230 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

LevelUp_Macha
post Feb 27 2017, 09:58 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 26 2017, 11:45 PM)
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, finally found someone who is on the same wavelength with me! I got myself a heart shaped diamond too for my upcoming proposal cuz round diamond is too mainstream hahaha.

rclxm9.gif

Now allow me to answer your questions.

1. Me!!!

2. Fancy cuts cannot be compared one-on-one with round brilliants, as both their target audience is different. Round brilliants are for people who want the most bling, while fancy cuts are for those who are after the shape - pear, cushion, oval, heart, etc. Of course, one has to sacrifice sparkle and brilliance for these unique shapes. But that does not mean that you can settle for a badly cut heart shaped diamond. Even though a heart shaped diamond might not be as sparkly as its round counterpart, the stone will still sparkle if it is a well cut diamond.

3. To be honest, do not get a heart shape of less than 0.5 carat. Anything below 0.5 will make the heart shape indistinguishable and it will look like a badly cut round diamond even from close range. However, if you cannot go beyond that size due to budget constrains, one trick is to do a bezel setting. This type of setting will accentuate the shape of the heart beautifully. Also, try and get a heart shape with excellent symmetry cuz it is very important to have an exact mirror image of both halves of the heart. Otherwise, your heart will look cacat.

Ohh yes, one more thing. The L/W ratio of your selected diamond is 0.86, which is slightly fat, in my opinion. The ideal heart shape, or "happy heart" is somewhere between 0.90-0.92. A L/W ratio of above 0.93 will make it look elongated and thin, macam your heart shape tak cukup makan hahaha. These are more suitable for pendants. But this is more of a personal preference lahh. If you think that an elongated heart looks nice, by all means go ahead.
Looks like there is only 1 gentleman here who is like minded and thanks for elaborating on this. It would be impossible for someone to have no constraints to buy diamond unless you are Rosmah, which is a fairy tale.

Considering your thoughts of having a better carat, what do you think about this? Click here for GIA Although it does not have L/W ratio of 0.90-0.92, you've mentioned it is a personal preference. I think I'll set a date to have a look see look see in Jewelry shops to understand and appreciate them before making the call.
bb100
post Feb 27 2017, 11:40 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(LevelUp_Macha @ Feb 27 2017, 09:58 PM)
Looks like there is only 1 gentleman here who is like minded and thanks for elaborating on this. It would be impossible for someone to have no constraints to buy diamond unless you are Rosmah, which is a fairy tale.

Considering your thoughts of having a better carat, what do you think about this? Click here for GIA Although it does not have L/W ratio of 0.90-0.92, you've mentioned it is a personal preference. I think I'll set a date to have a look see look see in Jewelry shops to understand and appreciate them before making the call.
Wow J colour bro?? You sure bro? Anything above G would be fine, but J confirm will show yellow tint, especially on fancy cuts which tend to retain body colour compared to round brilliants. I guess this one you will have to make a trip down to the shop to physically look at the stone. Maybe you would find the yellow tint to be a pleasant effect.

You also need to check on the feather characteristic to determine its location. A feather in terms of diamond inclusion is a crack in the diamond. It might occur during polishing, cutting or during formation itself. Some nasty feathers located at the edge of the diamond or at the girdle will pose reliability issues later on.

These are the areas to take note when you visit jewellery shops. If you find the shape of the heart to be pleasing to you, don't bother about the L/W ratio. That figure is only a guideline.

This post has been edited by bb100: Feb 28 2017, 01:32 PM
tattvooi
post Mar 1 2017, 02:57 PM

Can anyone LYN sifu help me to vouch both these deals? BOth priced the same. Which 1 is the more attractive? More important how to ascertain authenticity.
Thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

Click Here to view!!! icon_question.gif Diamond 0.5C

Click Here to view!!! icon_question.gif Diamond 1.05C

This post has been edited by tattvooi: Mar 1 2017, 03:16 PM
kambingkoh
post Mar 1 2017, 06:36 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tattvooi @ Mar 1 2017, 02:57 PM)
Can anyone LYN sifu help me to vouch both these deals? BOth priced the same. Which 1 is the more attractive? More important how to ascertain authenticity.
Thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

Click Here to view!!!  icon_question.gif Diamond 0.5C
Click Here to view!!! icon_question.gif Diamond 1.05C
Condition stated:
New without tags: A brand-new, unused, and unworn item that is not in original retail packaging or may be missing original retail packaging materials (such as the original box or bag). The original tags may not be attached.

You really really have to get the certificates for both. The pictures attached are just for reference only and they are not the real diamonds.

