#firmware
vamfire
post Sep 23 2017, 11:16 PM

171 posts

Wah? U guys even the settings cannot save?

What browser did u guys use? I use chrome browser and it works fine, I remembered reading somewhere that other browser might cause that save issue...

And, it's best practice after flashing the firmware, reset the router to factory default settings, I encountered no internet also at first but after done that, set everything again, now all good except the things i mentioned b4...

This post has been edited by vamfire: Sep 23 2017, 11:23 PM
Eterman
post Sep 23 2017, 11:24 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(anoobist @ Sep 23 2017, 11:12 PM)
i use dlink recovery mode to re-flash 2.08TM, since the usual interface only allows upgrade

i learned from this site : http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.0

preparation :
-download 2.08TM firmware on your computer
-connect your computer to router using LAN cable
-set your computer's ethernet ip to static ip 192.168.0.2

assess recovery mode :
-power off your router
-use a pin ( or something similar) and poke/press the reset button
-while hold-press the reset button for 3-5 seconds, press the power button while hold-press the reset button until you see the power indicator is in amber colour and blinking ( now router is in recovery mode )

re-flash 2.08TM firmware
-on your computer, open up browser and login to 192.168.0.1
-it will show Dlink Recovery mode
-click select to choose the 2.08TM firmware, and then click upload
-wait until the process finish, it will autorestart
-check the version, it should say 2.08TM rclxms.gif

setup unifi and wifi settings
-since the router is reset, all settings are lost
-you will need to re-enter all unifi settings and personal settings again.

It worked for me, i hoped it works for you icon_rolleyes.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

QUOTE(vamfire @ Sep 23 2017, 11:16 PM)

What browser did u guys use? I use chrome browser and it works fine, I remembered reading somewhere that other browser might cause that save issue...

And, it's best practice after flashing the firmware, reset the router to factory default settings, I encountered no internet also at first but after done that, set everything again, now all good except the things i mentioned b4...
So nice, my router i reset also can't connect to internet bangwall.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Eterman: Sep 23 2017, 11:27 PM
anoobist
post Sep 23 2017, 11:32 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Sep 23 2017, 11:24 PM)
i use dlink recovery mode to re-flash 2.08TM, since the usual interface only allows upgrade

preparation :

assess recovery mode :
-power off your router
-while hold-press the reset button for 3-5 seconds, press the power button while hold-press the reset button until you see the power indicator is in amber colour and blinking ( now router is in recovery mode )

re-flash 2.08TM firmware
-check the version, it should say 2.08TM  rclxms.gif

It worked for me, i hoped it works for you  icon_rolleyes.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So nice, my router i reset also can't connect to internet  bangwall.gif  doh.gif
Thank you. And thank you all biggrin.gif
anoobist
post Sep 23 2017, 11:32 PM

74 posts

I was using Chrome sad.gif
socratesman
post Sep 24 2017, 02:01 PM

1,807 posts

So better wait for Dlnk Msia to upload new TM-certified firmware....
cucubud
post Sep 26 2017, 05:27 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Anyone updated their firmware to V2.10?

SilentVampire
post Sep 26 2017, 05:52 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Sep 26 2017, 05:27 PM)
You should wait until your ISP-specific firmware is released. There have been reported problems with the retail firmware if your DLink Dir-850L is provided by TM or Time.
vamfire
post Sep 26 2017, 10:03 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Sep 26 2017, 05:27 PM)
I've updated my router using that retail firmware, so far everything is good except cannot save client name & reserved ip for connected clients...

So, it's kinda annoying if you need/use reserved ip address in your LAN network but in exchange for added security, I can live without that for this time being...

Waiting for TM to release their certified firmware as well, hopefully everything will work normally...
cucubud
post Sep 27 2017, 08:08 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 26 2017, 05:52 PM)
You should wait until your ISP-specific firmware is released. There have been reported problems with the retail firmware if your DLink Dir-850L is provided by TM or Time.
QUOTE(vamfire @ Sep 26 2017, 10:03 PM)
I've updated my router using that retail firmware, so far everything is good except cannot save client name & reserved ip for connected clients...

So, it's kinda annoying if you need/use reserved ip address in your LAN network but in exchange for added security, I can live without that for this time being...

Waiting for TM to release their certified firmware as well, hopefully everything will work normally...
Thanks guys for your comments.
Will wait for TM to release their version.
Currently mine is on V2.08 and it seems stable without any issue.
shadow1143
post Sep 27 2017, 01:27 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(vamfire @ Sep 26 2017, 10:03 PM)

I've updated to 2.10 but unfortunately it doesn't work , whenever I change my internet mode to unifi -PPPoE it will revert back to PPPoE automatically , so I guess I have to revert back to 2.08 version
Lineage
post Sep 27 2017, 01:44 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Updated to 2.09..I use the updater in router..

After updated to 2.09, SSID forced to have @unifi at the back..

After updated to 2.09, noticed that Whatsapp send out message sometimes will delay.. ranting.gif

By the way, order new router to replace this shitty router.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Lineage: Sep 27 2017, 02:26 PM
SilentVampire
post Sep 27 2017, 02:10 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 27 2017, 01:44 PM)

After updated to 2.09, noticed that Whatsapp send out message sometimes will delay..  ranting.gif

By the way, order new router to replace this shitty router..  wink.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

What new router?
Lineage
post Sep 27 2017, 02:26 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 27 2017, 02:10 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

What new router?
TP-Link Archer C9 biggrin.gif
SilentVampire
post Sep 27 2017, 02:27 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 27 2017, 02:26 PM)
TP-Link Archer C9  biggrin.gif
Good choice bro. It will definitely be an improvement over the rubbish bin router.
Lineage
post Sep 27 2017, 02:38 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 27 2017, 02:27 PM)
Good choice bro. It will definitely be an improvement over the rubbish bin router.
Hope the wifi coverage can cover my room perfectly..since it got beamforming technology..
birain
post Sep 27 2017, 03:21 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

After updated to 2.09, noticed that Whatsapp send out message sometimes will delay..  ranting.gif

no more SSID name as you like? sweat.gif
Lineage
post Sep 27 2017, 04:03 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Sep 27 2017, 03:21 PM)
no more SSID name as you like? sweat.gif
Can..you still can put the name as you like but will force u to put @unifi at the back.. sweat.gif
vamfire
post Sep 27 2017, 04:34 PM

171 posts

Firmware v2.09? Is this official TM firmware?

From the snapshot looks like one because got 'TM' letters, but no official annoucement or update at dlink.my or even TM

This post has been edited by vamfire: Sep 27 2017, 04:37 PM
Lineage
post Sep 27 2017, 04:40 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(vamfire @ Sep 27 2017, 04:34 PM)
Firmware v2.09? Is this official TM firmware?

From the snapshot looks like one because got 'TM' letters, but no official annoucement or update at dlink.my or even TM
I've no idea..i just press the "Check for new firmware"..and it pop out new firmware..i just download and install.. laugh.gif
gotnet
post Sep 30 2017, 05:01 PM

43 posts

Hey guys i updated to the retail firmware 2.10. I tried to downgrade it to 2.08 TM but it says failed. How do i fix this?
SilentVampire
post Sep 30 2017, 08:30 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(gotnet @ Sep 30 2017, 05:01 PM)
Hey guys i updated to the retail firmware 2.10. I tried to downgrade it to 2.08 TM but it says failed. How do i fix this?
See below, post #102 in this thread by Eterman

preparation :

assess recovery mode :
-power off your router

re-flash 2.08TM firmware

It worked for me, i hoped it works for you icon_rolleyes.gif
This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Sep 30 2017, 08:30 PM
gotnet
post Sep 30 2017, 09:19 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 30 2017, 08:30 PM)
Ahh thank you very much.
vamfire
post Oct 4 2017, 10:47 PM

171 posts

Reverted back my router to v2.08TM using the recovery mode & re purposed it as a VPN router...

Now using back my Archer AC1200 as the main router for peace of mind...

Dunno when TM will officially issue the secured/certified firmware, too long for me to feel comfortable...

haturaya
post Oct 5 2017, 01:26 AM

2,549 posts

I use Chrome too, but can't save unifi settings... rclxub.gif
vamfire
post Oct 5 2017, 08:33 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Oct 5 2017, 01:26 AM)
I use Chrome too, but can't save unifi settings...  rclxub.gif
Well, I guess that retail firmware is kinda buggy...

Maybe they rush it out to rectify the security loopholes first & missed about that annoying problem...

Sigh sleep.gif
PowerSlide
post Oct 5 2017, 04:51 PM

----------
6,035 posts

I update my sister unit that have tm logo with official firmware, no issue at all everything working fine
haturaya
post Oct 5 2017, 06:26 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(vamfire @ Oct 5 2017, 08:33 AM)
Well, I guess that retail firmware is kinda buggy...

Maybe they rush it out to rectify the security loopholes first & missed about that annoying problem...

Sigh  sleep.gif
Yah... dang... which browser to use so that the setting sticks? hmm.gif
uhlaw
post Oct 6 2017, 02:21 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

May I know where to download 2.08TM version? I dont want retail firmware.
I cant upgrade using its own updater. Everytime I press "check for new firmware", no response at all
SilentVampire
post Oct 6 2017, 02:22 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Oct 6 2017, 02:21 PM)
May I know where to download 2.08TM version? I dont want retail firmware.
I cant upgrade using its own updater. Everytime I press "check for new firmware", no response at all
See here: http://www.dlink.com.my/dir-850l-msia/#firmware
enduser
post Oct 9 2017, 07:03 PM

1,280 posts

Its seems that tm have release the official firmware for Unifi customer

https://www.lowyat.net/2017/144220/dlink-di...pdate-tm-unifi/
socratesman
post Oct 9 2017, 08:39 PM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Oct 9 2017, 07:03 PM)
Its seems that tm have release the official firmware for Unifi customer

https://www.lowyat.net/2017/144220/dlink-di...pdate-tm-unifi/
Look at one of the comments :

You're forced to stick with the "@unifi" suffix after the upgrade. Even my original SSID "xxxxx@unifi" now becomes "xxxxx@unifi@unifi" lol

What da hell la laugh.gif
downcreek
post Oct 9 2017, 09:07 PM

142 posts

Doen update... biggrin.gif

downcreek
post Oct 9 2017, 09:09 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 9 2017, 08:39 PM)

You're forced to stick with the "@unifi" suffix after the upgrade. Even my original SSID "xxxxx@unifi" now becomes "xxxxx@unifi@unifi" lol

For me...it's not double even previously already add @unifi at end tongue.gif
specky94
post Oct 9 2017, 09:50 PM

126 posts

haha I hate that tabung router anyway. I update already. Seems smooth to me. Still hate that tabung. rclxs0.gif
cucubud
post Oct 10 2017, 07:45 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 9 2017, 08:39 PM)

At least it is easier for you to retain your original SSID.
You just use xxxxx and it becomes your original SSID xxxxx@unifi.

