[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

Jigoku
post Aug 9 2014, 03:26 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Aug 9 2014, 03:17 PM)
Any other 600W brands available? I am not familiar with the Smart SE and Vector, so couldn't really recommend on that.
Thank for your help,its okay i will jz take the 750W although seems like way too much watt for my current rig.

I will just reuse this for my end year rig later on. doh.gif Not sure why they say need use 2 x 8 pin.if someone can clarify would be great
zantls
post Aug 9 2014, 04:15 PM

Hi Sifus ~

I am planning to buy a gaming rig.
Could use some help and reccomendation. icon_question.gif

[Budget] RM3k to RM3.5k

[Purpose] Gaming and programming(analysis)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor Dell U2413, keyboard, mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Phyton, Anysis, Crysis 3, TitanFall, and FPS games

[Personal preferences] Prefer SSD and able to connect to wifi if budget is possible

[Location] KL

Thank you tongue.gif
==========
lemonboyz
post Aug 9 2014, 05:52 PM

72 posts

hi everyone here, im newbie here..
i have a question.. why we need 2 hardisk ?
is it we store our window files in SSD.. Game files in HDD.. so that can read fast & smooth ?

HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM174
SSD:Plextor M5 Pro Extreme 128GB RM299
Minecrafter
post Aug 9 2014, 05:59 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(lemonboyz @ Aug 9 2014, 05:52 PM)
hi everyone here, im newbie here..
i have a question.. why we need 2 hardisk ?
is it we store our window files in SSD.. Game files in HDD.. so that can read fast & smooth ?

SSD:Plextor M5 Pro Extreme 128GB RM299
Not just to store OS in the SSD,but applications too.. brows.gif The computer will boot faster..and apps will load faster. nod.gif
But for stuffs like music etc,put in HDD la. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Aug 9 2014, 05:59 PM
rav3n82
post Aug 9 2014, 06:37 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Aug 9 2014, 03:26 PM)
Thank for your help,its okay i will jz take the 750W although seems like way too much watt for my current rig.

I will just reuse this for my end year rig later on. doh.gif  Not sure why they say need use 2 x 8 pin.if someone can clarify would be great
The issue is this, the MSI GTX 770 TF4 needs 2 x 8-pin power connector.

The M12 II PSU only has 1 x 6+2-pin and 1 x 6-pin power connector.

You can easily solve it by using this adapter cable. Connect one end from the PSU (6-pin) to the cable, then plug the adapter cable to the GPU. The diagram should be self explainable.

QUOTE(zantls @ Aug 9 2014, 04:15 PM)
Hi Sifus ~
I am planning to buy a gaming rig.
Could use some help and reccomendation. icon_question.gif

[Budget] RM3k to RM3.5k

[Purpose] Gaming and programming(analysis)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor  Dell U2413, keyboard, mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Phyton, Anysis, Crysis 3, TitanFall, and FPS games

[Personal preferences] Prefer SSD and able to connect to wifi if budget is possible

[Location] KL
Thank you  tongue.gif
==========
Intel Xeon E3 1230 v3 - RM799
Asrock H97M Pro4 – RM299
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM244
Leadtek GTX 770 - RM1249
Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU - RM299
Intel 530 Series 120GB SSD - RM289
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD - RM174
Cooler Master K380 Casing - RM149
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59
TP-LINK TL-WN821N - RM29

Total - RM3590 (prices are from Viewnet)
AdzNiTyLiciouS
post Aug 9 2014, 08:25 PM

124 posts

Hi guys, sifus and forumers.

I am planning to buy a gaming rig can anyone can suggest me best pieces for my budget?

[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Strictly for gaming purposes

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none (building from the scratch)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] all latest games and future games.

[Personal preferences] emphasizing on the gpu. preferebly the GTX 770. ( or u can suggest me any card that have same perfomance). dont care about other parts though. as long as it wont bottleneck my gpu.