And why would you want to get a S-W colour I2 diamond? shocking.gif If you prefer light yellow diamonds, that's fine, but an I2 clarity?! rclxub.gif And based on your choice of:
1) 0.5 G-H colour SI clarity
2) 1.05 S-W colour I2 clarity

I don't think you are looking for any yellow diamonds because G-H colour range is considered near colourless range. So, what exactly do you have in mind? It's hard to just snap 2 diamonds without further details, so please get the cert details. If the seller can't even provide, you should really source elsewhere.

The ways to ascertain authenticity I can think of is:
1. Must have valid certificate (GIA, AGS).
2. Buy from reputable vendors.

ZZR-Pilot
post Mar 2 2017, 05:27 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(LevelUp_Macha @ Feb 26 2017, 10:18 PM)

1. Could I get a raise of hand of how many people proposed with Heart Shaped Diamond?
I don't like round brilliant stones because after a month of surveying, I got sick of 'em. So common...!! My girl doesn't fancy heart shaped ones either because she thinks it's so cheesy.

Ended up secretly choosing between a half carat marquis and a half carat pear. I chose the latter, set on a double band ring encrusted with 40 small stones for a total of 0.65 carats. I told her the teardrop shape represents my tears of sadness turning into tears of joy when I met her.

Her jaw literally dropped to the floor when I proposed. I guess it was a good choice.

Besides, it would go well with a pear diamond necklace in the future.

bb100
post Mar 3 2017, 03:39 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 2 2017, 05:27 PM)
I don't like round brilliant stones because after a month of surveying, I got sick of 'em. So common...!! My girl doesn't fancy heart shaped ones either because she thinks it's so cheesy.

Ended up secretly choosing between a half carat marquis and a half carat pear. I chose the latter, set on a double band ring encrusted with 40 small stones for a total of 0.65 carats. I told her the teardrop shape represents my tears of sadness turning into tears of joy when I met her.

Her jaw literally dropped to the floor when I proposed. I guess it was a good choice.

Besides, it would go well with a pear diamond necklace in the future.
Yup, I agree with you. Round brilliants are way too common nowadays. I think likely because everybody is going after the bling factor.

Mind sharing a few photos of your ring bro?
juxyap
post Mar 4 2017, 10:31 AM

Hi, have anyone made purchase from Briangavindiamonds?
Found the website from one of the blog talking about engagement rings and diamonds in malaysia.
Whether its better to purchase there and set it in Malaysia, or do it with them as 14k white ring is only 1400-1500 not much difference setting it back here.
Thank you.
kambingkoh
post Mar 5 2017, 01:33 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(juxyap @ Mar 4 2017, 10:31 AM)
Hi, have anyone made purchase from Briangavindiamonds?
Found the website from one of the blog talking about engagement rings and diamonds in malaysia.
Whether its better to purchase there and set it in Malaysia, or do it with them as 14k white ring is only 1400-1500 not much difference setting it back here.
Thank you.
Never purchase from them before but my blog is affiliated to them. wink.gif If you have any doubts regarding Brian Gavin Diamonds, feel free to ask and I will try my best to help, if not, I will try to redirect your queries to those who can.

I would do it locally if you ask me, unless i am pretty sure of the ring size. Also, I will still have to pay GST for the ring setting. Lastly, buying whole ring may subject to import tax, but I can't be sure. Loose diamond will only need to pay GST.

juxyap
post Mar 5 2017, 12:03 PM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 5 2017, 01:33 AM)
Never purchase from them before but my blog is affiliated to them. wink.gif If you have any doubts regarding Brian Gavin Diamonds, feel free to ask and I will try my best to help, if not, I will try to redirect your queries to those who can.

I would do it locally if you ask me, unless i am pretty sure of the ring size. Also, I will still have to pay GST for the ring setting. Lastly, buying whole ring may subject to import tax, but I can't be sure. Loose diamond will only need to pay GST.
Hi! So that's your blog that I read thumbup.gif Firstly, thanks for the links and information on your blog!
I'm currently looking at 2 of the Black by Brian Gavin diamonds, while going to survey around those stores and local online retailer for their offer. With both specs being around the same and few hundreds apart, do you think is worthy to chose a D over a G? rclxub.gif
LingRingSing
post Mar 5 2017, 02:40 PM

Hi all Sifu,

Please advise me on this. You guys are brilliant in analysing these diamonds!