Zaryl
post Oct 10 2017, 04:25 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

so, anybody faced any problems after updating to new firmware?
downcreek
post Oct 10 2017, 11:04 PM

142 posts

1day tested. So far no problem.
askm
post Oct 11 2017, 09:56 AM

134 posts

Too many wifi are using the same name with "@unifi" suffix like tm wifi (wifi@unifi), pppoe id, my nextdoor SSID....etc.
This suffix "@unifi" after successful upgraded, Is possible to change or rename or omit ?

QUOTE(cucubud @ Oct 10 2017, 07:45 AM)
At least it is easier for you to retain your original SSID.
You just use xxxxx and it becomes your original SSID xxxxx@unifi.
cucubud
post Oct 11 2017, 10:23 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(askm @ Oct 11 2017, 09:56 AM)
Too many wifi are using the same name with "@unifi" suffix like tm wifi (wifi@unifi), pppoe id, my nextdoor SSID....etc.
This suffix "@unifi" after successful upgraded, Is possible to change or rename or omit ?
With the latest firmware, you cannot omit the "@unifi".
So, you just create a unique name and it will become unique name@unifi as the SSID.
Eterman
post Oct 11 2017, 11:14 AM

490 posts

i downloaded the new 2.09TM firmware, in the zip there are 2 firmware, which one should i use?

The guide seem to only mention using the middle.bin only.
klckm88
post Oct 11 2017, 11:54 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Oct 11 2017, 11:14 AM)
i downloaded the new 2.09TM firmware, in the zip there are 2 firmware, which one should i use?

The guide seem to only mention using the middle.bin only.
I was on 2.07TM,download the firmware,update the 2.08middle.bin first,then will updated to 2.08TM,

after that update again with 2.09 one

This post has been edited by klckm88: Oct 11 2017, 11:54 AM
Eterman
post Oct 11 2017, 12:02 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(klckm88 @ Oct 11 2017, 11:54 AM)
I was on 2.07TM,download the firmware,update the 2.08middle.bin first,then will updated to 2.08TM,

after that update again with 2.09 one
my dlink is by default on 2.08TM firmware, so i just need to use 2.09TM firmware? no need for 2.08TM middle bin ?
klckm88
post Oct 11 2017, 10:31 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Oct 11 2017, 12:02 PM)
my dlink is by default on 2.08TM firmware, so i just need to use 2.09TM firmware? no need for 2.08TM middle bin ?
I think no need,can just direct to 2.09
bsb85my
post Oct 13 2017, 02:39 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

How can i revert back to old firmware (from 2.09TM to 2.07TM)?
enduser
post Oct 14 2017, 10:40 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(bsb85my @ Oct 13 2017, 02:39 AM)
Why u want to do that?
birain
post Oct 14 2017, 01:05 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(bsb85my @ Oct 13 2017, 02:39 AM)
why not 2.08TM? this is the last good firmware before the bug announcement.
wilsonyong8850
post Oct 15 2017, 02:02 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 30 2017, 08:30 PM)
How to set ethernet?
SilentVampire
post Oct 15 2017, 09:12 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyong8850 @ Oct 15 2017, 02:02 AM)
How to set ethernet?
Sorry, not sure how as I do not have this particular router and I don't really understand your question.
wilsonyong8850
post Oct 16 2017, 03:49 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 15 2017, 09:12 PM)
Sorry, not sure how as I do not have this particular router and I don't really understand your question.
No need to be sorry haha
I'm asking how to set the ethernet ip address, I've Google it, I think the one I'm looking were correct.
wilsonyong8850
post Oct 16 2017, 06:47 PM

404 posts

preparation :

assess recovery mode :
-power off your router

re-flash 2.08TM firmware

It worked for me, i hoped it works for you  icon_rolleyes.gif

So nice, my router i reset also can't connect to internet  bangwall.gif  doh.gif
Thanks bro, it helps a lot! Manage to flash back to the older firmware and then flash to the newest one. Currently everything was good!

Brotherjoe
post Oct 16 2017, 08:23 PM

2,215 posts

Hey, is this firmware strictly for Unifi or can also be use on Time's router?
Jjuggler
post Oct 16 2017, 08:27 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyong8850 @ Oct 16 2017, 03:49 PM)
No need to be sorry haha
I'm asking how to set the ethernet ip address, I've Google it, I think the one I'm looking were correct.
you mean dns?
Eterman
post Oct 16 2017, 09:34 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(wilsonyong8850 @ Oct 16 2017, 06:47 PM)
Thanks bro, it helps a lot! Manage to flash back to the older firmware and then flash to the newest one. Currently everything was good!
Glad it worked for you bro thumbup.gif
wilsonyong8850
post Oct 16 2017, 11:34 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Oct 16 2017, 08:27 PM)
you mean dns?
IP address, not DNS.
hayenadeblue
post Oct 18 2017, 05:10 PM

53 posts

I don't recommend to use the 2.09TM. That is because this firmware has caused terrible internet connection especially wifi. My home LAN style, i prefer to use DHCP with pre-assigned IP. I don't set the IPs at the devices but only at the router. This firmware cannot do that that affect the internet connection. Finally I revert back to 2.08TM. I can set 14 IPs manually at the router in the 2.08TM. Not the 2.09TM. I also faced some problem related to IPv6 in the 2.09TM. My network printer that can support IPv6 cannot receive IP from the router.

If anyone here want to revert back to 2.08TM, switch off the router, hold the reset button several seconds until the one of the LEDs is blinking. Then you can access the router's page (emergency/recovery), http://192.168.0.1 and flash the firmware.

Looks like D-Link Malaysia's problem. They didn't test the firmware properly. I also tried to use the 2.20v, from D-Link international. It is beta, can connect to internet but weirdly cannot set manual dynamic DNS. Arghh, looks like D-Link worldwide, not only Malaysia is problematic to me.

Generally, this router s***ssssss big time. I'm used to TP-LINK router.

In TP-LINK
1. If i want to change my DNS server, the router will simply disconnect and reconnect.
2. Reboot/configuration update countdown are accurate. After the countdown, simply F5 and you will see your web interface.
3. No problem with having many (I'm talking about less than 20) fixed IP in DHCP.
4. Generally, snappy interface.

In D-LINK
1. If i want to change DNS server, the router will reboot. This takes longer time.
2. Reboot/configuration update countdown are not accurate. You have to F5 several time after the countdown at the no internet connection page.
3. Several problems in several model of routers. I'm lucky to find that 2.08TM of the DIR-850L doesn't have this problem.
4. Slower than TP-LINK but not too slow. Looks buggy.

If only TP-LINK produce their own Network Attached Storage (NAS) I will make sure there is no D-LINK product in my house. Considering to replace my DIR-850L soon but still use my DNS-320L NAS by D-Link.
Lineage
post Oct 18 2017, 06:08 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(hayenadeblue @ Oct 18 2017, 05:10 PM)
I don't recommend to use the 2.09TM. That is because this firmware has caused terrible internet connection especially wifi. My home LAN style, i prefer to use DHCP with pre-assigned IP. I don't set the IPs at the devices but only at the router. This firmware cannot do that that affect the internet connection. Finally I revert back to 2.08TM. I can set 14 IPs manually at the router in the 2.08TM. Not the 2.09TM. I also faced some problem related to IPv6 in the 2.09TM. My network printer that can support IPv6 cannot receive IP from the router.

If anyone here want to revert back to 2.08TM, switch off the router, hold the reset button several seconds until the one of the LEDs is blinking. Then you can access the router's page (emergency/recovery), http://192.168.0.1 and flash the firmware.

Looks like D-Link Malaysia's problem. They didn't test the firmware properly. I also tried to use the 2.20v, from D-Link international. It is beta, can connect to internet but weirdly cannot set manual dynamic DNS. Arghh, looks like D-Link worldwide, not only Malaysia is problematic to me.

Generally, this router s***ssssss big time. I'm used to TP-LINK router.

In TP-LINK
1. If i want to change my DNS server, the router will simply disconnect and reconnect.
2. Reboot/configuration update countdown are accurate. After the countdown, simply F5 and you will see your web interface.
3. No problem with having many (I'm talking about less than 20) fixed IP in DHCP.
4. Generally, snappy interface.

In D-LINK
1. If i want to change DNS server, the router will reboot. This takes longer time.
2. Reboot/configuration update countdown are not accurate. You have to F5 several time after the countdown at the no internet connection page.
3. Several problems in several model of routers. I'm lucky to find that 2.08TM of the DIR-850L doesn't have this problem.
4. Slower than TP-LINK but not too slow. Looks buggy.

If only TP-LINK produce their own Network Attached Storage (NAS) I will make sure there is no D-LINK product in my house. Considering to replace my DIR-850L soon but still use my DNS-320L NAS by D-Link.
Just change your NAS to Synology.. biggrin.gif
Using Synology, the best..

About the DIR-850L, i already put aside, and bought TP-Link Archer C9.. thumbup.gif
hayenadeblue
post Oct 25 2017, 10:31 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 18 2017, 11:08 AM)
Just change your NAS to Synology..  biggrin.gif
Using Synology, the best..