[Location] online

thanks guys biggrin.gif
Minecrafter
post Aug 9 2014, 09:24 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(AdzNiTyLiciouS @ Aug 9 2014, 08:25 PM)
Hi guys, sifus and forumers.

I am planning to buy a gaming rig can anyone can suggest me best pieces for my budget?
[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Strictly for gaming purposes

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none (building from the scratch)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] all latest games and future games.

[Personal preferences] emphasizing on the gpu. preferebly the GTX 770. ( or u can suggest me any card that have same perfomance). dont care about other parts though. as long as it wont bottleneck my gpu.

[Location] online

thanks guys biggrin.gif
So you need stuffs like KB and M,Speaker and Monitor? hmm.gif

CPU:Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM569
Mobo:Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
GPU:Zotac GTX760 2GB GDDR5 RM749
Ram:Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM249
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Casing:CM K380 RM149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
KB/M:Logitech Wireless MK220 RM69
Speakers:Edifier M1360 RM89
Monitor:Dell S2240L 21.5' RM489
Total:RM3074
GPU is from GBros@GS,the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

Tight to include a 770 with speakers,KB and M and Monitor. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Aug 9 2014, 09:25 PM
AdzNiTyLiciouS
post Aug 9 2014, 09:51 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Aug 9 2014, 09:24 PM)
So you need stuffs like KB and M,Speaker and Monitor? hmm.gif

CPU:Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM569
Mobo:Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
GPU:Zotac GTX760  2GB GDDR5 RM749
Ram:Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM249
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
KB/M:Logitech Wireless MK220 RM69
Speakers:Edifier M1360 RM89
Total:RM3074
GPU is from GBros@GS,the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

Tight to include a 770 with speakers,KB and M and Monitor. nod.gif
thanks for the reply bro. I think i can skip some items.

- skip KB/M and speaker.
- processor i3 (will i3 bottleneck gtx770?)
- ram 4gb
- skip dvd rom

the only item that I want is the gtx 770, but i can also consider other cards that performs as a good as gtx770. ( maybe amd cards? i dunno)
alfiejr
post Aug 9 2014, 10:49 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(AdzNiTyLiciouS @ Aug 9 2014, 09:51 PM)

- skip KB/M and speaker.
- ram 4gb
- skip dvd rom

the only item that I want is the gtx 770, but i can also consider other cards that performs as a good as gtx770. ( maybe amd cards? i dunno)
Try hunt for 2nd hand gpu, you can find used 770 in the garage sales but they are a bit of a hot commodity so yeah be quick if you want one. Your best bet isdefinitely with the used r9-280x or if you're lucky an r9-290 tongue.gif . I have used both amd and nvidia gpus. So far both brands perform well except in some games like AC3 which sees the nvidia edge ahead a bit due to txaa but that game is very unoptimised. Power consumption wise , in my view nvidia is slighly more efficient but if you're getting a decent 600-700w psu, u dont have to worry about it.
tws05043
post Aug 9 2014, 10:50 PM

17 posts

Hi guys!

3Ds Max Vray rendering + Autocad + Adobe + Games (More on 3Ds Max)

Budget : Rm7000

I'm going to overclock my cpu,
below are my plan, I just need the box, please suggest me~

MAINBOARD ASUS MAXIMUS VI EXTREME

CPU CORE I7 4790K (4C/8T)

RAM 1866C9 VENGEANCE PRO 8GB x 2

SSD PLEXTOR M6 PRO 256GB

HDD BLUE DESKTOP 1TB

GPU ASUS GTX780 STRIX 6GB D5 384BIT OC

POWERSUPPLY RM1000 ( A/M/80+)