1. Diamond 1

2. Diamond 2

3. Diamond 3

Really appreciate it.
kambingkoh
post Mar 5 2017, 05:21 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(juxyap @ Mar 5 2017, 12:03 PM)
Hi! So that's your blog that I read  thumbup.gif Firstly, thanks for the links and information on your blog!
I'm currently looking at 2 of the Black by Brian Gavin diamonds, while going to survey around those stores and local online retailer for their offer. With both specs being around the same and few hundreds apart, do you think is worthy to chose a D over a G?  rclxub.gif
Few hundreds USD is alot. G usually provide the best bang for your money because it looks white enough and with great light performance it will look very white. However personally I prefer diamond within D to F colour because for mind clean purpose since it is colourless range. If I can afford, I will go for D, if not, I will slowly go down the scale until my budget is met. Lowest I will go will be G, although I prefer D to F. G is also the lowest colour for Black by Brian Gavin.
kambingkoh
post Mar 5 2017, 05:47 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(LingRingSing @ Mar 5 2017, 02:40 PM)
Hi all Sifu,

Please advise me on this. You guys are brilliant in analysing these diamonds!

1. Diamond 1

2. Diamond 2

3. Diamond 3

Really appreciate it.
Only diamond 1 is acceptable in terms of proportions. Need to check for eye cleaniless since it is SI1. Check the location of the feather inclusions. Feathers are crack in diamond. If the feather is near the edge, it may post durability risk.

Diamond 2 has a crown angle that is way too steep. And 40 degree pavilion angle has no good light return. So this diamond will look dull in real life. Not a good buy. The Cut grade is only Good.

Diamond 3 has pavilion angle of 41.4%. Pavilion depth is also 44%. There will be light leakage. Flourescence is also medium blue, which is undesirable although in most cases it won't cause too much problem from what I read. Anyway not a good buy too.
Thrust
post Mar 5 2017, 05:50 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5kWu1ifBGU
duckevo
post Mar 5 2017, 07:39 PM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

dear all sifus...

i found these diamonds... but having a hard time choosing between them...

please advise... icon_question.gif

GIA 1

GIA 2

GIA 3
kambingkoh
post Mar 5 2017, 10:48 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 5 2017, 07:39 PM)
dear all sifus...

i found these diamonds... but having a hard time choosing between them...

please advise...  icon_question.gif

GIA 1

GIA 2

GIA 3
My choice is:

1. GIA 3
Comment: Among the 3, this can be the best choice for now. But don't really prefer the steep crown at 35.5.

2. GIA 1
Comment: This is cut til slightly deep, at 62.6% depth.

3. GIA 2
Comment: Don't prefer SI2. Clarity is too low. Unless can proven to be eye-clean by seller and the price is right, it can be the best choice.

Most importantly, check the price and get the images. wink.gif

duckevo
post Mar 5 2017, 11:05 PM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 5 2017, 10:48 PM)
My choice is:

1. GIA 3
Comment: Among the 3, this can be the best choice for now. But don't really prefer the steep crown at 35.5.

2. GIA 1
Comment: This is cut til slightly deep, at 62.6% depth.

3. GIA 2
Comment: Don't prefer SI2. Clarity is too low. Unless can proven to be eye-clean by seller and the price is right, it can be the best choice.

Most importantly, check the price and get the images. wink.gif
These 3 diamonds i got it from wah chan...

gia 3 is around 9k+

gia 1 is around 7k+

gia 2 is around 6k+

do wah chan provide the images as well??
kambingkoh
post Mar 5 2017, 11:50 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 5 2017, 11:05 PM)
These 3 diamonds i got it from wah chan...

gia 3 is around 9k+

gia 1 is around 7k+

gia 2 is around 6k+

do wah chan provide the images as well??
Are the diamonds preset in the ring settings? If no, then you can take a look at the Hearts and Arrows image. For other images like ASET and IdealScope, I doubt they will provide, but you can try to ask.
duckevo
post Mar 6 2017, 11:22 AM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 5 2017, 11:50 PM)
Are the diamonds preset in the ring settings? If no, then you can take a look at the Hearts and Arrows image. For other images like ASET and IdealScope, I doubt they will provide, but you can try to ask.
Forgot to mentioned that these diamonds r loose diamonds... there r not in ring setting....

the sales person did show me the hearts n arrow image under the scope... sadly i have slight color blind... so some of the details i'm unable to identify the differences..... sad.gif

yuanhsing
post Mar 6 2017, 11:33 AM

Hi guys,

Need some of your help to analyse this diamond:

GIA1

Thank you.
kambingkoh
post Mar 6 2017, 11:45 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 6 2017, 11:22 AM)
Forgot to mentioned that these diamonds r loose diamonds... there r not in ring setting....

the sales person did show me the hearts n arrow image under the scope... sadly i have slight color blind... so some of the details i'm unable to identify the differences.....  sad.gif
Don't worry about colour blind if you are looking at Hearts & Arrows, the main purpose is to see how symmetrical the diamond is.

For the arrows, you can always look from the top of the diamond.

For the hearts, you can always look from the bottom of the diamond. I think you can see a lot of differences here between a normal diamond and a super ideal cut diamond.

Anyway, since you mentioned that this is only loose stone, what is the price for their ring settings?

230 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:20 PM