About the DIR-850L, i already put aside, and bought TP-Link Archer C9..  thumbup.gif
Yes, u r right. TP-Link is definitely better than D-link. I'm considering one of their MU-MIMO routers (Archer C9 is not MU-MIMO)

Synology is one of the best NAS manufacturers. I'm considering to try their 10Gbps NAS to cater our home LAN requirements (a lot of 4K streaming, local backup, bluray encoding etc. through the LAN). Thank God we dont need Plex server running. Otherwise, i7-grade NAS (desktop) is a must to encode/re-encode the 4K videos on-the-fly.
posthumous
post Oct 26 2017, 11:27 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(hayenadeblue @ Oct 25 2017, 10:31 PM)
Yes, u r right. TP-Link is definitely better than D-link. I'm considering one of their MU-MIMO routers (Archer C9 is not MU-MIMO)

Synology is one of the best NAS manufacturers. I'm considering to try their 10Gbps NAS to cater our home LAN requirements (a lot of 4K streaming, local backup, bluray encoding etc. through the LAN). Thank God we dont need Plex server running. Otherwise, i7-grade NAS (desktop) is a must to encode/re-encode the 4K videos on-the-fly.
At this stage MU-MIMO is more of a marketing gimmick to inflate pricing.

"For most cases, it provides no significant benefit. And in other cases, it can result in degraded Wi-Fi throughput."
https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...-t-need-mu-mimo

If I am not mistaken Archer C9 does not support 10Gbps, making a 10Gbps NAS kinda pointless I think. You may want to consider instead a router capable of link aggregation for you NAS needs
hayenadeblue
post Oct 30 2017, 05:10 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(posthumous @ Oct 26 2017, 04:27 PM)
At this stage MU-MIMO is more of a marketing gimmick to inflate pricing.

"For most cases, it provides no significant benefit. And in other cases, it can result in degraded Wi-Fi throughput."
https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...-t-need-mu-mimo 

If I am not mistaken Archer C9 does not support 10Gbps, making a 10Gbps NAS kinda pointless I think. You may want to consider instead a router capable of link aggregation for you NAS needs
Sorry for dragging the discussion away from the originally intended by the OP.

For the case of MU-MIMO, Samsung Galaxy S7 and S7 Edge are the perfect example for the degradation issues. They are 2016 flagship phones. Newer phones with MU-MIMO are just fine. One of the example is in the article posted, Google Pixel. So, in this case, I (not only me, but a lot of others) blame Samsung (or the chipset maker) for not really following the standard in MU-MIMO. Thats why Samsung do not advertise S7 as MU-MIMO capable device. Only S8.

For the Archer C9, of course dude! There is no router (at least for home user) currently have 10 Gbps ethernet ports. But this doesn't mean that home user cannot have 10 Gbps LAN connection. You can simply connect the router (any router) to 10 Gbps switch and connect your 10 Gbps peripherals (desktop, laptop, NAS that support 10 Gbps) at the same switch. By this way, you cannot have bandwidth of 10 Gbps to the internet (of course, the fastest broadband in the world today for home user is around 1 Gbps) BUT you can have 10 Gbps of bandwidth for your local network. I need this since I can easily utilised 500 - 600 Mbps in my home network for local content e.g. local streaming, local backup, CCTV recording for one PC. For a total of 6 heavy users in my home, my 1 Gbps LAN is very congested. The price for 10 Gbps switch as well as ethernet PCI card are become lower these days but the price for 10 Gbps NAS is still expensive. Yes, there are 10 Gbps NAS if you are still wondering:

https://www.qnap.com/solution/10gbe-ready/en-au/

System Error Message
post Oct 30 2017, 08:43 PM

1,781 posts

just ditch this, dlink has been absolutely horrible with too many blunders and still havent changed.

If you want 10Gb/s theres a cheap way to do it. Mikrotik has 16 port fully managed SFP+ switch for 400USD, combined with SFP+ PCIe mellanox cards 2nd hand, about $30 USD each, grab decently priced 1-5M SFP+ direct cables, about $10-$20 each.

Both 10Gbe and SFP+ get more expensive with range. 10Gbe requires CAT 6 up to 50M, Cat 6A up to 100M, SFP+ bandwidth is ensured which is something that cant be said for those cables claiming to be cat6/cat6a.

If you just want a reliable wifi router that is more secure, ditch your dlink and get another brand. plenty of good non dlinks out there. In my own setup, only the modem is the weak link but i cant replace that without losing VOIP.
kinggerrard
post Oct 31 2017, 10:00 AM

198 posts

Last time I used TP-Link C7 tp-AC1750 router switched to original TM router D-link v2.08TM due to the frequent lost internet connection when downloading files.

I was shocked to find out that my TP-Link AC1750 router had this frequent lost internet connection problem. Strange to find out that D-link router is working perfectly during the entire period of downloading for hours without losing internet connection.

I've reset and reboot and even set the MAC number but also failed to work. Now I'm using TM's D-link router and retire my TP-link AC1750. Sounds ironic huh? I have no idea... rclxub.gif
kinggerrard
post Oct 31 2017, 10:10 AM

198 posts

In addition to the above, I would like to seek the expert's advice here on my another new internet connection issues..

Recently I've purchased a new tv box to replace the previous tv box. The internet connection become unstable after I've switched to the new tv box. To troubleshoot this issue, I've switched back to the old tv box and found out the connection speed was extremely smooth. Both connections also used LAN ethernet so supposedly should work fine for both devices.

I was wondering could it be the "upstream device" remember the MAC address and can't renew to replace the new device. Very frustrated that can't use the new device to replace the old one as I can't get the stable internet connection on the new device. cry.gif

Please help me... icon_question.gif
System Error Message
post Oct 31 2017, 10:52 AM

1,781 posts

tp link seems to be having reliability issues i suppose, but netgear, asus and linksys are much better.

However my setup uses mikrotik as router, asus as wifi AP and never ever hangs or drops.

The problem with your tv box is the speed of the tv box. Check the hardware specs of your tv box. If it is a 3rd party tv box, check that the firmware hasnt been riddled with malware/backdoors.
Jjuggler
post Oct 31 2017, 11:35 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Oct 31 2017, 10:00 AM)
Last time I used TP-Link C7 tp-AC1750 router switched to original TM router D-link v2.08TM due to the frequent lost internet connection when downloading files.

I was shocked to find out that my TP-Link AC1750 router had this frequent lost internet connection problem. Strange to find out that D-link router is working perfectly during the entire period of downloading for hours without losing internet connection.

I've reset and reboot and even set the MAC number but also failed to work. Now I'm using TM's D-link router and retire my TP-link AC1750. Sounds ironic huh? I have no idea...  rclxub.gif
Dont worry, you're not alone. Im using C7 too. C7 performs best via wired connection. When comes to wirelress, even the 5ghz signal keeps disconnected and shift to 2.4ghz. I suspect this has to be done with the firmware. However, I never face internet disconnection when using this router.
SilentVampire
post Oct 31 2017, 02:43 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Oct 31 2017, 11:35 AM)
Dont worry, you're not alone. Im using C7 too. C7 performs best via wired connection. When comes to wirelress, even the 5ghz signal keeps disconnected and shift to 2.4ghz. I suspect this has to be done with the firmware. However, I never face internet disconnection when using this router.
Yes bro, it’s the same problem with me as well. We talked about this issue some time ago on another thread lol or was it someone else? Nevertheless, I suspect it’s only a problem with the C7 v2 firmware. There’s a newer C7 v4 and newer firmware version as well that is out now that could have solved this problem, and the cost is not too bad and slightly cheaper than the C7 v2 that I bought some time ago so if you’re thinking of changing it to the newer version, this could be the time.
askm
post Nov 1 2017, 11:41 AM

134 posts

I had faced the same issue of lost internet disconnection with my office ArcherC5 v2 (Firmware:
3.17.1 Build 20160317 Rel. 4317) via wifi. However, no this problem when i was in my home DIR-850L.

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Oct 31 2017, 10:00 AM)

I've reset and reboot and even set the MAC number but also failed to work. Now I'm using TM's D-link router and retire my TP-link AC1750. Sounds ironic huh? I have no idea...  rclxub.gif
Jjuggler
post Nov 1 2017, 12:27 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 31 2017, 02:43 PM)
Yes bro, it’s the same problem with me as well. We talked about this issue some time ago on another thread lol or was it someone else? Nevertheless, I suspect it’s only a problem with the C7 v2 firmware. There’s a newer C7 v4 and newer firmware version as well that is out now that could have solved this problem, and the cost is not too bad and slightly cheaper than the C7 v2 that I bought some time ago so if you’re thinking of changing it to the newer version, this could be the time.
yes bro. we've talked about the same issues before. currently, i kept away my archer c7 away for future use and using the stock dlink dir615 router i purchased from another forumer yesterday. I must say, the legendary dir615 performs best with all ethernet port used up and one of the port used for connect dlink dap1360 to be used as a bridge + ap = due to im using 50mbps currently.
kinggerrard
post Nov 6 2017, 12:03 AM

198 posts

TM has just released the new firmware update for D-Link DIR-850L router.

Should we upgrade?

https://www.tm.com.my/OnlineHelp/Announceme...FI-ROUTER-.aspx

SilentVampire
post Nov 6 2017, 12:22 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Nov 6 2017, 12:03 AM)
TM has just released the new firmware update for D-Link DIR-850L router.