CASING CARBIDE 500R

CPUCOOLER NH D15

DVDRW ASUS
AdzNiTyLiciouS
post Aug 9 2014, 11:36 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Aug 9 2014, 10:49 PM)
Try hunt for 2nd hand gpu, you can find used 770 in the garage sales but they are a bit of a hot commodity so yeah be quick if you want one. Your best bet isdefinitely with the used r9-280x or if you're lucky an r9-290 tongue.gif . I have used both amd and nvidia gpus. So far both brands perform well except in some games like AC3 which sees the nvidia edge ahead a bit due to txaa but that game is very unoptimised. Power consumption wise , in my view nvidia is slighly more efficient but if you're getting a decent 600-700w psu, u dont have to worry about it.
thanks bro. i'll consider getting a r9-280x if my current budget really not enough to build the 770 rig. but if there is any way to sumbat2 lowest posibble item into my rig (as long as i get the gtx770), please let me know. brows.gif
yikyeou
post Aug 10 2014, 01:27 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Looking for PC to run interior design software like AutoCAD, SketchUp which are CPU hungry.

Please recommend me the hardware, budget 5k and less.

Thanks in advance!
TristanX
post Aug 10 2014, 03:32 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(tws05043 @ Aug 9 2014, 10:50 PM)
Hi guys!

3Ds Max Vray rendering + Autocad + Adobe + Games (More on 3Ds Max)

Budget : Rm7000

I'm going to overclock my cpu,
below are my plan, I just need the box, please suggest me~

MAINBOARD ASUS MAXIMUS VI EXTREME

CPU  CORE I7 4790K (4C/8T)

RAM  1866C9 VENGEANCE PRO 8GB x 2

SSD  PLEXTOR M6 PRO 256GB

HDD  BLUE DESKTOP 1TB

GPU  ASUS GTX780 STRIX 6GB D5 384BIT OC

POWERSUPPLY  RM1000 ( A/M/80+)

CASING  CARBIDE 500R

CPUCOOLER NH D15

DVDRW ASUS
Some overpriced items there. It can easily go over your budget.

Performance RAM doesn't give you a big boost. Get better CPU instead. 4930K is slightly slower than 4960X

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i...ark,3557-5.html

If you are not going to SLI, 750W is already more than enough.

Refined

Core i7-4930K (hexa-core) - RM1819
Noctua NH-D14 cooler - RM339
Asus P9X79 motherboard (8 RAM slots) - RM939
Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 x2 - RM488
Asus GTX780 6GB DDR5 Strix - RM2159
Plextor M5 Pro Xtreme 256GB SSD (M6 Pro not released yet) - RM669
WD Blue 1TB hard disk - RM174
DVD writer of your choice - RM59
Seasonic X-750 power supply - RM629
Corsair Carbide 500R case - RM419

RM7694 total (Viewnet prices)

Blows your setup away for your work.
QUOTE(yikyeou @ Aug 10 2014, 01:27 AM)
Looking for PC to run interior design software like AutoCAD, SketchUp which are CPU hungry.

Please recommend me the hardware, budget 5k and less.

Thanks in advance!
How about these?

Coolermaster Hyper 212X - RM129
Leadtek GTX750 Ti 2GB DDR5 OC - RM529
Plextor M5 Pro Xtreme 128GB SSD - RM299
Seasonic S12 II or Antec HCG 620W power supply - RM299
Corsair Carbide 300R case - RM299

RM5034 total (Viewnet prices)

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 10 2014, 03:40 AM
Minecrafter
post Aug 10 2014, 07:45 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(AdzNiTyLiciouS @ Aug 9 2014, 09:51 PM)

- skip KB/M and speaker.
- ram 4gb
- skip dvd rom

CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1GHz RM554
Mobo:Asrock B85M-HDS RM239
GPU:Gainward GTX770 GS 2GB GDDR5 RM1145
Ram:Corsair Value Ram 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM129
PSU:FSP Hexa+ 550W RM169
Total:RM3048
GPU is from Lingloong@GS,the rest are from Viewnet. smile.gif

There.Later on,when you've more money,get 1 more stick of 4GB Corsair Value Ram DDR3 1600Mhz.. nod.gif
And an SSD... icon_idea.gif
yikyeou
post Aug 10 2014, 10:30 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 10 2014, 03:32 AM)

Performance RAM doesn't give you a big boost. Get better CPU instead. 4930K is slightly slower than 4960X

Refined

How about these?