Should we upgrade?

https://www.tm.com.my/OnlineHelp/Announceme...FI-ROUTER-.aspx
There seem to be no choice if you want to patch against the multiple vulnerabilities that exist within this router. Keep in mind that once you upgrade the firmware, ALL your future SSID name will have the ‘@unifi’ at the back of its name. I would rather change my router than have that in my SSID name! The list of changes after upgrading can be found here for anyone who is interested to see what has changed from the previous firmware:

http://www.dlink.com.my/dir-850l-msia/#firmware
Jjuggler
post Nov 6 2017, 04:16 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 6 2017, 12:22 PM)
There seem to be no choice if you want to patch against the multiple vulnerabilities that exist within this router. Keep in mind that once you upgrade the firmware, ALL your future SSID name will have the ‘@unifi’ at the back of its name. I would rather change my router than have that in my SSID name! The list of changes after upgrading can be found here for anyone who is interested to see what has changed from the previous firmware:

http://www.dlink.com.my/dir-850l-msia/#firmware
It is relieved i didn't receive the dlink dir850 router. I flashed my current c1200 with aus firmware. escaped from the suffix "@unifi" thing.
SilentVampire
post Nov 6 2017, 04:29 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Nov 6 2017, 04:16 PM)
It is relieved i didn't receive the dlink dir850 router. I flashed my current c1200 with aus firmware. escaped from the suffix "@unifi" thing.
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This is what I would have done as well, if I have that particular router.
socratesman
post Nov 6 2017, 06:45 PM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 6 2017, 12:22 PM)
Keep in mind that once you upgrade the firmware, ALL your future SSID name will have the ‘@unifi’ at the back of its name. I would rather change my router than have that in my SSID name!
Same here . I won't do free advertising for TM
kinggerrard
post Nov 6 2017, 07:01 PM

198 posts

TM really desperate... What a pathetic attempt to force ppl to make free advertising for them!
Jjuggler
post Nov 6 2017, 09:08 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 6 2017, 04:29 PM)
rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

This is what I would have done as well, if I have that particular router.
Yes bro. Apart from getting negative reviews, c1200 performs better in aus firmware compared with malaysian firmware. The only flaw of this router is, the boot time.
razkal
post Nov 6 2017, 11:20 PM

416 posts

Does DNS work with the new firmware? I mean setting it up from the router page.
rocketaz
post Nov 29 2017, 06:04 PM

184 posts

Anyone upgraded the firmware to SG 2.10 version? will it works for unifi?
http://global.dlink-intl.com/starhub/dir-8...#step2-download

Can custom set google DNS on TM unifi 2.09 firmware ?
hayenadeblue
post Dec 6 2017, 09:56 PM

53 posts

A little update. Just changed my router from Dlink DIR-850L (AC1200) to Tplink Archer C2 (AC750). I know the Tplink is an older model (and slower total throughput in Wi-fi) but now I can connect to TM IPv6 and maintain stable IPv6 connection even with Google IPv6 DNS. I couldnt do this with the Dlink. Signal strength from the Tplink is better due to its external antenna (Dlink only internal). Very happy with the Tplink.
Now i'm in dilemma in choosing Tplink vs Dlink switches for my new home. 16 ports Cat6 in total. 24 ports Tplink switch is cheaper a bit compared to 24 ports Dlink. Review-wise, many people use Dlink. Any idea? Both fanless. Pls dont suggest Cisco as they are very expensive. Only unmanaged switch needed.
Correction on my previous posts, 10Gbe switch are still very expensive and I'm postponing the idea of having 10Gbe connection for future.

This post has been edited by hayenadeblue: Dec 6 2017, 10:03 PM
hayenadeblue
post Dec 6 2017, 09:59 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ Nov 6 2017, 04:20 PM)
Does DNS work with the new firmware? I mean setting it up from the router page.
From my previous experience with this model, yes, it works (even with the previous firmware) BUT only for IPv4. The DIR-850L have problems connecting to TM's IPv6 and couldnt set the DNS (to Google IPv6 DNS for example).
Hope this help.
SilentVampire
post Dec 6 2017, 10:12 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hayenadeblue @ Dec 6 2017, 09:56 PM)
A little update. Just changed my router from Dlink DIR-850L (AC1200) to Tplink Archer C2 (AC750). I know the Tplink is an older model (and slower total throughput in Wi-fi) but now I can connect to TM IPv6 and maintain stable IPv6 connection even with Google IPv6 DNS. I couldnt do this with the Dlink. Signal strength from the Tplink is better due to its external antenna (Dlink only internal). Very happy with the Tplink.
Now i'm in dilemma in choosing Tplink vs Dlink switches for my new home. 16 ports Cat6 in total. 24 ports Tplink switch is cheaper a bit compared to 24 ports Dlink. Review-wise, many people use Dlink. Any idea? Both fanless. Pls dont suggest Cisco as they are very expensive. Only unmanaged switch needed.
Correction on my previous posts, 10Gbe switch are still very expensive and I'm postponing the idea of having 10Gbe connection for future.
They are similar, but you have to look at the fine print to see what they have in common, and what they don’t. Can’t really help you there, but I suggest changing your router to something newer like the C7 v4, or even the AC1200. The C2 is really outdated and it is no longer available, plus it have reach its EOL or end of life, and the firmware will never be updated.
hayenadeblue
post Dec 10 2017, 10:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Dec 6 2017, 03:12 PM)
They are similar, but you have to look at the fine print to see what they have in common, and what they don’t. Can’t really help you there, but I suggest changing your router to something newer like the C7 v4, or even the AC1200. The C2 is really outdated and it is no longer available, plus it have reach its EOL or end of life, and the firmware will never be updated.
Yes, I realized that before purchased the C2. I don't have plan to use the wifi (I already disable the wifi, plus, I'm quite happy with all the features and speed of its web interface). The router is connected to a 24 switch and other access points will take care the wifi. Why I'm doing this? Because my modem and router is located inside a room where the main communications line (phone and tm fibre) comes in and 16 CAT6 will cater the whole house LAN, wifi and even phone line. I don't want to have the modem, router beside my TV. BTW, thanks.

Thanks too about the advice on the switch. I bought TP-LINK, the desktop/rack version, as it is the only model available here in my place. It comes with bracket for me to mount to my 19" network rack.

So sorry OP, I kind of distracted the purpose of this thread. Let us continue to discuss about the DIR-850L? Anyone managed to get IPv6 with the latest firmware? I couldn't. With the TP-LINK, I can (refer to the attached image)Attached Image
SilentVampire
post Dec 10 2017, 10:52 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hayenadeblue @ Dec 10 2017, 10:19 PM)
Yes, I realized that before purchased the C2. I don't have plan to use the wifi (I already disable the wifi, plus, I'm quite happy with all the features and speed of its web interface). The router is connected to a 24 switch and other access points will take care the wifi. Why I'm doing this? Because my modem and router is located inside a room where the main communications line (phone and tm fibre) comes in and 16 CAT6 will cater the whole house LAN, wifi and even phone line. I don't want to have the modem, router beside my TV. BTW, thanks.

Thanks too about the advice on the switch. I bought TP-LINK, the desktop/rack version, as it is the only model available here in my place. It comes with bracket for me to mount to my 19" network rack.

So sorry OP, I kind of distracted the purpose of this thread. Let us continue to discuss about the DIR-850L? Anyone managed to get IPv6 with the latest firmware? I couldn't. With the TP-LINK, I can (refer to the attached image)Attached Image
Good job bro. I understand now what your setup is and I admire your network knowledge rclxms.gif
Alice.Abernathy
post Dec 11 2017, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(rocketaz @ Nov 29 2017, 06:04 PM)
Anyone upgraded the firmware to SG 2.10 version? will it works for unifi?
http://global.dlink-intl.com/starhub/dir-8...#step2-download

Can custom set google DNS on TM unifi 2.09 firmware ?
Tested & upgraded with AU 2.20 version. Works fine ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

The catch is ... manual insert of VLAN, IPTV, DNS, need to be done...! brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by Alice.Abernathy: Dec 11 2017, 04:09 PM

zzzz52
post Dec 27 2017, 08:11 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,176 posts

Hi Guys, anyone using the guest wifi feature on the dlink router? I connect to the guest wifi, but still can access to my LAN that is on the wired connection. I can connect to the share folder on computer on my LAN.

THis makes the guest wifi feature unusable. Anyone having the same problem?
ikengkai
post Feb 13 2018, 02:58 PM

263 posts

with 2.09 DIR-850L router, i cannot set the reconnect mode to "on demand". Once I did that, the router restart and it will set to "Manual" instead. Is that because TM custom firmware disable the on demand function?

Jjuggler
post Mar 5 2018, 11:06 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

my personal review on the dlink dir850l.

you can read to my review here

cc: SilentVampire bro
birain
post Mar 5 2018, 11:20 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Mar 5 2018, 11:06 AM)

it have auto logout feature, you exit your browser and you need to login back. icon_idea.gif
Alex9182
post Mar 5 2018, 11:31 AM

669 posts

Good job bro. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I should have ask for D-Link DIR-850L instead of Tp-Link Archer C1200 during installation. much regret now. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 5 2018, 11:34 AM
SilentVampire
post Mar 5 2018, 11:36 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

Thanks bro. Great writeup. It is definitely much better than the TP-Link C1200, but compared to other mid range routers out here, it is not as good. Am awaiting your review on the C3150 v2 bro. It will be an absolute pleasure to use and review that bro.
Jjuggler
post Mar 5 2018, 11:49 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,338 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Mar 5 2018, 11:20 AM)
it have auto logout feature, you exit your browser and you need to login back. icon_idea.gif
as for novice user, they wont know. but for us, we know it has the feature. we have more novice users out there bro. haha.

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 5 2018, 11:31 AM)
Good job bro.    thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

I should have ask for D-Link DIR-850L instead of Tp-Link Archer C1200 during installation. much regret now. bangwall.gif
everyone have their own thoughts bro. Infact, i test this router after reading too many negative reviews in the forum. decided to test out by myself.

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 5 2018, 11:36 AM)
Thanks bro. Great writeup. It is definitely much better than the TP-Link C1200, but compared to other mid range routers out here, it is not as good. Am awaiting your review on the C3150 v2 bro. It will be an absolute pleasure to use and review that bro.
Sure bro. I am going to un-box the c3150 soon and will provide a detailed review about the router. haha. I agree with the highlighted statement there.