Thanks to all for the help. Really appreciate it. Just wondering is it possible to find a mini itx mobo and chassis for these?
tws05043
post Aug 10 2014, 10:52 AM

17 posts

Refined

How about these?

Hi~ Thank you very much!
is this 4930k worth my money compared with the 4790k ? Can you explain abit on it ?

ps: M6 Pro just arrived lowyat at 585 brows.gif
DarkNite
post Aug 10 2014, 11:00 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

How about these?

Bro,
For running 24/7 and OC to 4.2, rendering video, which one better and cost effective?
1. Hyper 212X vs Noctua NH-D14 vs Noctua NH-D15?
2. Corsair Carbide 300R vs CM Storm Scout 2?

Does Leadtek GTX770 4GB DDR5 needs 2 x 8-pin power connector and will the SeaSonic M12II 620W PSU have the 2 x 8-pin power connector? rav3n82 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Aug 10 2014, 11:01 AM
rav3n82
post Aug 10 2014, 11:33 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 10 2014, 11:00 AM)

Bro,
For running 24/7 and OC to 4.2, rendering video, which one better and cost effective?

Does Leadtek GTX770 4GB DDR5 needs 2 x 8-pin power connector and will the SeaSonic M12II 620W PSU have the 2 x 8-pin power connector? rav3n82  hmm.gif
If not mistaken, they are using 8-pin and 6-pin. Can refer below, the PNY card is similar with Leadtek. Seasonic only have one 8-pin and 6-pin, just nice for you. Else, you need a cable adapter, as I replied a forumer few posts back.

www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/65636-pny-gtx-770-oc2-4gb-review.html
TristanX
post Aug 10 2014, 03:24 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Aug 10 2014, 10:30 AM)
Thanks to all for the help. Really appreciate it. Just wondering is it possible to find a mini itx mobo and chassis for these?
You will have to go mainstream route if you want ITX. No one sells M-ATX or ITX for X79 setup.

QUOTE(tws05043 @ Aug 10 2014, 10:52 AM)
Hi~ Thank you very much!
is this 4930k worth my money compared with the 4790k ? Can you explain abit on it ?

ps: M6 Pro just arrived lowyat at 585  brows.gif
The work you are doing favors more CPU cores. I already posted the benchmarks on my previous reply. Is additional 2 core with HT and 8 RAM slots with quad channel worth the money for you?

RM585 for 256GB is worth the money. Go for that instead.

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 10 2014, 11:00 AM)

Bro,

Does Leadtek GTX770 4GB DDR5 needs 2 x 8-pin power connector and will the SeaSonic M12II 620W PSU have the 2 x 8-pin power connector? rav3n82  hmm.gif
This setup is more into mainstream and gaming. You have Intel Quick Sync support as well.

Definitely Noctua is better for 24/7 overclocked setup.

I didn't research much on the casing. Just buy whatever you like.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 10 2014, 03:36 PM
chocobo7779
post Aug 10 2014, 05:19 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 10 2014, 03:24 PM)
You will have to go mainstream route if you want ITX. No one sells M-ATX or ITX for X79 setup.
The work you are doing favors more CPU cores. I already posted the benchmarks on my previous reply. Is additional 2 core with HT and 8 RAM slots with quad channel worth the money for you?

RM585 for 256GB is worth the money. Go for that instead.
This setup is more into mainstream and gaming. You have Intel Quick Sync support as well.

Definitely Noctua is better for 24/7 overclocked setup.

I didn't research much on the casing. Just buy whatever you like.
There's actually a microATX X79 board:
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RAMPAGE_IV_GENE/

ASUS Rampage IV Gene... icon_idea.gif

125 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:06 AM