This post has been edited by Jjuggler: Mar 5 2018, 11:56 AM
birain
post Mar 17 2018, 02:48 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

finally able to screenshot this after 30 days of using it without changing ip. still using the stock firmware that come with it. thumbup.gif

ikengkai
post Mar 18 2018, 04:51 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Mar 17 2018, 02:48 PM)
finally able to screenshot this after 30 days of using it without changing ip. still using the stock firmware that come with it. thumbup.gif

Latest firmware will show v2.09TM right? your firmware is 2.08??
birain
post Mar 19 2018, 12:58 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Mar 18 2018, 04:51 PM)
Latest firmware will show v2.09TM right? your firmware is 2.08??
yup, still using the old firmware.... thumbsup.gif
ikengkai
post Mar 24 2018, 12:05 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Mar 19 2018, 12:58 PM)
yup, still using the old firmware.... thumbsup.gif
Found the connection for this modem really not good. Experience intermittently can't surfing for 30-60s, then back able to online again.
Thinking to trial change other modem to see the problem persist.
birain
post Mar 24 2018, 06:36 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Mar 24 2018, 12:05 AM)
Found the connection for this modem really not good. Experience intermittently can't surfing for 30-60s, then back able to online again.
Thinking to trial change other modem to see the problem persist.
have you check the channel, maybe you neighbor using the same channel, clashing with yours.... icon_idea.gif
cloud-sama
post Mar 25 2018, 11:01 AM

50 posts

If I were to hard reset the router, would I have to reconfigure it in order to be compatible with unifi?

My router can't connect to the internet and I cant access the router via 192.168.0.1 anymore
SilentVampire
post Mar 25 2018, 11:08 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(cloud-sama @ Mar 25 2018, 11:01 AM)
If I were to hard reset the router, would I have to reconfigure it in order to be compatible with unifi?

My router can't connect to the internet and I cant access the router via 192.168.0.1 anymore
Yes, you will need to know your PPPoE username and password.
cloud-sama
post Mar 25 2018, 11:47 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 25 2018, 11:08 AM)
Yes, you will need to know your PPPoE username and password.
Hahaha I forgot to save those username and p/w, looks like have to wait for the technician to come
enduser
post Mar 25 2018, 12:03 PM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(cloud-sama @ Mar 25 2018, 11:47 AM)
Hahaha I forgot to save those username and p/w, looks like have to wait for the technician to come
1. for default dir850 router password, u can check at the bottom of ur router.

2. for PPPoE username and password u can try call 100 / live chat n asked for the password
cloud-sama
post Mar 25 2018, 02:42 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Mar 25 2018, 12:03 PM)
1. for default dir850 router password, u can check at the bottom of ur router.

2. for PPPoE username and password u can try call 100 / live chat n asked for the password
Thanks for the reply, I already call them for the PPPoE things and able reconfigure the router myself, All is working fine now rclxms.gif
lowyard
post Mar 27 2018, 12:41 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

my dlink homeplug cant be utilized for hypptv. for internet ok, really good. but for hypptv, nope. i dont know whos at fault here, dlink router or dlink homeplug or the hypptv stb itself. argh..

i'm thinking of downgrading the dlink router (dir 850l) to lower firmware to see if it will make a difference. what do you guys think?
soonwai
post Mar 27 2018, 12:51 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Mar 27 2018, 12:41 AM)
my dlink homeplug cant be utilized for hypptv. for internet ok, really good. but for hypptv, nope. i dont know whos at fault here, dlink router or dlink homeplug or the hypptv stb itself. argh..

i'm thinking of downgrading the dlink router (dir 850l) to lower firmware to see if it will make a difference. what do you guys think?
What happens when you try to use them? The router and the homeplugs are independent of each other so router firmware shouldn't matter.
lowyard
post Mar 27 2018, 02:39 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 27 2018, 12:51 AM)
What happens when you try to use them? The router and the homeplugs are independent of each other so router firmware shouldn't matter.
At the home screen, at the bottom right will have that LAN logo with "!". Time and date will not correct itself. Putting other server for NTP also fail. When doing network test it will only get green for the first two criteria. And it will come with error 108001 after opening hypptv app. No matter how many times I restart the stb. Btw the stb is running on the latest version I believe. You know, with no access to play store and etc.

I have tried wireless method, making the non guest network (aka the main WiFi one) as IPTV without password on the dlink router. Connecting the hypptv stb just beside it only resulted in 1 frame per 5 second of video and no audio. So definitely something is wrong somewhere here too coz I've read that some people are just fine with getting the hypptv stb connecting to dir 850l wirelessly and streaming mostly ok.

Btw I bought the dlink powerline av 1000. No WiFi features. Only gigabit connection, 1 port. With pass through.

And I was thinking of downgrading the firmware coz I've seen some people here reported that their homeplug works just fine for hypptv but, their posts were all some time ago, ranging from 1 to 3 years ago. So I was thinking I'm using the same router as them but why different outcome, so I thought it could be firmware.

This post has been edited by lowyard: Mar 27 2018, 03:29 AM
ikengkai
post Mar 28 2018, 10:55 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Mar 27 2018, 02:39 AM)
At the home screen, at the bottom right will have that LAN logo with "!". Time and date will not correct itself. Putting other server for NTP also fail. When doing network test it will only get green for the first two criteria. And it will come with error 108001 after opening hypptv app. No matter how many times I restart the stb. Btw the stb is running on the latest version I believe. You know, with no access to play store and etc.

I have tried wireless method, making the non guest network (aka the main WiFi one) as IPTV without password on the dlink router. Connecting the hypptv stb just beside it only resulted in 1 frame per 5 second of video and no audio. So definitely something is wrong somewhere here too coz I've read that some people are just fine with getting the hypptv stb connecting to dir 850l wirelessly and streaming mostly ok.

Btw I bought the dlink powerline av 1000. No WiFi features. Only gigabit connection, 1 port. With pass through.

And I was thinking of downgrading the firmware coz I've seen some people here reported that their homeplug works just fine for hypptv but, their posts were all some time ago, ranging from 1 to 3 years ago. So I was thinking I'm using the same router as them but why different outcome, so I thought it could be firmware.
The unifi HyppTV (600), telephone VOIP (400) and internet (500) using different VLAN port. Your hyppTV need connect to correct LAN or wireless need configure correctly for particular SSID. Hope this help.
ikengkai
post Mar 28 2018, 10:58 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Mar 24 2018, 06:36 AM)
have you check the channel, maybe you neighbor using the same channel, clashing with yours.... icon_idea.gif
Nope, as this happen even with 1 wifi device and 1 hypptv. The internet like disconnected for 30-60s, later it resume back. checked and sometime the modem on time reset back to 0 day.... Although this is really small issue, but the frustration as the expectation to unifi is higher... lol.gif
osxchd
post Mar 29 2018, 05:48 PM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

i wonder anyone successfully setup the ddns where they asking for the s/n and mac address of the device? i got the unknown serial number error...
soonwai
post Mar 29 2018, 06:49 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(osxchd @ Mar 29 2018, 05:48 PM)
i wonder anyone successfully setup the ddns where they asking for the s/n and mac address of the device? i got the unknown serial number error...
Do you mean registering for the freebie at dlinkddns.com? I’ve done that a few times. No probs.
HMMaster
post Mar 30 2018, 11:34 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

This rounter can't be setup as a vpn server?
soonwai
post Mar 30 2018, 11:40 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Mar 30 2018, 11:34 PM)
This rounter can't be setup as a vpn server?
Nope, the C1200 can so if you really need it, can try to ask TM to swap the 850L for the C1200.
HMMaster
post Mar 31 2018, 12:24 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 30 2018, 11:40 PM)
Nope, the C1200 can so if you really need it, can try to ask TM to swap the 850L for the C1200.
I'm under time... sweat.gif
alph87
post Apr 7 2018, 07:46 PM

101 posts

dear all sifu, why my phone or laptop cannot scan 5ghz ssid?
is my router wifi setting wrong?
GUESS??
post May 2 2018, 11:11 AM

129 posts

Anyone using this router under repeater mode?
soonwai
post May 2 2018, 02:48 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(GUESS?? @ May 2 2018, 11:11 AM)
Anyone using this router under repeater mode?
Yes, tried it once. Works.
SilentVampire
post May 2 2018, 03:05 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(alph87 @ Apr 7 2018, 07:46 PM)
dear all sifu, why my phone or laptop cannot scan 5ghz ssid?
is my router wifi setting wrong?
They do not have the 5GHz capabilities.
alph87
post May 2 2018, 06:16 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ May 2 2018, 03:05 PM)
They do not have the 5GHz capabilities.
No. my device got 5ghz capabilities.
My phone is mate 10 pro. I can get connect to my office wifi 5ghz but not this 850L
enduser
post May 2 2018, 07:46 PM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(alph87 @ May 2 2018, 06:16 PM)
My phone is mate 10 pro. I can get connect to my office wifi 5ghz but not this 850L
This router do support 5ghz connection. It might be your setting in the router that need to be tweak.

https://officialtechcynn.wordpress.com/2018...version-review/
SilentVampire
post May 2 2018, 09:55 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(alph87 @ May 2 2018, 06:16 PM)
Okay fair enough, I think I figured it out. Try setting the 5GHz channel to 100+, and if that doesn’t work, change it to 36 or 40.
GUESS??
post May 5 2018, 01:39 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 2 2018, 02:48 PM)
Yes, tried it once. Works.
May i know you're on which firmware? I was able to switch to repeater mode, but no internet connection
soonwai
post May 5 2018, 12:10 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(GUESS?? @ May 5 2018, 01:39 AM)
May i know you're on which firmware? I was able to switch to repeater mode, but no internet connection
The IP address changes when you switch to repeater mode. Check here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87557936
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87403319

GUESS??
post May 6 2018, 02:24 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 5 2018, 12:10 PM)
Are u using dynamic IP or static when switch to repeater mode?
Alpha_Tay
post Jul 23 2018, 11:01 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

there is a new firmware for unifi D-Link DIR-850L

just getting new firmware upgrade notification via mydlink at Mon 7/23/2018, 2:27 PM

before firmware upgrade,

Management >> Upgrade

Firmware Information

Check for New Firmware

New Firmware Version: 2.10
New Firmware Date: 2018/07/21

after firmware upgrade,

Management >> Upgrade

Firmware Information

Current Firmware Version: 2.10, Thu 28 Jun 2018
Current Firmware Date: 2018-06-28 17:32:00

didnt found any changelog over the internet at the moment, cant even download the firmware anywhere else, download and upgrade via d-link router interface.
spotlite23
post Jul 24 2018, 02:38 PM

hi everyone, where can I download dir-850l rev A1 firmware working with unifi? thanks
before that is running v1.20 SG can choose wireless ap and wireless repeater.

This post has been edited by spotlite23: Jul 24 2018, 02:56 PM
Alpha_Tay
post Jul 25 2018, 01:28 AM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

standalone firmware and changelog has been released by d-lnik malaysia

https://www.dlink.com.my/dir-850l-msia/#firmware

For Malaysia DIR-850L provided by TM only (with/without TM Logo)
Note: After upgrade wireless SSID will only include a suffix “@unifi after any wireless change on your existing Wireless SSID.
Upgrade Guide: as attached in the zip file
Add @unifi for wireless ssid when change wireless/factory default
Support to download firmware with https.
Fix multiple tr069 issue.
Fix IPV6 dhcp prefix was reading the wrong value
Upnp Disable on “factory default”
Fix wizard issue config issue
Fix Kaspersky caused web UI fw upgrade failed

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jul 23 2018, 11:01 PM)
there is a new firmware for unifi D-Link DIR-850L

just getting new firmware upgrade notification via mydlink at Mon 7/23/2018, 2:27 PM

before firmware upgrade,

Management >> Upgrade

Firmware Information

Check for New Firmware

New Firmware Version: 2.10
New Firmware Date: 2018/07/21

after firmware upgrade,

Management >> Upgrade

Firmware Information

Current Firmware Version: 2.10, Thu 28 Jun 2018
Current Firmware Date: 2018-06-28 17:32:00
didnt found any changelog over the internet at the moment, cant even download the firmware anywhere else, download and upgrade via d-link router interface.
birain
post Jul 31 2018, 05:12 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

wtf, i got firmware auto update last saturday without my knowledge, just check my panel why my firmware was change. sweat.gif
haturaya
post Aug 2 2018, 10:02 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(spotlite23 @ Jul 24 2018, 02:38 PM)
hi everyone, where can I download dir-850l rev A1 firmware working with unifi? thanks
before that is running v1.20 SG can choose wireless ap and wireless repeater.
I still have old firmware 1.09SG.

I even have the latest one 1.21SG
cucubud
post Aug 7 2018, 04:02 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Jul 31 2018, 05:12 PM)
wtf, i got firmware auto update last saturday without my knowledge, just check my panel why my firmware was change. sweat.gif
Mine too ranting.gif

birain
post Aug 9 2018, 02:12 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 7 2018, 04:02 PM)
Mine too ranting.gif
but lucky ssid didn't show the @unifi on wifi.
cucubud
post Aug 9 2018, 02:53 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 9 2018, 02:12 PM)
but lucky ssid didn't show the @unifi on wifi.
In the router config, @unifi is there but not shown in the SSID.
I wonder why.
spotlite23
post Aug 13 2018, 08:39 PM

QUOTE(haturaya @ Aug 2 2018, 10:02 PM)
I still have old firmware 1.09SG.

I even have the latest one 1.21SG
can u give me the download link? thanks
haturaya
post Aug 13 2018, 09:01 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(spotlite23 @ Aug 13 2018, 08:39 PM)
can u give me the download link? thanks
I can share on google drive. It's in my hdd. Direct download from dlink no more. sweat.gif
BenYeeHua
post Aug 14 2018, 04:43 AM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 9 2018, 02:53 PM)
In the router config, @unifi is there but not shown in the SSID.
I wonder why.
You means configuration file(backup file) or?

As when you upgrade firmware, it keep the configuration unchanged and bring over, so it is not applied to it.
Unless you apply new WiFi setting, which will add the @unifi when you saving it.

That's also why sometimes prefer to clear the config/factory reset to avoid issues. thumbsup.gif
cucubud
post Aug 14 2018, 06:47 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Aug 14 2018, 04:43 AM)
You means configuration file(backup file) or?

As when you upgrade firmware, it keep the configuration unchanged and bring over, so it is not applied to it.
Unless you apply new WiFi setting, which will add the @unifi when you saving it.

That's also why sometimes prefer to clear the config/factory reset to avoid issues. thumbsup.gif
I see. But why it did not load the new settings when I reboot the router?
Normally after we changed the settings, the router prompt us to reboot the router to load the new settings.

BenYeeHua
post Aug 14 2018, 04:07 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Aug 14 2018, 06:47 AM)
I see. But why it did not load the new settings when I reboot the router?
Normally after we changed the settings, the router prompt us to reboot the router to load the new settings.
Err....
When you upgrade to new firmware, there is no new settings being patch on your old settings, it just leave it as it be, and upgrade your firmware.
The @unifi that you saw on it is just a visual one, until you click the APPLY button, it will still be the old SSID without @unifi. thumbsup.gif

Unlike Windows 10, they import your old settings when there is big update like RS1, RS2, so the old settings will be patched by new default configuration, if they has written a script for it.
askm
post Aug 14 2018, 04:21 PM

134 posts

My 850L still using the old firmware 2.08, don't like the SSID with "@unifi". So far no issue at all.
cucubud
post Aug 14 2018, 04:37 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Aug 14 2018, 04:07 PM)
Err....
When you upgrade to new firmware, there is no new settings being patch on your old settings, it just leave it as it be, and upgrade your firmware.
The @unifi that you saw on it is just a visual one, until you click the APPLY button, it will still be the old SSID without @unifi. thumbsup.gif

Unlike Windows 10, they import your old settings when there is big update like RS1, RS2, so the old settings will be patched by new default configuration, if they has written a script for it.
I get it now.
That means as long as I don't change any settings in the router, I am good with the SSID (without the @unifi).
If I change some settings in the router and reboot, the SSID@unifi will show.
SilentVampire
post Aug 14 2018, 05:52 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(askm @ Aug 14 2018, 04:21 PM)
My 850L still using the old firmware 2.08, don't like the SSID with "@unifi". So far no issue at all.
You do realize that 2.09 patches a whole lot of vulnerabilities? See here: https://www.dlink.com.my/dir-850l-msia/#firmware and read the release notes.

Without that patch, good luck. You might still be okay, but you never know.
allenultra
post Aug 17 2018, 07:53 PM

9,027 posts

Just wondering, is it possible to flash the tm unifi DIR850-L firmware with Time Fibre dir850L firmware?

I do have an extra dir850L, and want to pair with Time Fibre broadband though....

Anyone do have access to the firmware that could connect to time Fibre?
kent05
post Sep 8 2018, 03:30 PM

183 posts

Version 2.10 includes DIR850L_FW210TMb05.bin & DIR850L_FW210TMb05_middle.bin, which firmware to upgrade?
SilentVampire
post Sep 8 2018, 03:34 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 17 2018, 07:53 PM)
Just wondering, is it possible to flash the tm unifi DIR850-L firmware with Time Fibre dir850L firmware?

I do have an extra dir850L, and want to pair with Time Fibre broadband though....
Anyone do have access to the firmware that could connect to time Fibre?
Yes, it is possible. Time Fibre does not use VLAN tagging, so no problems to do that.

samiulhassan
post Sep 21 2018, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 1 2014, 04:22 PM)
Unifi firmware can be downloaded from the singapore website....

https://sg.mydlink.com/support# , 1.09sg

anyway those who wants more info, ksleet got do some review here...

http://klseet.com/index.php/tl-wr1043nd-ve...ink-dir-850l-a1
hi

by mistake i have uploaded TM firmware (my router ain't from or any provider) on my router dlink dir850 and now they are asking for user name and password.

can you please let me know if now there any way, i can load my orginal firmware. my mobile is dir 850 b1. firmware was 2.06sg
samiulhassan
post Sep 21 2018, 05:42 PM

hi

by mistake i have uploaded TM firmware (my router ain't from or any provider) on my router dlink dir850 and now they are asking for user name and password.

can you please let me know if now there any way, i can load my orginal firmware. my mobile is dir 850 b1. firmware was 2.06sg
SilentVampire
post Sep 21 2018, 05:46 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(samiulhassan @ Sep 21 2018, 05:42 PM)
hi

You mean PPPoE username and password? You need that to configure your connection again, even if you load your original firmware.
GadgetzKL
post Oct 15 2018, 03:23 PM

92 posts

Anyone can advice is the 850L can support unifi turbo 300mbps wifi over 5ghz wifi?
birain
post Oct 15 2018, 03:49 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

QUOTE(GadgetzKL @ Oct 15 2018, 03:23 PM)
Anyone can advice is the 850L can support unifi turbo 300mbps wifi over 5ghz wifi?
only on LAN. icon_idea.gif

here's your answer you looking for from dlink forum
GadgetzKL
post Oct 15 2018, 05:00 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Oct 15 2018, 03:49 PM)
Ok thanks
holymushroom
post Nov 30 2018, 03:53 PM

366 posts

Any1 know what is this tr ip address and how to turn it off?

brandonyim
post Feb 2 2019, 03:16 PM

64 posts

Hi, is anyone of you here have D-Link DIR-850L 2.06SG firmware. I updated to newer firmware 2.10 but it doesn't connect and doesn't have pppoe-unifi option anymore and no repeater option as well.

I'm actually want to set this router as a wireless repeater.

Hope someone can help here. Thanks in advanced.
wayne
post Mar 17 2019, 06:29 PM

353 posts

Anybody faced issue where after upgraded to 2.10 from 2.06 for TIME provider.it shows the login page is upgraded successfully to 2.10 but can't login using the default password anymore.internet and wifi still working though.before that on 2.06 could login..
J1g54w
post May 15 2019, 12:10 PM

1,449 posts

How to setup this router as VPN client?
shin gouki
post May 16 2019, 09:19 AM

74 posts

My DIR-850l is without the TM logo and currently on 2.08tm. How to upgrade the fw to 2.10tm? The 2.10 fw got 2 files in it, one is 2.10_middle is 2.10. Before that tried upgrade once end up bricking the unit and had to send for RMA. Now scared edi.
birain
post May 16 2019, 11:17 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

it's already 2.12TM firmware. sweat.gif was secretly upgraded, now my transmit power down 1 bar, although MAX 100% power. sweat.gif
Alpha_Tay
post May 17 2019, 01:23 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

there is some issue with the new firmware 2.12TM for TM Unifi D-Link DIR-850L, System Log E-Mail doesn't work anymore, receive 0 System Log E-Mail since force upgraded to new firmware 2.12TM, but Local System Log still work, and it still show Sending the Log to [E-Mail] from time to time.

Wi-Fi keep disconnect from time to time. as mention by other, [transmit power down 1 bar, although MAX 100% power.]

the Firmware Auto-Update/Force-Update happen at around 12:15AM, while some people still using the internet, should have set it to 5AM or something. Previous Firmware was on 2.10TM.

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ May 16 2019, 12:38 AM)
there is a new firmware update version 2.12TM for TM Unifi D-Link DIR-850L that just force update and restart router, changelog currently unknown.

Current Firmware Version: 2.12, Wed 27 Feb 2019
Current Firmware Date: 2019-02-27 14:17:00

it seem lower the direct 1st hop ipv4 ping from 6ms to 3ms over ethernet. the firmware update probably have some logic change that result in lower the direct 1st hop ipv4 ping from 6ms to 3ms over ethernet. if i trace route with pingplotter to destination other than just 1st hop ipv4, the 1st hop ping would be around 1-2ms only, but direct 1st hop ipv4 ping would be much higher at around 6ms.

destination ping result are still the same at around 6ms, for example http://speedtest.tm.com.my/tmspeedtest.html

i do see some other unifi user have with 3ms at http://speedtest.tm.com.my/tmspeedtest.html , it is probably have to do with their local TM unifi equipment and network design, it have nothing to do with package speed, still the same ping after 10x speed upgrade.
QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ May 16 2019, 09:58 AM)
not available for download at D-Link website yet at the moment, but can download internally at Router Web Interface.

http://192.168.0.1/UpdateFirmware.html

https://www.dlink.com.my/how-to-upgrade-fir...aysia-dir-850l/

https://www.dlink.com.my/support/Downloads/...ware-online.pdf
QUOTE(birain @ May 16 2019, 11:17 AM)
it's already 2.12TM firmware. sweat.gif  was secretly upgraded, now my transmit power down 1 bar, although MAX 100% power. sweat.gif
This post has been edited by Alpha_Tay: May 17 2019, 01:23 PM
Al'Diabalos
post May 17 2019, 01:29 PM

20 posts

DLink official site still shows only got 2.10 FW. Luckily mine doesn't auto update since I've disabled it.
Alpha_Tay
post May 17 2019, 06:20 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

QUOTE(Al'Diabalos @ May 17 2019, 01:29 PM)
DLink official site still shows only got 2.10 FW. Luckily mine doesn't auto update since I've disabled it.
there is way to disable auto update? i dont see it.
Alpha_Tay
post May 17 2019, 06:20 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

[double post]

This post has been edited by Alpha_Tay: May 17 2019, 06:21 PM
Al'Diabalos
post May 17 2019, 09:56 PM

20 posts

I disable TM TR143 biggrin.gif
socratesman
post May 18 2019, 10:39 AM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(Al'Diabalos @ May 17 2019, 09:56 PM)
I disable TM TR143  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif

can't remember if it's called TR-069 or TR-143, but if i see this kind of sh*t i always disable it

Helps to avoid being auto-upgraded against your will
Eterman
post May 18 2019, 11:44 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(Al'Diabalos @ May 17 2019, 09:56 PM)
I disable TM TR143  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(socratesman @ May 18 2019, 10:39 AM)
thumbup.gif

can't remember if it's called TR-069 or TR-143, but if i see this kind of sh*t i always disable it

Helps to avoid being auto-upgraded against your will
is this TR thingy related to the TR ip address, gateway, etc.... ? how you guys disable them?
malim.deman
post Sep 26 2019, 04:19 PM

22 posts

Anybody know how to configure 5 static IP on this router? I tried using the unnumbered IP but when check my public IP still only one IP (shows the router IP not the device IP).
SilentVampire
post Sep 26 2019, 04:42 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(malim.deman @ Sep 26 2019, 04:19 PM)
Anybody know how to configure 5 static IP on this router? I tried using the unnumbered IP but when check my public IP still only one IP (shows the router IP not the device IP).
Do you mean configuring 5 static private IP or 5 static public IP? There is a difference in configuration. Your public IP is usually only one IP, and that is the global public IP.
malim.deman
post Sep 26 2019, 04:43 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 26 2019, 04:42 PM)
Do you mean configuring 5 static private IP or 5 static public IP? There is a difference in configuration. Your public IP is usually only one IP, and that is the global public IP.
5 static public IP.. we took the 5 fix IP package from TM..
SilentVampire
post Sep 26 2019, 04:59 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(malim.deman @ Sep 26 2019, 04:43 PM)
5 static public IP.. we took the 5 fix IP package from TM..
You should call TM and ask them for guidance. I am not sure if you can do it with that router. You might need an enterprise router.
malim.deman
post Sep 26 2019, 05:11 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 26 2019, 04:59 PM)
You should call TM and ask them for guidance. I am not sure if you can do it with that router. You might need an enterprise router.
yeah did that for two days already but they say not faulty so they keep forward to sales which looks like very busy and keep giving 'please hold our reps is currently busy'. kind of fed up so tried my luck here...
soonwai
post Sep 26 2019, 11:11 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(malim.deman @ Sep 26 2019, 04:19 PM)
The 1st static IP that you have will be the router. The rest, you can assign to your internal devices with the gateway set to the static IP of the router. That's how IP unnumbered is done with DIR-615. Assume it's the same.
malim.deman
post Sep 27 2019, 09:09 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 26 2019, 11:11 PM)
The 1st static IP that you have will be the router. The rest, you can assign to your internal devices with the gateway set to the static IP of the router. That's how IP unnumbered is done with DIR-615. Assume it's the same.
did that.. but it seems all other IP are being NAT to the gateway IP so the public IP shown is the gateway IP instead of the device IP.. tried disable NAT but not working..
Alpha_Tay
post Jun 15 2020, 04:57 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

it seem there is some bug at the unifi D-Link DIR-850L router 2.12TM firmware release at 2019, Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would Disconnect 99% of time, While LAN and Wifi Live Stream still working 100% of time, but 6 Models, 4 Brands of newer and older generation Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would still working well 100% of time.

tried to reset and reconfig/setting manually without config backup and upload unifi D-Link DIR-850L router, bug issue still happen.

tried to Enable UPnP: ; IPv4 Multicast Streams: ; IPv6 Multicast Streams: ; Application Level Gateway (ALG) Configuration ; PPTP: ; IPSec (VPN): ; RTSP: ; SIP: ; and Multiple Port Forwarding, work a while and Cloud Disconnect again.

Enable DMZ: work but didn't spend the times to test it for how long, but DMZ work for only single device/IP.

Tested Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream with TP-Link Deco M4 v2 Latest Firmware 190917 , working 100% of time.

more Detail Report here : https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry97021190

subscribe and install unifi fibre 30mbps at December 2017, the unifi D-Link DIR-850L router came with newer Default Firmware 2.09TM , the Sticker at the plastic router casing and package box bottom has Firmware 2.09TM written, the big multiple Realtek Chipset security issue was fixed with this Default Firmware. never tried to play with different Region firmware upload & install manually with this router, the only firmware upgrade done was 2.10TM and 2.12TM , at router web interface Check for New Firmware.

tried to Flash unifi D-Link DIR-850L with newest international Firmware 2.23 with lastest fixes, 1st Boot to D-Link Router Recovery Mode and flash Middle Firmware DIR850LB1_FW210WWb03.bin , then router web interface Upgrade Manually DIR850LB1_FW220WWb03.bin , then DIR850LB1_FW223WWb01.bin , after that Restore To Factory Default Settings and reconfig/setting manually without config backup and upload.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry86448823

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.0

ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/SECURITY_ADVISEMENTS...CH_v2.20B03.zip

http://pmdap.dlink.com.tw/PMD/GetAgileFile...3494E7;19623.0;

http://pmdap.dlink.com.tw/PMD/GetAgileFile...0064E7;15877.0;

ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-850L/RE...BM8_WW_BETA.zip

with Latest international Firmware 2.23 , all [Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would Disconnect 99% of time] issue was gone, now Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Cloud Live Stream was working 100% of time, same as all other [6 Models, 4 Brands of newer and older generation Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would still working well 100% of time.] with all setting turned off [UPnP: ; IPv4 Multicast Streams: ; IPv6 Multicast Streams: ; Application Level Gateway (ALG) Configuration ; PPTP: ; IPSec (VPN): ; RTSP: ; SIP: ; Multiple Port Forwarding ; DMZ]

another issue happen since 2.12TM firmware also gone, System Log E-Mail, now it's also working 100% of time. this issue doesn't happen at 2.10TM firmware.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry92708171

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry92708161

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry92708142

the D-Link DIR-850L international firmware doesn't have TM TR-069 and other customization, router web interface is much smoother.
vearn2000
post Sep 4 2020, 04:45 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jun 15 2020, 04:57 PM)
it seem there is some bug at the unifi D-Link DIR-850L router 2.12TM firmware release at 2019, Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would Disconnect 99% of time, While LAN and Wifi Live Stream still working 100% of time, but 6 Models, 4 Brands of newer and older generation Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would still working well 100% of time.

tried to reset and reconfig/setting manually without config backup and upload unifi D-Link DIR-850L router, bug issue still happen.

tried to Enable UPnP: ; IPv4 Multicast Streams: ; IPv6 Multicast Streams: ; Application Level Gateway (ALG) Configuration ; PPTP: ; IPSec (VPN): ; RTSP: ; SIP: ; and Multiple Port Forwarding, work a while and Cloud Disconnect again.

Enable DMZ: work but didn't spend the times to test it for how long, but DMZ work for only single device/IP.

Tested Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream with TP-Link Deco M4 v2 Latest Firmware 190917 , working 100% of time.

more Detail Report here : https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry97021190

subscribe and install unifi fibre 30mbps at December 2017, the unifi D-Link DIR-850L router came with newer Default Firmware 2.09TM , the Sticker at the plastic router casing and package box bottom has Firmware 2.09TM written, the big multiple Realtek Chipset security issue was fixed with this Default Firmware. never tried to play with different Region firmware upload & install manually with this router, the only firmware upgrade done was 2.10TM and 2.12TM , at router web interface Check for New Firmware.

tried to Flash unifi D-Link DIR-850L with newest international Firmware 2.23 with lastest fixes, 1st Boot to D-Link Router Recovery Mode and flash Middle Firmware DIR850LB1_FW210WWb03.bin , then router web interface Upgrade Manually DIR850LB1_FW220WWb03.bin , then DIR850LB1_FW223WWb01.bin , after that Restore To Factory Default Settings and reconfig/setting manually without config backup and upload.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry86448823

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44909.0

ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/SECURITY_ADVISEMENTS...CH_v2.20B03.zip

http://pmdap.dlink.com.tw/PMD/GetAgileFile...3494E7;19623.0;

http://pmdap.dlink.com.tw/PMD/GetAgileFile...0064E7;15877.0;

ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-850L/RE...BM8_WW_BETA.zip

with Latest international Firmware 2.23 , all [Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would Disconnect 99% of time] issue was gone, now Dahua imou Ip Camera Cloud Cloud Live Stream was working 100% of time, same as all other [6 Models, 4 Brands of newer and older generation Ip Camera Cloud Live Stream would still working well 100% of time.] with all setting turned off [UPnP: ; IPv4 Multicast Streams: ; IPv6 Multicast Streams: ; Application Level Gateway (ALG) Configuration ; PPTP: ; IPSec (VPN): ; RTSP: ; SIP: ; Multiple Port Forwarding ; DMZ]

another issue happen since 2.12TM firmware also gone, System Log E-Mail, now it's also working 100% of time. this issue doesn't happen at 2.10TM firmware.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry92708171

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry92708161

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry92708142

the D-Link DIR-850L international firmware doesn't have TM TR-069 and other customization, router web interface is much smoother.
i hv questions, my router DIR850L currently, if using dhcp address cannot ping outside. but if i set static ip can ping outside. current FW 2.12. do i need to downgrage to 2.10 or straight away upgrade to 2.23 ?
Alpha_Tay
post Sep 5 2020, 01:07 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

QUOTE(vearn2000 @ Sep 4 2020, 04:45 PM)
i hv questions, my router DIR850L currently,  if using dhcp address cannot ping outside. but if i set static ip can ping outside. current FW 2.12. do i need to downgrage to 2.10 or straight away upgrade to 2.23 ?
such issue doesnt happen to me, which firmware you want to use, you still have to boot to D-Link Router Recovery Mode to flash it, downgrade firmware is blocked. D-Link DIR-850L with newest international Firmware 2.23, router web interface is much smoother.
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 19 2021, 09:30 AM

2,429 posts

Me successfully flashed my "TM" DIR-850L to FW:2.11SG firmware. Cause I wanted to get rid of the @Unifi.
Thank you DLINK, and good riddance "@Unifi" SSID.
(Anyway me not using Unifi, so that's fine)
auron777
post Aug 2 2021, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jul 19 2021, 09:30 AM)
Me successfully flashed my "TM" DIR-850L to FW:2.11SG firmware. Cause I wanted to get rid of the @Unifi.
Hi! Please share the SG firmware. I want to get rid off the @unifi suffix too.
SleeplessEyes
post Aug 2 2021, 05:47 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(auron777 @ Aug 2 2021, 04:19 PM)
Hi! Please share the SG firmware. I want to get rid off the @unifi suffix too.
Hi, you can follow the link here:

https://www.dlink.com.sg/starhubs/dir-850l/

Then if yours is Hardware B, download the 2nd link. I flashed it and it has been working without the @unifi ssid.

Apparently there is a newer International firmware version.
I haven't tried but ived used this SG version for weeks so far no issue.
auron777
post Aug 3 2021, 08:17 AM

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 2 2021, 05:47 PM)
Hi, you can follow the link here:

https://www.dlink.com.sg/starhubs/dir-850l/

Then if yours is Hardware B, download the 2nd link. I flashed it and it has been working without the @unifi ssid.

Apparently there is a newer International firmware version.
I haven't tried but ived used this SG version for weeks so far no issue.
Thank you, but I cannot open that link. Because Malaysian IP I guess??

socratesman
post Aug 3 2021, 08:29 AM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(auron777 @ Aug 3 2021, 08:17 AM)
I am on unifi ip 219.95.24.xxx , able to open his link
SleeplessEyes
post Aug 3 2021, 09:15 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(auron777 @ Aug 3 2021, 08:17 AM)

Aiks. I have no issue here. I tried on my Yoodo, no problem.

auron777
post Aug 3 2021, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 3 2021, 09:15 AM)
Aiks. I have no issue here. I tried on my Yoodo, no problem.

Please pm me the zip file. For some odd reason I cannot open dlink.com.my or dlink.com.sg. But dlink.com can..
SleeplessEyes
post Aug 3 2021, 01:05 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(auron777 @ Aug 3 2021, 09:21 AM)
Please pm me the zip file. For some odd reason I cannot open dlink.com.my  or  dlink.com.sg.  But dlink.com can..
Alternatively you can either use a VPN , or use your handphone hotspot and connect to your PC.
Because even me and socratesman have no issues loading the DLINK Page.

This is really odd.

xCryptik
post Aug 3 2021, 02:37 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(auron777 @ Aug 3 2021, 10:21 AM)
Please pm me the zip file. For some odd reason I cannot open dlink.com.my  or  dlink.com.sg.  But dlink.com can..
What's your current version?

I had this version lying around. Can remove @unifi without change firmware using mobile.
Model Name: DIR-850L
Hardware Version: B1
Firmware Version: 2.12TM
socratesman
post Aug 17 2021, 04:44 PM

1,807 posts

Can we go straight from 2.12TM to latest Intl firmware?
Besides the @unifi nonsense, also wanna get rid of this TR069

TM itchy hand too proactive & activate 5Ghz ssid without my consent, and inform via sms afterwards:

RM0 RM0 unifi:Connect to your newly available 5Ghz WiFi connection using the temporary password ******.Visit i.unifi.my/WiFi1 to change your password

and i believe this was accomplished over TR069
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 3 2021, 02:51 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(wayne @ Mar 17 2019, 06:29 PM)
Anybody faced issue where after upgraded to 2.10 from 2.06 for TIME provider.it shows the login page is upgraded successfully to 2.10 but can't login using the default password anymore.internet and wifi still working though.before that on 2.06 could login..
Sorry to reply to your post after like 2 years later.
I faced this same issue. Flashed my firmware to the newer 2.11SG (Non UNIFI firmware), was working fine until then yesterday, did a hard reset , and I really couldnt login with the correct admin password

So after googling, I found out that need to go into Recovery Mode:
So here is how to do it:

1) Off your router.
2) Use a paper clip or small screwdriver, press and hold the Reset button first .
3) Power on while holding on the reset button.
4) Use a lan cable, set to static IP (any IP address) in Windows LAN first.
5) Goto the router page and upload the original firmware (mine was originally TM, so I tried back TM firmware) . Old version also can.
6) After flashing the firmware, then restart the router. It will work again

Original source: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/install...nk_recovery_gui
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 3 2021, 11:24 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jul 19 2021, 09:30 AM)
Update on this:
Yesterday all a sudden the DHCP server, stop giving out IP address to a few of Android devices.
Windows is fine though.

So what happens is that I did a factory reset, thinking the DHCP might had corrupted or something.

Thats where more hell breaks loose.
Whereby not only it default back to the WIFI name, but primarily, as wayne experienced, cant even login even with the correct admin password. rclxub.gif
Even no matter how you hard reset or even do "recovery mode" (different than upload recovery firmware), it will not budge.
Spent several hours finding and fixing the problem.

Thats where I had no choice but to do firmware recovery back to its original TM DLINK Firmware. Then only can login back. Can refer back to my earlier posting how I did it.

Few things I've learned:
1) Somehow non original firmware other than TM's firmware cause it to misbehave at the login part.
2) If you backup your settings in other versions of firmware, and restore, it will also screw up. This is what happened when this morning I tried to restore back my settings, which was from 2.11SG firmware, then again "admin password failure" happened again.
3) Yes you can upgrade the firmware later, but if shit happens, you have to flash back the original firmware. Using only LAN cable.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Sep 3 2021, 01:30 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 3 2021, 01:16 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Aug 17 2021, 04:44 PM)
Can we go straight from 2.12TM to latest Intl firmware?
Besides the @unifi nonsense, also wanna get rid of this TR069

TM itchy hand too proactive & activate 5Ghz ssid without my consent, and inform via sms afterwards:

RM0 RM0 unifi:Connect to your newly available 5Ghz WiFi connection using the temporary password ******.Visit i.unifi.my/WiFi1 to change your password

and i believe this was accomplished over TR069
Short answer yes. This is the extract from DLINK

NOTE:
THE FIRMWARE V2.10WWB03 NEEDS TO BE UPLOADED FIRST AS A TRANSITIONAL FIRMWARE V2.10, BEFORE UPGRADING TO V2.20WWB03.

Source: http://support.dlink.com.au/download/downl...roduct=DIR-850L

I havent tried the latest firmware, but even the Aus 2.1 onwards has removed TR069 and has QOS Bandwidth limit feature biggrin.gif

But as I mentioned in my earlier post, after update latest Intl' firmware do not perform any factory reset.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Sep 3 2021, 01:17 PM

0.1827sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:41 PM